wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

6 Pages«<3456>
Politics - to resume or not to resume?
#81 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 9:27:41 AM

While at it, should the links include those to kenya-todaya and kenya daily post or jackal news??
#82 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 9:38:04 AM

wazua wrote:
Dear Members,

We have received all your comments - few appreciative, some informative, several unsavory. Yet ours is only a reaction, the causative action emanates from a few errant users. It is time to take responsibility!

Rule and policies:
1. Every day, one thread only Politics update for [date] will be created
2. All members will be allowed to only post links to reputable news sources with an explaining line or caption
3. Text of article should not be copied in full to the thread
4. No member may post the same link more than once
5. Post should not state personal opinions

If the rules appear too restrictive, simply avoid Politics altogether. It will be critical for members to castigate those who deviate from the rules.

Kindly note, should more than five members willingly violate the rules on any material day, they will have succeeded in freezing political discussions.

The Wazua spirit
To educate, inform, and learn from each other irrespective of our differences.

This sounds to me as half-baked freedom. Better no freedom at all than this...The last mkate-nusu we had as a country was disastrous to say the least. If you really feel we too childish to discuss issues maturely, close it completely. Now that we survived a week, we can survive another day, another week, another month, another year...Its all in the mind.
#83 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 9:49:47 AM

While at it, should the links include those to kenya-todaya and kenya daily post or jackal news??

According to point no. 2 only reputable sources. I doubt whether daily post is considered one
#84 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 9:53:49 AM

rrrrrrr!!! rrrrrrrrr!!! rrrrrrr!!!
githundi
#85 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 12:57:00 PM

quicksand wrote:
@wazua,.. You are espousing a crippled middling position that has little appeal to both sides of the divide who either want a fully vibrant political section or no politics at all. We all know where to find The Nation, The Standard, The Star, CNN, BBC and many others online (plus there are plenty of RSS feeds and other things which aggregate hot button issues).

This reminds me of the Kenya Police, who usually get a fuel allocation of 2 litres per day per vehicle for serving the citizens just so that the brass can say ..."yesss ..we are giving them fuel, what is the problem???" ..and yet common sense tells us those meagre resources can't accomplish anything.
Fungua kabisa (and take responsibilty too ..moderate!) ama funga kabisa. I am ok with either of these 2 decisions but not the one you are suggesting, that is insulting our intelligence.

i feel you brother.
@ admin is behaving like any other lady who is disgusted by politics. I know most ladies don't like politics, but they don't break their homes by banning other family members from discussing politics. Be, and let others be. And incase they don't have a choice. Be decisive enough, so that certainity created allows others to move forward.
A thread without members sharing their views is useless in a forum. I would rather have none.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
innairobi
#86 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 2:33:50 PM

Mukiha, much know, magigi, mcreggae

notice a pattern?

AMBITHOLOGY - The sum total of reflex reactions triggered by a morbid fear of views, facts and news that are likely to paint one candidate in negative light, demystify any safi kama pamba claims, debunk brain-dead propaganda or otherwise see the candidate's public standing diminish. The reflex reaction maybe in the form of sudden (and glorious) opinion polls, erratic bursts of censorship, spontaneous 'anti-tribalism drives' (never mind there is nothing in the discussions that refers either directly or indirectly to the candidate's tribe), out-of-the-blue 'pursuit of societal peace and harmony' initiatives etc etc etc.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#87 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 2:41:31 PM

innairobi wrote:

notice a pattern?

AMBITHOLOGY - The sum total of reflex reactions triggered by a morbid fear of views, facts and news that are likely to paint one candidate in negative light, demystify any safi kama pamba claims, debunk brain-dead propaganda or otherwise see the candidate's public standing diminish. The reflex reaction maybe in the form of sudden (and glorious) opinion polls, erratic bursts of censorship, spontaneous 'anti-tribalism drives' (never mind there is nothing in the discussions that refers either directly or indirectly to the candidate's tribe), out-of-the-blue 'pursuit of societal peace and harmony' initiatives etc etc etc.

Paranoia
#88 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 2:42:31 PM

wazua wrote:
Dear @mukiha

You are willingly and knowingly out of line.
Political discussions for today are about to come to an end.

The Wazua spirit

Eish hii ni kama kukatazwa to fart while shi*ting!

innairobi
#89 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 2:55:04 PM

Hehe. Nikupe mji?

innairobi wrote:

notice a pattern?

Paranoia

All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#90 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 3:17:12 PM

All Wazuans successfully reduced to zombies....NKT!
#91 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 3:26:18 PM

Courtesy of reputable rinks, now that Substandard had been officially marked as non-reputable here in wazua can I still quote it?

d'oh! d'oh!

#92 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 3:31:31 PM

Courtesy of reputable rinks, now that Substandard had been officially marked as non-reputable here in wazua can I still quote it?

d'oh! d'oh!

No, the only reputable links in the region are:
Mwananchi

Mkenya

Msahili

Mu Mother Tongue

and

The Hero

Plus all western media outlets
#93 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 4:35:48 PM

Exchuse me @wazua spirit, madam teacher please, please go through today political thread inserting comments on where particular comments deviated from rule, maybe hatuelewi teacher.
A New Kenya
#94 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 4:41:49 PM

Exchuse me @wazua spirit, madam teacher please, please go through today political thread inserting comments on where particular comments deviated from rule, maybe hatuelewi teacher.

Have you ever been thrown out of an airport when you were just about to "alight"?
The wazua political feeling/gag-mentation is twice as painful.

Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall

#95 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 4:44:41 PM

ask @Freiks he caused no.5 to happen dragging @impunity into it smh
#96 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 4:52:52 PM

ask @Freiks he caused no.5 to happen dragging @impunity into it smh

The ban ends at midnight tonight, so in the next 7 or so hours we would be back albeit more careful now.
See you all at 2059UTC.

Speak to the hand Speak to the hand

#97 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 5:58:27 PM

How do you even help Analogue peeps?
saga
#98 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 5:59:20 PM

I say let the ban stay. am sick and tired of all the politics out there.
Kuna kuchapwo, kuchapana na kujifichio
#99 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 7:19:05 PM

Is CJ Mutunga suitable to seat on the bench? The lawyers have said a Big NO from the below statements which are in the public domain:

Kidneys for the King: Deforming the Status Quo in Kenya - Mutunga describes Raila Odinga as the “future of Kenya”. “I have been talking to the old “Young Turks” because if they accept Raila’s leadership [and] the reform forces in civil society and corporate sector, we can build an important movement to capture power in 2012 under Raila’s leadership”.

Raila Odinga: an Enigma in Kenyan politics, by Prof Babafemi Badejo - Dr Mutunga describes Raila as follows: “Raila is a lot of things. He is an aggressive and astute politician. A great mobiliser and organiser… As a Kenyan leader, he would not just be a spineless sycophant. He would insist on dialogue in the pursuit of Kenyan interest. He also has a vision and roadmap for Kenya unlike other politicians. I am convinced Kenya’s transition needs Raila as President of this country”.

#100 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 7:22:43 PM

An interesting conversation between Mzalendo Kibunja and one Robert Alai

http://m.soundcloud.com/...ist-mzalendo-kibunjia-on