wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

7 Pages«<34567>
Safaricom encouraging MPesa fraud
#81 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 5:59:59 PM

If you can't stay sober while sending MPESA, just burn your SIM card and stop coming to social fora with hypothesis and theories out of this world. NKT

#82 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 6:14:43 PM

mozenrat wrote:
monzerat don't let your support of safaricom show your ignorance.

How do you write a check again to the wrong person? My goodness, good banks these days even call you to confirm checks signed by you. If your bank is allowing you to deposit funds in an account with the wrong name and bank account number

Who said anything about writing the account number in a cheque??.. If I walk into a bank with cash to deposit into your account, I'll fill in a deposit slip in which I'm supposed to fill in your account number and may well make a mistake... Same applies to EFT.

I know you'll say that I can always confirm whether the account number is correct by asking the bank.. KCB, Barclays and Stanchart do not allow this. They'll ask you to call the recipient to confirm which is the equivalent of confirming on MPESA... I'm not loyal to Safcom.. I'm just tired of Kenyans blaming others for their lack of thinking.

wacha generalizations.. tell us which checks and balances these are that Western Union has that would cover the carelessness of a person who sends cash to the wrong recipient and its withdrawn.. Kwani WU wataenda nyumbani kwa huyo recipient kumtafuta?.. NKT

@mozenrat do you mean that if you bank a cheque in the wrong account it would be cleared despite the fact that the account name and account number are different?
#83 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 6:20:20 PM

True a briber was conned.Alma,it is possible for your employee to register an mpesa line and collect cash from your creditors using the line.the creditors will insist you received the cash and produce the mpesa statement in court proving alma was paid but banks maintain strict kyc requirements and such an occurrence is impossible in a bank.
#84 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 6:22:46 PM

mozenrat wrote:
wazua and talking in tongues...what is NKT?

Go to western union and find out.

But now I bow down from this topic.

So you don't know??? na venye unapayuka..
Learn from those of us who've actually worked in banks

I honestly don't know what NKT means and would like to know which bank uses that language. Now working in a bank has become a status symbol with NKT and "venye"?

@mawinder...that's what I'm saying. Those kyc requirements are lacking in Mpesa and soon and very soon they'll come to a head.

But safaricom cult members just won't open their eyes to the danger of this system. Those of us old enough to have been there during the pre-consolidated bank era know the danger of un-regulated money transfers in a country.
#85 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 6:34:08 PM

Mpesa is a perfect tool for fraudsters,money launderers and for collecting ransom.imagine the case of the kidnappers who were arrested recently and were using an mpesa line registered in a different name.when kra shuts one's accounts he may receive payments via mpesa without any problem.
#86 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 6:52:54 PM

mozenrat wrote:

I honestly don't know what NKT means and would like to know which bank uses that language. Now working in a bank has become a status symbol with NKT and "venye"?

@mawinder...that's what I'm saying. Those kyc requirements are lacking in Mpesa and soon and very soon they'll come to a head.

But safaricom cult members just won't open their eyes to the danger of this system. Those of us old enough to have been there during the pre-consolidated bank era know the danger of un-regulated money transfers in a country.

I thought you are required to produce a national ID, alien ID, passport or military ID when registering for Mpesa? I remember I did. You also produce these documents every time you transact. How much more KYC can you get?
#87 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 6:56:31 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly That is so funny quicksand I've fallen off my fat butt..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Ati kyc and my roco emupesa..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#88 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 7:22:51 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly That is so funny quicksand I've fallen off my fat butt..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Ati kyc and my roco emupesa..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

It is a fair question, have the decency to reply sensibly and not hide behind juvenile "wit". I bank with KCB and Coop. I opened my account with just my ID card. They are happy, I am happy, I transact normally without problems. Mpesa has a similar baseline, whats different? What other KYC would you want?
#89 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 7:41:27 PM

Elder wrote:
@mozenrat do you mean that if you bank a cheque in the wrong account it would be cleared despite the fact that the account name and account number are different?

@Elder, BBK is very fond of that. at the moment, we changed our business name from a trading name to a ltd company. the buggers are still accepting the trading name cheques into the ltd company account 8 years down the line which is plainly wrong.

another blunder they make is those small dividend cheques - they are not keen. been banking my bros cheques mixed with mine for the last 4 years = bro went to the US. Useless fellows.

Just send a supu deposit the cheques at counters manned by one of the new young men. ladies are very keen - a no go area.
#90 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 7:46:35 PM

http://www.breakingnewskenya.co...gation-in-a-kenyan-bank/

old but I never rule out anything where money is involved.
#91 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 7:53:41 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

you can only cancel a transaction, so he will only get his 50 bob back not the 45,000

Was about to say those are 2 different transactions.
I am sure the id no.or whatever they call it are different.
But that customer care fellow was silly.Asking you to go to the cops when it's obvious the cops will redirect you back to safcom.

Why do we always assume that the customer care guys know it all? I have on several occasions caught them down in their pants.
At times they make me believe they could be high school dropouts.
If one doesn't know how to handle a case,please refer them to a more qualified personell instead of giving foolish advise.

Ati what?

ION: There are people who will take the slightest opportunity to talk ill of safcom's mpesa. Its really easy if you don't like it don't use it!

#92 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 7:57:58 PM

@quicksand. I'm being very serious.

You are living in lala land if you think that there is due diligence with mpesa agents. Honestly, tokelezea and see how things are on the ground. You can't seriously be comparing a KCB teller with the emupesa agent in my hood

Seriously. And I still don't undestand how people still bank with barclays. But that's a story for another day.
#93 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 8:16:44 PM

woi kratos I blame my native lunje for direct translation.
'caught pants down' is what I meant.lol.
But I make noise at safcom cz I have been their loyal customer since day 1 and I still can't find a better option.
Haki yangu.smile
mozenrat
#94 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 9:03:17 PM

Elder wrote:
mozenrat wrote:
monzerat don't let your support of safaricom show your ignorance.

How do you write a check again to the wrong person? My goodness, good banks these days even call you to confirm checks signed by you. If your bank is allowing you to deposit funds in an account with the wrong name and bank account number

Who said anything about writing the account number in a cheque??.. If I walk into a bank with cash to deposit into your account, I'll fill in a deposit slip in which I'm supposed to fill in your account number and may well make a mistake... Same applies to EFT.

I know you'll say that I can always confirm whether the account number is correct by asking the bank.. KCB, Barclays and Stanchart do not allow this. They'll ask you to call the recipient to confirm which is the equivalent of confirming on MPESA... I'm not loyal to Safcom.. I'm just tired of Kenyans blaming others for their lack of thinking.

wacha generalizations.. tell us which checks and balances these are that Western Union has that would cover the carelessness of a person who sends cash to the wrong recipient and its withdrawn.. Kwani WU wataenda nyumbani kwa huyo recipient kumtafuta?.. NKT

Yes, I have seen it happen often... and woe unto you if the names you specify are similar, the bank simply assumes that you've used a different name to refer to the same entity... Just to draw Parallels, Mawinders "bribee" happened to have the same name as the chairman he was targeting.
mozenrat
#95 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 9:07:48 PM

mozenrat wrote:

NKT and I say again NKT, you like going out of topic.. (No one here cares whether you know the meaning of NKT or not).. Who said working in a bank is a status symbol?? Stick to the discussion at hand.

Back to the facts.. Equity bank only requires your ID for you to open an account and to transact so does M-PESA... Western Union only requires some form of ID plus a secret password... M-PESA requires an ID and your secret PIN.. NKT
#96 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 9:46:11 PM

Quicksand,one can open an mpesa account in your name without an id card,passport photo and without your knowledge by bribing the mpesa girl 1k.does safaricom keep copies of the id and passport photos like banks?
Drobos fly
#97 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2012 10:54:44 PM

Very very interesting! now fraudsters visiting this thread don't need a brain to defraud guys! too bad I don't have a safcom line I can torch. Or maybe I should just buy one and torch it just to get that wonderful feeling I got when I torched all my Orange lines that came with 1 month free offers.
#98 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 7:16:58 AM

NKT = Nelson Kamau Thuo. Chief, Makomboki Location, Muranga
#99 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 7:19:36 AM

Quicksand,one can open an mpesa account in your name without an id card,passport photo and without your knowledge by bribing the mpesa girl 1k.does safaricom keep copies of the id and passport photos like banks?

Keeping copies of the id, photo would now require the agent to have a computer, and naturally an internet connection to upload these to a central database for cross-reference. We are now talking a small Front Office operation, like Posta. This would curtail Mpesa's reach severely cause as you can see there is quite some capital outlay required for this. If this was a prerequisite, Mpesa would not be Mpesa. It wouldn't be the world beating, revolutionary money transfer system for the common mwananchi that it is. If you prefer a service that doesn't have a broad reach,...eehh well, there are many options to choose from...posta, money order, etc etc. How far has banks and posta taken us? they have had years head start
You can't have your cake and eat it.
Treat Mpesa transacting the way you regard Nigerian fraud mail and you will be OK. Basic care will save you lots of grief.

As for all the other armchair legal experts,...I am sure banks who have been squeezed by Mpesa have employed real lawyers who have searched for legal loopholes they can use to shut down Mpesa, or at least slow down its momentum and haven't found anything useful. Mpesa does way more good than harm, I am not advertising here but the rampant negativity and baying for blood is exasperating. Learn the risks and be careful or avoid the service.
richdad
#100 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 7:29:24 AM

What safaricom has done is employ guys to clean its image everywhere over the internet. The truth of the matter is that when you have a one to one issue with these guys, they act like devils advocates with evil smiles on their faces. Only use Mpesa for very small amounts, don't use their data unless its mobile or modem.

Also don't try any of their safaricom business products. Its a total rip off meant to make then billions. eg zindisha biashara, wimax internet etc.
Keep it simple