7 Pages«<34567>
Safaricom FY 2012 results announcement
stocksmaster
#41 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 6:06:55 PM

hisah wrote:
earthvoice wrote:
Safaricom records 4 pc drop in net profit

The telecoms operator announced a dividend pay out of 22 cents per share.

http://www.businessdailyafrica....6/-/8jbj0pz/-/index.html

Thats why we call him Con-me-more, he thinks we won't see!

But how do you expalin this;

total demand 12,688,500 331,200 total supply

This thing will be bid since the profit is far better than what the market expected. I was expecting PAT to dip to 9B. At 12.63B that a shocker for me. A number of investment house will see the same and are due to revise their forecast models. With high inflation, tight liquidity & price wars in H2 that tariff was not meant to achieve much. But the results of H2 tell a solid rebound story. I'd be concerned as their competitor since dropping the price war will signal surrender. The risk boomerang is coming back at competition in full force...
So I expect the price to edge higher as well as the 3.30 - 3.40 resistance chart level is now broken.
As a trader I'd target 3.80 - 4.00 assuming you got in at 3.00.

I expected a larger dip in profits too so better than expected results.

But for me, if i had Safcom in my portfolio (which i don't), i would lighten my holding.
It seems the profitability has stagnated for the last two years. The current price of Ksh 3.45 gives an EPS of 10.8 and a dividend yield of 6.35%.

Compared to other shares in the NSE, this looks expensive.

However, Safcom via its MPESA product seems to have captured the attention of foreign investors who may provide some upside potential to the share.

Without this hype, i would value Safcom at a price of between Ksh 2.60 - 2.80.

Happy Hunting

x handle: @stocksmaster79
gatoho
#42 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 6:10:02 PM

@stockmaster, speak we all ears..
Foresight..
#43 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 6:37:19 PM

Here is a remix:

Hasira ya nini wee ndugu, Kenol si yako, Puma si yako, chuki ya nini kati yangu mimi na wewe??? Nasema, sina makosa wee ndugu.... Mimi nilinua KenolKobili, wewe ukanua paka na Access, chuki ya nini kati yangu mimi na wewe???....
Applause Applause Applause Applause
#44 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 6:50:27 PM

stocksmaster wrote:
hisah wrote:
earthvoice wrote:
Safaricom records 4 pc drop in net profit

The telecoms operator announced a dividend pay out of 22 cents per share.

http://www.businessdailyafrica....6/-/8jbj0pz/-/index.html

Thats why we call him Con-me-more, he thinks we won't see!

But how do you expalin this;

total demand 12,688,500 331,200 total supply

This thing will be bid since the profit is far better than what the market expected. I was expecting PAT to dip to 9B. At 12.63B that a shocker for me. A number of investment house will see the same and are due to revise their forecast models. With high inflation, tight liquidity & price wars in H2 that tariff was not meant to achieve much. But the results of H2 tell a solid rebound story. I'd be concerned as their competitor since dropping the price war will signal surrender. The risk boomerang is coming back at competition in full force...
So I expect the price to edge higher as well as the 3.30 - 3.40 resistance chart level is now broken.
As a trader I'd target 3.80 - 4.00 assuming you got in at 3.00.

I expected a larger dip in profits too so better than expected results.

But for me, if i had Safcom in my portfolio (which i don't), i would lighten my holding.
It seems the profitability has stagnated for the last two years. The current price of Ksh 3.45 gives an EPS of 10.8 and a dividend yield of 6.35%.

Compared to other shares in the NSE, this looks expensive.

However, Safcom via its MPESA product seems to have captured the attention of foreign investors who may provide some upside potential to the share.

Without this hype, i would value Safcom at a price of between Ksh 2.60 - 2.80.

Happy Hunting

As long as the cash cow called MPESA is the market dominant the share is worth every cent. Here is bob
hisah
#45 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 7:20:34 PM

Further interview... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxqCVII5N8k
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#46 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2012 11:47:49 AM

QW25091985 wrote:
what . so soon . i have bought a bucket load of this thingy. so bob con me more better have done his homeworks and presents good results otherwise i'll beat him up untill he grows rasta on this head bob Marley would die for ! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

and the thingy is off the stables .HUGE DEMAND !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Haiya! Kwani excitement iliisha?Sad
QW25091985
#47 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2012 12:03:49 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
QW25091985 wrote:
what . so soon . i have bought a bucket load of this thingy. so bob con me more better have done his homeworks and presents good results otherwise i'll beat him up untill he grows rasta on this head bob Marley would die for ! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

and the thingy is off the stables .HUGE DEMAND !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Haiya! Kwani excitement iliisha?Sad

uhhh ? umeona results . amatu umeskia kutoka kwa jirani ?
i was expecting another loss !
mtotana
#48 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2012 1:09:36 PM

Haiya! Kwani excitement iliisha?

May be imemalizwa na hii: Mobile termination rate to go down-CCK

http://www.capitalfm.co....ates-to-go-down-in-july/
Bettertry
#49 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2012 1:42:10 PM

Point of correction... @Stocksmaster said, "The
current price of Ksh 3.45 gives an
EPS of 10.8 and a dividend yield of
6.35%."

I think u meant to say a PE of 10.8... coz as it's an EPS of 10.8 would give u an outrageous PE of 0.32!!! Which BTW is the current EPS.
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
hisah
#50 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2012 2:58:05 PM

[quote=mtotana]
Haiya! Kwani excitement iliisha?

May be imemalizwa na hii: Mobile termination rate to go down-CCK

http://www.capitalfm.co....tes-to-go-down-in-july/[/quote]
Maybe not...

Read... This was last week - http://mobile.businessda.../-/63knbkz/-/index.html

I am still wondering how this elephant pulled off that H2 incredible recovery to the point of even awarding a 10% dividend hike!

I seem not to be able to get the figures working out even after factoring the 33% tariff hike and the KES strong recovery by CBK's manipulation (eh intervention Angel )
My head hurts d'oh!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
7 Pages«<34567>