wazua Sun, Dec 29, 2024

9 Pages«<34567>»
Jubilee is KING!!
the deal
#81 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 5:41:35 PM

JUB FY 2011 Earnings Analysis

Net Earned Premiums-Kes 7.3bn
Net insurance claims & benefits-(Kes6.1bn)
Operating Expenses&Commissions Payable-(Kes3.4bn)
Underwriting Profit/(Loss)-(Kes2.2bn)
Investment&Other Income-Kes3.3bn
Operating Profits-Kes1.1bn
Finance Costs-(Kes50)
Share of results of Associates-Kes1.1bn
PBT-Kes2.1
PAT-Kes1.9bn

Claims Ratio 83.5%
Expense Ratio 46.6
Combined Ratio 130%

Now how much do you pay me??? for all this apart from the personnel attacks from @guru???

mwekez@ji
#82 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 5:58:25 PM

the deal wrote:

Finance Costs-(Kes50)
PBT-Kes2.1
PAT-Kes1.9bn

Claims Ratio 83.5%
Expense Ratio 46.6
Combined Ratio 130%

Now how much do you pay me??? for all this apart from the personnel attacks from @guru???

@the deal, we disagree with your computation at the highlighted line. We also notice you have just changed position from your earlier combined ratio figure of 146% Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Jubilee's Team got it right on this one by saying the underwriting profits amount to KES 540M.

Refer to post #78 by the Guru.

#83 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 6:51:49 PM

the deal wrote:

No personal attacks.. I have made it my duty to shut down haters!!

I find it hard to believe you would push this hard to disprove & dispute what is a FACT & not a debate..

You saying JUB made an underwriting loss is worse than @qw saying PUMA will pay 10bob for KK...

STYLE UP!!
the deal
#84 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 7:41:22 PM

guru267 wrote:
the deal wrote:

I find it hard to believe you would push this hard to disprove & dispute what is a FACT & not a debate..

You saying JUB made an underwriting loss is worse than @qw saying PUMA will pay 10bob for KK...

STYLE UP!!

No one is hating on Jubilee I have presented the figures above, comments are welcome...only fools don't change their mind!
the deal
#85 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 7:45:22 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
the deal wrote:

Finance Costs-(Kes50)
PBT-Kes2.1
PAT-Kes1.9bn

Claims Ratio 83.5%
Expense Ratio 46.6
Combined Ratio 130%

@the deal, we disagree with your computation at the highlighted line. We also notice you have just changed position from your earlier combined ratio figure of 146% Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Jubilee's Team got it right on this one by saying the underwriting profits amount to KES 540M.

Refer to post #78 by the Guru.

The Kes3.4bn is coming from Jubilee financial statements...you mean they have overstated their Opex and commissions they pay to agents who sale their policies? What your figure? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#86 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 7:49:23 PM

the deal wrote:
guru267 wrote:
the deal wrote:

STYLE UP!!

No one is hating on Jubilee I have presented the figures above, comments are welcome...only fools don't change their mind!

And why should i listen to or trust a bloggers figures over acturial scientists audited financial statements?? Wouldn't that be abit too foolish??

A Fact is a fact my brother.. No amount of figures you parade here will change that!!

#87 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 8:02:40 PM

@the deal wrote:

The Kes3.4bn is coming from Jubilee financial statements...you mean they have overstated their Opex and commissions they pay to agents who sale their policies? What your figure? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

@the deal why would you include OPEX in calculating underwriting profits?? Just because Buffet does it like that??

What do accounting & acturial standards say about this'll ??
Horton
#88 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 9:00:00 PM

@ xxxxx and mwekez@ji
. Underwriting profit is And I quote investopedia "Definition of 'Adjusted Underwriting Profit'
The profit that an insurance company generates after paying out claims and expenses. Insurance companies earn revenue by underwriting new business (selling new insurance policies) and earning income on their financial investments. Subtracted from this revenue are expenses associated with running the business and any claims that are made by insurance policy holders. The remainder is the adjusted underwriting profit. This is a term specific to the insurance industry. 
Also called Underwriting Gain.
http://www.investopedia....rofit.asp#axzz20IsARdSk

Where is your inclusion of ADMINISTRATIVE EXPENSES in your calculations?????

So by the above, but this is not how to work out UNDERWRITING PROFIT/LOSS I beg to modify your thesis as follows:
Net premiums : 7,341,996,000. I agree
add commissions earned + 863,644,000. Agreed
Less net Ben n claims. -6,114,019,000. Agreed
Less comms paid. -1,580,420,000. Agreed although u added 10,000 :)
less Ops expenses. -1,804,331,000. How did you conveniently forget this integral part of the formula?

Leaves a net underwriting
loss of -1,293,313,000

I hope someone proves me wrong on this, with CREDIBLE arguments

If you want to work out UNDERWRITING PROFIT, expenses must be deducted.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Underwriting_profit

Please read investopedia or any other web based info on this.
I don't understand why you want to subtract operating expenses AFTER how does that work? I didn't make up the rules brother(sister)!! It's just what they are. You can refer to the various links which also say to work out COMBINED RATIO or UNDERWRITING PROFIT, EXPENSES MUST BE SUBTRACTED. But if you don't feel like subtracting the expenses and you want to modify the worldwide formula for whatever reason, please do ...or don't, entirely upto you.

Disclaimer:
I obviously, could be wrong, but opinions expressed on my posts are just my opinions.

Horton
#89 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 9:08:07 PM

@guru i may not be an actuary, {lets not start dropping degrees here :) } but i do have an opinion, like them or not..... Just curious, are you the UNDISPUTED KNOW ALL in insurance? If you are, then we need to strip yer title, coz u need to read a few more Buffett quotes :) Last time I checked, wazua was a forum for all.
Horton
#90 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 9:13:29 PM

guru267 wrote:
@the deal wrote:

@the deal why would you include OPEX in calculating underwriting profits?? Just because Buffet does it like that??

LOL it's not Buffett that does that; and if he did, it should be made a rule just in that merit Applause

Doesn't anyone like read books, research online, talk to people in the business and stuff? I mean, seriously, it's hard earned dosh, I can't just put it anywhere till I am 100% satusfied not "BROKER AMESEMA HII NI POA"

As I said earlier,I'm not an expert and I would love for someone to prove me wrong on this with something more than banter. Maybe the rules in Kenya are different or something, I don't know! But i am always willing to be corrected, learn and move on if it makes sense......
#91 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2012 10:45:48 PM

Horton wrote:
@guru, Just curious, are you the UNDISPUTED KNOW ALL in insurance?

I am not a "Know it all" in the slightest.. Infact i probably know less about insurance than you do...

But the insurance gurus and auditors reported an underwriting profit for JUB of 540mn in 2011.. And i see no reason to doubt them...

And neither should you because as a layman you clearly do not know how many possible calculations can go into deriving an underwriting profit...
mwekez@ji
#92 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 9:47:07 AM

@the deal, @Horton, @xxxxx

We all seem to agree that:

1. Underwriting profit = Net insurance premium revenue - Net insurance benefits and claims – expenses

2. Combined ratio = (Net insurance benefits and claims + expenses) / Net insurance premium revenue

From our workings, we can conclude that composition of expenses seems to be our point of disagreement.

Actuaries, insurance accountants and other insurance professionals in the house may give us their views on how this is done in the field.

@msimon, et al, views would do this discussion a lot of good.

Otherwise, I choose to agree with Jubilee team that underwriting profits for year 2011 impressively stands at KES 540M, up from KES 476M in 2010.

I rest my case
#93 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 10:17:01 AM

guru267 wrote:
@the deal wrote:

Well, I venture Mr. Warren Buffett knows a thing or 2 about insurance firms.
the deal
#94 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 10:58:25 AM

Bottom line: Only invest in Jubilee because of their investment in Aga Khan Firms such as NMG, DTB...TPS and Aga Khan Projects such as Bujagali energy and Nation Centre...that's where all their profits come from in form of dividends, rent and capital gains...oh not to forget they have a big bond portfolio
which earns them good interest income and help manage liquidity situations...now the stock is undervalued at the NS
e...go ahead and BUY...if you make money remember me...a cold Windhoek Lager does a trick!

Advice: Study Warren Buffet's Annual letters to shareholders their the best thing you will ever come across...if you understand and master the content of those letters going to school to study investment is a waste of cash...!
Gatheuzi
#95 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 3:26:54 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

Otherwise, I choose to agree with Jubilee team that underwriting profits for year 2011 impressively stands at KES 540M, up from KES 476M in 2010.

I rest my case

In so far as they are consistent in the method of calculating the underwriting profits year on year, then the statement on growth in Underwriting profits should hold no matter the approach. so yes, its a growth and not a dip.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Horton
#96 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 8:31:25 PM

So what's the conclusion/consensus then?
#97 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 11:44:04 PM

Horton wrote:
So what's the conclusion/consensus then?

SIMPLE!!

1.Learn more about insurance before commenting about it..

2.Learn to read and understand annual reports... They help laymen like us to make sense about sectors we do not understand!!

3.Dont agrue with experts(jub staff & auditors) especially if you are not one yourself.. It is unflattering and exposes ignorance!!
Horton
#98 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 9:49:22 AM

@ guru thanks but u need to do that yourself. The formula online for underwriting profits and combined ratios in all books and websites include EXPENSES. Why u dOnt subtract it is beyond me.

A case of blind faith in the management madam? I didn't think that would be you, trusting blindly. Remember Enron?!

Before critisizing, please give us links, quotes, something that proves us wrong with hard facts. Don't just tell me to trust the statement from the management.
#99 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 6:45:46 PM

Horton wrote:
Before critisizing, please give us links, quotes, something that proves us wrong with hard facts. Don't just tell me to trust the statement from the management.

Here is a link with some hard facts..

www.jubileeinsurance.com...oops-12-insurance-awards

I think some awards include..

1. Composite UNDERWRITER of the year (1st place)
2. Medical UNDERWRITER of the year (1st place)

What do you and @the deal know that the rest of the world doesn't??

Scubidu
#100 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 4:09:48 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

We all seem to agree that:

1. Underwriting profit = Net insurance premium revenue - Net insurance benefits and claims – expenses

2. Combined ratio = (Net insurance benefits and claims + expenses) / Net insurance premium revenue

From our workings, we can conclude that composition of expenses seems to be our point of disagreement.

Actuaries, insurance accountants and other insurance professionals in the house may give us their views on how this is done in the field.

@msimon, et al, views would do this discussion a lot of good.

I rest my case

The AKI writes an annual report every year. In 2010 they said Jubilee made KES 336M and not KES 476M. Perhaps one should give them a call to ask why the discrepancy. My gut feeling is that there are certain op. expenses not included in the calculation as they're incurred for activities outside of the core business. However, I'm not an expert in this field.

my 2 cents
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden