wazua Thu, Apr 30, 2026

11 Pages«<34567>»
Raila's bold stand on Mau
#41 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 4:37:00 AM

Siasa; siasa; siasa!! No one has real interest regarding the Mau...except,perhaps Wangari Maathai On the one hand you have 'local' politicians who run the risk of losing their seats if the Mau settlers are evicted...... On the other hand you have 'national' politicians who run the risk of losing national popularity if the Mau is destroyed...have you seen the latest opinion poll from Synovate? There are no principles here; just plain political posturing.... Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Spendthrift
#42 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 5:14:00 AM

Mukiha keep talking. What you're saying is very true and I wish evryone would see things this way instead of idolising human beings. Mau is being raped yes....and it's a matter of life and death yes...........buts lots of other important habitats and ecosystems are also being decimated; Kakamega forest,Gwassi Hills,Mt. Elgon,Nairobi River. We need a policy to get these matters sorted out. Relevant laws already exists; The Forest Act,The environment management and cordination act e.t.c. We even have moribund insitutions like KFS,NEMA and KWS (at least this one is effective). I hope the political posturing will help save the Mau though,because do what you what and say what you got,it is impossible to separate politics from resources. You may only attempt to reach a judicious balance....sometimes. But on Mau,we don't have a choice. I support Ntimama's idea on this one Everyday!
MADE
#43 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 5:22:00 AM

@Tebes...real picture of wanton destruction of mother nature Let those with eyes see Let those with mouths speak out Let those with heads upright reason .....and as the big headed politicize the issue, Let those with power act.. I was born intelligent,education ruined me.
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
Brewer
#44 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 5:40:00 AM

The issue is simple: What are those people STILL doing in OUR forest? Why is the government STILL talking and not evicting them? After we are done with the above issue we can revisit the issue why some people have not reclaimed their brains from the politicians.
Litro
#45 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 6:35:00 AM

Clearly this Mpig called Isaac Ruto is preparing his Kalenjin warriors perhaps to resist eviction from the Mau. Shouldnt we slip his name in the envelope (If it is not already there. Which i highly doubt!!)
#46 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:06:00 AM

@Litro, And the poor fellow discovered yesterday that RAO's brother is finance assitant minister,while the sis is an ambassador..........I highly doubt they have any plan.....it's empty threats............I wish the GSU will get there yesterday. Yombo dhier....!!
#47 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:08:00 AM

Yaani this Ruto guy is from mars... who else in kenya would wonder if Wangari Maathai has planted trees? he just needs to google that and he has his answers! Bure kabisa hii mtu! By the way,you can vote for her 'Taking Root: The Vision of Wangari Mathai' on the Greenbelt movement website - it is a finalist for the PBS Independent Lens AUDIENCE AWARD!. http://www.greenbeltmovement.org/ Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
adept
#48 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:21:00 AM

I will join the sceptics on this one and say that I am unmoved. Of course this is far much better than what Kibz has done on the issue so far. I only have some level of confidence in one minister to genuinely save the Mau - John Michuki. Even then,it is an iota and fast fading. What RAO said is really nothing. Anyone in authority making such a 'bold' declaration this late in the day is really a zero trying hard to be a hero. What has he been waiting for? RAO only made this declaration when he realised that public opinion on the ground was moving against the mau squatters. Real principle and boldness required this statement to be made in Jan 2007 at the latest. So no box of chocolates from me. And spare me the usual tribal,cultish or emotional responses that we are so used to when 'our' man is mentioned in bad light.
Fundaah
#49 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:24:00 AM

@adept....and that is what an adept politician does..... reading the public mood....if you cant do so then you fail.... Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
adept
#50 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:30:00 AM

@Fundaah - You are completely right. That is why I am only impressed by greatness in leadership as opposed to greatness in politics. We are where we are because of great politics as opposed to exemplary leadership.
11 Pages«<34567>»