Investor
Stocks
What do 1-bob Airtel calls mean for Safaricom share price?
Rank: Member Joined: 11/5/2010 Posts: 131 Location: kenya
Bw. Vvs it is actually 40bn shares,and I think 35%G.O.K., 15%NSE and 40% vodafone; so we could rework your calculation based on 35 held through treasury or 60 held directly by kenyans which would come to not far off from your 2500. Now company that with 100% owned directly from India-Meralli has sold off most of his share and i hope you begin to get the picture. Add that to the fact that your dear Bharti has exported jobs to india to outsourcing customer care services to india- how do those banians sound?. Intenational standards. Any self respecting country doesn't allow allow a foreign company to use funds obtained in another country to kill local companys. My point having a successful Locally held company has much more benefits to the economy. Further studies indicate a company tha engages in a price and succeeds to destroy its competion eventually raises prices to above than before the war.
Though competition is good, this one is getting ugly. The regulator should not just sit and watch as the industry is brought down to its knees.
Airtel is simply "Buying Customers". They have said they are not driven by profit making at the moment, so does it mean they are philanthropic?. These guys should be made to make their books of accounts public.
From customers point of view, the ride is OK. But from macro economic perspective; its simply a disaster. Airtel can afford to charge even 0.50 cents; but what does it do telecoms industry?. Their parent company in india is bearing the cost over and above the revenue they are getting from customers per call. This is akin of Subsidy if u may call it that way. As such the playing ground is not level anymore since the govt is not "subsidizing" the company's where it has stakes i.e Orange and Safcom.
For arguments sake, everybody's opinion is valid.
These predatory strategy by Airtel akin to Eastleigh Take-over by Somali's (With Piracy Money) or English Premier League Clubs take-over by billionaires. But at least in EPL, EUEFA has put in place some regulations, but in Kenya I doubt anything shall be done.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/17/2010 Posts: 18 Location: naivasha
mgeman. Bure wewe the way u started your post made me look forward to reading it expecting new insight to this safcom airtel debates but you have just recycled the same thing we keep on hearing.
Now lets see if the thika road expansion will stop or the teachers/cops wont be paid coz airtel calls are 1 shilling.
This view does not in anyway represent those of my employer, they are my own as a consumer
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,215 Location: Nairobi
mgeman wrote:Bw. Vvs it is actually 40bn shares,and I think 35%G.O.K., 15%NSE and 40% vodafone; so we could rework your calculation based on 35 held through treasury So wait... This means my ownership in SafariCON is less than 2,500/-??? 40bn shares * KES 4.30 x 35% GoK ownership /40,000,000 population = 1,505/- LOL... I am glad I vuka'd!!! BTW, 'other' Kenyans do NOT own 25% of SafariCON but a much smaller percentage. Plus for many, many years Vodafone & Mobitelea ['Kenyans'?] scammed me & my other 39mn compatriots! Bottomline: My pocket is more important that some vague notion. If @mgeman is so 'patriotic' then use Orange [49% GoK owned] instead of SafariCON [Only 35%]. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
the deal wrote:The biggest loser in this price war will be KRA...already KRA is reporting deficits..its time GOK intervened. Its a free market;Capitalism. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/21/2006 Posts: 422 Location: Nairobi
.....some people here like collimore himself reason like kids in babyclass, kwani only safcom pays taxes? All the moneys saved from these phone calls are definitely spent somewhere else (supermarket, beer, etc and where we still pay at least VAT) and ofcourse those supermarkets, KBLs, shops, etc will also pay tax to the GOK...... useless!
Rank: Member Joined: 11/5/2010 Posts: 131 Location: kenya
Check out this link from nation on the same issue www.nation.co.ke PS. I use Orange for data and Safaricon for voice.
mgeman wrote:Check out this link from nation on the same issue www.nation.co.ke PS. I use Orange for data and Safaricon for voice 1) 'May' hurt Kenyans. 2) Business journalism in Kenya is pathetic anyway! The chap at Nation is worried about losing ad revenue from those silly/stupid/confusing offers & promos like 'Saa Ya Saasa' 3) That's his opinion. Few facts in the story/article. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Now Fly540 sparks price war with Kenya Airways. The budget airline, on Monday said it has cut its fares to Sh6,540 from Sh9,540 for a return ticket, making it the cheapest airline on the route. linkNow you can go to the Coast for 6,540/- call for 1/- and smoke a pack of sportsman for 70/-! What a joy finally to be a consumer in Kenya. Now let's wait for wars in the banks, insurance, bread and milk... BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/4/2008 Posts: 1,289 Location: Nairobi
Layman wrote:.....some people here like collimore himself reason like kids in babyclass, kwani only safcom pays taxes? All the moneys saved from these phone calls are definitely spent somewhere else (supermarket, beer, etc and where we still pay at least VAT) and ofcourse those supermarkets, KBLs, shops, etc will also pay tax to the GOK...... useless! What if people decide to save? Remember when mobile phones first appeared in Uganda, Ugandans cleared their accounts to buy airtime.
FundamentAli wrote:Layman wrote:.....some people here like collimore himself reason like kids in babyclass, kwani only safcom pays taxes? All the moneys saved from these phone calls are definitely spent somewhere else (supermarket, beer, etc and where we still pay at least VAT) and ofcourse those supermarkets, KBLs, shops, etc will also pay tax to the GOK...... useless! What if people decide to save? Remember when mobile phones first appeared in Uganda, Ugandans cleared their accounts to buy airtime. Then banks will have lots more to lend thereby bringing down interest rates leading to more lending, more investments and growth of the economy.
You can't invest unless you save [or borrow which is someone else's savings] so I am buying more shares thanks to Airtel... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
Safaricom: Tunataka serikali itusaidie.... He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
2012 wrote:Now Fly540 sparks price war with Kenya Airways. The budget airline, on Monday said it has cut its fares to Sh6,540 from Sh9,540 for a return ticket, making it the cheapest airline on the route. linkNow you can go to the Coast for 6,540/- call for 1/- and smoke a pack of sportsman for 70/-! What a joy finally to be a consumer in Kenya. Now let's wait for wars in the banks, insurance, bread and milk... ...and bars...someone say "Amen"?
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Impunity wrote:the deal wrote:The biggest loser in this price war will be KRA...already KRA is reporting deficits..its time GOK intervened. Its a free market;Capitalism. KRA has been reporting deficits even when calls were 12 bob and mobile phones 200k GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Layman wrote:All the moneys saved from these phone calls are definitely spent somewhere else (supermarket, beer, etc and where we still pay at least VAT) and ofcourse those supermarkets, KBLs, shops, etc will also pay tax to the GOK...... useless! What is money to you? What does money mean? Where does it come from? Why from there? What is money??? Little wonder people take money to be prayed for to double. Meru Holiness
2012 wrote:Now you can go to the Coast for 6,540/- call for 1/- and smoke a pack of sportsman for 70/-! What a joy finally to be a consumer in Kenya.    GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
The government should just sell my 349 shares in Safaricom (according to VVS' estimation) and redistribute it to the Special Programmes Ministry. Huko itafanya kazi! GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
This war should trickle down all the way to rent we pay to landlords especially in nairobi. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Investor
Stocks
What do 1-bob Airtel calls mean for Safaricom share price?