Investor
Economy
Estimated 71 Billion Barrels...
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Nabwire, it is proving very hard for Simba to get a Joint Venture with no new data for their blocks. So it seems they will have to undertake a 2D Seismic. This costs money, which they don't have. It's a tough market for juniors everywhere to access credit, so the already depressed share price MAY have to contend with a very dilutive private placement. Drilling also seems slated for late 2013 or early 2014. On AOI, testing operations at Ngamia-1 commenced. GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
murchr wrote:Ha ha Hisah kazi kwako, before you sleep i just stumbled upon this.
Aha... The I. Cooper moment... Systems go very soon.$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Nabwire, it is proving very hard for Simba to get a Joint Venture with no new data for their blocks. So it seems they will have to undertake a 2D Seismic. This costs money, which they don't have. It's a tough market for juniors everywhere to access credit, so the already depressed share price MAY have to contend with a very dilutive private placement. Drilling also seems slated for late 2013 or early 2014.
On AOI, testing operations at Ngamia-1 commenced.
That is so depressing, the opportunity cost for waiting for them to figure out how and when they will get the money. 2014 is far! Thanks though
An intensive drilling campaign with partners this year should bring Africa Oil Corp (AOI.V) much closer to confirming that Kenya has commercial quantities of oil, it said on Monday. Chief Executive Keith Hill, whose Canadian-listed firm has interests in its 12 blocks covering 250,000 sq km in the region, told Reuters about $468 million would be spent in 2013 to drill at least 10 wells in Kenya and other locations in east Africa. "We plan to drill at least 10 wells this year and then I think we will drill that many, if not more next year," Hill said. http://reuters.com/artic...9370OP20130408?irpc=932
Still remains my reference point - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BjJmkZgij7c$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
When Ghana struck oil in 2007, citizens expected the industry would bring them better lives and investors anticipated hefty profits from a rising African economic star. Six years later, all of them are complaining. Lower-than-expected production from the offshore Jubilee field and funding a costly presidential election process in 2012 have left the West African nation struggling to deliver promised development projects while keeping its finances in order. http://reuters.com/artic...N0CP35Z20130409?irpc=43
Rank: Member Joined: 2/1/2010 Posts: 272 Location: Nairobi
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:When Ghana struck oil in 2007, citizens expected the industry would bring them better lives and investors anticipated hefty profits from a rising African economic star. Six years later, all of them are complaining. Lower-than-expected production from the offshore Jubilee field and funding a costly presidential election process in 2012 have left the West African nation struggling to deliver promised development projects while keeping its finances in order. http://reuters.com/artic...N0CP35Z20130409?irpc=43
This eerily sounds like Kenya five years into the future. I hope our technocrats are watching and learning The harder you work, the luckier you get
China’s major oil corporation is planning to make major inroads in Africa to take advantage of the growing interest in the continent’s oil industry. According to The China National Offshore Oil Corporation (CNOOC) Chief Executive, Fu Chengyu, the company plans to capitalise on growing interest in the continent among explorers due to high oil prices and growing energy nationalism elsewhere. In Kenya, the company is seeking a stake in Tullow Oil, which is drilling oil in Turkana. http://www.thepeople.co....hp?com=31&item=3271
A few years ago, these guys had the most licenses in Kenya. Then they relinquished their 6 blocks to "focus on Uganda". Sasa they want back in. Ama they didn't hold the 'right' blocks? When they took up those blocks (given as soon as Kibaki came from China ), Western companies were up in arms over what they termed as 'favouritism'. Will be interesting to see whether any of the blocks they relinquished turn up discoveries as they were accused of being poor explorers and only good at mining already discovered oil GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Resource wars in Somalia. The Nugaal block, held by AOI affiliate, Horn Petroleum, is mentioned. http://www.handsoffsomal...flict-in-north-somalia/
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:When Ghana struck oil in 2007, citizens expected the industry would bring them better lives and investors anticipated hefty profits from a rising African economic star. Six years later, all of them are complaining. Lower-than-expected production from the offshore Jubilee field and funding a costly presidential election process in 2012 have left the West African nation struggling to deliver promised development projects while keeping its finances in order. http://reuters.com/artic...N0CP35Z20130409?irpc=43
Thanks for bringing this up. I've always wondered silently why Ghana's 'fortune' hasn't even shown on its ccy. So where's the FX being banked/taken? Expected something similar to the Botswana Pula when the diamond revenues came online. I concur with @kryptonite in hoping [ ]that our technocrats, & indeed in the whole EAC, are learning. UG is likely one up next.
Indeed lets hope the technocrates are watching, as the events unfold. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Cde Monomotapa wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:When Ghana struck oil in 2007, citizens expected the industry would bring them better lives and investors anticipated hefty profits from a rising African economic star. Six years later, all of them are complaining. Lower-than-expected production from the offshore Jubilee field and funding a costly presidential election process in 2012 have left the West African nation struggling to deliver promised development projects while keeping its finances in order. http://reuters.com/artic...N0CP35Z20130409?irpc=43
Thanks for bringing this up. I've always wondered silently why Ghana's 'fortune' hasn't even shown on its ccy. So where's the FX being banked/taken? Expected something similar to the Botswana Pula when the diamond revenues came online. I concur with @kryptonite in hoping [ ]that our technocrats, & indeed in the whole EAC, are learning. UG is likely one up next. Have a look at their total debt drastic fall in the last 4yrs. Paying up the debt is were that FX is going. The cedi will become muscular very soon. It's one of the ccys I have been following keenly like a discounted quality equity share
Something else to note. Cocoa like oil & other commodos have been getting hammered in 2013 with cotton being the odd sister (rallying hard). Ghana exports oil & cocoa - depressed prices = depressed export income which will affect GDP figures.
Isn't econs easy or what
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Cheers at @hisah for such a credible explanation & lesson. If I were a child, I'd stop crying pronto . Been keen on Ghana too to learn ahead & refine my UG strategy. Though Cde M7 is leaving no stone unturned, very keen on getting it right from day 1. Downside? Fatigue. That cotton rally's good news for maShonaland too, thanks We're fortunate in SSA right now enjoying both Investment & Consumer growth, thus, even when exports may falter we still book strong GDP figures. (RSA being exception no. 1)
Wish this could somehow be posted at the start of the thread. Quite a nice feature on the history of the oil market industry. LINK: The Secret of the Seven SistersLive and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Tullow Oil East Africa Operational UpdateThe Sabisa-1 well in the South Omo Block in Southern Ethiopia has been drilled to a total depth of 1,810 metres. Hydrocarbon indications in sands beneath a thick claystone top seal have been recorded whilst drilling, but hole instability issues have required the drilling of a sidetrack to comprehensively log and sample these zones of interest. The sidetrack recently commenced and a result is now expected in late May. At the Ngamia-1 well in Block 10BB in Kenya, the first of six drill stem tests has now been completed. The test was carried out in the Lower Lokhone formation. The well flowed 281 barrels of 30 degree API oil per day using a Progressive Cavity Pump. Etuko to be drilled during first half of May http://www.tullowoil.com...geid=137&newsid=838
Uganda agrees to refine 30,000 bpd with total cncooc, liquid gold!! LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
kyt wrote:Uganda agrees to refine 30,000 bpd with total cncooc, liquid gold!! http://www.4-traders.com...Over-Refinery-16686601/
With commodities getting hammered mercilessly very nice discounts are coming up on commodity firms. AOI is down 10% plus today. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
CP from another site Quote:Great news today. I don't think the retail audience has it figured out yet, but here's what I see.
Ngamia tested 281 bpd in one of six zones, and the testing was done with "constrained" pumps. API 30 degrees. Nice. Ngamia should, by itself, be commercial, but certainly, when added to Twiga and the other wells we are drilling in 2013, this smells completely commercial to me.
Sabisa (Ethiopia )looks like a winner too. Early seeps were our first clue. This has now been enhanced with confirmed DHIs and the geology is now tagged as a working petroleum system. Before this news, I was a little hesitant that Sabisa would work for us, but I'm now persuaded that it's going to come in big.
In any event, Sabisa should remain on my thoughtpad as simply icing on the cake. KH has recently told us that the Locichar Basin, proved up, would drive our sp up to 20 bucks a share.
All looks good to me. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:CP from another site Quote:Great news today. I don't think the retail audience has it figured out yet, but here's what I see.
Ngamia tested 281 bpd in one of six zones, and the testing was done with "constrained" pumps. API 30 degrees. Nice. Ngamia should, by itself, be commercial, but certainly, when added to Twiga and the other wells we are drilling in 2013, this smells completely commercial to me.
Sabisa (Ethiopia )looks like a winner too. Early seeps were our first clue. This has now been enhanced with confirmed DHIs and the geology is now tagged as a working petroleum system. Before this news, I was a little hesitant that Sabisa would work for us, but I'm now persuaded that it's going to come in big.
In any event, Sabisa should remain on my thoughtpad as simply icing on the cake. KH has recently told us that the Locichar Basin, proved up, would drive our sp up to 20 bucks a share.
All looks good to me. Shhh... Wewe hutaki fat discounts $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Investor
Economy
Estimated 71 Billion Barrels...