wazua Sun, Jul 20, 2025

5 Pages«<2345>
Safaricom Half Year 2010/2011 results review
#61 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 3:07:38 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Before 2h zain will have lifted hands!!game over

Laughing out loudly Liar Laughing out loudly Liar Laughing out loudly Liar Laughing out loudly Liar Laughing out loudly Liar Laughing out loudly

NAIVETY AT ITS BEST!!!!
wangugi
#62 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 3:21:44 PM

selah wrote:
safaricom supplied 400,000 smart fones in H1
2282 base station 36% (829)data active ,intends it to grow to 50% ,165 wimax sites.

I think with such infrastructure and enhancement of its m-pesa and retail chain we havnt seen nothing yet.

even with all these improvements, SCOM's full year profit will at best be flat, if the price war continue.
Voice contributed 69% (32.5 bn) of revenue. with the reduction in price from an average of shs 8 to shs 3, expect revenue from voice to decline by more than 50% in the second half. this means that revenue from voice in H2 will be aprox 17 bn. assuming revenue from other sources doubles from the current 14.7 bn to 29 bn, then h2 total revenue will be 46 bn thus the full year revenue will be 93 bn, which is a 12% growth in revenue(2009=83 bn),expenses will on be 73bn (H1 total expenses times two) resulting to a 20B PBT.(same as last yr)
mwanahisa
#63 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 4:38:25 PM

@Wangugi. I like your "back of the envelope" analysis. If it were to turn out that way, I would actually consider it a "good" performance. I think it is rather optimistic and I note your use of the phrase "will at best be flat". Flat for SCOM in the current year would be applauded by many!
kanda
#64 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 6:58:56 PM

You know Safaricom is making these profits off you... LOL... I have no Safaricom shares thus I can't be bothered except hoping Zain-Airtel keep up the price war so I enjoy more shillings in my pocket...

Thank you!! thank you!!

why cant ppl see beyond zain vs. safcon???

i can understand if one holds the share...(i dumped mine last month lol)

...but look out for 2nd half and beyond.

lets give zain the credit for removing the yoke from our necks...pls note that i still use my safcon line to call my safcon buddies, but had zain went ahead and reduced on-net to 2 bob, i d have dumbed the safcon line altogether. i.e. i have zero brand loyalty - as we all should!!
kanda
#65 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 7:03:20 PM

muganda wrote:
@VVS agreed and Zain is making losses by paying for our calls.

Prices in Kenya have been slashed to such an extent that Safaricom Ltd. Chief Executive Officer Bob Collymore said India’s Bharti, which bought most of Zain’s African operations last year for $9 billion, is losing money on as much as 50 percent of its voice traffic.
http://www.bloomberg.com...as-call-rates-drop.html

kweli safcon is now a cult!!...yaani you are prrepared to set aside your intelligence by beliving what bob says about zain...puhliiiiz! its like believing what charity says about mwangi, lol
kanda
#66 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 7:10:22 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
We stand to gain a lot more as investors than as customers, and the company we can invest is Safaricom.

that is not true!! just because you feel that way doesnt make it true. do the math first! i think what you mean to say is that you are afraid of losing money coz of your heavy investment in an unsustainable business
sheep
#67 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 7:13:00 PM

The main problem is that data has grown by double and not triple digits....what if the supernormal growth in data tapers off?
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#68 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 7:39:51 PM

kanda wrote:
muganda wrote:
@VVS agreed and Zain is making losses by paying for our calls.

Prices in Kenya have been slashed to such an extent that Safaricom Ltd. Chief Executive Officer Bob Collymore said India’s Bharti, which bought most of Zain’s African operations last year for $9 billion, is losing money on as much as 50 percent of its voice traffic.
http://www.bloomberg.com...as-call-rates-drop.html

kweli safcon is now a cult!!...yaani you are prrepared to set aside your intelligence by beliving what bob says about zain...puhliiiiz! its like believing what charity says about mwangi, lol

@kanda Applause

Guys are literally blindly supporting safcom.. It must be their new ad on TV
DtheK
#69 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 7:55:42 PM

People should accept that the days of super profits for safcon are over,plus in the not so distant future,when basic smart phones(e.g huawei) go for 4k people will start using skype-like apps to make phone calls,this in light of the fact that data prices are only bound to fall.

If right now you can get an unlimited data plan of 3,000 in a market of 4 players(not including the ISPs although they can cause compe by establishing hot spots then charging people something small to access it through your phone's wifi),think how much it'll be next year

In short celco's will become ISPs

My advice sell safcom,get out of your comfort zone(nse) look for a startup with a solid plan to make money from the cheap bandwidth and invest there.
#70 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 9:12:34 PM

I love needling the SafCon investors... LOL... I sold mine off ages ago... I even told folks when I sold...

I use Zain solely coz of 'price'... I had a Yu line [it was the cheapest] but when 3/- came out... I moved...
#71 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 9:41:06 PM

Whoooaaa! Missed all the "praise" from @kanda @guru267. Okay some facts:

1. If Zain Kenya had not reduced their price, whatever their ulterior motive, we would not be paying 2/= on Safaricom.

2. Though every man can lie, Bob Collymore knows much more than you and I on performance of Zain.

3. Over 50% of Zain traffic terminates to Safaricom network. This means over 50% of Zain traffic earns them 0.17 per minute, while earning Government 0.62 per min, and earning Safaricom 2.21 per min.

4. It was reported on Reuters/Bloomberg yesterday that Bharti strategy in Africa is now in question as it seems to pursue market share at the cost of overall profit turnaround.

Weighing these 4 facts, I wouldn't be so quick to criticize my citing of Bob Collymore. Which by the way was made in an official Earnings Announcement, and quoted widely in international press.

Caveman
#72 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:13:45 PM

I love needling the SafCon investors... LOL... I sold mine off ages ago... I even told folks when I sold...

I use Zain solely coz of 'price'... I had a Yu line [it was the cheapest] but when 3/- came out... I moved...

which is cheaper: 2 bob or 3 bob?
#73 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:18:37 PM

Caveman wrote:

1) I call all networks. I like the PERMANENT rates from Zain. No confusion! I don't have a Mathematics PHd to figure Safaricom's 'offers'...

2) Also ALL sms are 1/-. safcom has funny deals but 3.50 across networks.

3) I also use the One Network. Very nice. Works great in Uganda + Tanzania. Cheaper than Safaricom Roaming. Free incoming calls!
hisah
#74 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 7:43:24 AM

Back in 2008 after scom's 1H results, the thread tone was similar. Then there was vuka tariff & a global credit crunch panic. By Feb 2009, the share had plunged below 3bob. Will history repeat itself?
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
erifloss
#75 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 7:55:41 AM

Dumped my safaricom though there are a few things we should accept in this world of wealth maximization:
1. They've got a strong balance sheet. Their debt to capital ratio is ok as compared to the industry, a healthy cashflow. Business is all in the money.
2. Around the world ICT is driven by innovation. It reaches a point where you not only want to use you phone to call. 7 yrs or 5 yrs ago who would have conteplated browsing or sending money via phone in Kenya if not safcom
A long term investor's jewel
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
mv_ufanisi
#76 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 12:05:13 PM

Caveman wrote:

1) I call all networks. I like the PERMANENT rates from Zain. No confusion! I don't have a Mathematics PHd to figure Safaricom's 'offers'...

2) Also ALL sms are 1/-. safcom has funny deals but 3.50 across networks.

3) I also use the One Network. Very nice. Works great in Uganda + Tanzania. Cheaper than Safaricom Roaming. Free incoming calls!

I second this e-motion! I moved to Zain when I realized that SCOM was playing tricks with their offers. I'm sure 90% of SCOM clients are still paying 3.50 per sms. Who's going to buy these confusing sms bundles and monitor them?
alikujia
#77 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 2:34:16 PM

Quite some confusions on this thread. Many against safaricom (as consumers). Many supporting safcom because they are investors (mostly i think because they are stuck in already). On the first group, i doubt whether there are anyone(as consumers) who would not praise zain move, unless they are safconemployees.
so is the discussion about safocn as an investment option or as product provider?
mv_ufanisi
#78 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 3:09:23 PM

alikujia wrote:
Quite some confusions on this thread. Many against safaricom (as consumers). Many supporting safcom because they are investors (mostly i think because they are stuck in already). On the first group, i doubt whether there are anyone(as consumers) who would not praise zain move, unless they are safconemployees.
so is the discussion about safocn as an investment option or as product provider?

You know there's trouble in SCOM land when they resort to "choirs" a la Moi style to praise Kenyans to make them feel good to continue getting "fake" deals.

Is it patriotic to be paying Kshs. 3.50 when other providers are paying 1 bob?
annsal
#79 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 3:56:53 PM

It always comes down to how much you are spending - i use zain most of the time coz atleast i understand the rates- 3 bob for calls and 1/= for sms. simple and clear. i dont care much about who is making profits vs losses.
God loves a Trier!
#80 Posted : Friday, November 12, 2010 4:28:10 PM

There are 700K shareholders, 3k employees and 17million subscribers, this argument that people see value in safaricom because they are employees or shareholders is just too weak, can we permanently drop it. I don't see a youngster who spends most of his time on facebook(which he automatically logs in through safaricom live) opting for zain or yu, i dont see myself changing simcards or carrying two phones, one for Mpesa, another for sms and switching again to call. Safaricom is way ahead of the others and customers recognise this, very simple, and some of us on seeing this, invest there. It a result not a cause.
Meru Holiness