wazua Wed, Apr 29, 2026

4 Pages«<234
Garden Estate
Injere
#31 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 1:39:45 PM

I take your point on the sewer.Well said. Are we then saying there are plans for NCC to extend sewerage services to these areas and that's the basis of proposed re-zoning? The last time i checked Mwene, 90% of Garden Estate is still in darkness at night and there are ONLY dirt roads barely usable during rainy seasons - NCC snoring on the job! Truth is, if there is no comprehensive solution from NCC for all the infrastructural requirements in areas such as these, i frankly dont see how rezoning will happen. Private developers will only do what's convenient for them from a biz perspective, the wider problem still remains unaffected. These are my thoughts.
Mwene
#32 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 2:02:59 PM

Injere wrote:
I take your point on the sewer.Well said. Are we then saying there are plans for NCC to extend sewerage services to these areas and that's the basis of proposed re-zoning? The last time i checked Mwene, 90% of Garden Estate is still in darkness at night and there are ONLY dirt roads barely usable during rainy seasons - NCC snoring on the job! Truth is, if there is no comprehensive solution from NCC for all the infrastructural requirements in areas such as these, i frankly dont see how rezoning will happen. Private developers will only do what's convenient for them from a biz perspective, the wider problem still remains unaffected. These are my thoughts.

Hi. Thanks for your comments. I was giving the sewer just as one example. Subject to ALL the NCC, NEMA and other relevant requirements, a private developer can put a sewer. It is already happening. In addition, we now know that there are newer, better, scientific and technologically efficient means of public waste disposal which one can use, not just the traditional sewer. These technologies are already in use in South Africa and elsewhere. Further, the development we are envisaging is comprehensive enough, covering more aspects than just sewer. We have asked that our proposals be evaluated on basis of merit, rather than being dismissed off-hand, with subtle hints of bribery etc. But I agree with you that NCC has to play its role where required. We are a solution oriented organization, not content with waiting for eons for NCC to act. We do not wish to be part of the endemic, systemic problem that the NCC seems content to babysit.
Mwene
#33 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 2:45:29 PM

Mwene wrote:
[quote=kyt]@ mwene, i told you these forum is too hot to handle. I did not even notice the "mandatory" part. And the way u get worked up is not going to help u in wazua my guy! smile

My apologies if I seemed to be getting worked up! That's a bad character trait that I must desist from kabisa. Thanks for saying it!
#34 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 3:26:31 PM

Mwene wrote:
Injere wrote:

In addition, we now know that there are newer, better, scientific and technologically efficient means of public waste disposal which one can use, not just the traditional sewer. These technologies are already in use in South Africa and elsewhere. .

Any link/information on these?
african coloner
#35 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 6:59:14 PM

luttz wrote:
@ African coloner,

Inbox me, will send you the number of a guy who will help you on this

luttz
hit my mail at ronaldkmn at yahoo dot com
Renegade
#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 7:29:47 PM

By the way where does Garden Estate end and where does Thome begin? Or are they considered to be one contiguous zone?
Injere
#37 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 8:26:42 AM

Garden Estate is just that Bwana Renegade - Garden Estate. It is a gated community with a single exit/entry point much like Runda i'd say. I might however add that the plots of land on either side or Garden Estate road just before you get to the Marurui junction are of equal pedigree and are loosely regarded as 'Garden Estate' as well.

From the Marurui junction - the other land mass towards Marurui township is Thome. This extends to the areas just behind Safari Park; the other land mass towards Windorsor/Kiambu road is Ridgeways as far as i know.

I stand to be corrected though!
luttz
#38 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 1:05:22 PM

@ African Coloner

Emails bouncing back, in box me at sanadeer@gmail.com

Cheers
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
4 Pages«<234