wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

7 Pages«<23456>»
Equity - a politically risky stock time to sell
#61 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 10:40:34 AM

VVS, you had clearly stated before that you have ZERO shares in eveready, but qw was still insisting otherwise.
#62 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 11:06:11 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
VVS, you had clearly stated before that you have ZERO shares in eveready, but qw was still insisting otherwise.
So what? LOL... It's not water off my back? Maybe ako Eveready... As is, whose portfolio do we truly know about on Wazua?
winston
#63 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 11:46:25 AM

@vvs - a number of wazuans revealed their portfolios on a different thread. @QW didnt have paka - He declared -access, KQ, Mumias kenolkobil.
PKoli
#64 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:11:22 PM

I have arm, kenya re, BOC, cfs, stanbic ug, kcb and CiC. I regret Kenya Re
#65 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:22:22 PM

winston wrote:
@vvs - a number of wazuans revealed their portfolios on a different thread. @QW didnt have paka - He declared -access, KQ, Mumias kenolkobil.
I dont mean just saying what shares... but more than that... %s, amounts, etc...

Not that I plan to do so... Why? Privacy... It is my money & I am not a public servant... LOL...
erifloss
#66 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 2:31:57 PM

@youcantstopusnow, tell me how many people you know that earn below 20,000 and bank with stanchart and yet its share price goes up and is considered as a blue chip company. Simply said, there comes a time when they'll run out of the unbanked while still our usual banks we'll have clients that require working capital financing, asset financing e.t.c. Remember one other thing, when one gets little income he only thinks of consumption, when he gets extra like you he thinks of investment meaning there comes a time when you need a bank that will understand your needs as a high networth investor rather than a person who deposits and withdraws cash. Even churches have realised the same and thats why they are opening chapels at the Karens and upperhills of Kenya and getting out of their 'normal settings'
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#67 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 3:18:49 PM

erifloss, mention to me which needs as a high net worth investor that stanchart can meet that equity can't. And i think we are deviating from our main purpose as investors which is: if the equity share will give us adequate returns. As per the last 5 years at the nse, there has been no greater moneymaker than the equity share, and I don't think that equity's growth is stalling one bit. I mentioned that equity is also a corporate banker. it's not only focussing on the 'unbanked'. plus about half of kenyans are still unbanked, leaving ENORMOUS POTENTIAL. And which bank does 'wanjiku' think of when deciding to open an account? Definitely not barclays or stanchart. That much i can tell you
yekeyeke
#68 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 6:06:49 PM

All those who arewaiting for Equity to be on its last legs should think again and VERY VERY VERY hard too. Wafikirie sana sana sana.

Just see the link below:-

http://www.theeastafrica.../-/ltxoixz/-/index.html

For those who are agains equoty and somehow manage to direct they sisy browsers onto the link they will find the below letters makeing the following words:-

Applause About a month and a half ago, Equity Bank and Safaricom launched the M-Kesho account, which is proving to be the fastest moving financial product in Kenya’s banking industry.

“We are signing up an estimated 8,000 accounts per day, arguably the largest number of customers we have handled in the history of the bank,” said Equity Bank CEO James Mwangi.

Some 2,500 M-Kesho agents have been set up country wide, after the Central Bank of Kenya gave the nod and the requisite infrastructure was laid down, Mr Mwangi said.

Safaricom CEO Michael Joseph said: “We developed this product based on a need for an affordable and convenient bank account where customers can save and earn interest, access financial services like insurance and emergency credit.”Pray

Now if Stanchat or Barclays or whichever Sissy bank out there can beat or equal this, then you deserve to be praised.
#69 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 10:33:00 PM

dont trust all what the CEO says, how do you quantify 8000 accounts in a day? who did the research?
yekeyeke
#70 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 10:51:44 PM

KYT.

Sasa wewe, what are the factors you are using to counter the 8K accounts per day? This was been reported by a reputable newspaper. Are you stating that the newspaper and the Nation media Group and the Equity MD are all liers? Share these with us.

Was there and is there any instance, historiclly that is, that you can quote to show that the equity MD is a lier? Ama this is the usual equity bashing. Looks like. Domo mingi no substance. Makelele tupu. Empty Debe!!!!!!

If you dont like Equity, dont read Equity articles. Go and read your james hadly Chase. Inaonekana Haukisone all the books in the series. Ama enda uone the bold and the restless.

Lets get serious PLEASE.

You sound like the ODMers who still insist and state that their party is still popular even after two major electroral defeats !!!!!!Come one Manze. Wake up. These are kicks of a dying farasi.

PKoli
#71 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 2:44:28 AM

Equity will certainly continue on its profitability path, although I think the market reaction to its M-Kesho announcement was too optimistic. I would like to see concrete numbers coming in before I make a strategic decision.
#72 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 8:05:22 AM

Equity Bank is a phenomenon... Share price aside.. the performance/profits have been awesome!
yekeyeke
#73 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 1:00:21 PM

When an investor waits to see the results and these are announced, the share price will zoom to new hights and will be out of reach. If you believe it in, buy now..
cnn
#74 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 1:44:05 PM

The swelling demand could be an indicator JM is about to drop the half year numbers.Without any cash i am like a rabbit in the headlights.
wa P
#75 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 6:20:08 PM

I find that @yekekeye defense on Equity childish and lame. Are you JM's kin?

Equity is too much smoke. No one can quantify the fire yet. When you look at profitability, please consider:
1. The bank still masquerade as a microfinance institution, and receive grants from donors. Is that usually accounted as profit?
2. Mkesho is benefiting safaricom more than equity. The stock to consider in light of mkesho is safaricom.
3. @yekkeye do you hold an account with equity? Its achille's heel shall be the poor, obstinate customer service. I am/ was amember (now dormant)i know what am talking about.
4. Try doing business with equity. You'll be amazed at the level of indiscretion and concentration of decision making at one person. Ending up with mundane solutions. Again, talking from experience.
5. Look at Equity's top management 2 yrs ago, last year and this year. Constant changes. Either the bank does not know how to recruit, or working there makes one an instant millionaire and after 1 year people retire. Is that a stable bank?
6. @yekekeyee believes what CEO says, what newspapers say. Too gullible for Wazua. WeWE NDIO BURE KABISA
yekeyeke
#76 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 7:16:33 PM

Wa P.

Does the P stand for Pumbavu? Kweli ni Pumbavu. Kwani you dont fart if i like JM? Shida yako ni nini? Kama you dont like Equity close your account. Why leave it domant? So that you can go back to using it later?

And you seem to have a problem with the poor. Who form 70% of our population. Kama ni hivio wewe enda ufungue account kwingine. Leave the 8K Kenyans to open accounts bila your vile. They do not need it. If you can afford to pay 1K in bank charges per month others cant.

And since they smell on the lines, wewe go and join the rich ones wasikunukie.

Equity for ever...!!!!

#77 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 9:04:11 PM

P, what do you mean by Equity is too much smoke? Brilliant results and growth since its listing na bado hauamini? It has been said before and we will not tire of saying it: Majority of kenyans are poor. Maskini hohe! hahe! Mafukara! Have you ever asked yourself why the majority of them bank by Equity. Pure chance? I don't think so. Plus banking the poor is BOOMING BUSINESS. These guys have won accolades all over the world. JM sits on distuingished boards such as The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. He also shared an award with the Pakistani Nobel Laureate Mohammed Yunus. So he must be doing something right. Plus your assumption that Safaricom will gain more from M-Kesho is wrong. Equity will get more deposits. And if you say yekeyeke believes everything the papers say, then are we also to start doubting the 21 billion profit that safaricom made? That it was too much?
#78 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 9:08:04 PM

yekeyeke wrote:
And since they smell on the lines, wewe go and join the rich ones wasikunukie.Equity for ever...!!!!

yekeyeke, you really know how to put your points across.
Applause
cnn
#79 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 3:22:49 PM

Equity report on Tuesday,will be robust.I regret it has caught me out.
#80 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 4:21:51 PM

The marginal cost of running the Mkesho accounts is almost negligible as they will rely on the IT infrastructure (fixed cost) they already have.
Assuming the 8K accounts opened per day (240k accounts opened in a month, and each carries out only one trx a month (30/-) and they keep only 10/-of this, that is 2.4M bottom line per month. that is serious cash.