wazua Sat, Dec 20, 2025

5 Pages«<2345>
Safaricom to acquire Interconnect & IGO wireless
#61 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 8:18:01 PM

muganda wrote:
new 'competition problems' (x50 speed) it creates.

And what's the problem with that?

Those are the problems I want...
#62 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 8:36:01 PM

@2012 @VVS, I hear you...
But now CCK had to reduce 3G license fee from $25m to $10m so other operators can afford it and 'compete'; had to pay for Orange due to past misdeeds for the sake of 'competition'...

And when all that is done, the player who is already 3 years ahead and with over 600 built up 3G stations, decides to begin testing 4G? What a meessss... just more heart ache... and more 'competitors' crying blooddy murder and club effect...

Some well intentioned bureaucracy needs to be thrown in the way.

#63 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 9:05:20 PM

muganda wrote:
@2012 @VVS, I hear you...
But now CCK had to reduce 3G license fee from $25m to $10m so other operators can afford it and 'compete'; had to pay for Orange due to past misdeeds for the sake of 'competition'...

And when all that is done, the player who is already 3 years ahead and with over 600 built up 3G stations, decides to begin testing 4G? What a meessss... just more heart ache... and more 'competitors' crying blooddy murder and club effect...

Some well intentioned bureaucracy needs to be thrown in the way.

Total NONSENSE... It's like saying that Kenya's marathon runners should wear dress shoes coz it evens the field for the other countries' slow runners!!!

There is nothing as ill-intentioned as well-intentioned bureauKRAZY...

I say f*** the rest if they dont want to install 4G immediately... Who says Zain need to install 3G? Jump to 4G...
#64 Posted : Saturday, July 03, 2010 7:07:55 PM

Who should be losing sleep over the rise of Safaricom?

http://www.wazua.co.ke/i...?sec=investor&aid=61
#65 Posted : Saturday, July 03, 2010 11:10:21 PM

[quote=youcan'tstopusnow]Who should be losing sleep over the rise of Safaricom?

http://www.wazua.co.ke/i...sec=investor&aid=61[/quote]
Kenya's killer app is not cellphones but M-Pesa... Apparently the Indians dont allow M-Pesa (or similar stuff) coz of 'fraud' or money-laundering. Stupid if you ask me...
#66 Posted : Sunday, August 15, 2010 9:52:17 PM

Safaricom have already sold 1 million laptops. That is huge!
#67 Posted : Sunday, August 15, 2010 11:35:42 PM

Sigh... I am still waiting for safcom to fall to 5.50... then I am in like Flint...
#68 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 1:42:08 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Safaricom have already sold 1 million laptops. That is huge!

thats one laptop for every 40 people - male, female, child IMPOSSIBLE.
#69 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 1:55:17 AM

sparkly, how is that impossible? If 50% of Kenyans can own mobile phones, why don't you believe that 2.5% can own laptops? It was a partnership with Equity Bank to give out loans to buy laptops. The information was in the Saturday Nation interview. You can find it here: www.habarizanyumbani.jam...0bn-empire-from-scratch/
bird_man
#70 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 9:16:13 AM

@Sparkly....I also think 1Million is sort of impossible.Unless they were selling to corporates or something.One laptop for every 40people is simply too high.Plus out of the 50% Kenyans who own phones....I think 80% own phones worth less than 7,000sh.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#71 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 10:38:15 AM

@y lets take a sample. How many people do you know who bought the safaricom laptops? I only know one. In a country where more than half of the families survive on less than sh 80 a day, its not easy to sell 1m +35k laptops. How many kenyans are IT literate anyway to the extent of buying laptops and 3g modems? Btw to say that 20m kenyans own phones may not be right. Its based on the assumption that there are 20m active subscribers and each owns a phone. many people esp in urban areas own two or more phones or dual sims. I have 2, my boss has 3.
qw25041985
#72 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 10:44:20 AM

@Y, just give us the source of ur info. A link ,maybe . Instead of arguing over nothing .
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#73 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 10:48:30 AM

qw25041985 wrote:
@Y, just give us the source of ur info. A link ,maybe . Instead of arguing over nothing .

I've already posted the link. Angalia vizuri
#74 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 11:22:00 AM

bird_man wrote:
@Sparkly....I also think 1Million is sort of impossible.Unless they were selling to corporates or something.One laptop for every 40people is simply too high.Plus out of the 50% Kenyans who own phones....I think 80% own phones worth less than 7,000sh.

@bird_man if MJ said they've sold a million laptops then they've sold a million laptops... Period...

Maybe you should just wait for the h1 results so you can see for yourself
#75 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 12:25:47 PM

The question is... is Daily Nation misquoting MJ?

MJ has no reason to lie... If he says 1 million... I believe him too lakini do I believe Daily LyingNation? NO...

[BTW, Daily LyingNation does not quote MJ on the 1mn laptops. It ASSumes it...]
tony stark
#76 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 1:26:00 AM

The question is... is Daily Nation misquoting MJ?

MJ has no reason to lie... If he says 1 million... I believe him too lakini do I believe Daily LyingNation? NO...

[BTW, Daily LyingNation does not quote MJ on the 1mn laptops. It ASSumes it...]

I agree Safaricom could not have sold 1 million laptops. If safaricom had sold 1 million laptops and they make a very very small profit of 1000 per machine that would definitely appear in their book cause thats a profit of 1 billion and the turnover will be over 35 billion.
Point 2 with 1 million laptop we would have one of the highest computer penetration on Africa and anyway the total computer sales in Africa and the middle east is estimated to be about 17million.

#77 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 8:04:48 AM

ye of little faith!
#78 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 10:44:56 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
ye of little faith!
Put your money where your mouth is...
stocksguru7
#79 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 1:07:55 PM

where is the monopolies and mergers commission maybe they have something to say
UN PACTUM UN DICTUM
#80 Posted : Tuesday, August 17, 2010 2:44:46 PM

stocksguru7 wrote:
where is the monopolies and mergers commission maybe they have something to say
What for? Those idiots are government employees... I use Zairtel but Safaricom customers can move away... why don't they?

Kwani MJ has a gun to our heads?