wazua Mon, Jul 14, 2025

5 Pages«<2345>
UCHUMI
#61 Posted : Sunday, August 15, 2010 11:54:18 AM

@mwafrika31 - Stop payukaring your ignorance! Please answer these simple questions:

What car do you drive? [I bet it is not nyayo car. If yes, do you push it to work daily?]
What phone(s) do you use? [Made in China, China, China, India. Ama you built one with 2 cans so Telkom can compete?]
Do you use M-Pesa or Zap or Obo-pay? [None are 'Kenyan' but licensed. Or you use Camel Express that serves NE Kenya?]
Do you drink beer? If yes, which brand? [Most of the Hops & loads of Barley is imported. Unless u drink kumi kumi. Or maybe you drunk too much kumi kumi]
Do you use a laptop? What brand? [No Kenyan firm has the ability to assemble a decent laptop at a decent price. A slate & piece of chalk is not the laptop I am referring to]

I will take you head on... If you can take you receipts for the past 1 month & we will compare who buys more Kenyan stuff...

Bure Kabisa... I am 100% sure you are one of those msalitis like ka-loser who preaches water but drinks wine...

BTW, please ask wazua to create a non-English sections for you... I have been lucky enough to travel the world & English got me much, much further than any vernacular or Kiswahili... Even in nearby Kampala, more Ugandans speak English than Kiswahili...

Wannabe-American? LOLest... Check the LOOONNNGGG lines at the USA Embassy... Kenyans want to go the USA in droves not the other way round... Apparently, I have good company ;-)
#62 Posted : Sunday, August 15, 2010 12:05:15 PM

@Mwafrika31 - Since this is an investing site please translate this into Kisawhili bila Kamusi!!!

Bond
Derivative
Credit
Debit
Capital
Debenture
Restructuring
Margin
Alpha
Beta
Gamma
Delta
Preference Shares
Convertible Preference Shares
Convertible Debentures
Equity-linked Debetrures
Treasury Bills
Treasury Bonds
Gilts
Blue Chips

LOLest... Even Ciano would be hard-pressed trying to explain the Conversion, Debentures, Loans, etc in Kiswahili...

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly In my shaagz... English is considered far more important coz you can do progress much further in the world... After all, we have one of our own as the American Top Dog... [ Now, would you say he is a wannabe-Kenyan? ]
#63 Posted : Sunday, August 15, 2010 7:48:04 PM

@Mwafrika31 - Since this is an investing site please translate this into Kisawhili bila Kamusi!!!

Bond
Derivative
Credit
Debit
Capital
Debenture
Restructuring
Margin
Alpha
Beta
Gamma
Delta
Preference Shares
Convertible Preference Shares
Convertible Debentures
Equity-linked Debetrures
Treasury Bills
Treasury Bonds
Gilts
Blue Chips

LOLest... Even Ciano would be hard-pressed trying to explain the Conversion, Debentures, Loans, etc in Kiswahili...

Laughing out loudly VVS, haha. Once I read Mwafrika's comments, I knew your reply was set to be one of your masterpieces. By the way, is it true that Tanzanians study Chemistry in Kiswahili? smile
#64 Posted : Sunday, August 15, 2010 9:57:21 PM

Mazee @vvs did someone call Merali god?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#65 Posted : Sunday, August 15, 2010 11:32:55 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mazee @vvs did someone call Merali god?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
In my Church... the jamaa would be excommunicated! Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Mwafrika31
#66 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 5:06:37 AM

@mwafrika31 - Stop payukaring your ignorance! Please answer these simple questions:

What car do you drive? [I bet it is not nyayo car. If yes, do you push it to work daily?]
What phone(s) do you use? [Made in China, China, China, India. Ama you built one with 2 cans so Telkom can compete?]
Do you use M-Pesa or Zap or Obo-pay? [None are 'Kenyan' but licensed. Or you use Camel Express that serves NE Kenya?]
Do you drink beer? If yes, which brand? [Most of the Hops & loads of Barley is imported. Unless u drink kumi kumi. Or maybe you drunk too much kumi kumi]
Do you use a laptop? What brand? [No Kenyan firm has the ability to assemble a decent laptop at a decent price. A slate & piece of chalk is not the laptop I am referring to]

I will take you head on... If you can take you receipts for the past 1 month & we will compare who buys more Kenyan stuff...

Bure Kabisa... I am 100% sure you are one of those msalitis like ka-loser who preaches water but drinks wine...

BTW, please ask wazua to create a non-English sections for you... I have been lucky enough to travel the world & English got me much, much further than any vernacular or Kiswahili... Even in nearby Kampala, more Ugandans speak English than Kiswahili...

Wannabe-American? LOLest... Check the LOOONNNGGG lines at the USA Embassy... Kenyans want to go the USA in droves not the other way round... Apparently, I have good company ;-)

@ v vs
You miss the point and present a well worn argument. I am not advocating for the rejection of technology in the name of patriotism. All those manufactures you have spoken of are useful and needed and not produced in Kenya. There is nothing wrong in either buying or using them. Our difference in opinion strictly comes from our world views. You are looking at the situation from a personal view point, I am looking at it from a public policy viewpoint. This does not create a contradiction in my position.

Why is there poverty? is the question I'm interested is escavating. Ultimately, it is because Kenya's economy is not very productive. Even manufactures that are relatively low-tech are not fabricated within the economy. Like a simple bicycle. All I'm saying is that we keep ourselves poor by this import binge. We should seek to manufacture the simple things that we can, like textiles, and import what would not be economically viable to produce domestically. The strong opposition to this idea among the westernized mentally colonized elite is what I'm railing against. When Nakumatt imports chicken from France totally cutting off domestic producers, then something is seriously wrong. The fact that policy makers find this acceptable is tantamount to treason. After all, who are the idiots meant to represent? France businesses or Kenyan business?

You say that no Kenyan firm has the ability to assemble a laptop, don't you see that this is precisely the issue. Why is this? According to the World Bank, Kenyas GDP (total amount of money we collectively make) is a paltry $30 Billion! Samsung, a single company that began as a jua kali operation, made a profit of $12 billion in 2009. Just one company's profit was 2 times GoK's entire budget.

My position is that poverty is immoral and unacceptable, you've become used to it, so it does not move you. The plight of the poor pains me greatly, and I believe that each and every action and sacrifice be made to alleviate the appalling poverty. If people like you have to sacrifice a Kshs 50,000 foreign iphone then so be it. But I'm talking to myself and I know it.......
Spend.thrift
#67 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 9:11:40 AM

@Mwafrika I concur with you on your "public policy viewpoint". I have never understood why a Kenyan walks into a supermarket and throws a tray of "Proudly South African" eggs onto his/her trolley.

However, you can do only so much to protect inefficient industries. How can sugar made in Brazil and transported over the seas end up being cheaper "and cleaner" than the same made in Mumias just a 6hour truck journey away?

The thread was about Uchumi. I say I'm happy to hear they are back to stream. But To win customers, they must give value-this is what Nakumatt has excelled at. I had a ladey Friend from Canada visiting who was marvelled a the level of customer care exhibited by Nakumatt. Having shopped at the IKEAs in Rome and two other European location, I would say Nakumatt is at par.

In my organisational development consultancies I have always used Nakumatt and Uchumi to explain what core values mean. I am sure you know what I mean. If you don't just walk into an Uchumi and shopping (especially the one that involves asking questions before buying or returning defective appliances). The next month or shopping episode, walk into Nakumatt and you will know what I mean.

#68 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 9:39:00 AM

I believe in the power of choice. Even God doesn't force people to make certain choices. If someone prefers to buy sukuma wiki imported from Chechnya instead of those cultivated in Kenya, no problem. It is called FREEDOM OF CHOICE and is safeguarded in constitutions the world over. Now, back to Uchumi, I must say I am looking forward to its re-listing. I also agree that since it was already listed, they shouldn't have been subjected to the same procedures when re-listing as a new entrant into the NSE. Many listed firms are currently making losses. We don't see them being de-listed until they make profits for 3 consecutive years like Uchumi was being asked. Something the CMA needs to look into.
#69 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 10:14:21 AM

Spend.thrift wrote:
@Mwafrika ...Having shopped at the IKEAs in Rome and two other European location, I would say Nakumatt is at par.

The European businesses fall flat on their faces when it comes to service. The service industry in Europe is right there at the bottom, next to agriculture. When you shop at COOP, REWE, Aldi, Lidl or REAL you quickly appreciate the Kenyan UCHUMI and Nakumatt where the attendants even roll your shopping, chatting with you, to your car. smile
yekeyeke
#70 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 11:04:05 AM

Yes and not to mention the business of charging you for a plastic bag. Do they expect people to go with kiodos to the supermarket? These SA, EU and US seprmarkets have very poor service indeed.
PKoli
#71 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 11:09:11 AM

yekeyeke wrote:
Yes and not to mention the business of charging you for a plastic bag. Do they expect people to go with kiodos to the supermarket? These SA, EU and US seprmarkets have very poor service indeed.

Poor when it comes kazi ya mkono
#72 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 11:49:37 AM

Where does one get a detailed financial report for these Uchumi?

I'm thankful they're back but I'm worried they're operating like a sick man-with favours from the govt.I hear that their staff are on short term contracts.

What will happen when this sickman comes back to the real world under the scorching sun and the rain?

yekeyeke
#73 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 11:57:11 AM

kADONYE
Can you give us a list of these favours? We all know that they were bailed out by the govenment. So was RBS, AIG, BOA, etc etc etc etc etc.
If you want a list, check google for all TARP recepients.

Let me make it easier for you. See list below. And this is only in the US. You havent looked at the EU and Asia.

http://bailout.propublica.org/list/index
Spend.thrift
#74 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 12:25:51 PM

@ JGuru. I talked of IKEA, one of the world's leading retail stores. I say Nakumatt compares because of many aspects such the "all under one roof concept", arrengement of products, consistent avalability of brands, store cleanliness, price displays, warranties and exchnages , and counter assistance, price display e.t.c. You also have to weigh your considerations against the practice in the service industry in the countries.

As for being charged for paper bags and having someone walk you to the parking with your cart, I wll tell you this. Unless you are pregnant and unaccompanied or convalescent, it is rude and irresponsible to have someone push your cart to the parking or have someone walk to the arking to collect abandoned carts.

@Polki. About paper bags, you are a typical Kenyan who expects to be given a new plastic paper bag evry time they shop. The supermarket doesn't mind because it is "cheap". In reality, a bigger proportion of that cost is externalised. Other people pay for it e.g, when donors fund the unclogging of the Nairobi River or the residents of Dandora who have to inhale dioxin-laden fumes from burning plastic wrapers.

It is civil and responsible to carry a carton or that kiondo to the supermarket, more so if you have a car. If I get the opportunity, I would introduce a plastic tax that would make each of those dirty plastics cost 200x more so that people like you can stop creating an unnecessary demand for those things.

#75 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 12:41:37 PM

@mwafika31 - Now we are having a reasoned DISCUSSION...

Look... I buy Kenyan when I can but the shopkeepers/supermakets/kiosks sell what customers want...

I shake my head when my buddies buy 'Heineken' & 'Windhoek' coz of the prestige factor... Give me a nice cold bottle of Tusker Malt...

The same with CRISPS... I mean WTF??? Kwani, the imported, stale taste better? [Why not buy the fresh stuff 'Made in Kenya']

So it is consumers not the 'seller'... When I buy fruits, if my local Mama Mboga sells lousy stuff... I go elsewhere... She knows I want good stuff...
#76 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 12:43:59 PM

jguru wrote:
Spend.thrift wrote:
@Mwafrika ...Having shopped at the IKEAs in Rome and two other European location, I would say Nakumatt is at par.

The European businesses fall flat on their faces when it comes to service. The service industry in Europe is right there at the bottom, next to agriculture. When you shop at COOP, REWE, Aldi, Lidl or REAL you quickly appreciate the Kenyan UCHUMI and Nakumatt where the attendants even roll your shopping, chatting with you, to your car. smile

Lakini Aldi & Lidl are far cheaper than Tesco & Sainsbury... Aldi/Lidl are minimalist shops... Also labor is cheap in Kenya vs UK/Germany...
dr.ysj
#77 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 12:48:12 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

VVS, haha. Once I read Mwafrika's comments, I knew your reply was set to be one of your masterpieces. By the way, is it true that Tanzanians study Chemistry in Kiswahili?

Yes, they used to some years ago but they use English these day!
#78 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 12:49:58 PM

@spend.thrift is CORRECT...

We need to become 'green'... My mother used to go to the market with a kikapu (who remembers those brown/beige vikapu made from raffia). I used to follow her as we bought from the Mama Mbogas. At best, they used newspapers to wrap up stuff!

Nowadays, I see plastic bags littering everywhere! BTW, Rwanda does not allow any plastic bags & is CLEAN...

When I was a broke student, I shopped at ALDI & I used to carry/reuse my own bags. Why waste?

Juzi, I bought 3 items & I was given 2 plastic bags at Nakumatt! I returned one of them!
PKoli
#79 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 1:46:48 PM

@spend.thrift is CORRECT...

We need to become 'green'... My mother used to go to the market with a kikapu (who remembers those brown/beige vikapu made from raffia). I used to follow her as we bought from the Mama Mbogas. At best, they used newspapers to wrap up stuff!

Nowadays, I see plastic bags littering everywhere! BTW, Rwanda does not allow any plastic bags & is CLEAN...

When I was a broke student, I shopped at ALDI & I used to carry/reuse my own bags. Why waste?

Juzi, I bought 3 items & I was given 2 plastic bags at Nakumatt! I returned one of them!

There has to be a policy shift in the manufacture of plastics, like in Rwanda. Else it is very difficulty to eradicate the polythene and go green. The way people throw these papers shamelessly on the roads.
Mwafrika31
#80 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 1:57:08 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
@Mwafrika I concur with you on your "public policy viewpoint". I have never understood why a Kenyan walks into a supermarket and throws a tray of "Proudly South African" eggs onto his/her trolley.

However, you can do only so much to protect inefficient industries. How can sugar made in Brazil and transported over the seas end up being cheaper "and cleaner" than the same made in Mumias just a 6hour truck journey away?

This is called import dumping. The result of oversubsidized excess agricultural production to keep prices artificially high and force open new markets.