Health
Struggling with weight loss
Long lasting cost effective solution that works.
Dont skip meals, eat healthy and eat enough not too much. Transform your environment to support your weight loss, e.g get rid of junk food. Instead of soda, drink water. Instead of chocolate eat a fruit or a bowl of salad. Walk, its free and very effective. During dinner allow enough time after meals, dont just eat and go to sleep Skipp a rope. Walk up and down the staircase. Join a outdoors fan club, a group that can encourage you to run for a cause, climb a range, plateau or mountain. Find opportunities to travel out of the city where you can do some hiking or walking.
@faa, was in stressful situation and lacked appetite and shed 4kgs in 4days.
@wendz. You can also try using 'walk away the pounds DVD' . Will help you walk away the pound from the comfort of your house.
wairegi wrote:@faa, was in stressful situation and lacked appetite and shed 4kgs in 4days.
@wendz. You can also try using 'walk away the pounds DVD' . Will help you walk away the pound from the comfort of your house. @faa I still havent figured out what would be stressing me.... i happen to be a very positive person unfortunately and i tend to see the brighter side of things. Would i need to change that? lakini that starving and loosing 4kgs in 4 days yawa sounds tempting! @Wairegi Where do i get this DVD? Any contacts? I wouldnt mind. Might help me with the "walking" bit.
@Wendz About loosing 4kg and in 4days while i like and enjoyed the loosing bit. i was totaly off myself.
You can lookup for 'the walk away the pounds in ebay'. Imported some for a freind from ebay and the feed back is also positive.
Quit sugarly diet and chai ni ndubia. Sodas wacha kabisa
@ Wendz,go for a long term strategy not short term........
The best way is to rave up your metabolism. since you do not mind jogging,go for it!a morning jog will get you burning calories into mid morning) and change eating habits ( take a good look at what you eat everyday and slash it, by half ( i am talking meats,chapati,ugali rice)and replace with fruits and veges.Take your
Try weights medium weights ( i would do 2 kgs) you will be amazed at how toned your arms will look)
Drink lots of water too.
Realistically,your best pair of jeans should loosen in about 4 weeks ;)
Good luck!
Magigi wrote: ...and you can also imagine the torture we go through when our women ask us to carry them upstairs (just as they see in those soaps..)when one of her legs, alone is 50kgs!!! If you broke your legs while carrying that heavy load, what will you tell people you were doing?
Am perfectly alright n yes these hips got to go.Am very small upwards so it has to be extended downwards.
@ Wendz,
Remember what weight gain is and you will realise to lose it you need to do the opposite. Weight gain is where your input (chakula) is greater than your output (the many ways you use and burn energy.) What you need is to find a way to tip this balance just slightly and you are on your way to not just losing weight but maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Like someone said, it is a longterm project and I would advocate like Chepkel says finding ways of incorporating activities in your daily life.
Remember for a weight program to be successful it is the frequency that is more important than the intensity. Do not do anything today that you could not possibly repeat tomorrow and the day after and so on (like climbing 23 flights of stairs!) It is better to incorporate a small change that you can do every day than a big one that you will dread to repeat.
Eating: You are eating wrong girl!!!!!! There is no such thing as "just" snacking. Let me explain. People who skip meals eg breakfast or lunch end up "just" having a meatpie here, a mandazi there, a soda here and a cake there. They have not eaten but have "just" had a few snacks. Guess what?! They have eaten and not just eaten but eaten a lot of junk! Rule number one to healthy living. THOU SHALT NOT SKIP A MEAL!!!!!!! You must make a deliberate attempt to plan what you will eat. Planning does not just mean planning for the content but more importantly the TIME. The most difficult thing to plan for is breakfast so plan to wake up early. Just say even 15 minutes and what you want to do is SIT DOWN for 15 minutes or 10 minutes and have your breakfast. Whatever you have planned to have, a fruit, chai na mkate etc. SIT DOWN, BE STILL and have it. The idea is never to eat on the go but to think about what you are eating and enjoying it. With time you will see you will start planning to have things that are good for you. Try and eat to your fill at meal times and you will find this not only eliminates the need to snack but you also eat a more wholesome meal.
THOU SHALT ONLY EAT WHOLE GRAINS. Kama ni mkate, let it be whole wheat. Siaga unga for Ugali and try whole grain rice. They are good for you.
I wish you well in your weight loss program but above all I wish you good health and a healthy lifestyle. It feels good to be healthy and well.
@kusadikika What can i say but THANK YOU!.
To You All Wazuans
I must say thank you very much for the valuable information you have given me here. Accept my sincere gratitude. I am very determined to put them into good use and pledge to report back here on the progress a month from this day (I hope my failing memory will do me that honor).
If i dont use it, i only have myself to blame.
Thanks alot guys and God bless.
lakini wendz..for the sake of njunge and i..please at the least send each of us a before pic...
check business daily page 27 today
@Wendz As you put the info into good use, remember to eat lots of vegetables and fruits. They will really help.
@kizee
Wacha nitafute latest i post it here.... hehehehe
@wasee Hiyo maneno nitaangalia... I think i will make a special order... am going all traditional! Soon, i will be back seeking help on how to make saaga and murenda...
@callaspade Will check that. Thanks.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
@Wendz LOL! Welcome to the big gals club!(more power!hehehe) Seriosly though, -Eat well,avoid snacks,fast foods and yummy stuff like the plague! -Eat lots of fruits and veggies,healthy juices and water -Walk,walk,walk! Its amazing what a mere 20 to 30min walk a day can do to your weight loss program! -Do some housework,its one of the best and cheapest forms of exercises you can ever do!Kwanza those boring ones of scrubbing walls and windows,dusting the ceiling.etc -Ask your siblings/friends/relatives to dump their 2-7yr old kids at your house for the weekend/holiday. Trust me,after you spend the wknd running after the little trouble makers all over the compound,you'll definitely shed 5kgs! works for me every so often! If all fails...Take heart,tuko wengi! We'll start a support group... Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
Mama Mburu..can I please get the before (picture) promise to protect it with my life... Yestarnight, i mentioned the thread to Mutumia, i thought she did not get the message so i went in to details for like 5 minutes..then the ABK suggests that i should ask for your hand in marriage .....tonight i will tell her you said you will think about it...my emergency landing gear is broken.
leona wrote:@Wendz LOL! Welcome to the big gals club!(more power!hehehe) Seriosly though, -Eat well,avoid snacks,fast foods and yummy stuff like the plague! -Eat lots of fruits and veggies,healthy juices and water -Walk,walk,walk! Its amazing what a mere 20 to 30min walk a day can do to your weight loss program! -Do some housework,its one of the best and cheapest forms of exercises you can ever do!Kwanza those boring ones of scrubbing walls and windows,dusting the ceiling.etc -Ask your siblings/friends/relatives to dump their 2-7yr old kids at your house for the weekend/holiday. Trust me,after you spend the wknd running after the little trouble makers all over the compound,you'll definitely shed 5kgs! works for me every so often! If all fails...Take heart,tuko wengi! We'll start a support group... leona...any chance i cud get an ex-officio invite to said club?
@Leona Big gals club... hehehehehe... I wont resign to that before i have tried all these suggestions including @faa's advice... and @Kingfishers cat lifestyle....
@Wendz....those two I owe you will go well with the suggestion I gave, so when you start let me know. How are you @mlefu? When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
fisherman..am good, praying that the current sunny day`s will make it to sunday..its long since i enjoyed a Nkd sunbath at my balcony and my spectating neighbors are demanding some action.
@kizee?Leona, Is there a club??.....Mimi ndani as a fan.Goodbye to the stool and Mama Ngina street...lol Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Health
Struggling with weight loss