wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

4 Pages«<234
Shipping container houses
a4architect
#31 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 6:26:00 AM

the most important factor that enhance aesthetic value of a house is the design so which ever material you use for your house-stone,mabati,container,what will matter the most is the overall design.
www.a4architect.com

www.prismafrica.com
Sasha
#32 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 8:53:00 AM

Wow! Brilliant discussion here guys. Would be interested to see how these houses look when complete.

Is there anyone living in one of these out there to share their experience?

@Guka: You were doing some fact finding. What did you find out?

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
nyangao
#33 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 11:04:00 AM

Will do a comparison between a container and a stone house of same shape and size and get back later.

post the following The actual cost of the 40 x 8 container,including transport

hey
nyangao
#34 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 1:25:00 PM

Ive done some quick 'geuss- estimation'

The cost of constructing a 14m x 3m stone house rectangular in shape with a mono pitch roof : no ceiling; cement floor finish would be Kshs.493,000

The cost of fabricating,altering a steel container: costs include buying container at 80k (overall cost of placing the container assumed at 100k- depends on the locality and negotiating skills of an individual); modifying it to fit 5no. steel windows,an internal partition with a timber door ; polystryene covered with plywood to the walls and ceiling ( thermal and accoustic material) ; blockboard to the floor- Kshs. 470,000

Strictly speaking the difference is very minimal and the more elaborate you want on your container the more expensive it becomes - i.e using more than 2 containers to create a bigger house.

Its however faster to erect the container. i also believe the container is more secure in terms of risk of breakage /burglarly

Had once toyed the idea of constructing one lakini madam kaleta fujo ti i abandoned the thought. kienjoy wikendi! : )

hey
#35 Posted : Saturday, April 23, 2011 3:23:45 PM

@Guka did you succeed with this project? If so would you please share the results; if not the challenges. Happy Easter.
#36 Posted : Sunday, April 24, 2011 12:30:39 PM

@Nope,
Made an attempt but transportation of the containers became a big challenge since i wanted to do this away from big towns......I abandoned the idea but might revisit it in the future although it would be strictly for fun.
Sonu
#37 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 9:45:05 AM

anyone stay in this type of house? plz share your experiance and give us Professional Fundi to make good house with good inertial with container.
4 Pages«<234