wazua Sun, Jan 26, 2025

5 Pages«<2345>
Centum to ride over the rainbow
#61 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2010 5:40:41 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
As an analyst i expect this share to rally allot in the commin days. I am just wonderin why are people sellin this shares at the low price. If itsnt urgent please hold your centium shares for better prices. Coz i guarantee you of better prices. Havin tested the ksh 20.00 for such a long time and finally it has broken it this stock will go up up up up up up up up up .

@qw where have you been, now parroting up up up up, buy buy buy. Its time to hold positions or take some profits for those who bought when stocks were dirt cheap (foreigners doing exactly this) any chance you are 25 yrs old and were born in april?
tmatekwa
#62 Posted : Wednesday, June 09, 2010 10:47:17 PM

I jumped off matatu style at 21 with a cool 45percent profit. Waiting to jump back in when guys start offloading the bonus shares at 17 bob
qw25041985
#63 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 6:15:18 AM

@ sparkly. Aloud .LOL. May be just may be .u might be right. @ tmatekwa. Ati 17.00. U can count me . And wat are they goin to say in this budget..as usual the are goin to hammer Eabl like nobody's business.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Surealligator
#64 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 7:21:25 AM

Failing to pay a dividend is a crime in my investing career. It is a sign that the foregone opportunity was wasted.

The value of money changes with time. A shilling given now is worth more than a shilling given a couple of months later.

In business, you pay yourself first before paying others. That is what business is alll about. A bonus is not a payment unless its like the coffee bonus. A bonus in stockarage parlance is a veiled attempt of denying shareholders their dues in the name of retained profits.

The business of business is paying the owner in the earliest opportune time.

Bought Centum at 12.80 and sold all at 20.50. Will not be back till november.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#65 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 7:28:16 AM

@surealligator: Then Berkshire Hathaway & Warren Buffett have been committing crimes for many, many years (in YOUR opinion)...

BH has not paid a dividend in years (if ever)... yet it is one of the most successful long-term investors (investment firms) in the world...

Of course, WB is one of the world's richest guys even AFTER giving BILLIONS (US$ not KES) in charity...
Surealligator
#66 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 7:37:30 AM

@surealligator: Then Berkshire Hathaway & Warren Buffett have been committing crimes for many, many years (in YOUR opinion)...

BH has not paid a dividend in years (if ever)... yet it is one of the most successful long-term investors (investment firms) in the world...

Of course, WB is one of the world's richest guys even AFTER giving BILLIONS (US$ not KES) in charity...

@Verymanythings

In any phenomena, there are exceptional cases. WB has no school fees issues, actually he has more than he will ever require in his life time. By the time am his age, the dividend is a must policy will change. I need dividends now and if I don't get the same, I sell the share to raise what the dividend would have given plus a little more za kujivinjali.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Scubidu
#67 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 8:28:22 AM

They've almost weeded out KCB completely, but did anyone catch a glimpse at UAP Provincial Insurance financials for 2009. Centum stands to gain a massive Ksh217 million in dividends alone from the company in 2010. In addition to RVR their cashflow position this year should be phenomenonal. There are some who have targeted Ksh27.00 as the initial target price, but there's a lot of room for growth.
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
Wa_ithaka
#68 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 9:41:43 AM

Scubidu- without getting OTT about it, Centum is an Equity in the making. Diluting its KCB holding by half is something that is overdue and I'm hoping its gets out KCB altogether. It also mean it can take up the rights without much ado.

Alligator-v unlike you. Centum needed to preserve the cash because it actually has a strategic plan. What they invited you to do at the results presentation is to buy into the dream of a Centum group that could potentially triple your returns by 2014.

If you want school fees cash, weka kwa BAT or Total like vvs.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#69 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 9:55:33 AM

@surealligator - As @wa-ithaka said, then u buy Dividend Payers like EABL & BAT that are 'mature' or go for the 25-year Bond (11.75%)...

Centum has always been an Investment Holding Company (BTW, you do know that Berkshire Hathaway is a Investment Holding Company?)

Another option is to sell the bonus shares... Or some percentage...
Say the expected dividend yield is 5% (as is common among NSE firms) then if there is no dividend, you sell 5% of your shares!
#70 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 10:02:36 AM

Surealligator wrote:
A bonus in stockarage parlance is a veiled attempt of denying shareholders their dues in the name of retained profits.

@surealligator just a small correction about the bonus shares and shareholders dues....

lets say you got 1000 shares at 12.80 so now you would have 1100 shares thanx to the bonus you can sell the 100 bonus shares since you want cash @21bob which will give a 16% return...

For example NIC, NMG, JHL, that all gave 1:10 bonus shares to shareholders try looking at their prices cum bonus and their prices ex bonus and you'll see that you can make money if you dont want the bonus shares by selling them ex bonus and still being able to keep your value
ProverB
#71 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 10:08:34 AM

Surealligator wrote:
Failing to pay a dividend is a crime in my investing career. It is a sign that the foregone opportunity was wasted.

The value of money changes with time. A shilling given now is worth more than a shilling given a couple of months later.

In business, you pay yourself first before paying others. That is what business is alll about. A bonus is not a payment unless its like the coffee bonus. A bonus in stockarage parlance is a veiled attempt of denying shareholders their dues in the name of retained profits.

The business of business is paying the owner in the earliest opportune time.

surealligator...though i may not agree with u..i see your point... but CENTUM MUST EXPLAIN THE BONUS!!
..becoz though they may be justified not paying dividends...reasons given did not explain bonus issue.
There is no such thing as free..Bonus issue mean capitalisation of shareholder funds...unless the bonus issue amount is equivalent to the dividend pay out forgone here.. something doesn't add up.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Wa_ithaka
#72 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 10:12:53 AM

Btw, note that 1:10 bonus share is effectively 10% dividend.
Surealligator
#73 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 10:14:28 AM

Centum will offload more than half of their shareholding at the NSE and move into real estate. They already have bought land in Runda and other prime areas in the country. To build, it will take them two yrs and another yr of selling the houses if not renting.

Centum is actually conserving cash to bank roll the projects. That is why they are talking of tripling investors' returns in 2014.

That is why I intend to come back to Centum in 2013 (Till november)

The day I realized fuel was sky rocketing and KQ was not getting the dreamliner by 2010, I ran to other shares. If the Proposed Katiba passes, land prices will come down in upcountry regions but supper expensive in urban areas as the tycoons owning huge chunks of land will sell upcountry lands cheap and gunner for tiny super expensive plots in urban areas.

Quiz time: Which is the most expensive one acre plot in Kenya today? You will get 1000 on getting it right.
Wa_ithaka
#74 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 10:26:07 AM

Scubidue - waiting till 2013 will choma you.

Eastleigh has the most expensive acre
#75 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 10:56:22 AM

@surealligator: eastleigh... Now sambaza the 1k... I hear over 120mn for one acre!
Horton
#76 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 5:13:54 AM

beach plot in North coast is 250M per acre
Surealligator
#77 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 9:31:20 AM

@Horton, Wa_ithaka and Vitu mob

No. None of the above acres are the most expensive.

This business daily story confirms what I said earlier

“It makes more sense to conserve capital and reinvest in viable investment projects for a greater total return,” says Mr Mworia.

“Within this strategy period running up to 2014, we do not intend to pay out any dividend,” says Mr Mworia.

Who wants to hold a share for 4 yrs without receiving a dividend? Sell now, invest in Carbacid, sell carbacid in 2012 and invest larger cash arsenal in Centum in 2013. Am sorry if someone does not get what I mean. On the other hand, I might be wrong. So let me know what I am missing here.

http://www.businessdaily...2/-/qvjs6dz/-/index.html
Wa_ithaka
#78 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 10:35:58 AM

Alligator-sounds like a good strategy, but I still think that if I was to go back to 2004/5 when Equity was offering shares and it said that it won't pay dividend until 2009, I'd mortgage my house to buy the shares.
Likewise with Centum, I actually think its setting itself up to become a value-multiplier.

Lakini, its now a stock for long-term investors only...

DYOR.
#79 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 7:09:53 PM

@alligator - Anyway, all said & done... u make your decisions!

I have a lil' secret investment I have been following... lousy returns to date lakini my gut tells me I shall be very happy around 2014...

Of course, unless we f**k up again like we did in 2007-8...
Wa_ithaka
#80 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 8:07:53 PM

The 2012 erections remain the key turning pt for Kenya