Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:
I will always shop at the Mama Mboga and mama Duka on my way home. They take loads of risks for low returns. They are the ones running this economy and not those big malls

hakuna mama mboga muthaiga na runda, sasa where do you want us to buy our groceries smile I would rather stick to my lane at carrefour

Send your Maid to Marikiti twice a week. She will get everything you need at a lesser cost :). Food stuff in those supermarkets are expensive than in Europe

Once you reach a "certain" level in society and reside in some of the residences, you've to conform with your neighbors expectationssmile smile smile smile smile smile

Marikiti ni ya watu wa umoja na kawangwaresmile smile smile

That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls

You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls

Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage.

I beg to differ.Price yes quality no

Mbogas in supermarkets are full of chemicals that are meant to keep them looking healthy for long.Have you noticed they have an unnatural green colour?have you noticed the leaves are extra large?what about the taste...for me they are flat and need spices to taste.Compare that with your backyard skumas or those grown in shags..they have a natural sweet taste that you could almost eat raw.

Even during this terrible drought the sukuma are very green, succulent and the leaves extra large. Kwani where do they grow them?

As long as you have water you can make anything grow surely....
Jump-steady
#62 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 11:30:17 AM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:
I will always shop at the Mama Mboga and mama Duka on my way home. They take loads of risks for low returns. They are the ones running this economy and not those big malls

hakuna mama mboga muthaiga na runda, sasa where do you want us to buy our groceries smile I would rather stick to my lane at carrefour

Send your Maid to Marikiti twice a week. She will get everything you need at a lesser cost :). Food stuff in those supermarkets are expensive than in Europe

Once you reach a "certain" level in society and reside in some of the residences, you've to conform with your neighbors expectationssmile smile smile smile smile smile

That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls

You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls

Just give your mboch 1k and send her to kawangware market with a list of those things and you will be surprised.
#63 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 12:07:07 PM

Jump-steady wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:

Just give your mboch 1k and send her to kawangware market with a list of those things and you will be surprised.

I don't shop there but for a different reason. They never pay the suppliers on time.The poor farmers get their money after 4-6 months.
urstill1
#64 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 12:07:23 PM

All I know that its opening was a state function.
urstill1
#65 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 12:14:47 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:

Have you ever walked through and through wakulima market or Gikomba vegetable sections and missed them? Ukienda huko, peana Kiswahili/local names siyo mambo na baby corn, rosemary, kiwi fruit blah blah!! Hayo majina ya kizungu wacha huko mito miwili, makutano, bustani la jiji na mengineo.
#66 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 12:27:04 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:

Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage.

Mbogas in supermarkets are full of chemicals that are meant to keep them looking healthy for long.Have you noticed they have an unnatural green colour?have you noticed the leaves are extra large?what about the taste...for me they are flat and need spices to taste.Compare that with your backyard skumas or those grown in shags..they have a natural sweet taste that you could almost eat raw.

Mbona mimi huona zimeandikwa grown in an organic farm
#67 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 12:35:01 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:

Mbona mimi huona zimeandikwa grown in an organic farm

There are those flat screens in Luthuli avenue written "Samsang,Made in Japan" and cost a quarter of the real price...so coz they are written such you believe they are made in Japan?

The grade of your dimwit is up there.

#68 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 1:01:59 PM

urstill1 wrote:
All I know that its opening was a state function.

Me too I know that is the case!

#69 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 1:20:16 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:

Even during this terrible drought the sukuma are very green, succulent and the leaves extra large. Kwani where do they grow them?

As long as you have water you can make anything grow surely....

#70 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 1:26:12 PM

That vegetable discussion have reminded me of a certain BIKOZULU POST

A ciggie break, two veggies converse.

Cabbage (C): Hi?

Italian Tomato (IT); Ciao

C: Is it true you are from Italy?

IT: Si. Forgive me, my inglese not good.

C: That's fine, nobody's here is. We are only vegetables, after all.

IT. Haha. Si.

C: Where in Italy do you come from?

IT: Tuscany.

C: Ati Tusker?

IT: No. Tuscany. Tuscany!

C: Aii, I don't know that one. I know Tusker.

IT: You? Where from?

C: From Kapsoit.

IT: Oh. Va bene. Nice.

C: Look, I want to tell you this is because we are neighbours here, but thing is other vegetables have been talking about you.

IT: Oh? Perchè?

C: They are saying you are not from Italy.

IT: Nonesense! I'm from Tuscany!

C: I'm just telling you the word on the floor.

IT: Grazie! Grazie!

C: Who do you expect to buy you anyway?

IT: I think, er , persona - do I say correctly? Person, si? Person from Kilishewa.

C: Kileleshwa?

IT: Aaah si, si. You? Who buy you?

C: Kikuyus, mostly.

IT; Kukuyus like cavolo?

C: What is cavolo?

IT: Cabbage.

C: They love cavolo. Listen are you here for a long time?

IT: I like it, I like Nairovi. Nice people. I like sun, bello!

C: Nice. We better get back to work.

IT: Yes, ni thaa cia wiira.

C: Haha. I knew you were from Kerugoya!!

#71 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 1:37:54 PM

75,000 people graced 2 Rivers on Sunday.

#72 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 2:01:07 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:

This is because the people who grow them are few and so get ready market right at the farm or grow for those supermarkets.But note we do get Mushrooms and babycorn and Kiwi in my local Maguna Andu supermarket.
#73 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 2:41:30 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:

This is because the people who grow them are few and so get ready market right at the farm or grow for those supermarkets.But note we do get Mushrooms and babycorn and Kiwi in my local Maguna Andu supermarket.

It is also because we are exploited by our middle-man system. But also note that imported vegetables are cheaper than the locally grown as we do not use efficient methods neither do we compromise quality. The difference is in taste. Have you ever eaten tomatoes, meat, eggs, drunk coffee in Europe or the US? A boiled egg tastes like rubber and a tomato like dirty water, that's the difference.

#74 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 2:43:41 PM

I was there too. But was disappointed by lack of places to have lunch. There were very long queues at the 2 or 3 places that are operating.
#75 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 2:50:32 PM

I was there too. But was disappointed by lack of places to have lunch. There were very long queues at the 2 or 3 places that are operating.

Assuming each of those people spent atleast 1K in two rivers mall, it means the tenants made a cool 75 mirrion
#76 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 2:51:07 PM

Of course the name "Italian tomatoes" doesn't mean they are grown in Italy, just like Irish potatoes aren't grown in Ireland but rather kinangop. Or french beans. Italian tomatoes refer to the tomato variety Roma VF.
Invepreneur
#77 Posted : Monday, February 20, 2017 3:42:03 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:

Mbogas in supermarkets are full of chemicals that are meant to keep them looking healthy for long.Have you noticed they have an unnatural green colour? have you noticed the leaves are extra large? hizi ni za sewage..saw healthy 'plantations, in ruai/ruaka a few years back - helminth parasites prevalent and risk of heavy metals! what about the taste...for me they are flat and need spices to taste.Compare that with your backyard skumas or those grown in shags..they have a natural sweet taste that you could almost eat raw.

Mbona mimi huona zimeandikwa grown in an organic farm- marketing BS

BTW the only vegetables checked for quality (read pesticide residues threshold) are meant for EU export. supermarkets don't have capacity for that. I have only seen fresh n juici try- but they were exporting!!!
The hot stock is the one that everyone thinks that everyone else thinks....is the hot stock (Dixit & Nalebuff, 2008).
bennry
#78 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2017 9:34:14 AM

Kuna Siku i wanted to buy some orange lemons in nakumatt, zili pimwa nika ona ati mbili ni 130/= nili ziacha kwa till..
#79 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2017 10:30:47 AM

bennry wrote:
Kuna Siku i wanted to buy some orange lemons in nakumatt, zili pimwa nika ona ati mbili ni 130/= nili ziacha kwa till..

Last month I suffered the same fate!

I bought 2 sandhra oranges at Zucchini groceries in Garden City at Kes. 130 bob.

Though the oranges were sweet, I still cried while eating them...hawkers were selling 20 pieces of the same orange at Marikiti for 50 bob!

#80 Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2017 10:52:40 AM

bennry wrote:

Last month I suffered the same fate!

I bought 2 sandhra oranges at Zucchini groceries in Garden City at Kes. 130 bob.

Though the oranges were sweet, I still cried while eating them...hawkers were selling 20 pieces of the same orange at Marikiti for 50 bob!

Stick to your Marikiti lane/panya routes...Muache kutupigia kelele