Culture
Child custody - married parents
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
githundi wrote:hardwood wrote:No man should interfere with the affairs of another man's home. Depends on the community (ies) they come from. If they are Kikuyus...I agree with you. The baby belongs to the man the lady has married. Difference in culture may be the reason behind different opinions among us here. Among the Kikuyu it is not uncommon to get men with official names such as Wa Wairimu, Wa Njeri, Wa Wanjiku and the likes. Based on @Hardwood's, @"Wa-ciku", @Bigchick and the likes comments that's quite telling. It will not come as a surprise if @Masukuma is of the same opinion. Unfortunately, huko western things are quite different. Ndiyo maana Obama bado anarudi nyumbani.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
washiku wrote:That man needs 6 canes on his buttocks, plus a whole week of cleaning streets. Only such 'childish' punishment can drive some sense to his 'childish' brain.
There is more to bringing up a child than flashing cash around. Does he even care about that child really, or he is in this for his ego?
Taking that girl to a different school from the other kids, buying her expensive gadgets, cloths and whatever else just puts her into a collision course with the other kids. The kind of mental torture those other kids might put her through just because of such treatment would lender her mental status completely messed up and not even Makini or Riara would correct the damage.
You can imagine these kids deciding they wont talk or play with her simply because she is the special one(remember watoto ni watoto and such treatment is not far fetched. It even happens to real brothers and sisters, sembuse huyu wa 'nje'). The father-daughter visits going forward would mean he would be spending time wiping her tears as she narrates to him how she is hated by the other children. I wonder whether that would make him love her more.
Further, the mere reason of showing that girl she is more privileged/superior than/to the other kids is in itself immoral. That is not how to bring up kids. You should not implant 'classes' to such kids at their age. As much as humanly possible, children should know all kids are equal. They are supposed to be taught how to share whatever much or little they have, not to have mobile phones while their siblings cant afford them. This man is trying to sow seeds in her that he might live to regret.
One more fact is that as long us that girl is living a generally good/decent life, she is safer with the mother than with a step mother. Majority of children raised by step mothers will give hallowing stories of the kind of things they were taken through by their step mothers. Now why would this man want such a life for his daughter who he allegedly loves yet her real mum is still alive? Do you know how much many children would pay just to be with their mums regardless of how rich or poor their mums are?
Finally, the court is just a bigger torture for the kid. The easiest would be to sit down as adults and agree maturely how to handle the situation going forward, and he shouldn't go there with his big ego. Honestly, he is being done a favor. He has a right to see his child, but the child's mental well-being should be more superior a consideration that his mental well-being. I am sure he can handle not seeing the daughter every day easier than the girl can handle the kind of ridicule he is about to put her through.
Actually if he wants a kind of happy life for the girl, he may consider supporting her education in the school her current parents chose, as long us its decent. He might even consider going the extra mile and treating all the children when he decides to so that his daughter will never grow an evil ego like his. Kama ni nguo, si anunulie tu wote and his girl will be dressed decently as he wishes and the other kids will not feel left out. When they are of age and able to understand, they shall chose what to do with their lives. As much he has a right to his daughter, he should, as a parent, also consider what picture he will paint to the other children.
The other man also have a responsibility to protect the other children from 'ridicule' from this one girl. Imagine her bragging to them all the time the way their school is big, has this and that and they are there asking their dad why he takes the other girl to a different school and them to a bad school. How do you answer that as a man? How do you start explaining to the other kids that its the other dad who pays for the older girl, but me as your dad I cant afford what the other dad does. How can that even work. What kind of a family would survive that way. Its usually hard for a man to explain why he can't buy his kids what their neighbors have, imagine now explaining this situation to these dot.com kids.
Money should not be a substitute to common-sense. Tell your friend to pin this somewhere in his house. This is just the case the other family shall make in family court and they shall win. I don't know why but I tend to agree with others on here that your "friend" has ulterior motives with this family. There are a lot of divorcees in Kenya who have a mature relationship with their former partners. What he wants to do is toxic and only a judge high on weed will support him. Asome yote ambayo washiku ameandika hapa and he saves it on his screen saver. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 345 Location: easto
These sentiments have been very informative. The guy is compromising and is aware his demands for custody may never see light immediately. His greatest problem is being denied access to his daughter. Further, the girl has been transferred secretly to another school and his worry is even if they left the country, he wouldn't know. I'd be worried too. He had been seeing the girl regularly in school and there is a bond between them, and the daughter knows him as his real father, and knows the other as his step father. They are not in talking terms with the X's hubby, and the X lately has cut links. He now doesn't know the school the daughter is in and is investigating. So immediately, the guy wants access to the daughter. He says one day he went to school and found the daughter with torn shoes, took her to a shop and bought her shoes. Later he learned the girl had to hide the shoes and had to put them on much later because it would bring issues btn her mum and the foster father. This he was told by the teacher to the girl. The girl is top performing and is a favorite of teachers. The whole issue is a mess because her former teacher knew a bit of these details. "The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
urstill1 wrote:githundi wrote:hardwood wrote:No man should interfere with the affairs of another man's home. Depends on the community (ies) they come from. If they are Kikuyus...I agree with you. The baby belongs to the man the lady has married. Difference in culture may be the reason behind different opinions among us here. Among the Kikuyu it is not uncommon to get men with official names such as Wa Wairimu, Wa Njeri, Wa Wanjiku and the likes. Based on @Hardwood's, @"Wa-ciku", @Bigchick and the likes comments that's quite telling. It will not come as a surprise if @Masukuma is of the same opinion. Unfortunately, huko western things are quite different. Ndiyo maana Obama bado anarudi nyumbani. The guy is lunje. I know a number of them who have many kids out of wedlock and they support all of them. I hear they never leave their kids, especially boys. They say lazima mtoto arudi ingo. "The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
tnai9 wrote:These sentiments have been very informative. The guy is compromising and is aware his demands for custody may never see light immediately. His greatest problem is being denied access to his daughter. Further, the girl has been transferred secretly to another school and his worry is even if they left the country, he wouldn't know. I'd be worried too.
He had been seeing the girl regularly in school and there is a bond between them, and the daughter knows him as his real father, and knows the other as his step father. They are not in talking terms with the X's hubby, and the X lately has cut links. He now doesn't know the school the daughter is in and is investigating.
So immediately, the guy wants access to the daughter. He says one day he went to school and found the daughter with torn shoes, took her to a shop and bought her shoes. Later he learned the girl had to hide the shoes and had to put them on much later because it would bring issues btn her mum and the foster father. This he was told by the teacher to the girl. The girl is top performing and is a favorite of teachers. The whole issue is a mess because her former teacher knew a bit of these details. tnai I think your story is fake. Or your friend is the weirdest parent in the world. Even for those families that have the same parents, do you know what it means for only one child to get shoes and others don't? Are you being serious? In fact, if I were ever the judge in the case, I'd insist on visitations with an adult present. Clearly he's not an adult. This is not a tribe issue. This is a parenting issue. Real men know their limits. Bullying your way into another man's house is out of limits whatever tribe you are. eisshhh he buys a phone, shoes, what next Kentucky Fried chicken every night? He's lost that kid so let him suffer the consequences of his madharau. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
urstill1 wrote:githundi wrote:hardwood wrote:No man should interfere with the affairs of another man's home. Depends on the community (ies) they come from. If they are Kikuyus...I agree with you. The baby belongs to the man the lady has married. Difference in culture may be the reason behind different opinions among us here. Among the Kikuyu it is not uncommon to get men with official names such as Wa Wairimu, Wa Njeri, Wa Wanjiku and the likes. Based on @Hardwood's, @"Wa-ciku", @Bigchick and the likes comments that's quite telling. It will not come as a surprise if @Masukuma is of the same opinion. Unfortunately, huko western things are quite different. Ndiyo maana Obama bado anarudi nyumbani. I thought huko western when the X gets married to someone else, the woman does not go with the kids but the man remains with the kids who he raises alone (or with his sisters or mother) and if he remarries then raises with his new wife. So the kids will be raised by the dad and step mum. Which basically means that raising a kid is a father's job.
Mtoto ni wa baba hii ingine ni nyef nyef.A luhya man won't have such kind of challenges If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
@washiku,as a man you raise your kids and teach them your culture and history, a wafula can't sire a kid to be raised with Kimani's culture If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
alma1 wrote: Even for those families that have the same parents, do you know what it means for only one child to get shoes and others don't? Are you being serious? In fact, if I were ever the judge in the case, I'd insist on visitations with an adult present. Clearly he's not an adult. This is not a tribe issue. This is a parenting issue. Real men know their limits. Bullying your way into another man's house is out of limits whatever tribe you are. eisshhh he buys a phone, shoes, what next Kentucky Fried chicken every night? He's lost that kid so let him suffer the consequences of his madharau.
He bought shoes because he found the girl with torn shoes, toes/socks protruding. Can we look at this objectively..What would other people do in such a situation? I suppose it was for the comfort of the child and not necessarily to show off. And the other family is also not poor, maybe just struggling a bit. I think the biological father is getting a bit condemned too much "The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
hardwood wrote: I thought huko western when the X gets married to someone else, the woman does not go with the kids but the man remains with the kids who he raises alone (or with his sisters or mother) and if he remarries then raises with his new wife. So the kids will be raised by the dad and step mum. Which basically means that raising a kid is a father's job.
This mostly happens for unemployed ladies who are unable to provide for the kids. This lady is employed and has never accepted to release the girl to the father, coz of special attachment. I understand she would put her current marriage on the line to have custody of her daughter. "The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
tnai9 wrote:alma1 wrote: Even for those families that have the same parents, do you know what it means for only one child to get shoes and others don't? Are you being serious? In fact, if I were ever the judge in the case, I'd insist on visitations with an adult present. Clearly he's not an adult. This is not a tribe issue. This is a parenting issue. Real men know their limits. Bullying your way into another man's house is out of limits whatever tribe you are. eisshhh he buys a phone, shoes, what next Kentucky Fried chicken every night? He's lost that kid so let him suffer the consequences of his madharau.
He bought shoes because he found the girl with torn shoes, toes/socks protruding. Can we look at this objectively..What would other people do in such a situation? I suppose it was for the comfort of the child and not necessarily to show off. And the other family is also not poor, maybe just struggling a bit. I think the biological father is getting a bit condemned too much No one is condemning the biological father. We are saying that there's more to this story than you are telling. I'm sure of the lady came here with her side, there shall be fireworks. I'm just noting your language You casually assume that giving a child shoes and phones is a tiny thing. It isn't. You have mentioned a number of times "maybe just struggling a bit" I haven't seen anywhere where "your friend" is concerned about the emotional growth of that child....Just money money money... Pole sana...Money ain't everything especially when it comes to children. When you started the story I was on your side because of course a biological father must have rights to their kids. The more you talked, the more I understood why even that lady who's a luhya has decided that the man is a lunatic. Hata Swenani can understand huyu sio mluhya kamili. Iko kasoro na huyu jamaa. Maybe he got some money last year akaanza maringo. After all, why the sudden change when before the family was willing to let him be with the child. Then he got some dollars sasa ameanza kuletea watoto mobile phone. From what I've seen, your case is not a normal case. Your's is a case of a very bitter fellow who's trying to use money to get something he lost years ago... Let him call the luhya elders sit down with them and discuss the issue like men and women...Hii mambo ya court is a useless path. He can save the lawyer fees for an account at equity bank. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
tnai9 wrote:alma1 wrote: Even for those families that have the same parents, do you know what it means for only one child to get shoes and others don't? Are you being serious? In fact, if I were ever the judge in the case, I'd insist on visitations with an adult present. Clearly he's not an adult. This is not a tribe issue. This is a parenting issue. Real men know their limits. Bullying your way into another man's house is out of limits whatever tribe you are. eisshhh he buys a phone, shoes, what next Kentucky Fried chicken every night? He's lost that kid so let him suffer the consequences of his madharau.
He bought shoes because he found the girl with torn shoes, toes/socks protruding. Can we look at this objectively..What would other people do in such a situation? I suppose it was for the comfort of the child and not necessarily to show off. And the other family is also not poor, maybe just struggling a bit. I think the biological father is getting a bit condemned too much This is a useless Luhya man, please send him to me, He should go take his seed....Distance parenting and step father parenting doesnt apply in Luhya land we only have step mothers, brothers and sisters but never step fathers!...Achukue mtoto akae naye ama apelekee mama If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
tnai9 wrote:hardwood wrote: I thought huko western when the X gets married to someone else, the woman does not go with the kids but the man remains with the kids who he raises alone (or with his sisters or mother) and if he remarries then raises with his new wife. So the kids will be raised by the dad and step mum. Which basically means that raising a kid is a father's job.
This mostly happens for unemployed ladies who are unable to provide for the kids. This lady is employed and has never accepted to release the girl to the father, coz of special attachment. I understand she would put her current marriage on the line to have custody of her daughter. If the man was luhya enough he wouldn't have allowed his kid to go and be raised by another man. Strange that he is discovering his luhya-ness now and following his kid to another mans house, and then only taking partial responsibility - fees, shoes, phone. If he was man enough he should have taken his kid and provided for her 100% as per his abaluhya culture, not being a nuisance to another family. #Useless man.
tnai9 wrote:These sentiments have been very informative. The guy is compromising and is aware his demands for custody may never see light immediately. His greatest problem is being denied access to his daughter. Further, the girl has been transferred secretly to another school and his worry is even if they left the country, he wouldn't know. I'd be worried too.
He had been seeing the girl regularly in school and there is a bond between them, and the daughter knows him as his real father, and knows the other as his step father. They are not in talking terms with the X's hubby, and the X lately has cut links. He now doesn't know the school the daughter is in and is investigating.
So immediately, the guy wants access to the daughter. He says one day he went to school and found the daughter with torn shoes, took her to a shop and bought her shoes. Later he learned the girl had to hide the shoes and had to put them on much later because it would bring issues btn her mum and the foster father. This he was told by the teacher to the girl. The girl is top performing and is a favorite of teachers. The whole issue is a mess because her former teacher knew a bit of these details. There is something called "daddy issues" which your friend seems clueless about. His X must have had a dominant mother and emasculated father. Your friend is also weak/emasculated which his X has been trying to run away from. The fact the X allowed him to walk in on her cheating was just a way of showing your friend that he is weak. She found a dominant man who dealt with her daddy issue but your friend does not seem to get into his thick head. He is so weak he has to run to court to sort out straight forward custody issues. He is now giving his daughter the same daddy issues. When that daughter is in her teens you will see fireworks. The best thing for him to do right now is walk away and wait for the daughter to come to him at the right age.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
So immediately, the guy wants access to the daughter. He says one day he went to school and found the daughter with torn shoes, took her to a shop and bought her shoes. Later he learned the girl had to hide the shoes and had to put them on much later because it would bring issues btn her mum and the foster father. This he was told by the teacher to the girl. The girl is top performing and is a favorite of teachers. The whole issue is a mess because her former teacher knew a bit of these details. This are exactly the issues we are talking about!The fool wants to look bigger and more monied than the step dad.How torn were this shoes?We all have that one day that a shoe got torn and had not been repaired or a new one bought.No wonder they are cutting of links if this is what he does when he goes to see her in school. Why not send money to the mum to buy the shoes.She should live like the other kids in the house. Being a top performer am sure he wants all the association he can get with this girl.But the way he is behaving he will mess her up and its just a matter of time before she sinks into depression. I think going foward let him send money to the mum for whatever purchases needed.(The mum should also be open to new hubby about it.) Let them agree to be meeting in an open place(Church,mall etc )with the other kids for him to meet his daughter. There should never be private bonding time.He has ulterior motives. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
alma1 wrote: The more you talked, the more I understood why even that lady who's a luhya has decided that the man is a lunatic. Hata Swenani can understand huyu sio mluhya kamili.
Iko kasoro na huyu jamaa.
Maybe he got some money last year akaanza maringo. After all, why the sudden change when before the family was willing to let him be with the child.
Then he got some dollars sasa ameanza kuletea watoto mobile phone.
Let me say this, he is these guys who change employers a bit frequently and has therefore had his salary increasing and he is moving up. There has been detailed analysis here but some based on assumptions. He says the X didn't really hold him in high esteem when they were dating coz she thought the guy would remain poor. Thinks its a first love. So she is sticking on the dota to punish him so I hear, coz he refused to marry her. The X named the dota such that her 1st name starts with the same letter like his X. So clearly there are issues here... The X's hubby has never entertained the two talking, this lady would secretly to tell this guy where to meet the daughter, but they were think discovered and this brought real issues. So currently my guy has no sources of information about the daughter, even the X has cut off. Its a forest "The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
tnai9 wrote:alma1 wrote: The more you talked, the more I understood why even that lady who's a luhya has decided that the man is a lunatic. Hata Swenani can understand huyu sio mluhya kamili.
Maybe he got some money last year akaanza maringo. After all, why the sudden change when before the family was willing to let him be with the child.
Let me say this, he is these guys who change employers a bit frequently and has therefore had his salary increasing and he is moving up. There has been detailed analysis here but some based on assumptions. He says the X didn't really hold him in high esteem when they were dating coz she thought the guy would remain poor. Thinks its a first love. So she is sticking on the dota to punish him so I hear, coz he refused to marry her. The X named the dota such that her 1st name starts with the same letter like his X. So clearly there are issues here... The X's hubby has never entertained the two talking, this lady would secretly to tell this guy where to meet the daughter, but they were think discovered and this brought real issues. So currently my guy has no sources of information about the daughter, even the X has cut off. Its a forest This also describes your guy's life skills.....clueless! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:tnai9 wrote:alma1 wrote: The more you talked, the more I understood why even that lady who's a luhya has decided that the man is a lunatic. Hata Swenani can understand huyu sio mluhya kamili.
Let me say this, he is these guys who change employers a bit frequently and has therefore had his salary increasing and he is moving up. There has been detailed analysis here but some based on assumptions. He says the X didn't really hold him in high esteem when they were dating coz she thought the guy would remain poor. Thinks its a first love. So she is sticking on the dota to punish him so I hear, coz he refused to marry her. The X named the dota such that her 1st name starts with the same letter like his X. So clearly there are issues here... The X's hubby has never entertained the two talking, this lady would secretly to tell this guy where to meet the daughter, but they were think discovered and this brought real issues. So currently my guy has no sources of information about the daughter, even the X has cut off. Its a forest This also describes your guy's life skills.....clueless! I now believe this is a made up story at one of those media houses. Someone looking for a juicy story for the weekend. Huyu jamaaa ana ringa sana that he pays fees but can't seem to find out where his kid is? Where do they stay? Where does the wife work? Where does the husband of the wife work? Where do the other kids go to school? Ama aliens took them? Kweli huyu jamaa ni jinga ya aina gani? This is a fake story...And thanks tnai9 you made wazua fun for a few days. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Bigchick wrote:tnai9 wrote:These sentiments have been very informative. The guy is compromising and is aware his demands for custody may never see light immediately. His greatest problem is being denied access to his daughter. Further, the girl has been transferred secretly to another school and his worry is even if they left the country, he wouldn't know. I'd be worried too.
So immediately, the guy wants access to the daughter. He says one day he went to school and found the daughter with torn shoes, took her to a shop and bought her shoes. Later he learned the girl had to hide the shoes and had to put them on much later because it would bring issues btn her mum and the foster father. This he was told by the teacher to the girl. The girl is top performing and is a favorite of teachers. The whole issue is a mess because her former teacher knew a bit of these details. This are exactly the issues we are talking about!The fool wants to look bigger and more monied than the step dad.How torn were this shoes?We all have that one day that a shoe got torn and had not been repaired or a new one bought.No wonder they are cutting of links if this is what he does when he goes to see her in school. Why not send money to the mum to buy the shoes.She should live like the other kids in the house. Being a top performer am sure he wants all the association he can get with this girl.But the way he is behaving he will mess her up and its just a matter of time before she sinks into depression. I think going foward let him send money to the mum for whatever purchases needed.(The mum should also be open to new hubby about it.) Let them agree to be meeting in an open place(Church,mall etc )with the other kids for him to meet his daughter. There should never be private bonding time.He has ulterior motives. No no no. No man should ever send money to another man's wife eti to take care of just one kid in the family. Also there's no court that would rule that you send money to someones wife eti to take care of your biological child. So this money thing is just absurd. Kwani hawo watoto wengine hawakuli au kusoma?
alma1 wrote:I now believe this is a made up story at one of those media houses. Someone looking for a juicy story for the weekend. Huyu jamaaa ana ringa sana that he pays fees but can't seem to find out where his kid is? Where do they stay? Where does the wife work? Where does the husband of the wife work? Where do the other kids go to school? Ama aliens took them? Kweli huyu jamaa ni jinga ya aina gani? This is a fake story...And thanks tnai9 you made wazua fun for a few days. @Alma The guy has some friends CIDs etc and think is in the process of establishing where the girl has been transferred to. This is a true story, in fact I have given a lot of private info about him without his permission. He says the several times he has mpesad the X, the hubby calls shortly later to abuse him and ask why he is sending his wife money. He knows where they stay but not the specific hse, he knows where the X works but of course cant call her, either the call is not picked or the X's hubby picks and throws insults. He is planning on going to her place of work. So you can imagine the situation...as I said its a forest "The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
Culture
Child custody - married parents