Kenyan Manufacturing
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
limanika wrote:Why we don't plant cotton isn't the only question to be asked. Why did we kill research programs that would have come up with new high yielding varieties of cotton resistant to diseases and adaptable to semi arid climate. You have to do something differently to thrive. You need some fire in the belly We are just lazy and vision-less. If Egypt grows cotton solely using the waters of the nile, why can't we do the same with the tana and athi rivers that traverse hundreds of km of suitable cotton lands before the water disappears into the ocean? In addition to cotton, those areas could be kenya's grain baskets. If egypt and pakistan can do it, and irrigate to grow cotton, rice, oranges etc that we import from them, why can't we do the same?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. If you look at handkerchiefs, socks and to a good extent male underwear you notice that they are very basic and so what matters most is the cost of fabric and the automation to produce in large quantities, we don't produce much fabric locally so it will always be cheaper to import such.
But if you look at shirts, dresses and other types of wear that can take in more variation then it can be cheaper or at least the same cost to do them locally, since labor takes up the lion share of the cost and for such there are several people doing the same locally.Maasai shukas are also produced locally at ruiru, and actually I find the local brand of the same much better than the imported ones. There exists a decent and vibrant local manufacturing sector (at least from my end when it comes to the clothing sector), but I have to admit, capital and marketing is always a challenge. Is the fabric making underwear(cotton) different from that making shirts? I thought what differs is the cut? Arent the Masai shukas made of cotton? Why dont we plant cotton? The cheaper variety, and keep enough worms to produce the silk we import? Yes, for basic cuts the pricing comes down to cost of fabric but for more complex cuts - brand/human resource take center stage and pricing is centered on the same. Cotton at some point in our young history was vibrant, but the government of the day, static management and inefficiencies - plus mitumba clothes kind of killed it. The likes of rivatex, spinners are still doing some fabric production, but at a very low rate - don't know why they do not expand more, I for once would buy fabric from them, but it might be due to the cheaper imports available thus they are unable to compete.  when my clothing empire grows big enough I will definitely try and ask the local guys to give me more variety, I think local demand is also too low for them to invest in anything bigger.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
hardwood wrote:limanika wrote:Why we don't plant cotton isn't the only question to be asked. Why did we kill research programs that would have come up with new high yielding varieties of cotton resistant to diseases and adaptable to semi arid climate. You have to do something differently to thrive. You need some fire in the belly We are just lazy and vision-less. If Egypt grows cotton solely using the waters of the nile, why can't we do the same with the tana and athi rivers that traverse hundreds of km of suitable cotton lands before the water disappears into the ocean? In addition to cotton, those areas could be kenya's grain baskets. If egypt and pakistan can do it, and irrigate to grow cotton, rice, oranges etc that we import from them, why can't we do the same? Kenyans are neither lazy nor vision-less. The problem is about how our economic and political systems are designed and run. Maybe it's even a matter of maturing that's needed for a real take off. Let me illustrate: pre-independence Kenya is an economic system benefiting who? The struggle for independence comes but whose interests come first? Post-independence comes, who is the main beneficiary of the Kenyan economic system? All three questions have one answer, the global elite that started the game in the first place. We're only 52 years old since independence, very young in terms of a country full of natives. We are only starting to wake up. So the task isn't about bashing ourselves or even wondering why we aren't doing what Pakistan or whoever is doing. The task is about finding out what exactly what challenges we're facing and how we can create solutions for them. It's not about cotton, or oranges...
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
I have looked at the Cotton Development Authority's website and it seems we are quite active in matters cotton: http://www.cottondevelop...tent/68-welcome-to-coda
Quote:Cotton industry comprises of farmers, ginners, spinners, textile manufacturers, researchers, extension service providers, input suppliers among other service providers. There are about 40,000 farmers engaged in cotton farming and eight operational ginneries spread across the country. Cotton being an industrial crop provides raw materials for manufacture of several products such as; lint, fabrics, seedcake, oil, soaps amongst others. It is also a major source of income for farmers engaged in production. The income can be used to purchase food requirements thus providing food security to the rural poor. The national demand for lint is about 20,000MT of lint while the average annual production is about 4,000MT of lint. The deficit of about 80per cent of the requirement is met through importation.
They even have a cotton production manual: http://www.cottondevelop...tter/9-cotton-handbook/0
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. If you look at handkerchiefs, socks and to a good extent male underwear you notice that they are very basic and so what matters most is the cost of fabric and the automation to produce in large quantities, we don't produce much fabric locally so it will always be cheaper to import such.
But if you look at shirts, dresses and other types of wear that can take in more variation then it can be cheaper or at least the same cost to do them locally, since labor takes up the lion share of the cost and for such there are several people doing the same locally.Maasai shukas are also produced locally at ruiru, and actually I find the local brand of the same much better than the imported ones. There exists a decent and vibrant local manufacturing sector (at least from my end when it comes to the clothing sector), but I have to admit, capital and marketing is always a challenge. Is the fabric making underwear(cotton) different from that making shirts? I thought what differs is the cut? Arent the Masai shukas made of cotton? Why dont we plant cotton? The cheaper variety, and keep enough worms to produce the silk we import? Yes, for basic cuts the pricing comes down to cost of fabric but for more complex cuts - brand/human resource take center stage and pricing is centered on the same. Cotton at some point in our young history was vibrant, but the government of the day, static management and inefficiencies - plus mitumba clothes kind of killed it. The likes of rivatex, spinners are still doing some fabric production, but at a very low rate - don't know why they do not expand more, I for once would buy fabric from them, but it might be due to the cheaper imports available thus they are unable to compete.  when my clothing empire grows big enough I will definitely try and ask the local guys to give me more variety, I think local demand is also too low for them to invest in anything bigger. Wewe wacha kutudanganya. The makers of bales of cotton are not the same people who cut the fabric to make a shirt or underwear. Jobs 1 - The scientist who develops the seed to grow high yield cotton (KARI) Jobs 2 - The distributor and seller of the seed Jobs 3 - The Farmer who plants the seed and harvests the cotton Jobs 4 - The miller who spins and weaves the cotton into different grades Jobs 5 - buyers who blend cotton with other materials to come up with different fabrics Jobs 6 - makers of items such as shirt, towels, bed-sheets etc to makers of underwear handkerchiefs head-scarfs socks etc Jobs 7 - Wholesalers Jobs 8 - Retailers (Supermarkets to exhibition stalls) Most jobs in Kenya are in category 8 By the way, the story of its cheaper to produce it elsewhere is a propaganda. We have all it takes to build capacity "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
bado tuko talk shop? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. If you look at handkerchiefs, socks and to a good extent male underwear you notice that they are very basic and so what matters most is the cost of fabric and the automation to produce in large quantities, we don't produce much fabric locally so it will always be cheaper to import such.
But if you look at shirts, dresses and other types of wear that can take in more variation then it can be cheaper or at least the same cost to do them locally, since labor takes up the lion share of the cost and for such there are several people doing the same locally.Maasai shukas are also produced locally at ruiru, and actually I find the local brand of the same much better than the imported ones. There exists a decent and vibrant local manufacturing sector (at least from my end when it comes to the clothing sector), but I have to admit, capital and marketing is always a challenge. Is the fabric making underwear(cotton) different from that making shirts? I thought what differs is the cut? Arent the Masai shukas made of cotton? Why dont we plant cotton? The cheaper variety, and keep enough worms to produce the silk we import? Yes, for basic cuts the pricing comes down to cost of fabric but for more complex cuts - brand/human resource take center stage and pricing is centered on the same. Cotton at some point in our young history was vibrant, but the government of the day, static management and inefficiencies - plus mitumba clothes kind of killed it. The likes of rivatex, spinners are still doing some fabric production, but at a very low rate - don't know why they do not expand more, I for once would buy fabric from them, but it might be due to the cheaper imports available thus they are unable to compete.  when my clothing empire grows big enough I will definitely try and ask the local guys to give me more variety, I think local demand is also too low for them to invest in anything bigger. Wewe wacha kutudanganya. The makers of bales of cotton are not the same people who cut the fabric to make a shirt or underwear. Jobs 1 - The scientist who develops the seed to grow high yield cotton (KARI) Jobs 2 - The distributor and seller of the seed Jobs 3 - The Farmer who plants the seed and harvests the cotton Jobs 4 - The miller who spins and weaves the cotton into different grades Jobs 5 - buyers who blend cotton with other materials to come up with different fabrics Jobs 6 - makers of items such as shirt, towels, bed-sheets etc to makers of underwear handkerchiefs head-scarfs socks etc Jobs 7 - Wholesalers Jobs 8 - Retailers (Supermarkets to exhibition stalls) Most jobs in Kenya are in category 8 By the way, the story of its cheaper to produce it elsewhere is a propaganda. We have all it takes to build capacity sasa nimedanganya wapi ? where have I mentioned that the makers of cotton bales also make the clothes. All I said was that there are some clothes whose price is determined mostly by fabric and others where its the brand/human resource that mostly determine the price. I also stated the cotton industry was vibrant sometimes back, but is no more, I also stated rivatex and spinners do some fabric locally. to your point, rivatex has a clothes making division, it is not the common trend world wide, but yes rivatex does milling and making some clothing from that. But I was not arguing, was just stating what I see happening locally and the little I do, I buy some fabric which is imported, I also buy some done locally and make clothes locally and sell the same, both online and in brick and mortal shop.
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. If you look at handkerchiefs, socks and to a good extent male underwear you notice that they are very basic and so what matters most is the cost of fabric and the automation to produce in large quantities, we don't produce much fabric locally so it will always be cheaper to import such.
But if you look at shirts, dresses and other types of wear that can take in more variation then it can be cheaper or at least the same cost to do them locally, since labor takes up the lion share of the cost and for such there are several people doing the same locally.Maasai shukas are also produced locally at ruiru, and actually I find the local brand of the same much better than the imported ones. There exists a decent and vibrant local manufacturing sector (at least from my end when it comes to the clothing sector), but I have to admit, capital and marketing is always a challenge. Is the fabric making underwear(cotton) different from that making shirts? I thought what differs is the cut? Arent the Masai shukas made of cotton? Why dont we plant cotton? The cheaper variety, and keep enough worms to produce the silk we import? Yes, for basic cuts the pricing comes down to cost of fabric but for more complex cuts - brand/human resource take center stage and pricing is centered on the same. Cotton at some point in our young history was vibrant, but the government of the day, static management and inefficiencies - plus mitumba clothes kind of killed it. The likes of rivatex, spinners are still doing some fabric production, but at a very low rate - don't know why they do not expand more, I for once would buy fabric from them, but it might be due to the cheaper imports available thus they are unable to compete.  when my clothing empire grows big enough I will definitely try and ask the local guys to give me more variety, I think local demand is also too low for them to invest in anything bigger. Wewe wacha kutudanganya. The makers of bales of cotton are not the same people who cut the fabric to make a shirt or underwear. Jobs 1 - The scientist who develops the seed to grow high yield cotton (KARI) Jobs 2 - The distributor and seller of the seed Jobs 3 - The Farmer who plants the seed and harvests the cotton Jobs 4 - The miller who spins and weaves the cotton into different grades Jobs 5 - buyers who blend cotton with other materials to come up with different fabrics Jobs 6 - makers of items such as shirt, towels, bed-sheets etc to makers of underwear handkerchiefs head-scarfs socks etc Jobs 7 - Wholesalers Jobs 8 - Retailers (Supermarkets to exhibition stalls) Most jobs in Kenya are in category 8 By the way, the story of its cheaper to produce it elsewhere is a propaganda. We have all it takes to build capacity sasa nimedanganya wapi ? where have I mentioned that the makers of cotton bales also make the clothes. All I said was that there are some clothes whose price is determined mostly by fabric and others where its the brand/human resource that mostly determine the price. I also stated the cotton industry was vibrant sometimes back, but is no more, I also stated rivatex and spinners do some fabric locally. to your point, rivatex has a clothes making division, it is not the common trend world wide, but yes rivatex does milling and making some clothing from that. But I was not arguing, was just stating what I see happening locally and the little I do, I buy some fabric which is imported, I also buy some done locally and make clothes locally and sell the same, both online and in brick and mortal shop. Of the underlined first and second statements. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. If you look at handkerchiefs, socks and to a good extent male underwear you notice that they are very basic and so what matters most is the cost of fabric and the automation to produce in large quantities, we don't produce much fabric locally so it will always be cheaper to import such.
But if you look at shirts, dresses and other types of wear that can take in more variation then it can be cheaper or at least the same cost to do them locally, since labor takes up the lion share of the cost and for such there are several people doing the same locally.Maasai shukas are also produced locally at ruiru, and actually I find the local brand of the same much better than the imported ones. There exists a decent and vibrant local manufacturing sector (at least from my end when it comes to the clothing sector), but I have to admit, capital and marketing is always a challenge. Is the fabric making underwear(cotton) different from that making shirts? I thought what differs is the cut? Arent the Masai shukas made of cotton? Why dont we plant cotton? The cheaper variety, and keep enough worms to produce the silk we import? Yes, for basic cuts the pricing comes down to cost of fabric but for more complex cuts - brand/human resource take center stage and pricing is centered on the same. Cotton at some point in our young history was vibrant, but the government of the day, static management and inefficiencies - plus mitumba clothes kind of killed it. The likes of rivatex, spinners are still doing some fabric production, but at a very low rate - don't know why they do not expand more, I for once would buy fabric from them, but it might be due to the cheaper imports available thus they are unable to compete.  when my clothing empire grows big enough I will definitely try and ask the local guys to give me more variety, I think local demand is also too low for them to invest in anything bigger. Wewe wacha kutudanganya. The makers of bales of cotton are not the same people who cut the fabric to make a shirt or underwear. Jobs 1 - The scientist who develops the seed to grow high yield cotton (KARI) Jobs 2 - The distributor and seller of the seed Jobs 3 - The Farmer who plants the seed and harvests the cotton Jobs 4 - The miller who spins and weaves the cotton into different grades Jobs 5 - buyers who blend cotton with other materials to come up with different fabrics Jobs 6 - makers of items such as shirt, towels, bed-sheets etc to makers of underwear handkerchiefs head-scarfs socks etc Jobs 7 - Wholesalers Jobs 8 - Retailers (Supermarkets to exhibition stalls) Most jobs in Kenya are in category 8 By the way, the story of its cheaper to produce it elsewhere is a propaganda. We have all it takes to build capacity sasa nimedanganya wapi ? where have I mentioned that the makers of cotton bales also make the clothes. All I said was that there are some clothes whose price is determined mostly by fabric and others where its the brand/human resource that mostly determine the price. I also stated the cotton industry was vibrant sometimes back, but is no more, I also stated rivatex and spinners do some fabric locally. to your point, rivatex has a clothes making division, it is not the common trend world wide, but yes rivatex does milling and making some clothing from that. But I was not arguing, was just stating what I see happening locally and the little I do, I buy some fabric which is imported, I also buy some done locally and make clothes locally and sell the same, both online and in brick and mortal shop. Of the underlined first and second statements. Handkerchiefs, socks e.t.c are basic cuts, variation is minimal, if you are to compete with china you need to do the same in large volumes to match the price, for that you need large quantities of fabric to bring the price down. you buy the fabric from china, so for such clothes that are very minimal you are basically competing on the cost of fabric. Now when you look at the more refined clothes, the human input/resource is vital in producing a fancy dress with kimono sleeves, or some fancy lace patters paired with soft silk or chiffon - at that level you can do your dress locally and price it competitively with what comes from china. ama uongo unakujia wapi hapo, I might be biased thus not able to see the lie in it.
masukuma wrote:bado tuko talk shop? Wazua is a talk shop, you can visit the guys at bunge la mwananchi for some talk + action
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. If you look at handkerchiefs, socks and to a good extent male underwear you notice that they are very basic and so what matters most is the cost of fabric and the automation to produce in large quantities, we don't produce much fabric locally so it will always be cheaper to import such.
But if you look at shirts, dresses and other types of wear that can take in more variation then it can be cheaper or at least the same cost to do them locally, since labor takes up the lion share of the cost and for such there are several people doing the same locally.Maasai shukas are also produced locally at ruiru, and actually I find the local brand of the same much better than the imported ones. There exists a decent and vibrant local manufacturing sector (at least from my end when it comes to the clothing sector), but I have to admit, capital and marketing is always a challenge. Is the fabric making underwear(cotton) different from that making shirts? I thought what differs is the cut? Arent the Masai shukas made of cotton? Why dont we plant cotton? The cheaper variety, and keep enough worms to produce the silk we import? Yes, for basic cuts the pricing comes down to cost of fabric but for more complex cuts - brand/human resource take center stage and pricing is centered on the same. Cotton at some point in our young history was vibrant, but the government of the day, static management and inefficiencies - plus mitumba clothes kind of killed it. The likes of rivatex, spinners are still doing some fabric production, but at a very low rate - don't know why they do not expand more, I for once would buy fabric from them, but it might be due to the cheaper imports available thus they are unable to compete.  when my clothing empire grows big enough I will definitely try and ask the local guys to give me more variety, I think local demand is also too low for them to invest in anything bigger. Wewe wacha kutudanganya. The makers of bales of cotton are not the same people who cut the fabric to make a shirt or underwear. Jobs 1 - The scientist who develops the seed to grow high yield cotton (KARI) Jobs 2 - The distributor and seller of the seed Jobs 3 - The Farmer who plants the seed and harvests the cotton Jobs 4 - The miller who spins and weaves the cotton into different grades Jobs 5 - buyers who blend cotton with other materials to come up with different fabrics Jobs 6 - makers of items such as shirt, towels, bed-sheets etc to makers of underwear handkerchiefs head-scarfs socks etc Jobs 7 - Wholesalers Jobs 8 - Retailers (Supermarkets to exhibition stalls) Most jobs in Kenya are in category 8 By the way, the story of its cheaper to produce it elsewhere is a propaganda. We have all it takes to build capacity sasa nimedanganya wapi ? where have I mentioned that the makers of cotton bales also make the clothes. All I said was that there are some clothes whose price is determined mostly by fabric and others where its the brand/human resource that mostly determine the price. I also stated the cotton industry was vibrant sometimes back, but is no more, I also stated rivatex and spinners do some fabric locally. to your point, rivatex has a clothes making division, it is not the common trend world wide, but yes rivatex does milling and making some clothing from that. But I was not arguing, was just stating what I see happening locally and the little I do, I buy some fabric which is imported, I also buy some done locally and make clothes locally and sell the same, both online and in brick and mortal shop. Of the underlined first and second statements. Handkerchiefs, socks e.t.c are basic cuts, variation is minimal, if you are to compete with china you need to do the same in large volumes to match the price, for that you need large quantities of fabric to bring the price down. you buy the fabric from china, so for such clothes that are very minimal you are basically competing on the cost of fabric. Now when you look at the more refined clothes, the human input/resource is vital in producing a fancy dress with kimono sleeves, or some fancy lace patters paired with soft silk or chiffon - at that level you can do your dress locally and price it competitively with what comes from china. ama uongo unakujia wapi hapo, I might be biased thus not able to see the lie in it. Socks ni polyester wachana na hio not so many Africans wear socks anyway. Handkerchief, headscarf? White cotton cloth printed and maybe some sewing on the edges, same material making dresses or lining is what makes handkerchiefs. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote: ... Socks ni polyester wachana na hio not so many Africans wear socks anyway. Handkerchief, headscarf? White cotton cloth printed and maybe some sewing on the edges, same material making dresses or lining is what makes handkerchiefs.
haya, maybe as I mentioned I am biased, but just a quick run through. light cotton blends goes for around 600 bob per meter, a meter will get you around 15 normal sized handkerchiefs, that's already 60 bob each, without the thread for the hemming, add vat and you are going into the 80 bob region - add kidogo stima ya machine and kawaida maintenance of the same and then your average 30% markup and your handkerchief hits 120 - 130 bob - at kamukunji the same go for around 7-8 bob per piece. The problem with such basic clothing is that you really can not add much value, and thus you are competing on the main raw material the fabric.
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote: ... Socks ni polyester wachana na hio not so many Africans wear socks anyway. Handkerchief, headscarf? White cotton cloth printed and maybe some sewing on the edges, same material making dresses or lining is what makes handkerchiefs.
haya, maybe as I mentioned I am biased, but just a quick run through. light cotton blends goes for around 600 bob per meter, a meter will get you around 15 normal sized handkerchiefs, that's already 60 bob each, without the thread for the hemming, add vat and you are going into the 80 bob region - add kidogo stima ya machine and kawaida maintenance of the same and then your average 30% markup and your handkerchief hits 120 - 130 bob - at kamukunji the same go for around 7-8 bob per piece. The problem with such basic clothing is that you really can not add much value, and thus you are competing on the main raw material the fabric. 600bob is a price for someone using it in low volumes. A bulk buyer will most likely get it way cheaper. If you are in the business you should know that there's no fixed price for everyone "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote: ... Socks ni polyester wachana na hio not so many Africans wear socks anyway. Handkerchief, headscarf? White cotton cloth printed and maybe some sewing on the edges, same material making dresses or lining is what makes handkerchiefs.
haya, maybe as I mentioned I am biased, but just a quick run through. light cotton blends goes for around 600 bob per meter, a meter will get you around 15 normal sized handkerchiefs, that's already 60 bob each, without the thread for the hemming, add vat and you are going into the 80 bob region - add kidogo stima ya machine and kawaida maintenance of the same and then your average 30% markup and your handkerchief hits 120 - 130 bob - at kamukunji the same go for around 7-8 bob per piece. The problem with such basic clothing is that you really can not add much value, and thus you are competing on the main raw material the fabric. 600bob is a price for someone using it in low volumes. A bulk buyer will most likely get it way cheaper. If you are in the business you should know that there's no fixed price for everyone sawa nimekubali, thats a viable biz locally  , on that note you can buy your loved ones a dress from kwivika kwa bei poa.
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote: ... Socks ni polyester wachana na hio not so many Africans wear socks anyway. Handkerchief, headscarf? White cotton cloth printed and maybe some sewing on the edges, same material making dresses or lining is what makes handkerchiefs.
haya, maybe as I mentioned I am biased, but just a quick run through. light cotton blends goes for around 600 bob per meter, a meter will get you around 15 normal sized handkerchiefs, that's already 60 bob each, without the thread for the hemming, add vat and you are going into the 80 bob region - add kidogo stima ya machine and kawaida maintenance of the same and then your average 30% markup and your handkerchief hits 120 - 130 bob - at kamukunji the same go for around 7-8 bob per piece. The problem with such basic clothing is that you really can not add much value, and thus you are competing on the main raw material the fabric. 600bob is a price for someone using it in low volumes. A bulk buyer will most likely get it way cheaper. If you are in the business you should know that there's no fixed price for everyone sawa nimekubali, thats a viable biz locally  , on that note you can buy your loved ones a dress from kwivika kwa bei poa.  that guy @murchr knows everything he never loses.
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote: ... Socks ni polyester wachana na hio not so many Africans wear socks anyway. Handkerchief, headscarf? White cotton cloth printed and maybe some sewing on the edges, same material making dresses or lining is what makes handkerchiefs.
haya, maybe as I mentioned I am biased, but just a quick run through. light cotton blends goes for around 600 bob per meter, a meter will get you around 15 normal sized handkerchiefs, that's already 60 bob each, without the thread for the hemming, add vat and you are going into the 80 bob region - add kidogo stima ya machine and kawaida maintenance of the same and then your average 30% markup and your handkerchief hits 120 - 130 bob - at kamukunji the same go for around 7-8 bob per piece. The problem with such basic clothing is that you really can not add much value, and thus you are competing on the main raw material the fabric. 600bob is a price for someone using it in low volumes. A bulk buyer will most likely get it way cheaper. If you are in the business you should know that there's no fixed price for everyone sawa nimekubali, thats a viable biz locally  , on that note you can buy your loved ones a dress from kwivika kwa bei poa. On your offer, ungetengeneza yangu labda, but these days she dreams vivo this vivo that "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote: ... Socks ni polyester wachana na hio not so many Africans wear socks anyway. Handkerchief, headscarf? White cotton cloth printed and maybe some sewing on the edges, same material making dresses or lining is what makes handkerchiefs.
haya, maybe as I mentioned I am biased, but just a quick run through. light cotton blends goes for around 600 bob per meter, a meter will get you around 15 normal sized handkerchiefs, that's already 60 bob each, without the thread for the hemming, add vat and you are going into the 80 bob region - add kidogo stima ya machine and kawaida maintenance of the same and then your average 30% markup and your handkerchief hits 120 - 130 bob - at kamukunji the same go for around 7-8 bob per piece. The problem with such basic clothing is that you really can not add much value, and thus you are competing on the main raw material the fabric. 600bob is a price for someone using it in low volumes. A bulk buyer will most likely get it way cheaper. If you are in the business you should know that there's no fixed price for everyone sawa nimekubali, thats a viable biz locally  , on that note you can buy your loved ones a dress from kwivika kwa bei poa.  that guy @murchr knows everything he never loses. I don't think wazua is about a competition, its good to question things the way he does. But still going back to this case, I just wanted to show that for basic clothing its the fabric that matters most. Even if you get the thing in wholesale, just look at alibaba and for a min order of around 3000 meters you get the cotton shirting fabric at around 1.2-2 usd per meter, that's around 120 bob min, add shipping costs and tax it comes to around 200 + per meter that give you a fabric cost of around 14bob per piece add the other stuff and you are already in the 20 + bob range.
murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote: ... Socks ni polyester wachana na hio not so many Africans wear socks anyway. Handkerchief, headscarf? White cotton cloth printed and maybe some sewing on the edges, same material making dresses or lining is what makes handkerchiefs.
haya, maybe as I mentioned I am biased, but just a quick run through. light cotton blends goes for around 600 bob per meter, a meter will get you around 15 normal sized handkerchiefs, that's already 60 bob each, without the thread for the hemming, add vat and you are going into the 80 bob region - add kidogo stima ya machine and kawaida maintenance of the same and then your average 30% markup and your handkerchief hits 120 - 130 bob - at kamukunji the same go for around 7-8 bob per piece. The problem with such basic clothing is that you really can not add much value, and thus you are competing on the main raw material the fabric. 600bob is a price for someone using it in low volumes. A bulk buyer will most likely get it way cheaper. If you are in the business you should know that there's no fixed price for everyone sawa nimekubali, thats a viable biz locally  , on that note you can buy your loved ones a dress from kwivika kwa bei poa. On your offer, ungetengeneza yangu labda, but these days she dreams vivo this vivo that  sawa very soon naongeza za wanaume - jeans na 'khaki' kiasi.
nakujua wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote: ... Socks ni polyester wachana na hio not so many Africans wear socks anyway. Handkerchief, headscarf? White cotton cloth printed and maybe some sewing on the edges, same material making dresses or lining is what makes handkerchiefs.
haya, maybe as I mentioned I am biased, but just a quick run through. light cotton blends goes for around 600 bob per meter, a meter will get you around 15 normal sized handkerchiefs, that's already 60 bob each, without the thread for the hemming, add vat and you are going into the 80 bob region - add kidogo stima ya machine and kawaida maintenance of the same and then your average 30% markup and your handkerchief hits 120 - 130 bob - at kamukunji the same go for around 7-8 bob per piece. The problem with such basic clothing is that you really can not add much value, and thus you are competing on the main raw material the fabric. 600bob is a price for someone using it in low volumes. A bulk buyer will most likely get it way cheaper. If you are in the business you should know that there's no fixed price for everyone sawa nimekubali, thats a viable biz locally  , on that note you can buy your loved ones a dress from kwivika kwa bei poa.  that guy @murchr knows everything he never loses. I don't think wazua is about a competition, its good to question things the way he does. But still going back to this case, I just wanted to show that for basic clothing its the fabric that matters most. Even if you get the thing in wholesale, just look at alibaba and for a min order of around 3000 meters you get the cotton shirting fabric at around 1.2-2 usd per meter, that's around 120 bob min, add shipping costs and tax it comes to around 200 + per meter that give you a fabric cost of around 14bob per piece add the other stuff and you are already in the 20 + bob range. **I know you know this already, but I once worked for a muhindi and what I picked from him is buying from the source (mfr) is always cheaper. Wholesalers will always charge you at a premium, if you are a good buyer ie you have learnt to develop a good rapport you will be amazed at how cheap stuff is. With the muhindi we bought asphalt in containers...dirt cheap. Learn the ropes of the business.. you will get there. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote: ... Socks ni polyester wachana na hio not so many Africans wear socks anyway. Handkerchief, headscarf? White cotton cloth printed and maybe some sewing on the edges, same material making dresses or lining is what makes handkerchiefs.
haya, maybe as I mentioned I am biased, but just a quick run through. light cotton blends goes for around 600 bob per meter, a meter will get you around 15 normal sized handkerchiefs, that's already 60 bob each, without the thread for the hemming, add vat and you are going into the 80 bob region - add kidogo stima ya machine and kawaida maintenance of the same and then your average 30% markup and your handkerchief hits 120 - 130 bob - at kamukunji the same go for around 7-8 bob per piece. The problem with such basic clothing is that you really can not add much value, and thus you are competing on the main raw material the fabric. 600bob is a price for someone using it in low volumes. A bulk buyer will most likely get it way cheaper. If you are in the business you should know that there's no fixed price for everyone sawa nimekubali, thats a viable biz locally  , on that note you can buy your loved ones a dress from kwivika kwa bei poa.  that guy @murchr knows everything he never loses. I don't think wazua is about a competition, its good to question things the way he does. But still going back to this case, I just wanted to show that for basic clothing its the fabric that matters most. Even if you get the thing in wholesale, just look at alibaba and for a min order of around 3000 meters you get the cotton shirting fabric at around 1.2-2 usd per meter, that's around 120 bob min, add shipping costs and tax it comes to around 200 + per meter that give you a fabric cost of around 14bob per piece add the other stuff and you are already in the 20 + bob range. **I know you know this already, but I once worked for a muhindi and what I picked from him is buying from the source (mfr) is always cheaper. Wholesalers will always charge you at a premium, if you are a good buyer ie you have learnt to develop a good rapport you will be amazed at how cheap stuff is. With the muhindi we bought asphalt in containers...dirt cheap. Learn the ropes of the business.. you will get there. So the game is more about cutting the supply chain. Or is it increase manufacturing and cut the supply chain?
Kenyan Manufacturing