Investor
Stocks
Uchumi FY15 Loss of Ksh. 3.42 Bn
Very very thick. If you are an Uchumi supplier watesh wrote:Meanwhile in Uchumi, things are thick
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
watesh wrote:Meanwhile in Uchumi, things are thick
Thickest...and the popcorns have absorbd the atmosheric moisture, so eating them is like chewing cud! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 989 Location: Kenya
Shopping at Uchumi is a simple two step process: - Shop at Uchumi - Go to another supermarket to buy all the stuff you didn't find at Uchumi Good judgement is often the result of experience. Experience is often the result of bad judgement - Mark Twain.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,778 Location: NAIROBI
The way out for this supermarket chain is maybe if ICDC decides to take majority stake in it by converting its debt and buys out the other debts and converts it to Equity leaving it with a stake of about 40-55% similar to what happened to ARM. Otherwise recovery of Uchumi going by the cases of empty shelves will be a hard nut to crack. Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
http://www.businessdaily.../1/-/906sy5/-/index.htmlWealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,224 Location: Nairobi
Uchumi is dying a slow death. http://www.businessdaily...1/-/ngnn4jz/-/index.htmlGreedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
[quote=VituVingiSana]Uchumi is dying a slow death. http://www.businessdaily.../-/ngnn4jz/-/index.html[/quote] -The list of goods confiscated from Uchumi and are up for auction includes 4,200 tissue papers, 605 cans of Mortein Doom, 129 pieces of Imperial Leather soap, 1,238 packets of Aquafresh toothpaste, 55 units of Del Monte juice, and 176 cans of Tusker beer.
Others are 930 bundles of hair weave, three StarTimes aerials, 63 Keringet water bottles, 164 containers of Blue Band margarine, 36 Kasuku exercise books, 18 pieces of Java coffee, 240 packets of Kericho Gold tea, and 145 bottles of Elianto cooking oil.I only see 176 items worth my time. The rest are stocks available in any well stoked kiosk. “You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
[quote=VituVingiSana]Uchumi is dying a slow death. http://www.businessdaily.../-/ngnn4jz/-/index.html[/quote] just noticed unlike mumias and kq government is not in a hurry to save uchumi! or maybe somebody 'well connected' want to buy in at a throw away price There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,224 Location: Nairobi
HaMaina wrote:[quote=VituVingiSana]Uchumi is dying a slow death. http://www.businessdaily.../-/ngnn4jz/-/index.html[/quote] -The list of goods confiscated from Uchumi and are up for auction includes 4,200 tissue papers, 605 cans of Mortein Doom, 129 pieces of Imperial Leather soap, 1,238 packets of Aquafresh toothpaste, 55 units of Del Monte juice, and 176 cans of Tusker beer.
Others are 930 bundles of hair weave, three StarTimes aerials, 63 Keringet water bottles, 164 containers of Blue Band margarine, 36 Kasuku exercise books, 18 pieces of Java coffee, 240 packets of Kericho Gold tea, and 145 bottles of Elianto cooking oil.I only see 176 items worth my time. The rest are stocks available in any well stoked kiosk. The total value of all these goods even at retail isn't even close to 2mn. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 6/23/2011 Posts: 1,740 Location: Nairobi
I fail to understand the turn around strategy for Uchumi.
I.e What value to they intent to deliver and how much will they expect in return to become profitable again..
Looks dead to me
I truly feel sorry for this company. What happened. I thought the new CEO would actually succeed. So sad. That dream of looking for a 5bn equity investment makes be chuckle. Unless the buyer gets >80-90% ownership. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
NewsFlash!
Nakumatt misfortunes go on and on, yet they never go out of business... Thika Rd Branch demolition, Nakumatt downtown fire, Westgate terror, Shelf overpricing scandal, Kicked out of Lifestyle building and now the Ukay flooding.Seriously what could be their magical business strategy ? ................oh They donot pay taxes.Maybe Uchumi should follow this magical business strategy.
Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote: NewsFlash!
Nakumatt misfortunes go on and on, yet they never go out of business... Thika Rd Branch demolition, Nakumatt downtown fire, Westgate terror, Shelf overpricing scandal, Kicked out of Lifestyle building and now the Ukay flooding.Seriously what could be their magical business strategy ? ................oh They donot pay taxes.Maybe Uchumi should follow this magical business strategy.
What you seem not to know is that Nakumatt rents its outlets, when there are demolitions, they move stock when there are floods/bombs/fires, they get paid by insurance. They haven't experienced theft and embezzlement like Uchumi "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,301 Location: kenya
murchr wrote:Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote: NewsFlash!
What you seem not to know is that Nakumatt rents its outlets, when there are demolitions, they move stock when there are floods/bombs/fires, they get paid by insurance. They haven't experienced theft and embezzlement like Uchumi Don't forget H.mwau background influence
Uchumi is a reflection of the African culture and how we run our companies. Run to kill and not create a legacy Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Ericsson wrote:Uchumi is a reflection of the African culture and how we run our companies. Run to kill and not create a legacy Stop insulting Africans bwana. Which African culture says that you steal from your employer or you run a supermarket like a kiosk? Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:Ericsson wrote:Uchumi is a reflection of the African culture and how we run our companies. Run to kill and not create a legacy Stop insulting Africans bwana. Which African culture says that you steal from your employer or you run a supermarket like a kiosk? Boss its in our cultures,try keeping cattle or goats without sleeping with one eye open, or having a shamba boy with a panga and a firimbi to watch over them, and the next kilo of meat you buy will likely be from your shamba. “You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
Investor
Stocks
Uchumi FY15 Loss of Ksh. 3.42 Bn