Investor
Stocks
Safaricom 1H16 Results net profit up 23%
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,703 Location: NAIROBI
@Impunity; 2G is for the normal call and sms.2G allows browsing upto GPRS. Your phone and safaricom network in addition to 2G network has 3G and 4G network for the high speed browsing network Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Impunity wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VituVingiSana 2G coverage is being increased for; To cater for the increase in number of subscriber hence more voice calls. To improve on call quality. To improve on MPESA reliability since it's an SMS based application Can somebody really surf on a 2G network? With EDGE that is 2.5 and above.. I believe will do but very slow. Do u ever see E on your smart phone when you go interior? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VituVingiSana 2G coverage is being increased for; To cater for the increase in number of subscriber hence more voice calls. To improve on call quality. To improve on MPESA reliability since it's an SMS based application Can somebody really surf on a 2G network? With EDGE that is 2.5 and above.. I believe will do but very slow. Do u ever see E on your smart phone when you go interior? ???? investing in 2G?are the masses on voice?people are on social media and all this web 2.0 stuff which really need fast internet.is he loosing touch with reality.so exactly what did he say about safcom future.
Impunity wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Impunity wrote:Pesa Nane wrote:murchr wrote:Bob mentioned the fiber going to Ethiopia....and made references to regional expansion in the future several times...any hints to what he meant? post #21 Quote:Mobile data is our fastest growing revenue stream, and we will focus on increasing the numbers of 3G and 4G smartphones on our network. We will complete the deployment of the U900 3G spectrum and launch 4G (LTE) commercially in 16 counties. Guys are doing 5G in near places like Dubai and we are still talking of 3G and the 4G which my phone can only pick on selected areas within Nairobi. Even in my own house 4G is is an on and off game! Safaricom increased their 2G Base Stations by 300 locations. 5G bado 2018. Trials are happening all over the world, more trials are planned next year. i donot know what this bob collymore game plan is.are people using 4G as planned?well i donot know what other things they are using 4G for but the masses are not using it to full potentiality.4G modems and 4G phones prices are all the way up there.and they are mentioning 5G?
Impunity wrote:kawambui wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VituVingiSana 3G and 4G is for data/mobile internet only; not voice or sms. 3G/4G don't do voice Actually 3G supports voice. It is also possible on 4G though in this case voice traffic voice call is treated like data. @kawambui, socket? Hello mate, how are you? Nooo...it is Son of Wambui Proverbs 4:23 [23]Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life.
murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VituVingiSana 2G coverage is being increased for; To cater for the increase in number of subscriber hence more voice calls. To improve on call quality. To improve on MPESA reliability since it's an SMS based application Can somebody really surf on a 2G network? With EDGE that is 2.5 and above.. I believe will do but very slow. Do u ever see E on your smart phone when you go interior? No, my phone shows a "H" hapo juu ya network whenever am in bunduz or inside my bedroom. Explain? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
kawambui wrote:Impunity wrote:kawambui wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VituVingiSana 3G and 4G is for data/mobile internet only; not voice or sms. 3G/4G don't do voice Actually 3G supports voice. It is also possible on 4G though in this case voice traffic voice call is treated like data. @kawambui, socket? Hello mate, how are you? Nooo...it is Son of Wambui ooooooooohhh,pole colleague. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VituVingiSana 2G coverage is being increased for; To cater for the increase in number of subscriber hence more voice calls. To improve on call quality. To improve on MPESA reliability since it's an SMS based application Can somebody really surf on a 2G network? With EDGE that is 2.5 and above.. I believe will do but very slow. Do u ever see E on your smart phone when you go interior? ???? investing in 2G? are the masses on voice?people are on social media and all this web 2.0 stuff which really need fast internet.is he loosing touch with reality.so exactly what did he say about safcom future. You cannot just wish away 2G (GSM). As @Ericsson says, 2G is preferred for voice that's why every phone will come with 2G. When it comes to mobile networks Voice is everything; the rest are value add services, check the bulk of safaricom revenues. No one cares how good the browsing speed is if voice service is terrible. Again 5G may take quite a while before it materializes, especially in Kenya, in fact i don't think there are 5G phone s in the market yet. Proverbs 4:23 [23]Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life.
Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VituVingiSana 2G coverage is being increased for; To cater for the increase in number of subscriber hence more voice calls. To improve on call quality. To improve on MPESA reliability since it's an SMS based application Can somebody really surf on a 2G network? With EDGE that is 2.5 and above.. I believe will do but very slow. Do u ever see E on your smart phone when you go interior? No, my phone shows a "H" hapo juu ya network whenever am in bunduz or inside my bedroom. Explain? Your bunduz has 3G and better speeds. Here is a table showing the different speeds. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,134 Location: Nairobi
Ericsson wrote:@kawambui; Voice call through data quality is very very poor. 2G gives a very clear voice and is the preferred and recommended in the ITU standards. Technology of 2G and 3G is different. That is why any mobile phone normally has both true voice and data capabilities for the case of smart phones. The antennas are also different for 2 and 3/4G
What about WhatsApp, Viber and FaceTime? Sometimes, my WhatsApp calls sound better than my regular voice calls especially on Safaricom! Isn't WhatsApp reliant on 3G/4G? [Though to save data, I often use WhatsApp when I am on a good wifi] Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VituVingiSana 2G coverage is being increased for; To cater for the increase in number of subscriber hence more voice calls. To improve on call quality. To improve on MPESA reliability since it's an SMS based application Can somebody really surf on a 2G network? With EDGE that is 2.5 and above.. I believe will do but very slow. Do u ever see E on your smart phone when you go interior? No, my phone shows a "H" hapo juu ya network whenever am in bunduz or inside my bedroom. Explain? Your bunduz has 3G and better speeds. Here is a table showing the different speeds. In my car park and generally within the compound its H+,but in within CBD and Mombasa Road its always 4G. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Ericsson wrote:@VituVingiSana 2G coverage is being increased for; To cater for the increase in number of subscriber hence more voice calls. To improve on call quality. To improve on MPESA reliability since it's an SMS based application Can somebody really surf on a 2G network? was in some remote location yesterday and surprisingly 2g EDGE was faster than 3g in Nairobi, I think it's because few or no people use the Internet there To Each His Own
Ati Bob Collymore is losing touch with reality!!?? Kenyans!!! Bob's track record at Safaricom speaks for itself. A majority even in Wazua didn't give him a chance when he became CEO. I remember people saying how smart Michael Joseph was because he exited when Safaricom was "at the most profitable it will ever be" and left Bob with a company with "no room for growth and a bruising price war with Airtel". He has more than proven all his critics wrong. Well, apparently, almost all. There are people who still want him to prove himself!!?? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
safcom reminds me of telcom, the latter brought down itself due to its dominance such that they were blind to what was happening around them, it was made worse by the cheerleaders who thought the cooper wire was the best thing since the smoke signal days.
2019 will be to safcom what 1999 was to telcom.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:safcom reminds me of telcom, the latter brought down itself due to its dominance such that they were blind to what was happening around them, it was made worse by the cheerleaders who thought the cooper wire was the best thing since the smoke signal days.
2019 will be to safcom what 1999 was to telcom. Safcom is part if telecom. Anyway with its infrastructure & dominance, Safcom will just continue to be better. People whine but still depend on them for services. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:safcom reminds me of telcom, the latter brought down itself due to its dominance such that they were blind to what was happening around them, it was made worse by the cheerleaders who thought the cooper wire was the best thing since the smoke signal days.
2019 will be to safcom what 1999 was to telcom. So who's taking Safcom's place in like 3 years? The competition is limping. Your assumption is totally unsubstantiated unless you can provide evidence otherwise. reality doesn't bear you witness. People hate on Safcom but they should blame the competition. Airtel, through it's many iterations, had a chance and they screwed it up!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/15/2013 Posts: 1,977 Location: Here
Deleted! Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
When I hear somebody blame Safaricom for sijui dominance and huge profit making, I refer to the African culture of jealous! You claim safaricom is overcharging so who is undercharging or charging fairly? Who has this scale of fair charges? Its dominant yes, it has performed well in class as the top student... Keep up safcom don't loose your position 1 Dominate to 99% then go regional. Safaricom brought us the a whole flexibility from purchase of lines, phones, scratch cards of low denomination, okoa jahazi, mobile money transfers, Lipa na mpesa,....the list is endless. This has meant investment of time and money.....All this time this prostitutes (Airtel/Kencell/Orange.e.t c) were moving around changing names and men at expensive rates and NO innovation. Why are people wishing safaricom bad? Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
MaichBlack wrote:Ati Bob Collymore is losing touch with reality!!?? Kenyans!!!
Bob's track record at Safaricom speaks for itself. A majority even in Wazua didn't give him a chance when he became CEO. I remember people saying how smart Michael Joseph was because he exited when Safaricom was "at the most profitable it will ever be" and left Bob with a company with "no room for growth and a bruising price war with Airtel". He has more than proven all his critics wrong. Well, apparently, almost all. There are people who still want him to prove himself!!?? Kenyans are used to cycles of companies growing around a certain CEO then collapsing when he leaves; fear of change and undermining others abilities. We aren't used to having companies stand for decades while growing strongly. Our African fellows would get into a company, steal from it, collapse it then open their own companies in the same goods/svcs industry. The new company would face the same fate and cycle continues. It was in all sectors. That's why some ppl still believe Equity is going to...Safcom is going to....Another point missed is that getting a company to top is very easy but SUSTAINING it at the top is the enormous task that Con me more has proved to competently achieved. Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
2019 will be to safcom what 1999 was to telcom. Some times I read certain posts and I wonder if I should reply. No facts at all. No basis. How do you compare telcom to Safcom??? Unless you just want to type something or you are too young!! You had to know and bribe people to get connected to telcom. If your line had problems, it would take even months to be sorted out and you still had to bribe the person sending the technicians and the technicians themselves. There was zero innovation at Telcom. Absolute zero! No marketing etc. Now, Safaricom is at totally another level. Innovation - must be the number one company on innovation in the region. Unparalleled marketing. The process at Safaricom must be some of the best in the country. I know someone high up at Safaricom and they explained to me the processes from how they organize groups for product development etc. and I was extremely impressed. You should hear the inside story of the process that was involved to bring MPesa home and you will understand why I am totally amused by some of the statements here!!! These guys should be running the country!! Trust me! If you gave the Safaricom team the country to run, in 10 years you would not be a 3rd world country!! Disclaimer: I don't work and have never worked for Safaricom. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom 1H16 Results net profit up 23%