#61 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 6:53:11 AM

Tek no lo ji!!!!

I see what you did there.. :)

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#62 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 6:57:50 AM

Wazuans, satellite TV is different from Cable(fiber) TV. Thats why the likes of Jolini are not competing with the box who's only competition is Zuku. Zuku's programming is very boring, no wonder guys are downloading movies. Remember this word going forward. Content. With good content kularaha's kids would not be gobbling up the internet playing games rather they would have several channels that would keep them entertained if not educated. Satellite TV is a dying business....its dying in the US and soon it will die elsewhere, so when you invest...think about that.
#63 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 9:52:16 AM

Wazuans, satellite TV is different from Cable(fiber) TV. Thats why the likes of Jolini are not competing with the box who's only competition is Zuku. Zuku's programming is very boring, no wonder guys are downloading movies. Remember this word going forward. Content. With good content kularaha's kids would not be gobbling up the internet playing games rather they would have several channels that would keep them entertained if not educated. Satellite TV is a dying business....its dying in the US and soon it will die elsewhere, so when you invest...think about that.

Satellite TV has and is still growing in the arab world, and the contrast in that region is that the populations are mostly concentrated in urban areas and one would expect cable to be more prevalent huko.

but shida ya kenya and her likes is the infrastructure and population spread, cable will never work hapa, it would be too expensive to reach the masses - some form of distribution via the air will always be king - landlines vs mobile phones.
#64 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 3:41:52 PM

Satellite TV has and is still growing in the arab world, and the contrast in that region is that the populations are mostly concentrated in urban areas and one would expect cable to be more prevalent huko.

but shida ya kenya and her likes is the infrastructure and population spread, cable will never work hapa, it would be too expensive to reach the masses - some form of distribution via the air will always be king - landlines vs mobile phones.

Apart from telco's KPLC is also in the business of laying fiber and as long as the digital tvs are using electricity so will fiber be capable. Tafakari ya babu
#65 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 7:01:26 PM

Apart from telco's KPLC is also in the business of laying fiber and as long as the digital tvs are using electricity so will fiber be capable. Tafakari ya babu

you have a point, lakini do you know what percentage of the population has access to electricity, and considering they (KPLC) are only focusing on the densely populated areas for electricity to make business sense - imagine what level of penetration will make business sense for them when it comes to fiber.

maintaining cables to homes is way expensive than having a ka tower that beams 4g or 3g signals over a large area.

I might be wrong, lakini cables in sub sahara africa will not cut it, our population distribution and economic status will just not allow that.
#66 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 8:50:26 PM

you have a point, lakini do you know what percentage of the population has access to electricity, and considering they (KPLC) are only focusing on the densely populated areas for electricity to make business sense - imagine what level of penetration will make business sense for them when it comes to fiber.

maintaining cables to homes is way expensive than having a ka tower that beams 4g or 3g signals over a large area.

I might be wrong, lakini cables in sub sahara africa will not cut it, our population distribution and economic status will just not allow that.

Am assuming that 95% of those who are currently watching TV are doing so using electricity supplied by KPLC ndivyo ama sivyo? Fiber is with us her in Kenya and yes those towers that are beaming 4G and 3G signals are also connected to the fiber optic cable. Satellite transmission is expensive vis a vis fiber
#67 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 11:02:55 PM

Am assuming that 95% of those who are currently watching TV are doing so using electricity supplied by KPLC ndivyo ama sivyo? Fiber is with us her in Kenya and yes those towers that are beaming 4G and 3G signals are also connected to the fiber optic cable. Satellite transmission is expensive vis a vis fiber

Hapo sawa, but my statistics are based on the population that is not connected to the grid, As of 2010, Kenya had an overall national electrification rate of 23%, that means a whopping 77% are not even connected to the grid.

Back to the gist, we are considering content delivery to the end user (mostly video content to the home users) - if you bring in transmission of data between towers then that's another case, since the end points are few and location of the same can be controlled, but even on that I am sure most content providers hapa use satellite uplinks between field/mobile stations.

Anyway, it is a future observation and it will be interesting to see which way it goes. lakini I still think in Kenya delivery through 'air' will the be way to go and 4g might make things interesting in future.
#68 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 6:51:14 PM

ole3
#69 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 8:18:59 AM

smile smile more pics interface looks good smile
#70 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 8:32:31 AM

Fully agree with you. Zuku content is rubbish, we mainly use the service for data. As for local calls, I dont rem the last time my zuku phone rang, and what my number is.

Which begs the question, why cant dstv add data to the offering?
#71 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 8:35:45 AM

I think the only advantage of this mbox is that it turns any TV into a smart TV.
#72 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 8:44:12 AM

Does anyone here use chromecast? My kids use it all the time to cast youtubes from their phone to the tv. Costs $35/=.

I even bought one for my 78 year old mum and she has learnt to cast video of soaps she missed. LOOOOOL.
Museveni
#73 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 8:49:15 AM

Shida moja ya kupiga picha mirror surfaces ni the unintended selfies.

Kama hio Chevrolet logo. Na sisemi ku-support ManU ni vibaya. smile
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Alfylavie
#74 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 10:46:54 AM

Museveni wrote:

Hahaha ilianza na kasefie..
Making money never gets boring
#75 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 4:21:15 PM

The propaganda is in; the jury is out...

#76 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 8:12:04 PM

Alfylavie wrote:
Museveni wrote:

Hahaha ilianza na kasefie..

dabo tap
D32
#77 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 4:06:46 AM

D32 wrote:
Saw this being flogged at the mall on the weekend.

Really need something to replace my Zuku, BUT

Safcom as usual being greedy insist we need bundles. I can see my kids chewing through 50GB in 3 days...leave alone a month.

I think this bigbox will fail.

So sad. Such a product needs unlimited data.

Why do you want to replace Zuku?

@KulaRaha Reminder for you to reply.
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#78 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 7:58:20 AM

D32 wrote:
D32 wrote:
Saw this being flogged at the mall on the weekend.

Really need something to replace my Zuku, BUT

Safcom as usual being greedy insist we need bundles. I can see my kids chewing through 50GB in 3 days...leave alone a month.

I think this bigbox will fail.

So sad. Such a product needs unlimited data.

Why do you want to replace Zuku?

@KulaRaha Reminder for you to reply.

Apologies! Zuku has recently become very very erratic. A couple of weeks ago, I had barely any uptime, and everytime I call them I'm told there's "signal imbalance" in my area and they're working on it. It is extremely frustrating.

I have now had decent uptime for the last week or so, but am not holding my breath. Finding an affordable and realistic replacement to Zuku is important.

Seems the BigBox will not be my knight in shining armour.
#79 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 2:34:55 PM

watesh wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
50gb is 8 hours of playing Call of Duty online. How is that unlimited?

If your kids are playing 8hrs of an online game in three days, you have a bigger problem that won't be solved by unlimited internet!

Looool online game play doesnt consume that much data. Been doing it for the past 3 Years. Only downloading and updating the game with consume alot

Tell him Applause
#80 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 2:50:55 PM

grolut wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:

WAH! I stream movies and series daily and my usage for the month is only this:

Yaani people are this idle? Enyewe I must be too old d'oh!