6 Pages«<23456>
Meet the man police link to Safaricom, NIC Bank frauds
#61 Posted : Friday, March 24, 2017 4:34:26 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Now this "hacker" is funny.

With "4B" the best he could do was a house in Roysambu/Zimmerman,A black Subaru SG model with gold alloy rims and that motor bike anf a white dog then floss all over.

Silly young man.

talking of 4 b, kwani kra had all that money in its accounts?

Last year KRA collected 843B in 9mths

That means they collect about 93.6B in a month

Is it impossible to have 4B in a KRA account?
#62 Posted : Friday, March 24, 2017 5:06:39 PM

[LONG READ] [MEDIA RESPONSE]
After all the media frenzy, I’ve been forced to respond with a handwritten letter through my brother who has come to visit me.
My life was darkest in 2015 and after that I decided nothing will ever take me back to that dark time. Not anyone. Not even this and certainly the media twisting facts. Hence my phrase ‘Nothing can stop me, I’m all the way up…’ I’m sure most of you are familiar with the lyrics. I’m always smiling. Even now, I have learned to love myself. And trust me, I’ve never loved myself more than I do now.
Now, since 2015 I’ve never taken time off. I struggled with a lot of things but eventually overcame all. So, 2017 is here and what do I do? I decided one of my new year’s resolution is a trip of East and Southern Africa and one international trip. I buy my international ticket and embark on the east African trip. From city to city. On bus. No flying- too expensive – and I document everything on my FB timeline. By the time, I get to Tz, I’ve spend 73k, already broke and the deadline to register as a voter is quickly approaching. I decided to come back. Now, it has all been twisted as ‘living large’. Wow. But I understand people have to make a living- in this case selling more copies.
By March I have ticked two resolutions for this year. I get back, I’m arrested. Why? KRA has lost 4B. Not a million but billion. When they told me that, I laughed. I laugh even now. I’m not stupid. Clearly, I’m the patsy. Those big cajunas at KRA looted the cash and then in a smoke-filled room, smoking their cubans – forgive my imagination, it probably was an office- decided this.
“Oh, this Alex boy just went on a trip and stupidly plastered it all over FB. What’s more, he has a similar case. Perfect! Go get him.”
Anyone with half a brain can figure that out. Four billion doesn’t just disappear like that without anyone noticing- for years. Even slowly.

Here are the facts
1. I DO NOT have 4B, or any part of 4B. In fact, my life’s savings are not even remotely close to one billion, let alone four!
2. I have NEVER worked at KRA nor do I know anyone who works there. If I did then I do not believe I’d have queued all those hours renewing my license or transferring my bike ownership. Those queues are just life draining.
3. I believe this is a test and just like every storm, it will pass and I will emerge victorious. The truth never stays hidden. All will be revealed in due time. God’s time is the best. For now, I’ll keep smiling and praying.
4. Everyone who knows me personally knows that I don’t like asking everyone for it. My bail ruling is coming up on the 28th of March and I’m praying and hoping for two things. One that I be granted bail and two, it’s a REASONABLE amount. Now reasonable of course is relative to everyone and for me that’s 100k as that’s what I can afford. But I’m not the magistrate. All I can do is wait.
On that note, I’m humbly asking each and everyone to help me however they can. It can be through a contribution, praying for me or even coming to give me moral support on 28th. I f you would like to contribute towards my bail, here is how.
MPESA
1. Go to Mpesa. Then pay via paybill.
2. Use paybill 522522 and A/c number 1153642247, [Alphonce Mutuku] [0719700312].
3. Enter the amount you want to contribute then send. You will receive a confirmation from MPESA and KCB too.
BANK
Kenya Commercial Bank
A/c Number: 1153642247
A/c Name: Alphonce Musyoka Mutuku
Swift code: KCBLNA
The little you have; be it 100,200,500… 1M etc., or even that 4B, I’ll forever be grateful and will remember it as the time Kenya stood by me. If I had this 4B, trust me I wouldn’t be asking. I’d just use part of it to pay but I don’t have it.
Lastly, here is my advice. Let no one steal your joy. Live your life to the fullest like I do. I learned the hard way that life is a precious gift from God and every moment should be treasured. That’s why I will never stop smiling. No matter what. Peace.
Please share with everyone…friends, groups, WhatsApp etc.
Love, Alex.
Signed.
P.S: For now, my Facebook account is under my brother’s control so he can’t respond to messages, comments etc. but I hope I will do so soon.

https://www.facebook.com...posts/10211052123611106

With "4B" the best he could do was a house in Roysambu/Zimmerman,A black Subaru SG model with gold alloy rims and that motor bike anf a white dog then floss all over.

Silly young man.

#63 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 12:43:16 AM

mkenyan wrote:

Silly young man.

so all those 843 bullion kra has sitting in its account/digital safe (not an account with whichever bank or central bank) which can be hacked to be stollen? so if your bank gets hacked and money stollen from your bank account the story would be how murchr was hacked? should it not be how your bank was hacked?
#64 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 1:41:41 AM

mkenyan wrote:

Silly young man.

so all those 843 bullion kra has sitting in its account/digital safe (not an account with whichever bank or central bank) which can be hacked to be stollen? so if your bank gets hacked and money stollen from your bank account the story would be how murchr was hacked? should it not be how your bank was hacked?

Seems like you got lost again somewhere. This is a hypothesis.

So KRA collected 843B in 9months last year,

that means in a month they collect about 93.6B

If you bothered to calculate you'd note that in a day KRA collects about 3.xyB.

So at a given time its possible that KRA has 4B with in their systems.

Assumptions
Its is also possible this theft was not done in a day, all the details will be out once the case starts we dont know much yet. And this dude is not alone.

But 4B at KRA systems is not impossible
#65 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 8:32:49 AM

mkenyan wrote:

Silly young man.

Seems like you got lost again somewhere. This is a hypothesis.

So KRA collected 843B in 9months last year,

that means in a month they collect about 93.6B

If you bothered to calculate you'd note that in a day KRA collects about 3.xyB.

So at a given time its possible that KRA has 4B with in their systems.

Assumptions
Its is also possible this theft was not done in a day, all the details will be out once the case starts we dont know much yet. And this dude is not alone.

But 4B at KRA systems is not impossible

seems like am not being clear. is this money held by kra in a bank or it is held by kra like a bank? i.e does kra operate like a bank holding money in its system or it banks the money with its bankers? kindly explain this system. coz all the taxes i have ever paid i usually pay to kra through a bank, not directly to its system. from its bank accounts do they move the funds to this system?
#66 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 8:57:25 AM

the only way this whole thing makes sense is if a guy reduced tax obligations of certain companies and the sum total reduction was 4B and was paid by the said companies a fraction of the amount he "saved" them from.
Nothing else makes any sense!! nothing!! Kuiba from Kra? thats like stealing from their bank accounts... thats on the banks side. not KRA!! nothing about the 'stealing from KRA' claim makes any sense!
#67 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 10:38:16 AM

I dont think its money stolen from a KRA account but rather system records are manipulated to show that Ndiangui owes 10000 instead of 1000000.That difference of 990k is what is adding up to 4B.

For the hackers good job Ndiangui pays him 50k.

So in the end KRA failed to collect 990K.
#68 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 3:35:16 PM

the only way this whole thing makes sense is if a guy reduced tax obligations of certain companies and the sum total reduction was 4B and was paid by the said companies a fraction of the amount he "saved" them from.
Nothing else makes any sense!! nothing!! Kuiba from Kra? thats like stealing from their bank accounts... thats on the banks side. not KRA!! nothing about the 'stealing from KRA' claim makes any sense!

Are you imagining KRA doesnt handle money?

All those doubting if KRA holds money Sonko pays his taxes in cash. Others pay in cheques

For those who your employers remit your taxes here are pictures of baba doing it.You are advised not to staple cheques.

This guy must have been manipulating the simba system and moving the moneys to some accounts. Note he is not alone, but with others
#69 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 3:44:08 PM

I am imagining they do... but for a "hack" to deprive them of money it has to be "money" in electronic form - right? A hacker does not automate robots to get away with gunias full of hard cash - right?
#70 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 4:16:35 PM

I am imagining they do... but for a "hack" to deprive them of money it has to be "money" in electronic form - right? A hacker does not automate robots to get away with gunias full of hard cash - right?

When money is entered in the system, it becomes electronic. The money is stolen the same way hackers steal from banks. With insider help so much is possible.

Kenya has seen nothing yet on cyber crimes.

the crooks had formed an international band that installed malware into the systems that allowed them to take control of the institutions’ computers and steal what police sources said would run into hundreds of millions.

I continue to reiterate the most important job in any organization dealing with money is no longer the accountant but the IT security guy.
#71 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 4:34:14 PM

When money is entered in the system, it becomes electronic. The money is stolen the same way hackers steal from banks. With insider help so much is possible.

Kenya has seen nothing yet on cyber crimes

so what you are saying is that KRA has electronic money in its systems?
Ngalaka
#72 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 4:42:58 PM

Yaani you steal from KRA internal software system! - then how and where do you encash the value?
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#73 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 4:51:45 PM

Am saying once money is entered in a system, the transaction becomes electronic. From the article

the crooks had formed an international band that installed malware into the systems that allowed them to take control of the institutions’ computers and steal what police sources said would run into hundreds of millions.

Am sure you know how different malwares work. Its possible that some funds are channeled to individual/personal accounts via a program.

Reminds me of this case in 2015. It involved a casino.

PALO ALTO, Calif. — In late 2013, an A.T.M. in Kiev started dispensing cash at seemingly random times of day. No one had put in a card or touched a button. Cameras showed that the piles of money had been swept up by customers who appeared lucky to be there at the right moment.

But when a Russian cybersecurity firm, Kaspersky Lab, was called to Ukraine to investigate, it discovered that the errant machine was the least of the bank’s problems.

The bank’s internal computers, used by employees who process daily transfers and conduct bookkeeping, had been penetrated by malware that allowed cybercriminals to record their every move. The malicious software lurked for months, sending back video feeds and images that told a criminal group — including Russians, Chinese and Europeans — how the bank conducted its daily routines, according to the investigators.

Then the group impersonated bank officers, not only turning on various cash machines, but also transferring millions of dollars from banks in Russia, Japan, Switzerland, the United States and the Netherlands into dummy accounts set up in other countries.
#74 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 4:51:59 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

Yaani you steal from KRA internal software system! - then how and where do you encash the value?

that was my next question... how do you 'encash' this electronic value?
Ngalaka
#75 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 4:52:30 PM

I also think this is the most plausible explanation.
Then the next logical question is - where are the corporate/persons who benefited from this crimial enterprise - for which they are not only beneficiaries but complicit as well.

They should also be on the dock, pay the tax they evaded, plus interest and penalty ++
#76 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 5:00:15 PM

Back to the article.

On Wednesday evening, KRA confirmed that its staff members had been part of the syndicate and were under arrest. Commissioner General John Njiraini said KRA “played a key role in unearthing the crime … whose outcome has been the arrest of several suspects among them KRA staff in the ICT department”.

The cybercrime syndicate was operating in the Nairobi CBD, Muthaiga, Thika, and Roysambu, and had been robbing banks using Salami attacks (kidogo kidogo) and electronic transfers as well as trafficking drugs. They have also been colluding with motor vehicle importers to evade tax and were illegally registering them. During the crackdown, police recovered several vehicle number plates from one of the houses.........

At the KRA offices in Nairobi, detectives discovered a laptop hidden within the network chambers “and connected through port 11” which allowed Mr Ogalo to have unfettered access to the system.

In Ogalo’s house, police said they found an AK47 rifle, computers, mini servers, cables, hard disks and a narcotic substance whose samples were taken to the Government Chemist for verification and classification. Ogalo is also sought by the Banking Fraud Investigation Unit (BFID), and is suspected to have been involved in the theft of Sh50 million from the Kenya Police Sacco.
#77 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 7:13:20 PM

Back to the article.

On Wednesday evening, KRA confirmed that its staff members had been part of the syndicate and were under arrest. Commissioner General John Njiraini said KRA “played a key role in unearthing the crime … whose outcome has been the arrest of several suspects among them KRA staff in the ICT department”.

The cybercrime syndicate was operating in the Nairobi CBD, Muthaiga, Thika, and Roysambu, and had been robbing banks using Salami attacks (kidogo kidogo) and electronic transfers as well as trafficking drugs. They have also been colluding with motor vehicle importers to evade tax and were illegally registering them. During the crackdown, police recovered several vehicle number plates from one of the houses.........

At the KRA offices in Nairobi, detectives discovered a laptop hidden within the network chambers “and connected through port 11” which allowed Mr Ogalo to have unfettered access to the system.

In Ogalo’s house, police said they found an AK47 rifle, computers, mini servers, cables, hard disks and a narcotic substance whose samples were taken to the Government Chemist for verification and classification. Ogalo is also sought by the Banking Fraud Investigation Unit (BFID), and is suspected to have been involved in the theft of Sh50 million from the Kenya Police Sacco.

exactly... it makes sense...
had been robbing banks using Salami attacks and electronic transfers
<-- YES BANKS...SALAMI ATTACKS ONLY WORKS WITH BANKS OR AIRTIME E.T.C. basically move small amounts around to where someone else can use them or take them off the system. That cannot happen with KRA coz they don't have electronic currency that someone can 'use' or 'take out'

They have also been colluding with motor vehicle importers to evade tax and were illegally registering them.
now this is what from the onset I was saying... the only way you can 'rob' KRA (directly) would be reducing tax obligations of people. A car is supposed to attract a tax of 300k, you pay 100k... it looks like 300k on the system. you pay the guy who 'facilitated' 100k!
#78 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 7:38:40 PM

What about payments? What's the system for payments like especially via EFT?

Some organizations implement solutions that will generate a file which when sent to the bank executes a payment
Ngalaka
#79 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 8:03:08 PM

What about payments? What's the system for payments like especially via EFT?

Some organizations implement solutions that will generate a file which when sent to the bank executes a payment

Electronic payments made on Bank platforms, from an account held at a bank to another.

Certain Banks may also allow some of their clients some leeway to operate their accounts with more flexibilities, but the accounts remain held and operated by the Bank
#80 Posted : Saturday, March 25, 2017 8:18:30 PM

Back to the article.

exactly... it makes sense...
had been robbing banks using Salami attacks and electronic transfers
<-- YES BANKS...SALAMI ATTACKS ONLY WORKS WITH BANKS OR AIRTIME E.T.C. basically move small amounts around to where someone else can use them or take them off the system. That cannot happen with KRA coz they don't have electronic currency that someone can 'use' or 'take out'

They have also been colluding with motor vehicle importers to evade tax and were illegally registering them.
now this is what from the onset I was saying... the only way you can 'rob' KRA (directly) would be reducing tax obligations of people. A car is supposed to attract a tax of 300k, you pay 100k... it looks like 300k on the system. you pay the guy who 'facilitated' 100k!

There's no way money would disappear in the bank without manipulation of transactions at KRA.