Passport - Huduma Centre
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. @essyk is right. People mess up systems then complain of corruption. If no one paid a bribe everyone would get efficient services. But when public servants get used to bribes they complicate matters until you give them kitu kidogo. Applying for a passport should be a straight forward matter taking a few minutes, not someone queuing at 5am for 2 days just to fill a form. I was impressed when i went to some huduma centre for NHIF biometric registration and the process took about 10 minutes from the moment i walked into the centre.
hardwood wrote:Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. @essyk is right. People mess up systems then complain of corruption. If no one paid a bribe everyone would get efficient services. But when public servants get used to bribes they complicate matters until you give them kitu kidogo. Applying for a passport should be a straight forward matter taking a few minutes, not someone queuing at 5am for 2 days just to fill a form. I was impressed when i went to some huduma centre for NHIF biometric registration and the process took about 10 minutes from the moment i walked into the centre. One thing that leads to bribing is the classic kenyan last minute rush, I always renew my Passport or any other document well before I need it, I always go one or two weeks from the date they said to go pick it up and I have never had to bribe anyone, when they sense your urgency sasa huwa maringo and extortion not even bribing To Each His Own
Rank: Member Joined: 11/15/2010 Posts: 454 Location: Nairobi
Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. Let's be real, no one would like to 'kutoa kitu kidogo' to get government service if the system is reliable and efficient. This thread reminds me of a friend who refused to 'cooperate' with traffic officer and part-away with 2k only for him to end up in court where the prosecutor was asking for 5k to 'end' the case inside the court room and in full glare of resident magistrate. In the end, all officers were furious with the guy, due to his 'stubbornness' he earned himself a fine of 30k after wasting 2 days following 'due-process' for a trumped-up traffic offence he did not commit. The entire system is so corrupt and the sooner we accept it the better because it is the only way we can genuinely start working toward eliminating this monster. ....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
tinker wrote:Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. Let's be real, no one would like to 'kutoa kitu kidogo' to get government service if the system is reliable and efficient. This thread reminds me of a friend who refused to 'cooperate' with traffic officer and part-away with 2k only for him to end up in court where the prosecutor was asking for 5k to 'end' the case inside the court room and in full glare of resident magistrate. In the end, all officers were furious with the guy, due to his 'stubbornness' he earned himself a fine of 30k after wasting 2 days following 'due-process' for a trumped-up traffic offence he did not commit. The entire system is so corrupt and the sooner we accept it the better because it is the only way we can genuinely start working toward eliminating this monster. How comes. Kenya is a God fearing country with statistics placing it among the most religious work to prosper
Tokyo wrote:tinker wrote:Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. Let's be real, no one would like to 'kutoa kitu kidogo' to get government service if the system is reliable and efficient. This thread reminds me of a friend who refused to 'cooperate' with traffic officer and part-away with 2k only for him to end up in court where the prosecutor was asking for 5k to 'end' the case inside the court room and in full glare of resident magistrate. In the end, all officers were furious with the guy, due to his 'stubbornness' he earned himself a fine of 30k after wasting 2 days following 'due-process' for a trumped-up traffic offence he did not commit. The entire system is so corrupt and the sooner we accept it the better because it is the only way we can genuinely start working toward eliminating this monster. How comes. Kenya is a God fearing country with statistics placing it among the most religious Religious people are the most effed up.... Those taking the facilitation fee are most likely the first ones in church and hold leadership positions huko kwa hekalu.... possunt quia posse videntur
tinker wrote:Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. Let's be real, no one would like to 'kutoa kitu kidogo' to get government service if the system is reliable and efficient. This thread reminds me of a friend who refused to 'cooperate' with traffic officer and part-away with 2k only for him to end up in court where the prosecutor was asking for 5k to 'end' the case inside the court room and in full glare of resident magistrate. In the end, all officers were furious with the guy, due to his 'stubbornness' he earned himself a fine of 30k after wasting 2 days following 'due-process' for a trumped-up traffic offence he did not commit. The entire system is so corrupt and the sooner we accept it the better because it is the only way we can genuinely start working toward eliminating this monster. A buddy of mine is fighting a speeding charge... It has become so big. possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
a sh*thole country where nothing gets done without bribing or making noise. few kenyans will see heaven or even smell heaven.rotten system and society we have.whenever I see a big car or a nice house I have now been conditioned to think of it being fruits of illegal proceeds until proved otherwise. is there any hope of things getting done right in this country? punda amecheka
maka wrote:tinker wrote:Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. Let's be real, no one would like to 'kutoa kitu kidogo' to get government service if the system is reliable and efficient. This thread reminds me of a friend who refused to 'cooperate' with traffic officer and part-away with 2k only for him to end up in court where the prosecutor was asking for 5k to 'end' the case inside the court room and in full glare of resident magistrate. In the end, all officers were furious with the guy, due to his 'stubbornness' he earned himself a fine of 30k after wasting 2 days following 'due-process' for a trumped-up traffic offence he did not commit. The entire system is so corrupt and the sooner we accept it the better because it is the only way we can genuinely start working toward eliminating this monster. A buddy of mine is fighting a speeding charge... It has become so big. Kama angekua mpole achote 3k, hangekua na hii shida. I learnt my lesson in 2014 when I tried following the due process when I was arrested for DUI. On each of those three occasions, I ended up wasting one full day and paying fines varying from 30K-40K. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:maka wrote:tinker wrote:Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. Let's be real, no one would like to 'kutoa kitu kidogo' to get government service if the system is reliable and efficient. This thread reminds me of a friend who refused to 'cooperate' with traffic officer and part-away with 2k only for him to end up in court where the prosecutor was asking for 5k to 'end' the case inside the court room and in full glare of resident magistrate. In the end, all officers were furious with the guy, due to his 'stubbornness' he earned himself a fine of 30k after wasting 2 days following 'due-process' for a trumped-up traffic offence he did not commit. The entire system is so corrupt and the sooner we accept it the better because it is the only way we can genuinely start working toward eliminating this monster. A buddy of mine is fighting a speeding charge... It has become so big. Kama angekua mpole achote 3k, hangekua na hii shida. I learnt my lesson in 2014 when I tried following the due process when I was arrested for DUI. On each of those three occasions, I ended up wasting one full day and paying fines varying from 30K-40K. As a citizen you did an excellent job for your country and it's future by refusing to pay a bribe. If everyone refused to pay a bribe and followed due process, corruption would be stamped out. Yes it will be painful and expensive to an individual but ultimately we will have a great corruption free country, where our kids wont have to be subjected to the vice.
hardwood wrote:Swenani wrote:maka wrote:tinker wrote:Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. Let's be real, no one would like to 'kutoa kitu kidogo' to get government service if the system is reliable and efficient. This thread reminds me of a friend who refused to 'cooperate' with traffic officer and part-away with 2k only for him to end up in court where the prosecutor was asking for 5k to 'end' the case inside the court room and in full glare of resident magistrate. In the end, all officers were furious with the guy, due to his 'stubbornness' he earned himself a fine of 30k after wasting 2 days following 'due-process' for a trumped-up traffic offence he did not commit. The entire system is so corrupt and the sooner we accept it the better because it is the only way we can genuinely start working toward eliminating this monster. A buddy of mine is fighting a speeding charge... It has become so big. Kama angekua mpole achote 3k, hangekua na hii shida. I learnt my lesson in 2014 when I tried following the due process when I was arrested for DUI. On each of those three occasions, I ended up wasting one full day and paying fines varying from 30K-40K. As a citizen you did an excellent job for your country and it's future by refusing to pay a bribe. If everyone refused to pay a bribe and followed due process, corruption would be stamped out. Yes it will be painful and expensive to an individual but ultimately we will have a great corruption free country, where our kids wont have to be subjected to the vice. The crazy thing is that you refuse to pay and it is painful. Then you realize you are the only one trying to bear the pain for the country and say what the hell, let me sort myself out. My kids .... will sort out themselves. Kenya sio yangu, ni yetu. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Swenani wrote:maka wrote:tinker wrote:Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. Let's be real, no one would like to 'kutoa kitu kidogo' to get government service if the system is reliable and efficient. This thread reminds me of a friend who refused to 'cooperate' with traffic officer and part-away with 2k only for him to end up in court where the prosecutor was asking for 5k to 'end' the case inside the court room and in full glare of resident magistrate. In the end, all officers were furious with the guy, due to his 'stubbornness' he earned himself a fine of 30k after wasting 2 days following 'due-process' for a trumped-up traffic offence he did not commit. The entire system is so corrupt and the sooner we accept it the better because it is the only way we can genuinely start working toward eliminating this monster. A buddy of mine is fighting a speeding charge... It has become so big. Kama angekua mpole achote 3k, hangekua na hii shida. I learnt my lesson in 2014 when I tried following the due process when I was arrested for DUI. On each of those three occasions, I ended up wasting one full day and paying fines varying from 30K-40K. People pay facilitation fee because they can afford it and if not,they have their sources. Accessing basic services for those who cannot afford becomes a mountainous task as result. There is nothing wrong in paying more for timely services, just make it official for guys like your friend. I wouldn't mind queuing there. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:maka wrote:tinker wrote:Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. Let's be real, no one would like to 'kutoa kitu kidogo' to get government service if the system is reliable and efficient. This thread reminds me of a friend who refused to 'cooperate' with traffic officer and part-away with 2k only for him to end up in court where the prosecutor was asking for 5k to 'end' the case inside the court room and in full glare of resident magistrate. In the end, all officers were furious with the guy, due to his 'stubbornness' he earned himself a fine of 30k after wasting 2 days following 'due-process' for a trumped-up traffic offence he did not commit. The entire system is so corrupt and the sooner we accept it the better because it is the only way we can genuinely start working toward eliminating this monster. A buddy of mine is fighting a speeding charge... It has become so big. Kama angekua mpole achote 3k, hangekua na hii shida. I learnt my lesson in 2014 when I tried following the due process when I was arrested for DUI. On each of those three occasions, I ended up wasting one full day and paying fines varying from 30K-40K. People pay facilitation fee because they can afford it and if not,they have their sources. Accessing basic services for those who cannot afford becomes a mountainous task as result. There is nothing wrong in paying more for timely services, just make it official for guys like your friend. I wouldn't mind queuing there. Imagine if every Kenyan refused to pay bribes. The public officers would serve all Kenyans efficiently because we pay them salaries to serve us. I remember when kibaki took power and Kenyans refused to pay bribes, and even rode in police vehicles while chanting haki yetu. It's possible to be a corruption free country. It starts with us.
hardwood wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:maka wrote:tinker wrote:Swenani wrote:essyk wrote:Swenani wrote:I can't believe this is what guys go through. A friend I know got a passport renewed within a record 3 hrs after paying facilitation fee of 5K.
If you think your productive hr/hrs are less than 5k, keep on queuing A Bribe in other words.So your friend is corrupt.And that excuse doesn't hold any water because they are the people who mess up systems/processes and come complaining later. Sweet pie, why are you behaving as if you just landed from mars aboard Mars rover? corruption and kenya is synonymous an it's our culture. Be patriotic and own the Kenyan culture. Corruption, Proudly perfected in Kenya. Let's be real, no one would like to 'kutoa kitu kidogo' to get government service if the system is reliable and efficient. This thread reminds me of a friend who refused to 'cooperate' with traffic officer and part-away with 2k only for him to end up in court where the prosecutor was asking for 5k to 'end' the case inside the court room and in full glare of resident magistrate. In the end, all officers were furious with the guy, due to his 'stubbornness' he earned himself a fine of 30k after wasting 2 days following 'due-process' for a trumped-up traffic offence he did not commit. The entire system is so corrupt and the sooner we accept it the better because it is the only way we can genuinely start working toward eliminating this monster. A buddy of mine is fighting a speeding charge... It has become so big. Kama angekua mpole achote 3k, hangekua na hii shida. I learnt my lesson in 2014 when I tried following the due process when I was arrested for DUI. On each of those three occasions, I ended up wasting one full day and paying fines varying from 30K-40K. People pay facilitation fee because they can afford it and if not,they have their sources. Accessing basic services for those who cannot afford becomes a mountainous task as result. There is nothing wrong in paying more for timely services, just make it official for guys like your friend. I wouldn't mind queuing there. Imagine if every Kenyan refused to pay bribes. The public officers would serve all Kenyans efficiently because we pay them salaries to serve us. I remember when kibaki took power and Kenyans refused to pay bribes, and even rode in police vehicles while chanting haki yetu. It's possible to be a corruption free country. It starts with us. Imagine, go tell that to Jubilee who has reversed all the gains we got under Kibaki including bribery. Let us imagine. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
https://www.nation.co.ke...8014-6ctffiz/index.html
"It took Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i to calm down the frustrated Kenyans. He also held a meeting with officials at the department and ordered them to temporarily relocate officers from other sections of the department so that they would issue all passports that were ready, even if it meant working late into the night". ....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
tinker wrote:https://www.nation.co.ke/newsplex/Passport-delay/2718262-4808014-6ctffiz/index.html
"It took Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i to calm down the frustrated Kenyans. He also held a meeting with officials at the department and ordered them to temporarily relocate officers from other sections of the department so that they would issue all passports that were ready, even if it meant working late into the night". Matiangi is clueless at the happenings hapo nyayo house.Mid June when i was following mine he made an impromptu visit he talked big saying they are working on an app where you just type in your tracking no and you will know the status of your passport also putting up screens showing similar info,separating applications from collections bla bla bla ,We cheered him on as immigration officials cowered in fear.1 week later when making another follow up the situation had returned to kawa.Mine was stuck at dispatch for 3 weeks after the date it was issued.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
essyk wrote:Mine was a replacement...smh. Stood in line under the hot sun for 2+ hrs.. Got inside and thought I had entered a goat market.Queus, mathogothanio, disgruntled fellows and slow service.I was patient.. Squeezed until I found myself a seat next to the photo place. Now I know whey Kenyans look funny on their ID's and Passports! You can't afford a smile after that hustle! No way. Sat for another 3 hrs. till my turn came, I walked majestically breathing a sigh of relief and feeling like I had conquered the world. Patience pays, I kept whispering to myself. The guy who was supposed to serve me was talking to another dude at the counter, so he asked me 'what have you come to do?! Ngai! What the hell? I had come to eat chips almost screamed back. Told him it was my turn, but he asked me to step aside and stop interfering with his 'talk'. Whoa!!I started feeling like a gangster. Was ready to commit crime. Meanwhile, the numbers kept moving forward and just like that, I was bypassed while waiting! Almost 10 people were bypassed but he didn't seem to care. Who was pressing the button yet we were not getting served?? ! Shock on me again.I approached the counter after he was done and the useless fellow in full glare of the public chased me away like a thief. Woi woi woi! This one is possessed by 27 demons. This is not normal human behavior, who bewitched you?? I consoled myself. 'Kwenda huko number yako imepita' he shouted as he waved his hand. I stood wondering where to go! What to do now? tomorrow? No way, I WILL BURN the ugly passport on my way out and run like lot's wife. No looking back never. Everyone saw what had happened so they tried to tetea me.unapitwa tu hivyo? The guy at the next counter (he's from coast) called and offered to serve me. He was so helpful and kind. God bless you. I left the place cursing that 'bitter with life' fellow. I got the replacement last year and after 2 months of waiting.
I understand they need 3 copies of the ID. Do they need any other document in triplicate? If it's a replacement,do they require IDs za Wazazi? Please assist because I don't want to go there at 5am and be sent away. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
kaka2za wrote:[quote=essyk]Mine was a replacement...smh. Stood in line under the hot sun for 2+ hrs.. Got inside and thought I had entered a goat market.Queus, mathogothanio, disgruntled fellows and slow service.I was patient.. Squeezed until I found myself a seat next to the photo place. Now I know whey Kenyans look funny on their ID's and Passports! You can't afford a smile after that hustle! No way. Sat for another 3 hrs. till my turn came, I walked majestically breathing a sigh of relief and feeling like I had conquered the world. Patience pays, I kept whispering to myself. The guy who was supposed to serve me was talking to another dude at the counter, so he asked me 'what have you come to do?! Ngai! What the hell? I had come to eat chips almost screamed back. Told him it was my turn, but he asked me to step aside and stop interfering with his 'talk'. Whoa!!I started feeling like a gangster. Was ready to commit crime. Meanwhile, the numbers kept moving forward and just like that, I was bypassed while waiting! Almost 10 people were bypassed but he didn't seem to care. Who was pressing the button yet we were not getting served?? ! Shock on me again.I approached the counter after he was done and the useless fellow in full glare of the public chased me away like a thief. Woi woi woi! This one is possessed by 27 demons. This is not normal human behavior, who bewitched you?? I consoled myself. 'Kwenda huko number yako imepita' he shouted as he waved his hand. I stood wondering where to go! What to do now? tomorrow? No way, I WILL BURN the ugly passport on my way out and run like lot's wife. No looking back never. Everyone saw what had happened so they tried to tetea me.unapitwa tu hivyo? The guy at the next counter (he's from coast) called and offered to serve me. He was so helpful and kind. God bless you. I left the place cursing that 'bitter with life' fellow. I got the replacement last year and after 2 months of waiting.
I went there prepared for the worst but I surprisingly found it very organised and efficient.I arrived some minutes to 6.am and was issued ticket no 65 and I was served at 7.50 am. There was an officer explaining what was needed. Not bad,not bad at all! I have seen much worse in Govt offices. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
kaka2za wrote:kaka2za wrote:[quote=essyk]Mine was a replacement...smh. Stood in line under the hot sun for 2+ hrs.. Got inside and thought I had entered a goat market.Queus, mathogothanio, disgruntled fellows and slow service.I was patient.. Squeezed until I found myself a seat next to the photo place. Now I know whey Kenyans look funny on their ID's and Passports! You can't afford a smile after that hustle! No way. Sat for another 3 hrs. till my turn came, I walked majestically breathing a sigh of relief and feeling like I had conquered the world. Patience pays, I kept whispering to myself. The guy who was supposed to serve me was talking to another dude at the counter, so he asked me 'what have you come to do?! Ngai! What the hell? I had come to eat chips almost screamed back. Told him it was my turn, but he asked me to step aside and stop interfering with his 'talk'. Whoa!!I started feeling like a gangster. Was ready to commit crime. Meanwhile, the numbers kept moving forward and just like that, I was bypassed while waiting! Almost 10 people were bypassed but he didn't seem to care. Who was pressing the button yet we were not getting served?? ! Shock on me again.I approached the counter after he was done and the useless fellow in full glare of the public chased me away like a thief. Woi woi woi! This one is possessed by 27 demons. This is not normal human behavior, who bewitched you?? I consoled myself. 'Kwenda huko number yako imepita' he shouted as he waved his hand. I stood wondering where to go! What to do now? tomorrow? No way, I WILL BURN the ugly passport on my way out and run like lot's wife. No looking back never. Everyone saw what had happened so they tried to tetea me.unapitwa tu hivyo? The guy at the next counter (he's from coast) called and offered to serve me. He was so helpful and kind. God bless you. I left the place cursing that 'bitter with life' fellow. I got the replacement last year and after 2 months of waiting.
I went there prepared for the worst but I surprisingly found it very organised and efficient.I arrived some minutes to 6.am and was issued ticket no 65 and I was served at 7.50 am. There was an officer explaining what was needed. Not bad,not bad at all! I have seen much worse in Govt offices. Am glad to hear that the situation has improved or normalised. May be the wailing and all the noises we made were not in vain and it reached the high office. Or it is true that 'the system' was down as we were being told. ....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
tinker wrote:kaka2za wrote:kaka2za wrote:[quote=essyk]Mine was a replacement...smh. Stood in line under the hot sun for 2+ hrs.. Got inside and thought I had entered a goat market.Queus, mathogothanio, disgruntled fellows and slow service.I was patient.. Squeezed until I found myself a seat next to the photo place. Now I know whey Kenyans look funny on their ID's and Passports! You can't afford a smile after that hustle! No way. Sat for another 3 hrs. till my turn came, I walked majestically breathing a sigh of relief and feeling like I had conquered the world. Patience pays, I kept whispering to myself. The guy who was supposed to serve me was talking to another dude at the counter, so he asked me 'what have you come to do?! Ngai! What the hell? I had come to eat chips almost screamed back. Told him it was my turn, but he asked me to step aside and stop interfering with his 'talk'. Whoa!!I started feeling like a gangster. Was ready to commit crime. Meanwhile, the numbers kept moving forward and just like that, I was bypassed while waiting! Almost 10 people were bypassed but he didn't seem to care. Who was pressing the button yet we were not getting served?? ! Shock on me again.I approached the counter after he was done and the useless fellow in full glare of the public chased me away like a thief. Woi woi woi! This one is possessed by 27 demons. This is not normal human behavior, who bewitched you?? I consoled myself. 'Kwenda huko number yako imepita' he shouted as he waved his hand. I stood wondering where to go! What to do now? tomorrow? No way, I WILL BURN the ugly passport on my way out and run like lot's wife. No looking back never. Everyone saw what had happened so they tried to tetea me.unapitwa tu hivyo? The guy at the next counter (he's from coast) called and offered to serve me. He was so helpful and kind. God bless you. I left the place cursing that 'bitter with life' fellow. I got the replacement last year and after 2 months of waiting.
I went there prepared for the worst but I surprisingly found it very organised and efficient.I arrived some minutes to 6.am and was issued ticket no 65 and I was served at 7.50 am. There was an officer explaining what was needed. Not bad,not bad at all! I have seen much worse in Govt offices. Am glad to hear that the situation has improved or normalised. May be the wailing and all the noises we made were not in vain and it reached the high office. Or it is true that 'the system' was down as we were being told. My insider avers: 1 The was a change of officer in charge of passports who changed things for what we're hearing. The congestion then was due to passports being printed 8n records numbers that their collection became chaotic as this wasn't anticipated. 2. Streamlined processes cleared previous backlog where passports were being churned out in small doses. 3. The physical facilities need overhaul. Since 1980s the banking hall designed for 300 applicants now has to hold over 2000 per day. 4. They are in the process of installing client communication system to advise applicants on when to collect their passports so they aren't made to go to check on status. This is being delayed by bureaucratic procurement procedures. 5. Overhaul of processes is also awaiting authorization from procurement and finance side. 6. Kisii,Eldoret,Nakuru and Embu to roll out passport issuance. So they promise to get better
Rahatupu wrote:tinker wrote:kaka2za wrote:kaka2za wrote:[quote=essyk]Mine was a replacement...smh. Stood in line under the hot sun for 2+ hrs.. Got inside and thought I had entered a goat market.Queus, mathogothanio, disgruntled fellows and slow service.I was patient.. Squeezed until I found myself a seat next to the photo place. Now I know whey Kenyans look funny on their ID's and Passports! You can't afford a smile after that hustle! No way. Sat for another 3 hrs. till my turn came, I walked majestically breathing a sigh of relief and feeling like I had conquered the world. Patience pays, I kept whispering to myself. The guy who was supposed to serve me was talking to another dude at the counter, so he asked me 'what have you come to do?! Ngai! What the hell? I had come to eat chips almost screamed back. Told him it was my turn, but he asked me to step aside and stop interfering with his 'talk'. Whoa!!I started feeling like a gangster. Was ready to commit crime. Meanwhile, the numbers kept moving forward and just like that, I was bypassed while waiting! Almost 10 people were bypassed but he didn't seem to care. Who was pressing the button yet we were not getting served?? ! Shock on me again.I approached the counter after he was done and the useless fellow in full glare of the public chased me away like a thief. Woi woi woi! This one is possessed by 27 demons. This is not normal human behavior, who bewitched you?? I consoled myself. 'Kwenda huko number yako imepita' he shouted as he waved his hand. I stood wondering where to go! What to do now? tomorrow? No way, I WILL BURN the ugly passport on my way out and run like lot's wife. No looking back never. Everyone saw what had happened so they tried to tetea me.unapitwa tu hivyo? The guy at the next counter (he's from coast) called and offered to serve me. He was so helpful and kind. God bless you. I left the place cursing that 'bitter with life' fellow. I got the replacement last year and after 2 months of waiting.
I went there prepared for the worst but I surprisingly found it very organised and efficient.I arrived some minutes to 6.am and was issued ticket no 65 and I was served at 7.50 am. There was an officer explaining what was needed. Not bad,not bad at all! I have seen much worse in Govt offices. Am glad to hear that the situation has improved or normalised. May be the wailing and all the noises we made were not in vain and it reached the high office. Or it is true that 'the system' was down as we were being told. My insider avers: 1 The was a change of officer in charge of passports who changed things for what we're hearing. The congestion then was due to passports being printed 8n records numbers that their collection became chaotic as this wasn't anticipated. 2. Streamlined processes cleared previous backlog where passports were being churned out in small doses. 3. The physical facilities need overhaul. Since 1980s the banking hall designed for 300 applicants now has to hold over 2000 per day. 4. They are in the process of installing client communication system to advise applicants on when to collect their passports so they aren't made to go to check on status. This is being delayed by bureaucratic procurement procedures. 5. Overhaul of processes is also awaiting authorization from procurement and finance side. 6. Kisii,Eldoret,Nakuru and Embu to roll out passport issuance. So they promise to get better Application and collection process is still a painful exercise. https://nairobinews.nati...yans-acquire-passports/
surely, something need to be done here. ....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
Passport - Huduma Centre