Investor
Stocks
Uchumi - A value play?
whiteowl wrote:jerry wrote:mkonomtupu wrote:i feel like a mad man here but hell who cares uchumi now at 9.20/= Is there anything fundamentally wrong with Carbacid that can support the decline of price to 20/=? Some analysts here in Wazua and elsewhere pegged the fair price at 18-22 when it was at 40s It was pegged at 23 bob even pre split cum dividend and bonus of 2013......@stockmasters if i remember well (some old thread of late last year/early this year!) In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Along Thika Road...the store at Juja, and the one they plan on leasing in the Unicity Mall, are very bad business decisions in my layman opinion. When retailers are battling for space in high density areas, Uchumi is busy occupying areas that are of very low density. With the government as a major shareholder, that sums up everything...bad investment IMHO. A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/10/2010 Posts: 1,001 Location: River Road
14.87 million rights traded at a premium...iko kitu hapa
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
If this rights are taken by longterm fellows,then those who buy might smile going forward,as it appears speculators will stay away which is a good thing. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mkonomtupu wrote:14.87 million rights traded at a premium...iko kitu hapa Traded at how much???Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:mkonomtupu wrote:14.87 million rights traded at a premium...iko kitu hapa Traded at how much??? Now 19.79 million @ Kes. 0.50. That's 20% of the total rights.
Now 24.04 million high turnover even on the normal shares
mkonomtupu wrote:Now 24.04 million high turnover even on the normal shares Interesting. Thats 24% of total rights. On normal share however i don't find it to be much (62,300 shares). The normal counter has seen high volumes before and especially at 8/- #NF
@mkonomtupu, just checked the top 10 shareholders list and noted that no one shareholder has 24M rights. Not even the top shareholder. Does this imply the top shareholders are selling their rights in mass and a certain person is getting in in a big way. Notice 24M rights/shares places the person as top 2 shareholder, only after GOK
A value play? No A speculative play? Yes
Before rushing and buying because big money is moving in,take time to visit your local Uchumi branch and compare it with nakumatt,Tuskys and the new independent stores.Uchumi is suffering and hemorrhaging their brand...
Mr. Ciano used to make regular rounds and meet customers while addressing their queries and taking positive input from them but he has since reduced/stopped all together as I haven't seen him and on inquiring about his visits,the local staff hadn't spotted him in a while
Branches are understocked with delays in restocking.I recently missed tusker in one of their hyper marts yet i was going for a couple of crates.Some of these supply chain issues should be non existent in such a mammoth
On the bright side,they have managed to reduce their debt(helped by having the largest MPesa dealership by volume in the country) and looking ahead it is a prime (hostile) take over candidate by the likes of massmart and carreflour.
Way forward,a new management team after the rights issue,perhaps a more digital one.In fact re-branding would be a good idea all together.Lastly I opine it shall be a good buy after the dilution of the rights issue takes place and a clearer picture of the future emerges.I shall get in Q2 2015 after pocketing capital gains in KK and Centum
@mibbz, Ciano stopped doing the rounds when he got confirmed as CEO. He, like KQ executive directors are now just living of our investments.
Gordon Gekko wrote:@mibbz, Ciano stopped doing the rounds when he got confirmed as CEO. He, like KQ executive directors are now just living of our investments. Sad situation.I'd always engage him in a discussion on what I felt was needed as I have been loyal to the brand for decades.Now I walk into the branches and they are filled with gloom.From de-motivated staff,understocked shelves,dirty floors....Just a sad situation.
Do we have a new meaning for oversubscription???uchumi rights is 83% oversubscribed. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mlennyma wrote:Do we have a new meaning for oversubscription???uchumi rights is 83% oversubscribed. Now they have some money to pay suppliers. Stock outs has been the norm. Hata maziwa hakuna.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 2/15/2012 Posts: 29 Location: unimportant
Uchumi Rights Issue Oversubscribed By 83 Percent. major volume traded at 10 /= as of 10:25 am http://allafrica.com/stories/201412170081.htmlThe Emotional Dog and Its Rational Tail
[quote=citymayor]Uchumi Rights Issue Oversubscribed By 83 Percent. major volume traded at 10 /= as of 10:25 am http://allafrica.com/stories/201412170081.html[/quote] Ciano pulled this one off, he deserves a big clap Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Now I can sit back and watch the value play glad I locked in at 8-8.20
Hata mimi najiuliza 83% oversubcription ndio nini hiyo? LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 6/23/2011 Posts: 1,740 Location: Nairobi
Most of us me included were wrong,mr.market suggests uchumi rights was a good value play. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Investor
Stocks
Uchumi - A value play?