Investor
Stocks
Stock Picks for the Remaining Quarter of the year.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Hii Obiero kiburi ndiyo imezidi. Now he considers himself greater than Buffet the god of investing. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,568 Location: nairobi
sparkly wrote:Hii Obiero kiburi ndiyo imezidi. Now he considers himself greater than Buffet the god of investing.
Ego maketh an african man :) COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,134 Location: Nairobi
obiero wrote:in a span of only 10 months, hii mungu yenu inayoitwa buffet invested in three separate firms that almost immediately issued profit warnings and/or missed revenue targets.. stocks respect no one, ben graham also having been knocked a couple of times. to new investors at the NSE and beyond: enter the market with eyes wide open, you can either gain or loose at any stock market.. Lakini, yet he knew not to invest in an airline that lost all of its net worth and much more. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:Hii Obiero kiburi ndiyo imezidi. Now he considers himself greater than Buffet the god of investing.
Ego maketh an african man :) Ego loseth an African man moneyth on the stocketh exchange Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:Hii Obiero kiburi ndiyo imezidi. Now he considers himself greater than Buffet the god of investing.
Ego maketh an african man :) Ego loseth an African man moneyth on the stocketh exchange Never! Ego maketh one buy more KQ-eth which shall soareth from the grave buried-eth 30bn cms beneath the ground. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:in a span of only 10 months, hii mungu yenu inayoitwa buffet invested in three separate firms that almost immediately issued profit warnings and/or missed revenue targets.. stocks respect no one, ben graham also having been knocked a couple of times. to new investors at the NSE and beyond: enter the market with eyes wide open, you can either gain or loose at any stock market.. Lakini, yet he knew not to invest in an airline that lost all of its net worth and much more. Unaongea aje nikama sikuuza hisa za KQ. Makosa ilifanyika. Chenye sitakubali ni wanakenya kuwekwa hofu moyoni kuhusu uwekezaji katika NSE.. Kilichofanyika ni kitendo cha simu moja, na si kumaanisha kuwa soko hakukaliki COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
VituVingiSana wrote:sparkly wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:Hii Obiero kiburi ndiyo imezidi. Now he considers himself greater than Buffet the god of investing.
Ego maketh an african man :) Ego loseth an African man moneyth on the stocketh exchange Never! Ego maketh one buy more KQ-eth which shall soareth from the grave buried-eth 30bn cms beneath the ground. Lol. @vvs @sparkly Hii pesa yangu imewawasha tu sana. Am not the only investor who lost on KQ.. Kuna watu hapa wanaramba vidonda kimyakimya.. But im not the type to deny a fault. Initial outlay was KES 548,680 out of which I got back KES 313,335 which I have placed in cement and blocks.. I dint loose everything in life, just some loose change!!! COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
VituVingiSana wrote:sparkly wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:Hii Obiero kiburi ndiyo imezidi. Now he considers himself greater than Buffet the god of investing.
Ego maketh an african man :) Ego loseth an African man moneyth on the stocketh exchange Never! Ego maketh one buy more KQ-eth which shall soareth from the grave buried-eth 30bn cms beneath the ground. Wisdom sayeth to buyeth a good share with good performance and Div track record that is temporary beaten by the market... Not a corpse that has not made a profit from core business in 5 years. Life is short. Live passionately.
@Obiero - The issue is not that you lost money on KQ. I did too. The issue is you may have lured other unsuspecting folks into a position that was untenable. At one point, it made me wonder if you were on Alex's payroll. Or a pump-and-dump guy. BTW, http://www.businessdaily...06/-/w30thq/-/index.htmlGreedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Ego maketh an african man :) Ego loseth an African man moneyth on the stocketh exchange Never! Ego maketh one buy more KQ-eth which shall soareth from the grave buried-eth 30bn cms beneath the ground. FYI, without application of shilling-cost-averaging, I would be down by more than 58% in percentage terms.. I got out at exactly the time I had to and for reasons best known to me. However, one thing remains clear in my mind, KQ as a firm, is globally respected and continentally adored.. Many Africans dream of being Kenyan when they watch the proud black red and green tail of the Pride of Africa. What happened at KQ was massive looting, theft, fraud.. and therefore you should not laugh at someone who was pickpocketed. In an ideal Kenya, for a company with annual revenues in excess of KES 100B, KQ should never have reported a loss. Niliibiwa na Naikuni na nishakubali! COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:sparkly wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:Hii Obiero kiburi ndiyo imezidi. Now he considers himself greater than Buffet the god of investing.
Ego maketh an african man :) Ego loseth an African man moneyth on the stocketh exchange Never! Ego maketh one buy more KQ-eth which shall soareth from the grave buried-eth 30bn cms beneath the ground. FYI, without application of shilling-cost-averaging, I would be down by more than 58% in percentage terms.. I got out at exactly the time I had to and for reasons best known to me. However, one thing remains clear in my mind, KQ as a firm, is globally respected and continentally adored.. Many Africans dream of being Kenyan when they watch the proud black red and green tail of the Pride of Africa. What happened at KQ was massive looting, theft, fraud.. and therefore you should not laugh at someone who was pickpocketed. In an ideal Kenya, for a company with annual revenues in excess of KES 100B, KQ should never have reported a loss. Niliibiwa na Naikuni na nishakubali! Amen! Naikuni and your buddy Alex. I was robbed by Naikuni & Alex. Then there's Michael Matu (Olympia). Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
[quote=VituVingiSana]@Obiero - The issue is not that you lost money on KQ. I did too. The issue is you may have lured other unsuspecting folks into a position that was untenable. At one point, it made me wonder if you were on Alex's payroll. Or a pump-and-dump guy. BTW, http://www.businessdaily...6/-/w30thq/-/index.html[/quote] Ditto, I also bailed at a lost. What I find baffling is that @Obiero insists KQ is a good investment. Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:[quote=VituVingiSana]@Obiero - The issue is not that you lost money on KQ. I did too. The issue is you may have lured other unsuspecting folks into a position that was untenable. At one point, it made me wonder if you were on Alex's payroll. Or a pump-and-dump guy. BTW, http://www.businessdaily...6/-/w30thq/-/index.html[/quote] Ditto, I also bailed at a lost. What I find baffling is that @Obiero insists KQ is a good investment. Not at all. I have lost faith in the share, but not the company. It may sound strange, but its possible.. Ama you want me to expound COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:[quote=VituVingiSana]@Obiero - The issue is not that you lost money on KQ. I did too. The issue is you may have lured other unsuspecting folks into a position that was untenable. At one point, it made me wonder if you were on Alex's payroll. Or a pump-and-dump guy. BTW, http://www.businessdaily...6/-/w30thq/-/index.html[/quote] Ditto, I also bailed at a lost. What I find baffling is that @Obiero insists KQ is a good investment. Not at all. I have lost faith in the share, but not the company. It may sound strange, but its possible.. Ama you want me to expound Expound. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:[quote=VituVingiSana]@Obiero - The issue is not that you lost money on KQ. I did too. The issue is you may have lured other unsuspecting folks into a position that was untenable. At one point, it made me wonder if you were on Alex's payroll. Or a pump-and-dump guy. BTW, http://www.businessdaily...6/-/w30thq/-/index.html[/quote] Ditto, I also bailed at a lost. What I find baffling is that @Obiero insists KQ is a good investment. Not at all. I have lost faith in the share, but not the company. It may sound strange, but its possible.. Ama you want me to expound Expound. Flying is a lifestyle. Obiero's brothers would rather do an harambee to bail out KQ than let it die Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:[quote=VituVingiSana]@Obiero - The issue is not that you lost money on KQ. I did too. The issue is you may have lured other unsuspecting folks into a position that was untenable. At one point, it made me wonder if you were on Alex's payroll. Or a pump-and-dump guy. BTW, http://www.businessdaily...6/-/w30thq/-/index.html[/quote] Ditto, I also bailed at a lost. What I find baffling is that @Obiero insists KQ is a good investment. Not at all. I have lost faith in the share, but not the company. It may sound strange, but its possible.. Ama you want me to expound Expound. Flying is a lifestyle. Obiero's brothers would rather do an harambee to bail out KQ than let it die @sparkly when a child is sick and needs a complex surgery or a student is admitted to harvard, they shall not use a matatu to india or usa.. intra country trade also necessitates travel, so usinipandishe pressure na hio term, lifestyle!! @vvs evaluating a company is done using a wholesome approach which relies on examination of the global and economic environment. Conversely, the aim of evaluating a stock is to determine when it is best to buy or sell, without focusing lovingly on the company in itself.. i.e. just because the results of an evaluation of a company might be positive, it doesn't mean that the evaluation of its stock is a "buy" and vice versa e.g if KK was to trade at KES 20 bob by tomorrow, most would sell, not because the company is bad, but because the stock price would have outstripped rationality COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:[quote=VituVingiSana]@Obiero - The issue is not that you lost money on KQ. I did too. The issue is you may have lured other unsuspecting folks into a position that was untenable. At one point, it made me wonder if you were on Alex's payroll. Or a pump-and-dump guy. BTW, http://www.businessdaily...6/-/w30thq/-/index.html[/quote] Ditto, I also bailed at a lost. What I find baffling is that @Obiero insists KQ is a good investment. Not at all. I have lost faith in the share, but not the company. It may sound strange, but its possible.. Ama you want me to expound Expound. Flying is a lifestyle. Obiero's brothers would rather do an harambee to bail out KQ than let it die @sparkly when a child is sick and needs a complex surgery or a student is admitted to harvard, they shall not use a matatu to india or usa.. intra country trade also necessitates travel, so usinipandishe pressure na hio term, lifestyle!! @vvs evaluating a company is done using a wholesome approach which relies on examination of the global and economic environment. Conversely, the aim of evaluating a stock is to determine when it is best to buy or sell, without focusing lovingly on the company in itself.. i.e. just because the results of an evaluation of a company might be positive, it doesn't mean that the evaluation of its stock is a "buy" and vice versa e.g if KK was to trade at KES 20 bob by tomorrow, most would sell, not because the company is bad, but because the stock price would have outstripped rationality If KQ was the only airline in the world, your first paragraph would make perfect sense. Life is short. Live passionately.
@Obiero. I fear that their is something fundamentally wrong with your stocks investment strategy. But you either give up too quickly on good stocks eg. Hfck, KenRe. Or hold on too long to junk stocks like KQ. The solution would be among other things to soften your stance when loosing and harden your stance when winning. My 2 cents The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying wrote:@Obiero. I fear that their is something fundamentally wrong with your stocks investment strategy. But you either give up too quickly on good stocks eg. Hfck, KenRe. Or hold on too long to junk stocks like KQ. The solution would be among other things to soften your stance when loosing and harden your stance when winning. My 2 cents @Aguy you have spoken well. I have nothing more useful to add to this debate. Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:Aguytrying wrote:@Obiero. I fear that their is something fundamentally wrong with your stocks investment strategy. But you either give up too quickly on good stocks eg. Hfck, KenRe. Or hold on too long to junk stocks like KQ. The solution would be among other things to soften your stance when loosing and harden your stance when winning. My 2 cents @Aguy you have spoken well. I have nothing more useful to add to this debate. @sparkly. Please avoid selective reasoning, also speak of my outing with Centum, KCB, COOP.. However, I shall consider your words of wisdom and may take them seriously once im convinced of the alleged flaw in my strategy COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Investor
Stocks
Stock Picks for the Remaining Quarter of the year.