6 Pages«<23456>
Hands off Our Elephants
#61 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 7:45:13 PM

bkismat wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kollabo wrote:
India is a poor country that borders China. They don't kill their elephants for ivory. What is wrong with us?

I think Indian elephants don't have tusks

Apparently Indian elephants have evolved not to grow tusks.

No tusks no poaching

In our case KWS could remove the tusks and horns from all elephants and rhinos, and make sure they publicize this so that poachers would know there's no ivory or horns in the national parks, and thus no reason to poach.
#62 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 7:59:53 PM

KWS should poison the horns, a la SA. The when that damn chink drinks it to get into the mood...he goes to meet his maker, direct!

http://www.cbc.ca/stromb...orns-to-prevent-poaching
#63 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 8:02:12 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kollabo wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
[quote=kollabo]India is a poor country that borders China. They don't kill their elephants for ivory. What is wrong with us?

Where did you get that from? Boss fanya research. Asian elephants have tusks.

They actually don't atleast the females don't completely. The males are supposed to have but in practise a good number don't have or will have semi developed ones.

Theres your research http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asian_elephant[/quote]

Read first then ruka ruka.

Thanks Obi! smile

#64 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 9:45:25 PM

bkismat wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kollabo wrote:
India is a poor country that borders China. They don't kill their elephants for ivory. What is wrong with us?

No tusks no poaching

How practical is it for us to import and breed these 'bonoko' elaphants then release them into the wild here in Kenya?
#65 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 11:13:45 PM

kollabo wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Kenyans are a very funny lot...very funny indeed!!!

Oh ati poachers!!!Oh ati mashainese poachers...my goodness!!!

Why don't you go to the high ranking government officials and get the poachers!!!NKT!!!

Exactly, the poachers just like the pharmacists are well known and protected!!!

Please name and shame them here!

Did you watch Onsarigo's expose expose on poaching, let us just give up! These guys are going to wipe out the elephants and rhinos, one way or another. And with it, tourism. A time is coming when this country will be so far gone that we will envy Somalia!

The poachers are state functionaries, with a full unit at GSU and another at KWS! The poachers have full state protection from the very top! My only sorrow from the report is that anytime they want to be seen to be working, they lure innocent Kenyans into the parks and shoot them dead then nickname them poachers!

it really pains to watch that expose Sad Sad why not just de-horn the animals in a humane manner and leave them alive? why kill them? are people this cruel and stupid or what?

if ivory and tusks are such a high selling commodity,we can as well start exporting them like coffee (subject to international rules & regulations). The GoK can implement a legal program to harvest these tusks and horns in an organized and humane manner. In that case it's a win-win-win for all, the animals, tourism & the extra income made from horns/tusks/ivory.

But then again...a rhino with no horn is not a rhino...

It's difficult for a criminal to compete for illegal market with the goverment.

Now,I don't have a conclusion to the above cz it seems crazy what I am about to suggest.smile

I am curious
urstill1
#66 Posted : Friday, March 28, 2014 1:01:41 AM

The comments on that KTN video gives it all though it is a well known fact that the president's mother is/was part of the trade. The president can not dare touch that topic. The best he can do is stop at the Kusema stage and not move to the Kutenda stage as we have seen for the last one year. What can you say when ivory is found in state house and a security personnel steals the same? Poaching in Kenya has the blessings from the highest office in the land. Ching chong buys the product but I do not blame them.
#67 Posted : Friday, March 28, 2014 4:59:52 AM

Hours after the President gave a warning to poachers,they invade Lake Nakuru park and kill a rhino.The KWS director who was on TV telling the whole world how the situation is not out off hand,joins KWS rangers in the night hunt of two escaping poachers.......Lesson?. Poachers can show Uhuruto the middle finger (Kwani wata-do?) and the KWS director is fond of spending his sleeping time in the bush sniffing for poachers....Bure kabisa!.NKT!!Sad

and for the good record of the country's leadership and that of KWS director only 18 rhinos and 51 elephants have been killed this year!! Nothing alarming.Sad Sad
#68 Posted : Friday, March 28, 2014 9:13:52 AM

Hours after the President gave a warning to poachers,they invade Lake Nakuru park and kill a rhino.The KWS director who was on TV telling the whole world how the situation is not out off hand,joins KWS rangers in the night hunt of two escaping poachers.......Lesson?. Poachers can show Uhuruto the middle finger (Kwani wata-do?) and the KWS director is fond of spending his sleeping time in the bush sniffing for poachers....Bure kabisa!.NKT!!Sad

and for the good record of the country's leadership and that of KWS director only 18 rhinos and 51 elephants have been killed this year!! Nothing alarming.Sad Sad

very very sad....the poachers did not get away with the horn but the rhino is gone....nkt
#69 Posted : Friday, March 28, 2014 1:40:54 PM

And the jihad by @alphadoti is targeting these animals as well.

http://www.vice.com/read...at-kenyas-ivory-poachers
#70 Posted : Friday, March 28, 2014 2:01:03 PM

kollabo wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

Why don't you go to the high ranking government officials and get the poachers!!!NKT!!!

Did you watch Onsarigo's expose expose on poaching, let us just give up! These guys are going to wipe out the elephants and rhinos, one way or another. And with it, tourism. A time is coming when this country will be so far gone that we will envy Somalia!

The poachers are state functionaries, with a full unit at GSU and another at KWS! The poachers have full state protection from the very top! My only sorrow from the report is that anytime they want to be seen to be working, they lure innocent Kenyans into the parks and shoot them dead then nickname them poachers!

@Mc you know I respect you sometimes when you speak honestly? I mean this is exactly the technique used by those with a certain agenda, especially the powerful to achieve a certain objective. How come when I give similar technique used to label some people as terror group, you smear me with bad propaganda? Don't you know I support you many times politically when people try to fry someone?

NOTE: I'm not trying to say we must agree in everything, it is normal to disagree to agree.
#71 Posted : Friday, March 28, 2014 2:04:12 PM

kollabo wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

@Mc you know I respect you sometimes when you speak honestly? I mean this is exactly the technique used by those with a certain agenda, especially the powerful to achieve a certain objective. How come when I give similar technique used to label some people as terror group, you smear me with bad propaganda? Don't you know I support you many times politically when people try to fry someone?

NOTE: I'm not trying to say we must agree in everything, it is normal to disagree to agree.

I used to think you were level headed till last year when I went for Xmass holidays and came back and found you had scandalized my name in a thread I had not even commented on, my view you has never been the same!!!!
#72 Posted : Friday, March 28, 2014 2:05:31 PM

And the jihad by @alphadoti is targeting these animals as well.

http://www.vice.com/read...t-kenyas-ivory-poachers

Vitina tupu. Why don't you mention the guys who are consuming over 80%, and it is not even Ching chong Shame on you Shame on you

...Japan consumed about 40% of the global trade; another 40% was consumed by Europe and North America, often worked in Hong Kong, which was the largest trade hub, with most of the rest remaining in Africa. China, yet to become the economic force of today, consumed small amounts of ivory to keep its skilled carvers in business
#73 Posted : Friday, March 28, 2014 2:08:49 PM

kollabo wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

I used to think you were level headed till last year when I went for Xmass holidays and came back and found you had scandalized my name in a thread I had not even commented on, my view you has never been the same!!!!

It was a new year thread, and we were just giving each some little thank you and some little bashing as Wazua as a whole brother. Everybody was expressing themselves, why did you take it personal Pray Pray
#74 Posted : Friday, March 28, 2014 2:48:41 PM

As reported by KWS

"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
#75 Posted : Friday, March 28, 2014 2:50:18 PM

The director and Naxvegas Governor hunting the poachers smile
KWS used to have an airwing wing Helicopters what happened?
"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
symbols
#76 Posted : Saturday, March 29, 2014 1:04:11 AM

If beasts have nightmares,we're the monsters that haunt them.
#77 Posted : Saturday, March 29, 2014 4:30:03 PM

aaaw smile
#78 Posted : Saturday, March 29, 2014 7:55:44 PM

Siringi wrote:
The director and Naxvegas Governor hunting the poachers smile
KWS used to have an airwing wing Helicopters what happened?

This is a silly PR stunt, who goes to the bush dressed like that? Sometimes leading from the front should not be taken literally.

β€œPeople will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
#79 Posted : Saturday, March 29, 2014 8:45:34 PM

DRONES
Nepal using drones in the fight.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BMdCFBsWdD0

Kenya plans to deploy surveillance drones to help fight elephant and rhino poachers and has introduced stiffer penalties for offenders, officials said on Tuesday.

Poaching has risen in recent years across sub-Saharan Africa where well-armed criminal gangs have killed elephants for tusks and rhinos for horns that are often shipped to Asia for use in ornaments and medicines.

"We will start piloting the use of drones in the Tsavo National Park eco system, one of the largest national parks in the world," said Patrick Omondi, deputy director for wildlife conservation at the Kenya Wildlife Service.

Omondi said the surveillance aircraft would be imported, but did not give details of how many or at what cost.

Tsavo National Park in the southeast is Kenya's largest, with sweeping plains and occasional water holes dotted with wildlife, including elephants.
#80 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 2:36:22 PM

It is a scientifically known fact that ivory is made of a substance that does not catch fire and get consumed. Asking the leaders of any country to appear in public and set ivory stocks alight is to play a cruel joke on Kenyans while subjecting leadership to ridicule for being scientifically illiterate.

If dispassionate discourse leads to the agreement that no trade of ivory products will be countenanced, then conservation policy must find a more truthful way for the destruction or storage of recovered ivory stocks. Poachers and illegal traders of ivory smile broadly when they see the spectacle of pretence around burning ivory. Symbolism is not policy.

RINK

So when MO1 and others were 'burning ivory' to discourage poaching, what was that being burnt?