wazua Fri, Dec 27, 2024

8 Pages«<23456>»
Home owners stare at Sh16bn losses
#61 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:00:01 PM

The owners of those fake titles should be proactive and start sueing NOW.

Once the director of kevivapi said that they didn't sell any land to anyone, they should have organised got themselves a court order and sued everyone they could think of.

Instead of their 16billion being used as a4 would say to develop the pockets of the "professionals", it should be developing theirs.

Even sue the banks which have property departments that vetted that the land was genuine.

If they keep quiet, they will lose. Maybe not today, but a bulldozer is surely coming one day.

Ask Syokimau, ask the runda fellows who's houses had CLEAN titles in 1971 but find out later they were sold land on a road reserve.

Sue these "professionals" in the pockets of land grabbers or forever hold your "piece" of junk land.
jamplu
#62 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:02:28 PM

@alma these are not just dumb investors they are innocent kenyans who trusted the system. They bought land from a govt agency and not a broker at riveroad. returning the land back to another govt agency then our taxes being used to compensate these people probably at a higher rate is simply going full circle!
#63 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:08:06 PM

jamplu wrote:
@alma these are not just dumb investors they are innocent kenyans who trusted the system. They bought land from a govt agency and not a broker at riveroad. returning the land back to another govt agency then our taxes being used to compensate these people probably at a higher rate is simply going full circle!

Jamplu why are you trying to confuse the "innocent" investors? You know as well as I do, that if kevavapi says they did not sell land, then nssf did not buy land from them.

So who did they buy it from? Is it the "broker" you are trying to shield in this topic?

The original owner has said his land was stolen. The present owners should now sue the person who sold them the properties. Not listen to arguments of gov't vs gov't or ohh proper land use, ohh sijui nssf.

Sue the developer and the bank. Its upto the developer to go sue nssf and nssf to sue kevavapi.

Apana confuse these investors.

You have just seen what an architect will tell you as a buyer. "Its not my work to validate a title in a gov't office". Sue him too. Next time he will validate.

Lakini keeping quiet and waiting for Sonko to save you would be the dumbest investment decision they ever made.

its time Kenyans started suing and not moving on kila saa.

But in the meantime, they should be demolished.
#64 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:13:21 PM

@a4architect, I don't want to return everyone to misri, but I think what you have is what would be turned tunnel vision. Relocate national park, jenga nyumba. Relocate JKIA, jenga nyumba. Relocate...jenga nyumba. That can be attributed to your profession, but the bigger picture doesn't work that way. Secondly, I agree with @alma. You don't justify an illegality by saying the economy will be affected when houses constructed on controversially acquired land are demolished. That's how corruption is fanned. Sometimes sh*t happens so that it can guard future investors from getting caught up in the same.
a4architect.com
#65 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:13:31 PM

@alma, as i said, am not an expert in land conveyancing issues so on the legality of title, i can only give my pedestrian 2 cents.

The commissioner of lands holds government land on behalf of ministries. If he decides to sell off kevevapi land, then kenyans must accept the decision and move on. If you buy the kevevapi land then carry out a search, the results show that you are the new owner and can now resell the same land. If the commissioner made errors, we have to accept them since i dont see any other practical solution to this. Its upon the government to appoint trustworthy comissioners of lands and punish them if they do wrong.

The land was originally owned by the tribal africans/kambas/maasais. It was then taken without compensation by the colonial govt. The colonial govt then resold it to white settlers or transferred the land to the kenyatta govt. The kenyatta govt held the land and transfered to the moi govt then kibaki govt. What the govt of the day decided to do with the land, and in this case commissioner of lands/president as representative, is what was legal then. Of course a lawyer would have an even better explanation regarding this.

National land commission also should step in and give us the way forward since currently, this is their docket.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#66 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:18:28 PM

If Prof. Swazuri saw your post above he's start laughing.

The issue of original owners of Kenyan land doesnt arise anywhere. There was a law when this kevevapi land was said to have been sold. It was broken by someone.

That someone should be in court right now together with the professionals who helped him in this alleged fraud. Apana maneno ya africans and mzungus here.

The commisioner of lands only comes in when land is LEGALLY sold. Not ILLEGALLY.

This is a case for the Kenya police apana maneno of accepting and moving on. Man if these property owners listen to your professional advice they deserve to be conned all their lives.

You come try play a game like that on me and utajuwa malenge ni nyama.
a4architect.com
#67 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:20:47 PM

@a4architect, I don't want to return everyone to misri, but I think what you have is what would be turned tunnel vision. Relocate national park, jenga nyumba. Relocate JKIA, jenga nyumba. Relocate...jenga nyumba. That can be attributed to your profession, but the bigger picture doesn't work that way. Secondly, I agree with @alma. You don't justify an illegality by saying the economy will be affected because (again) houses were constructed, et cetera. That's how corruption is fanned. Sometimes sh*t happens so that it can guard future investors from getting caught up in the same.

@jus blazing, if you took your time to read reasons as to why relocate, you can then give a better alternative or reasons as to why not relocate.
For example, in the case of the national park, trees perform 10 times better as carbon sinks than grass. I suggested the land to be turned to low density residential with high density forest/tree cover. Give a better suggestion than this if you have then we debate it.

For JKIA, i suggested relocating to near daystar to enable security, expansion etc etc which is lacking at current location. If you have a better suggestion, give it we debate it.

on the issue of kevevapi, your suggestion to punish innocent kenyans just to serve as a lesson is fine to you but i would differ. Punishing innocent investors to me is unfair.
a4architect.com
#68 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:22:27 PM

The issue of original owners of Kenyan land doesnt arise anywhere. There was a law when this kevevapi land was said to have been sold. It was broken by someone.

That someone should be in court right now together with the professionals who helped him in this alleged fraud. Apana maneno ya africans and mzungus here.

The commisioner of lands only comes in when land is LEGALLY sold. Not ILLEGALLY.

This is a case for the Kenya police apana maneno of accepting and moving on. Man if these property owners listen to your professional advice they deserve to be conned all their lives.

@alma, the deal was done by comissioner of lands

@jus blazin just criticising without facts and being part of a lynch mob supporting demolishing of innocent people's houses to me reeks of jealousy.
#69 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:31:41 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

Please advice accordingly. Who was the seller? For you to buy land, someone must sell. Who was the seller.

Apparently the owner is claiming that he didn't sell it. So who sold it?

Again stop trying to confuse guys here.

That is the reason you sue. So that the truth sets everyone free. Right now, the owners should not trust anyone. Especially anyone who was involved in these transactions. Sue, then the truth will show itself.

There are cases where somone is allocated land illegally. he then sells it to a gov't agency. Then the gov't agency resells to the fellow's other company at a loss. Then the fellow resells the property to the silly investors.

I'll call them dumb because people have been told over and over again to walk into lands office and see the original deeds themselves.

They are not innocent. If you pay 10million for a house without a clean title, you are not innocent. you are just a dumb investor.

To avoid being dumb for too long, sue the developer and get your money back. Apana ngoja.
a4architect.com
#70 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:35:18 PM

@alma, why call innocent people dumb? Thats disrespectful. Since both of us dont understand the legal situation regarding the conveyancing, its pointless to discuss the legality of the sale. Lets keep to the viability of whether kevevapi should continue using the land as agricultural or resell the remaining 70 acres to developers.

Am sure they did carry out searches and since the deal was done by a commissioner of lands, the serches were positive.
#71 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:39:49 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
I agree that it makes bad economic sense to destroy such beautiful houses. A lot of money would be lost.

BUT

The issue is not the economy here. The issue is illegality.

The people who bought these properties bought them ILLEGALLY. They are part of the problem.

A country where everyone looks the other way even when they can suspect that something is wrong. After all, they will have "professionals" like ak supporting their ILLEGALITY.

If you buy land in Kenya you should do a thorough search. 90% of Kenyan land buyers depend on people like AK and lawyers to do the right thing. I guess you can now see what the "professionals" think.

When "professionals" go around supporting illegality you wonder if ethics was ever taught in school.

The owners of these illegal properties have a way forward. Sue everyone who's involved. Thats the decent thing to do.

BUT

They won't.

They will ask Sonko to tell parliament to support their ILLEGAL occupation of land.

So NO. I feel nothing for them. They should be demolished. Just as the syokimau ones.

I'm 100% sure that the owners of syokimau land will never buy land based on the approval of architects like a4.

@alma, my issue is only within architectural/planning spheres.For legality issues, am not an expert on this.
Are these lands prime and ready for development?
If they are, government should then lay down the legal process for the lands to move from whichever govt owner to the developers.

Am not an expert in legal issues so i cant comment on the legality of this. My arguments are within architectural/planning issues on whether the lands are being utilised well or not. The kevivapi land is simply not being utilised well if used as agricultural.

The legal process of transfer of lands from Government to the private sector is best understood by a property lawyer, not an architect.

If the transfer was illegal, then so be it. Even if illegal, fact remains that the lands were being utilised badly as agricultural and the developments are better land use.

How can you dictate to someone how he should use his own land? And FYI Kevevapi is tasked with producing vaccines for all the livestock in the country. It's more of a pharmaceutical factory. Of course they need land to develop and test their vaccines and build their laboratories as part of their R&D. Land is also required for future expansion since these institution will still be serving the livestock sector 20, 50, 100, 200, 500yrs etc from now. The value of those vaccines to the national economy and livestock sector is worth more than those 600 houses that have been put there.
Also if the likes of Coopers, Wellcome, ILRI are also producing vaccines within the city in their huge campuses and think it's worthwhile, why not KEVEVAPI?
#72 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:42:11 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@alma, why call innocent people dumb? Thats disrespectful. Since both of us dont understand the legal situation regarding the conveyancing, its pointless to discuss the legality of the sale. Lets keep to the viability of whether kevevapi should continue using the land as agricultural or resell the remaining 70 acres to developers.

Am sure they did carry out searches and since the deal was done by a commissioner of lands, the serches were positive.

Even Jesus said no one is innocent.

They did not do a proper search. Even you have accepted that you would not help them do one. It is their responsibility to ensure that their investments are proper.

That is not my responsibility.

These are just like investors at the NSE. When akina Guru are selling a junk stock here on wazua, do you think they think that you the buyer are innocent or dumb?

Now you want them to continue with their dumbness by telling them to accept and move on. Their property will never be taken and such.

I say, they will be dumb and dumber if they don't become proactive before the bulldozers come on our TV screens.

Then there is dumb, dumber and dumbest. Someone thinking that I as a tax payer should continue paying for an illegal act simply because 16 billion is sitting in lawyers and architects pockets.

Apana....

Kama mwenye shamba amekuja, watu wangolewe. Ili iwe funzo. I thought syokimau and runda had taught kenyans a lesson. Apparently more lessons are required.
#73 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:47:00 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

They did not do a proper search. Even you have accepted that you would not help them do one. It is their responsibility to ensure that their investments are proper.

These are just like investors at the NSE. When akina Guru are selling a junk stock here on wazua, do you think they think that you the buyer are innocent or dumb?

Now you want them to continue with their dumbness by telling them to accept and move on. Their property will never be taken and such.

I say, they will be dumb and dumber if they don't become proactive before the bulldozers come on our TV screens.

Then there is dumb, dumber and dumbest. Someone thinking that I as a tax payer should continue paying for an illegal act simply because 16 billion is sitting in lawyers and architects pockets.

Apana....

Kama mwenye shamba amekuja, watu wangolewe. Ili iwe funzo. I thought syokimau and runda had taught kenyans a lesson. Apparently more lessons are required.

Couldn't agree more.
a4architect.com
#74 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:47:41 PM

@jaggernaut, do you know the meaning of dictate? What i have done above is called a suggestion. Government DICTATES to everyone how they use their land through the physical planners. They dont give you a choice. If you own land in the cbd for example, you cant put up a nice bungalow/maisonette coz you own it. You must develop a commercial highrise property.

Calculate to me the value of the vaccines.How did you conclude that this value is higher than for the real estate development?
At least the value of the development is already given as 16 billion.

Where have i said that kevevapi should stop producing vaccines?Kevevapi can continue to produce vaccines. They own thousands of land around nairobi eg from shade hotel all the way to ngong town.

I now appreciate lawyers and judges whose work is to argue . I dont think i can have the patience to argue all day where the other party cant understand very basic logic.
#75 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:49:30 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

@jus blazin just criticising without facts and being part of a lynch mob supporting demolishing of innocent people's houses to me reeks of jealousy.

The facts are right there. If land has been acquired illegally and the original owner is complaining...
#76 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:51:19 PM

And I still say, your focus on this whole debate is on real estate development, based on your profession.
Jamani
#77 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:53:16 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

I say, they will
be dumb and dumber if they don't become proactive before the bulldozers come on our TV screens.

Apana....

If they only read the Ndungu report all the facts are there....and these achitects, lawyers, surveyors, valuers have the report they have read it but advised thier clients to commit thiers funds to the pyramid scheme.
a4architect.com
#78 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:53:20 PM

@jus blazin, regarding the facts as to the sale of the land, for the umpteenth time, am repeating, none of us here know or have the details. All we can do is speculate.

Lets keep debate on the feasibility of land use as residential compared to land use as agricultural.

If you want to debate about the legality of this, you can start another thread.
#79 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:56:57 PM

It is also appropriate if the heading for this topic was changed.

The value of these houses is not 16 billion.

Value is percieved and is dependant on what you could probably sell at market rates.

Right now, those houses cannot be sold. Who will this dumbiestest investor be who buys those houses now.

Those houses cannot even be sold at cost at this time.

The total value lost is exactly 0ksh.

After all, they did not own any legal title to transfer.

To show you how dumb they were. They bought a house for 10 million. but the total value of their title was 0ksh.

Tafakari hayo.

But I say they can still get their cost of 10 million back if they become proactive.

If they wait for bulldozers their value will be ksh. 0 minus the cost of their TV's, bed's, chairs etc.

I do hope one of them is reading this and doing something about it not saying. Oh we are different.
Jamani
#80 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:59:49 PM

Yesterday Ndungu himself was on k24 on the same issue, he stated his report mentions the said land having been acquired irregulaly. This report was presented before the developer moved to site.