wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

7 Pages«<23456>»
Quailmania
#61 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 2:26:53 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
I think I should get into the business and shock the market by selling the eggs at 10 bob and let the volumes work for me. I will employ queue managers

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
Lakini ungenyamaza!!!
mchambuzi
#62 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 3:38:46 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
I think I should get into the business and shock the market by selling the eggs at 10 bob and let the volumes work for me. I will employ queue managers

Lakini ungenyamaza!!!

Btw, would it still profitable if you sold at 10/15 bob an egg? Saw Nakumatt selling at 720 a tray. I you would make tonnes if you shocked the market by selling at considerably low prices.
On a long enough timeline, the life expectancy of everyone drops to zero.
klan
#63 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 3:52:25 PM

klan wrote:
My family consume not less than ten eggs per day. Klanlets love them raw and guess what? haven't visited hospital in a long time with the usual common colds........( I thank God). Coincidence maybe but can't rule out. I also have have other customers who don't like the Big eggs....

@Klan, How much do you sell each egg??

Fertilized eggs gor for KES 80 a piece, hiyo ingine ukiwachiwa sana ni KES 60.

Quairi...Quairi...Quairi...Quairi...Quairi...

Not talking Not talking Not talking

i didnt deny I sell 2000 eggs daily @ 80 bob....
tassia
#64 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 4:22:03 PM

tassia wrote:
I am farming quails myself and here are facts and my opinion from my experience. I did not start very long ago and even if the prices crashed today, I have nothing to worry about. But I do expect that prices will crash. However, I have noted that there is a lot of hype about how people will make millions including promising people that there is a large market for export in China which is not true because China itself is the largest exporter of Quail products with more than 17,000 tonnes annually . This is mostly coming from those who started early and would want to continue selling to those who are starting now at very high prices. I would advise those who are entering the farming now not to buy chicks or fertilized eggs at the high prices on the market. Negotiate for a fair price or wait for the prices to drop further. If you buy at the very high prices, you may still make profit but it will take long before you recover your investment. If you have an incubator, you are in a better position as you can make good money by selling the chicks even at a lower rate. But here is some important facts.
1.Guys have made crazy money,a few made upwards of Kshs 8 Million per month in the months of December and November. That is like 16 Million
2. Those who were already selling incubators have made a kill by making extra-ordinary profit per incubator sold.
3. From my experience, it cost's just Kshs 1 to feed a mature bird per day, even if an egg was to cost Kshs 5, you will still be doing better than chicken farming
4.If you buy a two week or three week chick, you may not even need to employ anyone to look for them. The biggest challege is in the first 1 week and specifically the first four days.
5.I have noted that there is indeed a market for the eggs locally and the demand for consumption will grow when breeders have had enough stock. Those who are already taking the eggs are actually the ones who are encouraging others to take because they swear that they have experienced significant improvement from when they started taking the eggs. I believe the current prices do not make sense if farmers expect to sell to consumers at those crazy prices. Unfortunately, some farmers are convinced that the prices will not come down. There is now a very high risk that someone will sell you eggs more than 7 days old for incubation and you may suffer loss because it is becoming more tough to sell even the fertilized eggs at those prices.
6. I believe Quail farming is here to stay

tassia wrote:
Gathige wrote:
This thread has been silent. Any new millionaire?

Hahaha.

When people make a million, they do not post it here. They keep to themselves. I like it when this business is criticized, it help to limit the people who are entering the business meaning that the prices will be more stable in the long run.

I have a feeling in the next few years, Quail will be as common as chicken and more homesteads will be keeping quails than chicken.

@tassia,So how much have you made so far

Of course I have not made a million but I have recovered all my investment including a money making incubator and I have 3,300 quail eggs in the incubator and an asset of laying birds. I am also incubating kienyeji chicken and even more important, learned important lessons in the field. Planning to sell chicks at a very affordable price now and if I do not get serious customers, increase my stock and sell volume at Kshs 10.
tassia
#65 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 4:26:13 PM

mchambuzi wrote:
Money Whisperer wrote:

Lakini ungenyamaza!!!

Btw, would it still profitable if you sold at 10/15 bob an egg? Saw Nakumatt selling at 720 a tray. I you would make tonnes if you shocked the market by selling at considerably low prices.

From my experience, the bird consumes Kshs 1 per day. Something encouraging also is that if you give the bird chick mash from day 1 to laying and give it 16 light hours, you should start getting your eggs 5 or 6 weeks after hatching and almost an egg per bird per day. You can multiply your birds so fast with little cost.
#66 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 6:23:35 PM

tassia wrote:
mchambuzi wrote:
Money Whisperer wrote:

Lakini ungenyamaza!!!

From my experience, the bird consumes Kshs 1 per day. Something encouraging also is that if you give the bird chick mash from day 1 to laying and give it 16 light hours, you should start getting your eggs 5 or 6 weeks after hatching and almost an egg per bird per day. You can multiply your birds so fast with little cost.

Do you need a KWS special permit to start rearing the birds since they are classified as wildlife in Kenya??

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#67 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 6:40:12 PM

He who can stare at the crystal ball right shall have a windfall...

The agricultural sector in Kenya has happy to say.. a sustainable fad..
there was the broilers fad of mid 90's wen civil servants got their golden handshakes, then i think Aloe Vera came along, something else in early 2000's (i forget), then came the KPLC posts.. then came goat milk.. Before the current quails, rabbits had been tried.. but it seems the breeders do not understand the power of spreading hope..

Whats next.. i want to be ready...

Focus man, focus. These quaris need food. Rumour mills have it that the next big thing is crickets for healthy eggs. Quails are wild, n they love crickets n other insects. 50cents per cricket means 500k daily if you manage to sell just 1m of those irritating insects per day. . Lakini sijui utabreedia wapi. ...kelele nayo!
tassia
#68 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 7:00:14 PM

tassia wrote:
mchambuzi wrote:
Money Whisperer wrote:

Lakini ungenyamaza!!!

Do you need a KWS special permit to start rearing the birds since they are classified as wildlife in Kenya??

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Yes, you need a license from KWS to start. It will cost you Kshs 1,500 per year and you have to making quarterly returns. With a little space, you can keep many birds. I use the cages (four high. I have seen farmers innovate big time to cut down on start up cost.
#69 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 7:15:34 PM

@kabz, ati crickets?lool! Zinaponya bad luck pia? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#70 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 7:32:04 PM

#71 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 8:45:16 PM

@kabz, ati crickets?lool! Zinaponya bad luck pia? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Zinatibu umaskini, kukopa na kukosa pesa.
#72 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 9:01:49 PM

Focus man, focus. These quaris need food. Rumour mills have it that the next big thing is crickets for healthy eggs. Quails are wild, n they love crickets n other insects. 50cents per cricket means 500k daily if you manage to sell just 1m of those irritating insects per day. . Lakini sijui utabreedia wapi. ...kelele nayo!

Underground.

What's the lifespan of a quail?

Buster
#73 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 10:01:33 PM

On citizen right now.

And that farmer is quoting the Bible just like someone said above. When showed that the bible does not mention eggs he goes on to spin a story. Marketing nayo!
#74 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 10:21:40 PM

Buster wrote:
On citizen right now.

And that farmer is quoting the Bible just like someone said above. When showed that the bible does not mention eggs he goes on to spin a story. Marketing nayo!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I noted that
#75 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 12:34:26 AM

Buster wrote:
On citizen right now.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I noted that

It made me check Exodus 16:12 to confirm that quail thing. He also had a printed schedule on how to take the 240 egg dose to cure illness ...
Baraza
#76 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 5:23:50 AM

#Quails on Twitter...so funny. Eish! Mindo Crass folks though!

Museveni
#77 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 12:26:33 PM

He who can stare at the crystal ball right shall have a windfall...

The agricultural sector in Kenya has happy to say.. a sustainable fad..
there was the broilers fad of mid 90's wen civil servants got their golden handshakes, then i think Aloe Vera came along, something else in early 2000's (i forget), then came the KPLC posts.. then came goat milk.. Before the current quails, rabbits had been tried.. but it seems the breeders do not understand the power of spreading hope..

Whats next.. i want to be ready...

Next NEMA licence...

So much creativity.

NJAAAnuary ?
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
streetwise
#78 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 12:42:18 PM

Who remembers the story of levi during the gold rush..where is the opportunity ( with high margins)..in the supply chain
#79 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 2:19:03 PM

How is Quail prepared for dish?
Is it chinjwad like a hen or its thrown in the fire and rosted alive?
Can it be wet fried?

#80 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 2:27:38 PM

How is Quail prepared for dish?
Is it chinjwad like a hen or its thrown in the fire and rosted alive?
Can it be wet fried?

Unatupa yote kwa moto.You eat everything found in and on the quail.

The few times i have eaten sijawahi tupa kitu.But you need to eat like around 15-20 quails ndio usikie ni kama umekula 1/2kg f chicken