wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

8 Pages«<23456>»
African Proverbs... and their meanings
#61 Posted : Monday, October 21, 2013 11:42:01 PM

Kwa mwaria gukiura kwa mukiri kworire tene. (an outspoken person's home will outlive that of a silent one)
Forester
#62 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 3:35:27 PM

He who goes to sleep with an itching anus wakes up with smelly fingers.
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Pedes
#63 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 3:53:12 PM

A monkey living in a sugarcane plantation oblivious of the sweetness of sugarcane.
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#64 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 3:59:07 PM

Kwa mwaria gukiura kwa mukiri kworire tene. (an outspoken person's home will outlive that of a silent one)

By the way isnt Mukiri a contradictory of his username? He isnt that quite, is he?smile
#65 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 4:24:37 PM

"If a cow runs away it will go to where other cows are" (if you expect any assistance, you should show effort towards it/work for it because when it comes, it goes to the one who has tried to help him/herself)
#66 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 4:26:50 PM

"Do not show a bone to a hyena" (Avoid courting trouble. Once you court trouble you have to face the consequences.)
#67 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 4:33:10 PM

By the way isnt Mukiri a contradictory of his username? He isnt that quite, is he?smile

Laughing out loudly He is.

#68 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 4:34:14 PM

Laughing out loudly He is.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Sawa.
#69 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 6:03:29 PM

@lady admin hii kali Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Money Whisperer
#70 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 6:06:47 PM

before swallowing a mango seed whole measure the diameter of your anus.
maana bayana.... since humans cannot digest mango seeds - one should ensure that there is passage for the same when it comes out whole.

maana ya ndani... people should think things to the end and size up themselves to the task at hand before starting them else they will look like the ICC... swallowing a big case without capacity that will rupture their anus.

same as Usishindane na ndovu kunya, utapasuka msondo
"Money never sleeps"
#71 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 6:39:16 PM

"Do not build a house which is tilted on one side."

Meaning: Do not start a project on the wrong footing and expect to improve on it later because it will fail. You have greater chances of success if you take the trouble to lay a solid foundation then when you lay a mediocre one and hope to be more committed later.
#72 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 6:42:04 PM

"Do not shit in someone's home when you are leaving"

MEaning: Do not abuse hospitality. Avoid getting into bad terms with people because you never know when you may need them again.
Money Whisperer
#73 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 6:44:07 PM

Forester wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
"Money never sleeps"
#74 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 7:24:30 PM

Njika na njika itiri maruru

If you do something unpleasant to someone then they do the same to you, you shouldn't bear a grudge
#75 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 7:26:16 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
Forester wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly application? deal with your problems before you sleep or?
#76 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 8:40:07 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
Forester wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly application? deal with your problems before you sleep or?

#77 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 8:59:35 PM

The mouth that eats seeds is the same that asks later 'what will I plant?'.
sumuni
#78 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 9:22:56 PM

A child can play with its mother's breast but not its father's testicles (Guinea)
It requires a lot of caution to kill the fly that perches on the scrotum (Ghana)
No matter how hot your anger it cannot cook yams (Nigeria)
It is a curious fact that of all the illusions that beset mankind, none is quite as curious as that tendency to suppose that we are mentally and morally superior to those who differ from us in opinion.
nyangao
#79 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 8:28:33 AM

No matter how far you piss, the last drop always falls at your feet
#80 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 8:53:17 AM

Njika na njika itiri maruru

If you do something unpleasant to someone then they do the same to you, you shouldn't bear a grudge

That I certianly like!!!!