8 Pages«<23456>»
The 1982 coup
#61 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 9:58:46 PM

Shak wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
most wazuans are young. Most cant recall when MO1 said clearly there was a "msaliti" who was being groomed by foreign powers to take power. RAO was promptly pardoned to give evidence against the "msaliti"

i'm lost. Njonjo was the msaliti? Why wasn't he detained?

Yes and he was pardoned after being tamed.

That explains his support for OAR in 2007. I guess CN eventually forgave him for giving evidence implicating him
mkonomtupu
#62 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 10:03:07 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
most wazuans are young. Most cant recall when MO1 said clearly there was a "msaliti" who was being groomed by foreign powers to take power. RAO was promptly pardoned to give evidence against the "msaliti"

And some of them are elders while you are a member.Anyway some of them were not yet born and the ones who were alive were too young to analyse the goings on.

i should try come here more often. Actually the coup was known and when MO1 was briefed about it and urged to arrest the plotters he remarked "sasa wanataka kuchukua serikali wapeleke wapi?"

History as always is written by the victors
#63 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 10:05:18 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:

I missed the gist of your thread due to sleep.You are wrong.RAO was released from detention in 1988 after the Miller commission had been disbanded.He was rearrested the same year and released in 1991.He has suffered and for that period NEVER call him a traitor.In fact I respect Muite and him for that while Lee Muthoga is the traitor.
#64 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 10:14:18 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:

I missed the gist of your thread due to sleep.You are wrong.RAO was released from detention in 1988 after the Miller commission had been disbanded.He was rearrested the same year and released in 1991.He has suffered and for that period NEVER call him a traitor.In fact I respect Muite and him for that while Lee Muthoga is the traitor.

Was he arrested for nothing? & @mkonotupu the question that Mo1 asked Mulinge was, "mnataka kuniua na mmepindua serikali?"
#65 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 10:17:41 PM

I have to sleep...too such tonight but guys be informed.....the coup was never what you think......it was never the Odinga' vs MO1's....nope some arrangements went wrong.....meanwhile with the little knowledge you can continue calling for the belated annihilation of the Odinga's.

@Mawinder......my respect for you went up a 100 fold.....you got information.
#66 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 10:41:04 PM

Law 15
Crush your Enemy Totally
All great leaders since
Moses have known that a
feared enemy must be
crushed completely.
(Sometimes they have
learned this the hard way.)
If one ember is left alight,
no matter how dimly it
smolders, a fire will
eventually break out. More
is lost through stopping
halfway than through total
annihilation: The enemy will
recover, and will seek
revenge. Crush him, not
only in body but in spirit.

Moi's blunder.

One guy who probably rues not doing this is Bw. Mbeki down south.
#67 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 10:45:43 PM

I have to sleep...too such tonight but guys be informed.....the coup was never what you think......it was never the Odinga' vs MO1's....nope some arrangements went wrong.....meanwhile with the little knowledge you can continue calling for the belated annihilation of the Odinga's.

@Mawinder......my respect for you went up a 100 fold.....you got information.

Goodnight, sleep tight. Hope kesho you will be less gum with info. Some things are not in books. But thank God things went wrong for the plotters.
#68 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 10:51:36 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:

no wonder you are being respected for bowing to him. He suffered yes but was he innocent? He escaped the hangman to become the king after his dad's death. And he was out in 1990
#69 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 10:57:39 PM

@Lolest......good policing but this calls for more research on your side huh?......the coup has always been used to maintain the status quo...but the facts all the time get missed out.
#70 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 11:04:13 PM

@Lolest......good policing but this calls for more research on your side huh?......the coup has always been used to maintain the status quo...but the facts all the time get missed out.

post a bit vague. Nilidhani ulilala? Nafanya research hapa. But the fellows who pride themselves in having the info would rather hoard it and lord over us 'text book historians'. I wonder who these other hoarding types are classiifed as. Maybe 'village bar historians'
safariant
#71 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 11:04:35 PM

nothing new here, just beating of bony chests
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#72 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 11:08:15 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:

no wonder you are being respected for bowing to him. He suffered yes but was he innocent? He escaped the hangman to become the king after his dad's death. And he was out in 1990

If my memory serves me right he was released June 1989,rearrested in July 1990 with Matiba and Rubia then released in June 1991 before briefly fleeing for his life to Norway but I may be wrong.
#73 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 11:10:03 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:

If my memory serves me right he was released June 1989,rearrested in July 1990 with Matiba and Rubia then released in June 1991 before briefly fleeing for his life to Norway but I may be wrong.
#74 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 11:11:24 PM

u right @ mawinder, he was one of the planners of sabasaba
#75 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 11:19:10 PM

From the little information i've so far gathered, Moi used the coup attempt as an opportunity to bring down Njonjo whom he had been trying to tame. The Odinga's knowing this cut a deal with Moi such that Rao agreed to testify against him in exchange for his freedom.
#76 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 11:36:47 PM

So the researchers had more than enough information about the research? at least now a number of wazuans know it aint as easy as some would like it to be.....Odinga...
#77 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 12:11:06 AM

@Mawinder must be surprised the youth men watu wq nyumba have never been aware of the roles of their forefathers in the coup.
#78 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 1:18:56 AM

Shak wrote:
From the little information i've so far gathered, Moi used the coup attempt as an opportunity to bring down Njonjo whom he had been trying to tame. The Odinga's knowing this cut a deal with Moi such that Rao agreed to testify against him in exchange for his freedom.

Sad So its worse!? A man who'll gladly sell-out others, for his own selfish gains.. especially when the going gets tough. It then comes as no surprise how Baba Gidi has made a mockery of him ever since. True professor that one!

#79 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 2:20:53 AM

Shak wrote:

So they were still treasonous traitors but managed to save their own skin by cutting a deal with the devil!
#80 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 2:32:06 AM

@Mawinder must be surprised the youth men watu wq nyumba have never been aware of the roles of their forefathers in the coup.

Am not coming in @McReggae.'s defence but the absence of rinks!!! In this thread is irritating. His monosyllabic one liners loaded with inuendos are not helping his case. He comes outLiar to make matters worsr most wazuans are not even 8-4-4 proper yaani ile ya M01. -those who did art&crafts , home science, music and agriculture and by extension know zilch about 82 having been born or schooled under ubaks. The lack of online or published literature has not helped matters.

?queshion¿¿ ever wondered¿¿ why Sir Charles came out campaigning out for Rayila¿¿¡¡
Rao served in M01's gava as KANU secretary Gen and Minister?

Now tragedy is what help if any has been extended to the families of kina Ochukas rink, Okumus,Odongo,Opiyo,Obuon,Ogidi,Oteyo... By Former PM and Njonjo?
There are many living ex '82 Airforce service men still alive why are they not setting the record straight?. Where are memoirs by Gen Kibwana and Col. MulingeMola amurehemu na Mambo Mbotela wa VoK. We shall never know what really down that Sunday August 82 the story has been spread around by word of mouth for too long mpaka you dont know which version to believe. At least nation has made know why a certain Hezekiah Oyugi and The Sumbeiywos were powerful during Nyayo era

let me put my spin why did Uhuru invite M01 to Statehouse on the anniversary?