Hard times ahead
#61 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 11:37:51 AM

Ngogoyo wrote:
wairegi wrote:
It very clear that things are going to be hard and really hard.

Please take note;
1. 1.5% on all imports. Calling it railway development levy
2. VAT on essential goods that were zero rated before.
3. Just received a mail from my bank that there is going to be 10% excise duty.
Same
Choices indeed have consequences.

I was just thinking of the hard time ahead. politically.I'm afraid.

...went to Kenya Power today to apply for power ya rural...Was told connection fee is now ksh 70,000 from Ksh 34,000...Meter separation ksh 20,000 from ksh 6,000....Nitangoja ile power itakuja na laptops!!! Meanwhile i will negotiate with a neighbour 'nitupe wire' huko kwake...Absolute nonsense!!!

does this apply to those who had received a quote early this year for Ksh 35,000? Sad

i had received one for the 35 and cant and wont pay 70. ABK. ata better nitumie sitima ya shooLiar

My advice to you guys is to stall on paying the 70k. I'm reliably informed by an insider that the rate might be lowered to even less than the original 35k if some of the things they are working on materialize. It might actually go to 20s. They are in advanced talks with some institutions including World Bank on the issue of subsidies especially concerning rural electrification. Watch this space.

I hope you guys took me seriously and saved you money. 20 days later and the government has come through with a 2.7 Billion subsidy.

Please note this is enough for only 100,000 new connections. After that, back to square one. Apply now!!! The government might not afford to inject any more money - it is broke[ish]. They are hoping another donor ["Development partner"] will come through soon! Chelewa uchekwe!!!

Link
#62 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 11:40:30 AM

Ngogoyo wrote:
wairegi wrote:

Please take note;
Same

...went to Kenya Power today to apply for power ya rural...Was told connection fee is now ksh 70,000 from Ksh 34,000...Meter separation ksh 20,000 from ksh 6,000....Nitangoja ile power itakuja na laptops!!! Meanwhile i will negotiate with a neighbour 'nitupe wire' huko kwake...Absolute nonsense!!!

does this apply to those who had received a quote early this year for Ksh 35,000? Sad

i had received one for the 35 and cant and wont pay 70. ABK. ata better nitumie sitima ya shooLiar

My advice to you guys is to stall on paying the 70k. I'm reliably informed by an insider that the rate might be lowered to even less than the original 35k if some of the things they are working on materialize. It might actually go to 20s. They are in advanced talks with some institutions including World Bank on the issue of subsidies especially concerning rural electrification. Watch this space.

I hope you guys took me seriously and saved you money. 20 days later and the government has come through with a 2.7 Billion subsidy.

Please note this is enough for only 100,000 new connections. After that, back to square one. Apply now!!! The government might not afford to inject any more money - it is broke[ish]. They are hoping another donor ["Development partner"] will come through soon! Chelewa uchekwe!!!

Link

Heeded your advice and held on...Thanks bro...
#63 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 11:46:47 AM

Ngogoyo wrote:
wairegi wrote:

Please take note;
Same

Link

Sasa kimbia ujaze forms mara moja bro. Pesa itaisha hivi karibuni halafu story ianze tena unless another "development partner" commits themselves by November [Or 100,000 lines - whichever comes first]!
#64 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 11:53:00 AM

Ngogoyo wrote:
wairegi wrote:

Please take note;
Same

Link

Sasa kimbia ujaze forms mara moja bro. Pesa itaisha hivi karibuni halafu story ianze tena unless another "development partner" commits themselves by November [Or 100,000 lines - whichever comes first]!

The way it was reported was like the the 35K will be the connection fee in the forseable future!!!
#65 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 12:10:18 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
wairegi wrote:

Please take note;
Same

Link

The way it was reported was like the the 35K will be the connection fee in the forseable future!!!

That is POLITICS my brother! Nobody was ORDERED by anyone. The government is actually PAYING for the difference! 'Their' 2.7 billion runs out, back to the drawing board.
#66 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 12:12:32 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
wairegi wrote:

Please take note;
Same

Link

That is POLITICS my brother! Nobody was ORDERED by anyone. The government is actually PAYING for the difference! 'Their' 2.7 billion runs out, back to the drawing board.
#67 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 2:01:25 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
wairegi wrote:

Please take note;
Same

Link

Then it's a shame coming from a resolution of a cabinet meeting ......a clear garment policy would have been better!!!!!
#68 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 7:28:12 AM

prices for everything have just shot up.unga ,sabuni ,rice hata tissue ya choo.ama ni Mimi pekee nafeel
#69 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 7:45:57 AM

prices for everything have just shot up.unga ,sabuni ,rice hata tissue ya choo.ama ni Mimi pekee nafeel

Let it be until we reach a point we did in 2002. We said enough is enough but some gullible voters took us back to tribal voting politics. Now we are where had reached with Nyay0. Shame.
#70 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 9:34:09 AM

Let it be until we reach a point we did in 2002. We said enough is enough but some gullible voters took us back to tribal voting politics. Now we are where had reached with Nyay0. Shame.

90% of contributors here will vote according to tribe in 2022.
wukan
#71 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 10:38:46 AM

Wewe pambana na hali yako. You were the biggest supporter/beneficiary of the interest rate cap just use the savings on the interest rate to pay.
#72 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 10:49:48 AM

wukan wrote:

Wewe pambana na hali yako. You were the biggest supporter/beneficiary of the interest rate cap just use the savings on the interest rate to pay.

#73 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 10:58:47 AM

wukan wrote:

Most opportunities are discovered in hard times.

tom_boy
#74 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 11:41:50 AM

wukan wrote:

Interest rate cap na cost of goods going up inakujia wapi jameni. Why not the drought, the high cost of fuel, inefficient goverment services, goverment not paying suppliers etc etc. Wacha kutufunga macho. Wacha rate cap iendelee. Those who are credit worthy are having a ball.

If anything, with rate cap, consumers have no money to buy goods thus demand for goods is low thus prices should go down.

Watu wengine.....
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#75 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 11:53:32 AM

Economy is growing at 6.3%, stop whining and enjoy the fruits of a strong powerful economy.
#76 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 2:24:48 PM

Economy is growing at 6.3%, stop whining and enjoy the fruits of a strong powerful economy.

Ever heard of the statistician who drowned in a river because it was said the average depth was 3 feet?

This economic growth is a number that may not mean much to a lot of people.

Safaricom, Betting Firms and Banks lending to GOK. Exclude those 3 from all numbers and I think the economy will be found to be shrinking.
#77 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 2:41:20 PM

wukan wrote:

#78 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 3:51:51 PM

wukan wrote:

actually if there was no interest cap ,it would have been worse.. I still support the cap.cant imagine if I was paying interest at 25%
#79 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 4:07:04 PM

wukan wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause

Lessons will be learnt the hard way, circulation of money grows the economy. My friend was telling me since the animal notes came into circulation - he hasn't held any yet.

#80 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 4:11:14 PM

90% of contributors here will vote according to tribe in 2022.

This sounds exactly like what is happening to us!