wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

5 Pages«<2345>
Otongolo boy at statehouse
Annti_Christy
#61 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 2:12:18 PM

For example, without going into the nitty gritty, if you knew there was say 1m shillings just waiting for you as an adult but contingent upon your achieving some pre-set goals, wont you be just a little more serious with your studies and your preferred career path? Especially if you were still a minor in high school? Just my musings.
Light Bearer
#62 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 2:18:45 PM

Amores wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:
Amores wrote:
@ Tycho,go out of your way one day and do something good ( no matter how small) and you will see the joy and satisfaction.There are Kenyans out there doing good things in our society,me being one of them. I have something to spare,and i am paying college fees for a certain kid,i educated his brother as well. I am not saying this to steal the thunder from the president,just to tell you it is not unheard of- this is high profile because of the office and of course the guys' talent.

And because there are many more families like "Otongolo's",or many street children,or many kids without school fees does not mean all well meaning gestures should stop.

Why do you think tycho is not doing anything good? sustainable trades and crafts are what will uplift individuals not freebies. The existence and implementation of freebies has hardly made a dent to poverty. its time for re-think!

Ok,then maybe the President should have given the kid money to start a business and not paying his school fees and encouraging him to pursue his talent,or what exactly is your point here?

@Amores, the President was not obliged to do anything for our dear artist. And indeed he could as well, do anything he wished.

What we have here, is how we are to live and relate with events and people and nature. Let me hasten to add that we must also remember to consider the effect of media and technology on ethics and morality. For example, in these times, everyone is everywhere doing everything. At least, our consciousness of this has increased.

That is, it is not the President or Jaguar that is being probed, but Myself.

Is pleasure the only criterion for goodness? I doubt it. I suspect all action involves pleasure, apart from whether the action is good or evil.

Good, is that which affirms and sustains the identity and harmony of relations in being. And as such, the only criterion for goodness is love.

Alas! If the action has no love, as I have defined here, then it is 'noise'. Something to be minimized, or eradicated.

In this case, can we say we are expressing love to our artist friend?i Did we love him before he performed? Did we care? Who else is involved? How far up do we want to climb the family tree?

I am ashamed when some exclaim that the boy has no shackles now, and all is well with him. But I can imagine the pressure on the boy. He has to live up to our high expectations. Some even want him to get a PhD. It is as if the boy's existence was a nuisance.

#63 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 2:18:46 PM

Amores wrote:
And now he has Tuskies endorsement for back to school ad, worth million(s) of shillings (I bet)

Tuskeys or Naivas?

Owira unshackled!Applause Applause While others were busy making presentations that tear the country ( read shackles of doom) others were making a date with destiny!

What about his siblings?

Am sure they shall benefit too.

The president promised to get them out of the slum and am sure thst pay bill number we got on NTV must have gathered alot.1000 kenyan sending 1000 bob each is 1M which will definately assist the whole family.

Now that finances are no longer an issue I think good guidance, counsrlling and mentorship will come in handy.
#64 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 2:29:16 PM

Amores wrote:
And now he has Tuskies endorsement for back to school ad, worth million(s) of shillings (I bet)

Tuskeys or Naivas?

Owira unshackled!Applause Applause While others were busy making presentations that tear the country ( read shackles of doom) others were making a date with destiny!

What about his siblings?

Am sure they shall benefit too.

The president promised to get them out of the slum and am sure thst pay bill number we got on NTV must have gathered alot.1000 kenyan sending 1000 bob each is 1M which will definately assist the whole family.

Now that finances are no longer an issue I think good guidance, counsrlling and mentorship will come in handy.

Who will counsel them? Dr. Njenga? Bishop Njue? The President himself? What are they to learn? How not to lose money? How not to lose their souls?

Where will they buy a house? Karen?

What lifestyle should the family adopt?

#65 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 2:47:44 PM

people need to applaud a good thing when they see it. What has happened to Owira is not a bad thing... or is it? Its not sustainable for the president to do this to every poor boy in the country but he has shown that while there is indeed much ground to be covered and hopefully his possible will in the future make other boys and girls in Owira's predicament (obviously talented but poor) have better lives something can be done at a personal level (this is not GOK paying for Owira's success but rather Uhuru in his personal capacity). Kuna ugali ya leo and ugali ya kesho - while ugali ya leo haiwezi tosha kila mtu haimaanishi mtu yeyote asikule!
I personally have tried helping out some relaz and injecting money for capital for their business of choice did not work out a well as we had hoped - I realized that you can pay for fees for persons willing and later they can source their own funds (presumably after working for a while) to start their business of choice... if not they can be employed for the rest of their lives but this will have given them choices.
#66 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 3:10:45 PM

people need to applaud a good thing when they see it. What has happened to Owira is not a bad thing... or is it? Its not sustainable for the president to do this to every poor boy in the country but he has shown that while there is indeed much ground to be covered and hopefully his possible will in the future make other boys and girls in Owira's predicament (obviously talented but poor) have better lives something can be done at a personal level (this is not GOK paying for Owira's success but rather Uhuru in his personal capacity). Kuna ugali ya leo and ugali ya kesho - while ugali ya leo haiwezi tosha kila mtu haimaanishi mtu yeyote asikule!
I personally have tried helping out some relaz and injecting money for capital for their business of choice did not work out a well as we had hoped - I realized that you can pay for fees for persons willing and later they can source their own funds (presumably after working for a while) to start their business of choice... if not they can be employed for the rest of their lives but this will have given them choices.

True. Good things are to be appreciated. And so must evil be shown, so that we can heal.

There's no more 'privacy'. Everything is public. Everyone is GoK. The Government can no longer be taken as a seperate being. Trying to come with such distinctions is to embrace falsehood.

Our ways are decidedly evil, and we need to change.

Annti_Christy
#67 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 3:44:34 PM

you have the experience but you are not using it instead you are relying on presumptions. motivation of the individual is what was missing. had he / she had the motivation to get it right, it would have worked out. and you dont get motivation on the day you start doing your thing. how do you get the motivation, well there are many ways to kill a cat right? including squelching it. how many graduates are jobless because their motivation was to learn and not make a living?
Light Bearer
Liv
#68 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 3:54:58 PM

Annti_Christy wrote:
Amores wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:
Amores wrote:
@ Tycho,go out of your way one day and do something good ( no matter how small) and you will see the joy and satisfaction.There are Kenyans out there doing good things in our society,me being one of them. I have something to spare,and i am paying college fees for a certain kid,i educated his brother as well. I am not saying this to steal the thunder from the president,just to tell you it is not unheard of- this is high profile because of the office and of course the guys' talent.

And because there are many more families like "Otongolo's",or many street children,or many kids without school fees does not mean all well meaning gestures should stop.

Why do you think tycho is not doing anything good? sustainable trades and crafts are what will uplift individuals not freebies. The existence and implementation of freebies has hardly made a dent to poverty. its time for re-think!

Ok,then maybe the President should have given the kid money to start a business and not paying his school fees and encouraging him to pursue his talent,or what exactly is your point here?

Um sayala was here some weeks ago telling us stories of how he paid school fees for his sibling who ended up achieving nothing in school. so school fees is just school fees, nothing much. on the other hand, some things are better than school fees e.g. owning a (profitable) business. i am sure the details of achieving that can be worked out once the capital is assured.

What kind of thinking is this that school fees is less important?

1) The boy said what he needs is school fees....not capital for business. Why do you prescribe for him what he does not need at the moment?

2) In the world over it has been proven that the best investment is Education....in terms of returns on investment, no other option beats education.
Annti_Christy
#69 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 4:05:30 PM

Liv wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:
Amores wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:
Amores wrote:

Um sayala was here some weeks ago telling us stories of how he paid school fees for his sibling who ended up achieving nothing in school. so school fees is just school fees, nothing much. on the other hand, some things are better than school fees e.g. owning a (profitable) business. i am sure the details of achieving that can be worked out once the capital is assured.

1) The boy said what he needs is school fees....not capital for business. Why do you prescribe for him what he does not need at the moment?

2) In the world over it has been proven that the best investment is Education....in terms of returns on investment, no other option beats education.

do not mistake literacy for education. i can be from havard yet still a douché bag. anyway, i thought you can see further than a teenager and project to give along those lines, to put the beacons on the way. is that bad? this is not to say the gesture is bad, but that there was a better way.
Light Bearer
Liv
#70 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 4:29:41 PM

Annti_Christy wrote:
Liv wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:
Amores wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:
Amores wrote:

do not mistake literacy for education. i can be from havard yet still a douché bag. anyway, i thought you can see further than a teenager and project to give along those lines, to put the beacons on the way. is that bad? this is not to say the gesture is bad, but that there was a better way.

I guess you have not understood what the president has done for Owira and his family.

The president cannot act the way NGOs work. They come and conceptualize what the poor communities need and develop projects based on their concepts and understanding. They plan on goals based on their understanding rather than the REAL needs of the communities they want to help.

No wonder we have had so many NGO activities and lots of money spent to alleviate poverty in Africa and but no significant change.
Annti_Christy
#71 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 4:43:45 PM

ok liv. the president has done wonders, he has done an exceedingly good thing for owira and his family. I should be grateful and thankful for his kind gesture that he has bestowed to owira and his family.

am now i hitting the right notes?

Light Bearer
Liv
#72 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 4:57:00 PM

Annti_Christy wrote:

ok liv. the president has done wonders, he has done an exceedingly good thing for owira and his family. I should be grateful and thankful for his kind gesture that he has bestowed to owira and his family.

Hahaha.... You now qualify to get a free solar laptop next year.
Annti_Christy
#73 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 5:06:05 PM

Liv wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:

If i get one, i will definitely give it to you.its only fair that you get two for the premium you attach to education.
Light Bearer
Liv
#74 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 5:13:05 PM

Annti_Christy wrote:
Liv wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:

If i get one, i will definitely give it to you.its only fair that you get two for the premium you attach to education.

You better continue hitting the right notes then Mr Antichrist.
#75 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 5:57:00 PM

wonder what rao would have done
#76 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 6:19:53 PM

Liv wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:
Liv wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:
Amores wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:
Amores wrote:

I guess you have not understood what the president has done for Owira and his family.

The president cannot act the way NGOs work. They come and conceptualize what the poor communities need and develop projects based on their concepts and understanding. They plan on goals based on their understanding rather than the REAL needs of the communities they want to help.

No wonder we have had so many NGO activities and lots of money spent to alleviate poverty in Africa and but no significant change.

smile @ liv ,there are people who want to argue for the sake of it.And that point you have sad about NGOs is so true. How someone thinks that giving giving a form 2 kid a chance to eduction is not a good idea,but rather a business is,beats me! The kid i am paying for school fees told me he wants to go college,i have never heard him telling me that he wants to start a business. I know many others who are doing the same,like @ Masukuma says,you cannot say we all should not eat because others are not eating!

I have also helped someone to start a business,and it failed miserably.Life is dynamic people !

#77 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 7:56:32 AM

Amores wrote:

Tuskeys or Naivas?

What about his siblings?

What about them ?

Was going to ask the same.
#78 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 8:15:26 AM

Business is not for everyone.

The young man needs an education and mentorship. What the president has provided.

The path of business he is taking, going to commercials, etc is what is wrong with society right now anyway.

When you think about it, the President would have had the boy in a brookside commercial if he really didn't care.

Let's be serious for a moment. The young man is extremely talented. Hooking up with a Madowo right now will confuse the young man. What he needs is an education and a mentor. Who can be a better mentor the President of the Republic? Madowo, Mawinder, Tycho?

Get over it. I wish someone had given me a scholarship all through college. Those that do too say Aye!
#79 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 8:36:00 AM

I have come to realize that most of what people call education is really miseducation. And one doesn't need a scholarship to be educated. Or even school fees.

This Owira story reminds me of 'the pearl' by Steinbeck. A fisherman chanced on a Pearl and thought his troubles were over, Kumbe they were just beginning!

#80 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 8:49:40 AM

Amores wrote:

Tuskeys or Naivas?

What about his siblings?

What about them ?

Was going to ask the same.

I read he only has one elder sister. The sister is competing with the Madowo guy to be his 'manager'.