Culture
Old Nairobi
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
pops wrote:lets give credit where its due. the wazungu's were damn good at managing and building things. for god's sake we are still using the same railway built over 100 years ago! i'd like to see the Thika super highway lasting that long. look at the old buildings and desginated gardens created in cbd such as barclays building on moi avenue, uhuru park. if left to africans and wahindis that would a be a concrete jungle with cheap constructed offices and apartments. if we were still under colonialism i bet nairobi would be a much better cleaner city. i would not mind a bit of discrimination if i had proper roads, street lights, hospitals, schools and a functional system of life. despite their problems, harare in zimbabawe is still a better city than nairobi as wazungus had a chance to develop it till the problems 12 years ago. kidero should be sent to europe/ america for training. you have no idea.... don't wish for it! you would not be allowed anywhere near Nairobi without a Kipande on your neck like a dog.... Afadhali Nairobi saa hii. We are working on it this is thika! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
pops wrote:lets give credit where its due. the wazungu's were damn good at managing and building things. for god's sake we are still using the same railway built over 100 years ago! i'd like to see the Thika super highway lasting that long. look at the old buildings and desginated gardens created in cbd such as barclays building on moi avenue, uhuru park. if left to africans and wahindis that would a be a concrete jungle with cheap constructed offices and apartments. if we were still under colonialism i bet nairobi would be a much better cleaner city. i would not mind a bit of discrimination if i had proper roads, street lights, hospitals, schools and a functional system of life. despite their problems, harare in zimbabawe is still a better city than nairobi as wazungus had a chance to develop it till the problems 12 years ago. kidero should be sent to europe/ america for training. this would have been you! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
jaggernaut wrote:With the once prestigious Lavington, kilimani, kileleshwa etc being taken over by flats (hope Muthaiga and Runda arent next) courtesy of greedy developers, I can imagine how it will be 20yrs from now. We will be posting nolstagic photos of the once exclusive and leafy lavington, where beautiful mansions used to stand on half acre plots. What's so difficult with getting 3000 acres on Mombasa, Kiambu or Thika rd and creating a well planned new 'lavington' there instead of the present degradation? FYI Nairobi was a swamp/forest before those prestigious estates were put up. If they could do it over 50yrs ago we can do it in 2013. these photos should be inspirational! when you see thika as it was and as it is now you should be inspired to move to a far flung area (cheap) and purchase large tracts of land and develop pole pole - your grandkids will be eternally grateful for that coz "uliona mbali". Forget paying for 0.125 acres in the city for the rest of your life only for Nairobi CBD to become like Joberg CBD where no one wants to go and only the poor can afford houses there. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
xyzee wrote:oltome wrote:compare and contrast with the current situation, something must be eternally wrong with we africans or as they say...whoever bewitched us must have died! Blame it on the leadership after independence, they were more interested in filling up their 'stomachs' than anything else. Actually I beg to differ..things from what I was told went completely out of whack during the nyayo error..I understand people even chose to work for gava rather than join the private sector..pay and benefits were excellent and guys could afford a showroom vehicle with their civil service salaries..most also bought homes then. Buses were efficient and operated on time just like developed countries..the police were professional and had enough resources..vehicles..etc People just won't acknowledge that nyayo malizad this country..all that guys remember is maziwa ya nyayo..bure kabisa.. It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
story teller wrote:xyzee wrote:oltome wrote:compare and contrast with the current situation, something must be eternally wrong with we africans or as they say...whoever bewitched us must have died! Blame it on the leadership after independence, they were more interested in filling up their 'stomachs' than anything else. Actually I beg to differ..things from what I was told went completely out of whack during the nyayo error..I understand people even chose to work for gava rather than join the private sector..pay and benefits were excellent and guys could afford a showroom vehicle with their civil service salaries..most also bought homes then. Buses were efficient and operated on time just like developed countries..the police were professional and had enough resources..vehicles..etc People just won't acknowledge that nyayo malizad this country..all that guys remember is maziwa ya nyayo..bure kabisa.. Kenya was doing well until east Germany and USSR collapsed (ceased being). the cold war was over and we did not get as much foreign exchange as we needed - in short we were living a lie prior to the end of the cold war. People need to know that living under the mzungu was not good - native africans were poor and were systematically made poor! they came to our continent and introduced an economic system that 'forced' our people to embrace their system (kinda like Obelix and co.). Anyway going back and complaining 'oh so and so made us poor' is an utterly useless sentiment. As I said - we now have lots of information, use it. Nairobi will change - Lavington will go (nothing is permanent), Kenya will change - accept it and move into the future. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
New York City was worse 100 yrs ago. So there's hope for Nairobi.
chiaroscuro wrote:jaggernaut wrote:xyzee wrote:oltome wrote:compare and contrast with the current situation, something must be eternally wrong with we africans or as they say...whoever bewitched us must have died! Blame it on the leadership after independence, they were more interested in filling up their 'stomachs' than anything else. Nairobi was actually very neat upto the early 1980s. Then everything went haywire. Actually, it was Moi who messed everything up. "Moism" is to blame for all the mess we find ourselves in today. 24 years of zero maintenance, zero development, infinite stealing. The great economic puzzle is how we survived Moism. Thanks @juggernaut. GREEN CITY IN THE SUN! Harare in Zim was also as clean when I first visited but now....
jaggernaut wrote:New York City was worse 100 yrs ago. So there's hope for Nairobi. what kind of area was this? was this a 'slum area'? If it is it is light years ahead of present day equivalent 'slum areas' in nairobi. Light Bearer
Annti_Christy wrote:jaggernaut wrote:New York City was worse 100 yrs ago. So there's hope for Nairobi.
what kind of area was this? was this a 'slum area'? If it is it is light years ahead of present day equivalent 'slum areas' in nairobi. No, that wasn't a slum but a 'good' area. But the photo below shows a real NY slum them days.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
jaggernaut wrote:Annti_Christy wrote:jaggernaut wrote:New York City was worse 100 yrs ago. So there's hope for Nairobi.
what kind of area was this? was this a 'slum area'? If it is it is light years ahead of present day equivalent 'slum areas' in nairobi. No, that wasn't a slum but a 'good' area. But the photo below shows a real NY slum them days. the slums back then had lots of space
nakujua wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Annti_Christy wrote:jaggernaut wrote:New York City was worse 100 yrs ago. So there's hope for Nairobi.
what kind of area was this? was this a 'slum area'? If it is it is light years ahead of present day equivalent 'slum areas' in nairobi. No, that wasn't a slum but a 'good' area. But the photo below shows a real NY slum them days. the slums back then had lots of space I noticed too. the children maybe explored nature in the vegetation in the background while mom worried. Light Bearer
masukuma wrote:story teller wrote:xyzee wrote:oltome wrote:compare and contrast with the current situation, something must be eternally wrong with we africans or as they say...whoever bewitched us must have died! Blame it on the leadership after independence, they were more interested in filling up their 'stomachs' than anything else. Actually I beg to differ..things from what I was told went completely out of whack during the nyayo error..I understand people even chose to work for gava rather than join the private sector..pay and benefits were excellent and guys could afford a showroom vehicle with their civil service salaries..most also bought homes then. Buses were efficient and operated on time just like developed countries..the police were professional and had enough resources..vehicles..etc People just won't acknowledge that nyayo malizad this country..all that guys remember is maziwa ya nyayo..bure kabisa.. Kenya was doing well until east Germany and USSR collapsed (ceased being). the cold war was over and we did not get as much foreign exchange as we needed - in short we were living a lie prior to the end of the cold war. People need to know that living under the mzungu was not good - native africans were poor and were systematically made poor! they came to our continent and introduced an economic system that 'forced' our people to embrace their system (kinda like Obelix and co.). Anyway going back and complaining 'oh so and so made us poor' is an utterly useless sentiment. As I said - we now have lots of information, use it. Nairobi will change - Lavington will go (nothing is permanent) Kenya will change - accept it and move into the future. Are you serious? Back in the day, even umoja estate was picturerisque..tree lined, neat rows of bungalows, wide paved roads..go there today..you wont even know where to start!.town planning thrown out the window and what do we have now..concrete jungle everywhere..so much for the great city in the sun.. It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
story teller wrote:masukuma wrote:story teller wrote:xyzee wrote:oltome wrote:compare and contrast with the current situation, something must be eternally wrong with we africans or as they say...whoever bewitched us must have died! Blame it on the leadership after independence, they were more interested in filling up their 'stomachs' than anything else. Actually I beg to differ..things from what I was told went completely out of whack during the nyayo error..I understand people even chose to work for gava rather than join the private sector..pay and benefits were excellent and guys could afford a showroom vehicle with their civil service salaries..most also bought homes then. Buses were efficient and operated on time just like developed countries..the police were professional and had enough resources..vehicles..etc People just won't acknowledge that nyayo malizad this country..all that guys remember is maziwa ya nyayo..bure kabisa.. Kenya was doing well until east Germany and USSR collapsed (ceased being). the cold war was over and we did not get as much foreign exchange as we needed - in short we were living a lie prior to the end of the cold war. People need to know that living under the mzungu was not good - native africans were poor and were systematically made poor! they came to our continent and introduced an economic system that 'forced' our people to embrace their system (kinda like Obelix and co.). Anyway going back and complaining 'oh so and so made us poor' is an utterly useless sentiment. As I said - we now have lots of information, use it. Nairobi will change - Lavington will go (nothing is permanent) Kenya will change - accept it and move into the future. Are you serious? Back in the day, even umoja estate was picturerisque..tree lined, neat rows of bungalows, wide paved roads..go there today..you wont even know where to start!.town planning thrown out the window and what do we have now..concrete jungle everywhere..so much for the great city in the sun.. boss, there is nothing permenent not even those buildings - ask those fellows of Nakumatt Ruaraka! Nairobi should be built for Nairobians and then Kenyans . titles like "city in the sun" are useless. People forget that there is such a thing as 'condemning buildings' - not for beauty rather than practicality. In the scheme of things Nairobi and Kenya are very young. Museum hill Bridge 1900, Galileos Casino would end up on left hand side and Museum on top of hill < right hand side All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Annti_Christy wrote:nakujua wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Annti_Christy wrote:jaggernaut wrote:New York City was worse 100 yrs ago. So there's hope for Nairobi.
what kind of area was this? was this a 'slum area'? If it is it is light years ahead of present day equivalent 'slum areas' in nairobi. No, that wasn't a slum but a 'good' area. But the photo below shows a real NY slum them days. the slums back then had lots of space I noticed too. the children maybe explored nature in the vegetation in the background while mom worried. of course people were fewer. Winters must have been bitter for these guys... the US has done quite a bit eradicating poverty for a population of over 300 million people - they have exploited their resources well over the last 100 years. however there are still some poor regions like the Appalachian regions All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Interesting old Nrb. In taking the country forward, all plans should have population growth in perspective. Now it takes folk 2hrs to get to the other side of the city, when it could take 15 min (if all was planned well). A lot can be accomplished in 2 hrs, such as learning a new skill e.g. art, music or some course in distance learning, family time, cleaning, practice with the band, cooking etc... So much time is being wasted in jams, very unproductive for the nation. The very ones in jams are the ones who drive the economy, their worth contributes to most of the taxes. It would therefore be wise to facilitate their needs, help them be more productive individuals. Also, cross country travel infrastructure needs to be efficient. How things be in the future if nothing gets done? Considering how bad it already is? They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
masukuma wrote:Museum hill Bridge 1900, Galileos Casino would end up on left hand side and Museum on top of hill < right hand side At least there's no crazy traffic! Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
pops wrote:lets give credit where its due. the wazungu's were damn good at managing and building things. for god's sake we are still using the same railway built over 100 years ago! i'd like to see the Thika super highway lasting that long. look at the old buildings and desginated gardens created in cbd such as barclays building on moi avenue, uhuru park. if left to africans and wahindis that would a be a concrete jungle with cheap constructed offices and apartments. if we were still under colonialism i bet nairobi would be a much better cleaner city. i would not mind a bit of discrimination if i had proper roads, street lights, hospitals, schools and a functional system of life. despite their problems, harare in zimbabawe is still a better city than nairobi as wazungus had a chance to develop it till the problems 12 years ago. kidero should be sent to europe/ america for training. You have no idea what you are talking about....... absolutely no idea.
Wendz wrote:pops wrote:lets give credit where its due. the wazungu's were damn good at managing and building things. for god's sake we are still using the same railway built over 100 years ago! i'd like to see the Thika super highway lasting that long. look at the old buildings and desginated gardens created in cbd such as barclays building on moi avenue, uhuru park. if left to africans and wahindis that would a be a concrete jungle with cheap constructed offices and apartments. if we were still under colonialism i bet nairobi would be a much better cleaner city. i would not mind a bit of discrimination if i had proper roads, street lights, hospitals, schools and a functional system of life. despite their problems, harare in zimbabawe is still a better city than nairobi as wazungus had a chance to develop it till the problems 12 years ago. kidero should be sent to europe/ america for training. You have no idea what you are talking about....... absolutely no idea. There are stories given about such people. one of them was a slave called spop, he had been enslaved in the American south. spop had a huge wound on his leg and since he could not do farm work he was made a house slave whose sole reason of existence was to provide comical relief to the children of his master. During meals , the children of his master would thrust a knitting needle into spop's wound and he would scream in pain to which the children would respond in loud laughter - amused. For all his trouble spop would be fed and clothed until when he was needed next. When the emancipation proclamation was made and the constitution changed to free all slaves in the US. spop refused to be a 'freeman' and chose to remain with this family. He wondered what was out there for him. At least he was fed and clothed in his master's house - why should he go out into the world where his survival was guaranteed. why should he fend for something given to him for free? spop did not mind the slavery.... as long as he was fed and clothed. needless to say... spop stayed his wound became septic and HE DIED A SLAVE. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Culture
Old Nairobi