wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

11 Pages«<23456>»
Syokimau Railway Line
#61 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 10:22:44 AM

Murchr,I think if we are to share cars with our neighbours it would be cheaper coz there is no point of 5 cars going to town when you could use 1 car.you just need to work on the modalities.i suspect my asian neighbours have that arrangement.

For the Kenyan middo crass, the car is a status symbol. They would rather spend hours on the traffic jam using 1k fuel than use public transport or 25min on the train. I know some who spend more on car maintenance than rent.
#62 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 10:45:01 AM

jaggarnaut,you are right.No wonder I see a lot of big 4wds in Nairobi which are used primarily to take the owners to work and collect kids from school.Try using forest road at 4 p.m and see the jam at primia academy as kids are picked up from school.
Money Whisperer
#63 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 12:22:03 PM

1. I'd rather stand in a train for 15 minutes than
sit in a mathree for 2 hours.

2. We can't just build roads and neglect mass
transport because good roads are also an
incentive for people to buy cars leading to the
same problem of jams. Make mass transport a
lifestyle choice and you reduce cars on the
road. Once the train increases the riders then
expect private parkings to mushroom near the
stations so it will easier to drive to
Syokimau take the train to town, work all day
the take the train back and get into you car
and have enough time to meet friends, attend
wedding and funeral committee meetings or be
with family jioni.
"Money never sleeps"
benjackie
#64 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 12:56:23 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:
eboomerang wrote:
What is the cost of using a mat since the expected train ride prices are unrealistic, or who are expected to use these trains at that price?

@eboomerang the trains are meant for motorists.. The prices are cheaper than fuel + parking fees in town combined!

Have you factored in the cost from Nairobi Railway station to my office(Westlands)Sad

So you want the railway extended to your office?

ouch
Money Whisperer
#65 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 1:10:32 PM

Guys, it's not an either or choice that you have to make between driving and the train. When you know you will spend the whole day in the office then use the train but if your schedule on a particular day will involve going to meet clients and other rounds then drive to work. I don't see why I should drive to town spend 2 hours in traffic then park on a kanjo spot and have my side mirror yanked out or when Gor loses then my car is at the mercy of kogalo stones.
"Money never sleeps"
#66 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 3:56:54 PM

Murchr,I think if we are to share cars with our neighbours it would be cheaper coz there is no point of 5 cars going to town when you could use 1 car.you just need to work on the modalities.i suspect my asian neighbours have that arrangement.

That has never happened and it will not start today ati because there is a train. I watched citizen a guy saying that he spends close to 700 on fuel and parking, a train makes perfect sense to him.

A quick one, if u plant to chauffeur ur neighbors to their work places, how much will u be charging them for fuel and maintenance?

#67 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2012 4:09:38 PM

Murchr,no need to charge them.you make weekly or monthly rosteqs.the savings would be enormous.
mkeiyd
#68 Posted : Saturday, November 17, 2012 8:14:26 AM

mukiha wrote:

That's quite some generalisation! Who the "we" in that statement? It can't be all wazuans because I don't agree that story about roundabouts being the problem.

If you remove them, what will you put in their place?

Roundabouts are a very effective traffic control system if and only if motorists obey the rules of entry and exit. So the problem really is our idiot drivers who never obey traffic rules...

...and police officers who have no clue about traffic dynamics controlling the flow at roundabouts that have traffic lights!

So they allow vehicles from one side to flow for five minutes... by the time they complete a full cycle, some fellows have been waiting for 20 minutes...and the queue behind them is 5km long...blocking the the three other junctions behind ... and the whole city goes into grid-lock!

We should just remove the police and leave the roundabouts in place!

Perhaps we can leave only two cops to arrest the idiots who ignore the lights (and those who stop 3m past the lamp post then never realise when they lights go green)

@mukiha, I think you are wrong to a great extend.

One,the police do a good job,they open the road with more traffic and clear exit for longer than the road with less traffic or a jammed exit. In the developed world,cops regulate the timings of traffic lights during peak hours from a switch board. You simply can't program that on the busiest of roads.

Two, the roundabouts creates unnecessary delays negotiating. They should be replaced with cross junctions,especially the ones on uhuru highway. Take the Kenyatta avenue/uhuru highway roundabout.
If you open uhuru highway both ways,from university way and from haile selasie,stopping the inner most lane [for turning right] hence releasing the ones proceeding straight and those turning left,with the roundabout,you have to negotiate that semi circle before proceeding. Now compare that with cross junction. On the latter, you would just drive straight saving the time you would have lost negotiating the roundabout curve and achieving higher speeds.. Now picture when releasing all cars turning right,you have to negotiate three quarters of the damn roundabout, how much time is lost? Compare that to just turning right.

Roundabouts should go, there is a reason why you don't see them in most of the developed world.
#69 Posted : Saturday, November 17, 2012 9:11:42 AM

mukiha wrote:
Roundabouts are a very effective traffic control system..

Shame on youThe biggest lie of 2012! Liar

Roundabouts cause huge delays and are simply not used in any of the major cities in the world!

How can they be effective in traffic control if they are hated in all developed economies worldwide??
#70 Posted : Saturday, November 17, 2012 9:26:35 AM

guru267 wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Roundabouts cause huge delays and are simply not used in any of the major cities in the world!

How can they be effective in traffic control if they are hated in all developed economies worldwide??

Because those cities have a funtional traffic system. Take a ride to pangani police roundabout and report to us the chaos you shall be treated to at the juja rd-ring road crossroads. Utter disorder. a policeman must be present at all times except late at night.
#71 Posted : Saturday, November 17, 2012 10:27:39 PM

guru267 wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Visit London and count them. It's a major city in a developed economy, isn't it?
#72 Posted : Saturday, November 17, 2012 10:36:18 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
mukiha wrote:

That's quite some generalisation! Who the "we" in that statement? It can't be all wazuans because I don't agree that story about roundabouts being the problem.

If you remove them, what will you put in their place?

Roundabouts are a very effective traffic control system if and only if motorists obey the rules of entry and exit. So the problem really is our idiot drivers who never obey traffic rules...

...and police officers who have no clue about traffic dynamics controlling the flow at roundabouts that have traffic lights!

So they allow vehicles from one side to flow for five minutes... by the time they complete a full cycle, some fellows have been waiting for 20 minutes...and the queue behind them is 5km long...blocking the the three other junctions behind ... and the whole city goes into grid-lock!

We should just remove the police and leave the roundabouts in place!

Perhaps we can leave only two cops to arrest the idiots who ignore the lights (and those who stop 3m past the lamp post then never realise when they lights go green)

@mukiha, I think you are wrong to a great extend.

One,the police do a good job,they open the road with more traffic and clear exit for longer than the road with less traffic or a jammed exit. In the developed world,cops regulate the timings of traffic lights during peak hours from a switch board. You simply can't program that on the busiest of roads.

Two, the roundabouts creates unnecessary delays negotiating. They should be replaced with cross junctions,especially the ones on uhuru highway. Take the Kenyatta avenue/uhuru highway roundabout.
If you open uhuru highway both ways,from university way and from haile selasie,stopping the inner most lane [for turning right] hence releasing the ones proceeding straight and those turning left,with the roundabout,you have to negotiate that semi circle before proceeding. Now compare that with cross junction. On the latter, you would just drive straight saving the time you would have lost negotiating the roundabout curve and achieving higher speeds.. Now picture when releasing all cars turning right,you have to negotiate three quarters of the damn roundabout, how much time is lost? Compare that to just turning right.

Roundabouts should go, there is a reason why you don't see them in most of the developed world.

Before proposing the removal of the Uhuru/Kenyatta roundabout {NB: for those who don't know what a pun is, that was a nice example!} please walk 50m east to the Kenyatta/Koinange cross junction and observe the chaos!

And here is a bit of history: in the early 1980s, the Car&General junction was a cross with traffic lights....chaos every day and we had much much fewer cars. The a bright traffic engineer at city hall converted it into a roundabout and removed the lights...problem solved...to this day, i might add!
#73 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 7:22:35 AM

Is the train electric?
#74 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 8:14:20 AM

Is the train electric?

Yes, its Diesel-electric.

#75 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 8:55:32 AM

Impunity,the train is electric and was supplied by general electric.
sitaki.kujulikana
#76 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 10:00:19 AM

yes, it draws its electricity from the diesel engine
#77 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 11:17:05 AM

I think this thing is beyond reach for wananchi wa kawaida.I wish these people learnt from the pricing strategy of safaricom where bamba 10 and 20 are the leading revenue drivers.what will they gain from running empty trips
? is that sustainable?
#78 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 1:27:15 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

yes, it draws its electricity from the diesel engine

@sitaki, not everyone here is an engineer or has the basics of physics; they rely entirely on what Lilian-Blonde-Muli reports as gospel facts!

Mwambie the train he is seeing on the tracks is actually a moving giant electric generator.Most people dont know this fact including one makerege na phombe zake.

#79 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 1:51:24 PM

Impunity,ditto especially makerege.
hindi ni riu
#80 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 5:44:54 PM

Waa...middo klass si iko na chida! People wd rather drive to work and after work go to the treadmill and pay inflated gym cost than just walk when they can! SMH. Walking is healthy...take the train and save money, walk and save (on hospital bills becoz you have a mountain for a tummy)...take the train and save time....and in the long run...less cars to the CBD means less traffic snarlups, which might translate to less fair for guys using the matatus and less time taken in the jams in the instances you decide to drive to work.

“Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.