7 Pages«<23456>»
28 cops killed in samburu...
#61 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 11:43:41 AM

eboomerang wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
Maka, wipe them out? Seriously? It might mean wiping out entire communities! Things are not as straightforward as they seem

Shame on you A good no. of them already in the forces, try that and mix in some oil and you have a good recipe for civil war

There is probably something more than meets the eye in this issue: the precision, speed, tact, and effectiveness does not seem like the typical cattle rusting battle.

@Maka Shame on you Shame on you

Imagine trying to stop a hungry baby from touching that food, and even beating the baby Pray

Gova needs to provide alternative economic activity to these rustling communities. They need water, pasture etc Drill bore holes for them, one or more for each clan....
Then slowly eradicate illegal arms.

Otherwise, how would you tell people to stop doing what they deem their source of livelihood?

And stop sending kurutus to critical missions. Remember Tana river incidents?

And how come these guys are paid so little? What is twenty something d'oh!
#62 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 11:54:46 AM

Bodies arriving at Wilson airport now.
sitaki.kujulikana
#63 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 11:59:27 AM

I read in yesterday's Nation that there was a snipper who was picking them from as far as 2KM away! Aren't those military skills? Snipper weapon that can hit from that range is not the normal sniper gun but a heavy weapon which is a huge investment.

hitting a single target from a distance of 2km is very very hard especially at night, if those bandit have such guns then the police would be no match and its the military that should be dealing with them.

but I doubt if there is any non military kenyan who can hit a target 2km away, even if they somehow got access to the weapons and technology.
sitaki.kujulikana
#64 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 12:05:16 PM

eboomerang wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
Maka, wipe them out? Seriously? It might mean wiping out entire communities! Things are not as straightforward as they seem

Shame on you A good no. of them already in the forces, try that and mix in some oil and you have a good recipe for civil war

There is probably something more than meets the eye in this issue: the precision, speed, tact, and effectiveness does not seem like the typical cattle rusting battle.

I think as the police spokesman said, it was a very bad tactical decision from the mission commanding officer, the police were holed up in a very dangerous position and the bandits out smarted them on that one - and the results are very saddening to many families.
#65 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 12:39:52 PM

That, our fellow wazuan is a stone cold killer. In a previous post he said he'd kill one who touched a loved one. Either that or he's one to throw about heavy words, casually!d'oh!

But to some extent I agree. A statement needs to be made. This country might fall into anarchy if cops can be killed like that and no strong statement made. More so near an election.

...Remember this cops have families and dependants,the problem is that if nothing is done will hear the same story next year to them its nothing big somebody comes and kills your folks infront of you and he doesnt give a damn...serious disarmament should be done,its a shame that the police have no helicopter that can do an air air attack zao tu ni za cargo and ferrying passengers...hii mchezo ya kuongea na local leaders wont work there is someone there like me who is ready for revenge when things cool down a bit...hata Mexico with its drug wars I havent heard of 42 cops dead in one day,not civilians,policemen,uniformed fellows with guns ...surely...when civilians have some of this guns things are bad I tell you...http://www.binscorner.com/pages/t/top-10-sniper-rifles.html
QD
#66 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 12:44:30 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
eboomerang wrote:
digitek1 wrote:

I think as the police spokesman said, it was a very bad tactical decision from the mission commanding officer, the police were holed up in a very dangerous position and the bandits out smarted them on that one - and the results are very saddening to many families.

En the spokesman still wants to be the inspector general????He only spoke coz he needs the job else typical could have reacted as Iteere did on location telling the captain to close the door than face the media and answer their queries.

Please for crying out loud He just told us who was responsible for the mass deaths en that guy is still in office while in some countries people resign for extramarital affairs.

This does not seem to be news in government quarters coz it involves the Turkanas en nobody cares to issue a statement on their position.
Only that they should realize the whole country is moaning for the policemen where not only Turkanas but a representation of the Kenyan community.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
#67 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 12:50:13 PM

That, our fellow wazuan is a stone cold killer. In a previous post he said he'd kill one who touched a loved one. Either that or he's one to throw about heavy words, casually!d'oh!

But to some extent I agree. A statement needs to be made. This country might fall into anarchy if cops can be killed like that and no strong statement made. More so near an election.

...Remember this cops have families and dependants,the problem is that if nothing is done will hear the same story next year to them its nothing big somebody comes and kills your folks infront of you and he doesnt give a damn...serious disarmament should be done,its a shame that the police have no helicopter that can do an air air attack zao tu ni za cargo and ferrying passengers...hii mchezo ya kuongea na local leaders wont work there is someone there like me who is ready for revenge when things cool down a bit...hata Mexico with its drug wars I havent heard of 42 cops dead in one day,not civilians,policemen,uniformed fellows with guns ...surely...when civilians have some of this guns things are bad I tell you...www.binscorner.com/pages/t/top-10-sniper-rifles.html

all this talk has reminded me there is a new splinter cell I have to get
jamplu
#68 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 12:55:48 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
I read in yesterday's Nation that there was a snipper who was picking them from as far as 2KM away! Aren't those military skills? Snipper weapon that can hit from that range is not the normal sniper gun but a heavy weapon which is a huge investment.

hitting a single target from a distance of 2km is very very hard especially at night, if those bandit have such guns then the police would be no match and its the military that should be dealing with them.

but I doubt if there is any non military kenyan who can hit a target 2km away, even if they somehow got access to the weapons and technology.

An effective kill shot at 2Km's that's only possible if the guys are highly trained and have really modified their rifles or they have shopped for some of the top of the range rifles anyway our reporters are pathetic in research.
#69 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 1:02:15 PM

Are the police still talking? Have they arrested anyone?
They must know that this has dented their image so badly,proved them to be naive in dealing with rustlers.
The sooner they bring them to book the better for their image.
As at present they had better stop chewing cud and get down that valley of death.
Throw bombs and blow the caves where they are hiding.
I got a feeling those were juniour fresh officers from kiganjo taken to the slaughter house.
Jeez!! these guys are animals
sitaki.kujulikana
#70 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 1:20:30 PM

Are the police still talking? Have they arrested anyone?
They must know that this has dented their image so badly,proved them to be naive in dealing with rustlers.
The sooner they bring them to book the better for their image.
As at present they had better stop chewing cud and get down that valley of death.
Throw bombs and blow the caves where they are hiding.
I got a feeling those were juniour fresh officers from kiganjo taken to the slaughter house.
Jeez!! these guys are animals

agree, I am sure they have good reason as to the reaction so far, but I think an immediate swift reaction should have been better, both image and morale wise.
I am sure with the military offering them aerial support with those shiny hi-tech choppers they were using in somalia all, those bandits would be no more by now
#71 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 2:11:38 PM

What the heck:
"Police sources said those deployed to carry out the operation were mostly fresh officers who had served in the force for less than two years.

Multiple sources at the Rift Valley Provincial Headquarters told The Standard a majority of the officers killed were barely two years in the force, making them vulnerable to attacks as they lacked ‘war tactics’."

NKT1!!
#72 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 2:15:01 PM

What the heck:
"Police sources said those deployed to carry out the operation were mostly fresh officers who had served in the force for less than two years.

Multiple sources at the Rift Valley Provincial Headquarters told The Standard a majority of the officers killed were barely two years in the force, making them vulnerable to attacks as they lacked ‘war tactics’."

NKT1!!

My guess was right.They look so young.20 yr olds.
Anybody taking responsibility? or was it a drilling exercise?
Even a cheetah/lion trains it's young ones with baby gazelles first.
They don't send them to herd of buffaloes for their first hunt.
#73 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 2:23:36 PM

What the heck:

NKT1!!

My guess was right.They look so young.20 yr olds.

Anybody taking responsibility? or was it a drilling exercise?
Even a cheetah/lion trains it's young ones with baby gazelles first.
They don't send them to herd of buffaloes in their first hunt.

...those who are 5 or 10 years old in the force arent any better and am sure they was someone in command who has been in the force for a while hawakujipeleka huko,he or she is the one at fault...
#74 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 2:35:33 PM

Commission to probe:
http://www.nation.co.ke/...6/-/e3to9k/-/index.html
I already have 0 confidence in this so called commission. This is sad, harking back to Moi era tactics of hawing and pawing, marching on the same spot till our collective memory forgets this sad incident. Kibaki should light a huge fire under Metito's ass, who in turn should string up his senior commanders. Commission my foot!
#75 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 2:37:10 PM

Now Iteere says he will not resign, that ground commanders are to blame!!!!
#76 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 3:09:01 PM

15 police officers still missing.We can only pray that they are found alive.
#77 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 3:26:21 PM

15 are too many!

Kwani what kind of an operation was this? Or did they disperse to comb the area? Were there survivors to tell what happened? Now who send regular police to do an army's job?

wilsonjoroge
#78 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 3:42:28 PM

15 are too many!

Kwani what kind of an operation was this? Or did they disperse to comb the area? Were there survivors to tell what happened? Now who send regular police to do an army's job?

Sad how the Kenya still boasts to have some of the best intelligence in the region yet we get this kind of service. Sad
#79 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 3:46:47 PM

Nachola ward councillor Lawrence Lorunyei arrested over the killings!!!!
#80 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2012 3:48:43 PM

15 are too many!

and to think they were only going to recover stolen cows no other mission was planned.kwani whats the price of a cow those sides if they are willing to kill over 50 uniformed men