wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

7 Pages«<23456>»
Worst ads
akowally
#61 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 11:31:00 AM

I remember I also loved the one for a detergent that went ... 'Nice tie and dye shirt,it's not tie and dye ......'

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#62 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 11:54:00 AM

@Akowally
hehee,i love that one too. It's for Toss. They also have the 'Kijana,How many years have you been in Form one?' version that's also a real cracker!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
akowally
#63 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 11:59:00 AM

@ leona

Yeah,and I wonder why Omo which has the worst ads sells more than Toss which has the best ads and even better prices

#64 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 12:06:00 PM

@Akowally,
Could be what Mukiha said at some point...that thing of the worse the Ad is..the more guys talk about it..and the more they notice the product..etc? It's weird though. If Ads could sell,then i'd always buy Toss,they really have funny Ads. Why am i stuck on Omo all these years anyway?

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
akowally
#65 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 12:28:00 PM

@ leona

I think there are many reasons why we stick with stuff....marketing,quality bla bla bla bla,and yeah all publicity is good publicity ... many people stick with stuff they used from when kids ... kiwi,omo,orbit/pk,colgate,harpic for no particular reason ... Nowadays when I shop I just look at the price,I take the one which is cheapest and have hardly found a difference ...

Karisblue
#66 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 12:53:00 PM

Best ad : One by Unga,some years back. Can't recall the exact words

'unga feeds the nation,from the highlands to .......'
mkristo
#67 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 1:41:00 PM

The Kenya Bureau of Standard's Ad that end with a ka-song,.. 'Uuu uuu uuu,...Ubora kamili'. Bure kabisa

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
Poggie
#68 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 4:19:00 PM

I have always wondered why they depict the farmer in the CFC ad (ama who is the sponser?) as a fat toothless twit who happened upon his success. I farm and I don't look anything close to that twart in that ad. Talk about stereotyping .... bure kabisa!

As a man thinketh so is he
As A Man Thinketh So is He
aces
#69 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2009 5:04:00 PM

'Watoto wako wapi?' i realy waited one from Nairobi water. 'watoto wako wapi? Wanaoga,kwa jirani...walitoa wapi maji?...nairobi river,water loan...he he..

“Rule No.1: Never lose money. Rule No.2: Never forget rule No.1.”
"

Life's a wheel of fortune and its my chance to spin it"
akowally
#70 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 7:17:00 AM

aces

ati water loan ... I really love that ... with the current water crisis that may be the next best thing for the govt .... and the next worst ad ....

kenyanbeef
#71 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 7:52:00 AM

I like the mpesa ads 'wakumbuke haraka na upesi...'

But anyone enjoys that ariel enzymax ad? with that kindergarten chant being done by grown women..'Ni hii au sio?' They answer in unison...'sio!'
ispoa
#72 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 10:40:00 AM

By the way the I really liked the

`Tusker,My Country,My beer ad' by EABL; then KBL. It had aweebit of that uzalendo / najivunia kuwa mkenya thingii as they took advantage of various things on the ground that allowed them to annihilate their competition. KBL needed to respond to the entrant of a new powerful entrant into the market and took the route they did succesfuly by taking advantage of:

1. GOK tough stance - taxwise on SAB.
2. Socially,SA was going through a period of vocalized anti-foreigners sentiments,and the my country my beer was kinda payback.

All in all the entry of the new player forced EABL to style up. Power of Compee
akowally
#73 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 12:01:00 PM

... I am wondering.. kwani KCB walichoka with their 'I wanna be with KCB' thing ..

the sage
#74 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2009 8:18:00 AM

Equity's I'm a member-so tasteless.
Jangwa la Jangili
#75 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2009 8:53:00 AM

my favourite at the moment is the one on Capital's Online Chat especially the 'I am getting hit on from all over the world' part with the 'beeps' in the background. Iko juu tu sana.

Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
subzero
#76 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2009 9:29:00 AM

who understands the kenblest ad,it comes on radio,that goes something like

'hey,jimmy's coming down the stairs.....'
'to avoid scenes like this on your breakfast table,use kenblest bread'.....
Josey
#77 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2009 4:48:00 PM

The two insects expressing VITALITY on the RedBull advert! but that is no longer showing i used to love it....

Better put your money where your mouth is...
wangu.n
#78 Posted : Saturday, October 10, 2009 4:58:00 AM

I cant believe that after all these posts no one remembered th worst one ever. It has a grown woman reciting a kindergarten poem; the door is open,even before u knock. Where we answer,even before u call....... Anyone remember madison insurance ad? or was it too crapy to stick...

You have a right to your opinion.
Allow me mine!
Silk
#79 Posted : Saturday, October 10, 2009 9:21:00 AM

And now there are copycats. The new Kcc Tv advert with an old toothless farmer and his cows is a straight replica of an earlier Brookside advert with a younger farmer and his cows. Kcc,not original at all.

Life is too short.
Litoro
#80 Posted : Saturday, October 10, 2009 2:12:00 PM

Yea,the nyambs ad is the worst. first its aired at the wrong time(Supper Time) and two,the dirty toilet is different from the one that is shown to have been cleaned by HARPIC!......bure kabisa.

i miss the '4 how long have u been in form one?' ad. ilikua inani-jazz.