wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

8 Pages«<23456>»
Safaricom at 4 bob...
#61 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 8:52:41 AM

Safcom is always targeted in bad faith by many enemies including some gvt guys.
#62 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 10:14:51 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Safcom is always targeted in bad faith by many enemies including some gvt guys.

Safaricom, which started as a department of Kenya Posts
& Telecommunications Corporation, the former
monopoly operator, launched operations in 1993 based
on an analogue ETACS network and was upgraded to
GSM in 1996 (license awarded in 1999). Safaricom was
incorporated on April 1997 as a private limited liability
company. It was converted into a public company with
limited liability on 16 May, 2002.

S.Mutaga III
#63 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 11:13:32 AM

Unless the company diversifies into another money minting operation like m-pesa,it is a rip off at current price of 4...infact it is a sell.But if you believe in the greater fool theory,you can buy...personally I dont.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
hisah
#64 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 4:43:14 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
Unless the company diversifies into another money minting operation like m-pesa,it is a rip off at current price of 4...infact it is a sell.But if you believe in the greater fool theory,you can buy...personally I dont.

What is your fair value and why? Have you compared other African telcos e.g. Vodacom SA, MTN group etc to Safaricom to see how it fairs? What about the dividend yield? Why are foreigners on the buy side?
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#65 Posted : Monday, October 08, 2012 6:47:37 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:

Safaricom will rise because of the economic conditions.

Interest rates and inflation are going down hence equities becoming more attractive than fixed income instruments.

Safaricom is relatively liquid and has a large market cap hence foreign institutional investors will buy it, alongside EABL, Equity, KCB, BAT, NMG etc.

It may not be the best fundamentally compared to many medium and small caps, but it is a safer bet.
FUNKY
#66 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 8:37:22 AM

hisah
#67 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2012 9:52:04 AM

MNP, such a spectacular flop, but was expected. Globally the behaviour is the same. So is the globe as peculiar as the KE subscriber...

www.businessdailyafrica....0/-/155gd16/-/index.html
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
FUNKY
#68 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2012 10:46:13 AM

If safaricom continue dominating the data market things will not be that bad for them!!

http://af.reuters.com/ar...ws/idAFJOE89900J20121010
hisah
#69 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 4:03:36 PM

Bharti Airtel may merge India & Africa operations by mid 2013 - http://articles.economic...arti-airtel-manoj-kohli

The telco recently admitted for the first time that its loss-making African operations may not meet its target of $5 billion in revenues and $2 billion in core earnings, or EBITDA, for the year to March-end 2013.

Eight years after pioneering the business strategy of outsourcing all key functions and building the 'minutes factory' model of low cost and high volumes, a concept that has since been copied, Bharti is searching for its next big thing. Its profitability has tumbled for 10 consecutive quarters, as it is under attack from competitors in India and Africa revival is taking longer than anticipated.

This August, a host of brokerages — including Morgan Stanley, Credit Suisse, Citigroup and Goldman Sachs — downgraded the Bharti stock, as it hit a six-year low during the same month.

The Bharti minute factory strategy has failed to launch in Africa. Period. In a few years they'll cash out just like Zain. Conducting biz in Africa where USD cents is valued treasure is not a walk in the park. Any biz must learn the Microeconomy environment of each country - no shortcuts.
#70 Posted : Friday, October 19, 2012 6:51:22 PM

Aly Khan Satchu think;

Nearly a million Kenyans bought shares in Safaricom at
five shillings a share. They remain underwater to this
day although I believe the price will top five before the
year is out.

http://www.the-star.co.k...e-money-transfer-service

#71 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 1:37:21 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:

Safcom today traded a day high of 4.50/-.

Demand 25 times supply. Whats the News? Or is it the very bad news coming from Airtel, yu and orange the inthing. HASIRA YA MKIZI FURAHA YA MVUVI??

FUNKY
#72 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 2:22:59 PM

FUNKY
#73 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 2:24:11 PM

Safaricom enters lucrative solar business

http://www.nation.co.ke/...18/-/9haf0s/-/index.html
#74 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 2:49:10 PM

Got this from a tweet by one Aly Khan
Aly-Khan Satchu @alykhansatchu 2h
Safaricom trading 4.40 +4.76% Last rich.co.ke/
rcdata/company… @bobcollymore will report its
strongest Half [since being listed] in November

DtheK
#75 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 3:02:39 PM

[quote=FUNKY]Safaricom enters lucrative solar business

http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/9haf0s/-/index.html[/quote]
Haven't they learned from "simu za offer" .if phones can be "liberated" why not solar panels.Still very innovative
#76 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 3:55:56 PM

Aly Khan hangs out with Bob who surely has privy to all the ongoings of the firm,when Aly khan said he believed in scom and I put that up here I was told that he is just being their number 1 advertiser,esp his site...now?From the time this thread was started up to now you would have been 14-15% up less transaction costs if you took up some of this shares...
FUNKY
#77 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 4:49:56 PM

hisah
#78 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 5:47:39 PM

Aly Khan hangs out with Bob who surely has privy to all the ongoings of the firm,when Aly khan said he believed in scom and I put that up here I was told that he is just being their number 1 advertiser,esp his site...now?From the time this thread was started up to now you would have been 14-15% up less transaction costs if you took up some of this shares...

Bravo! But I thought you were the same person that said mpesa bank shares were going to dip to 3.50 post book closure...
#79 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 7:49:40 PM

[quote=FUNKY]Safaricom enters lucrative solar business

http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/9haf0s/-/index.html[/quote]

Soon you will see a sign reading "unlock your solar lamp at KShs 200". Hope they have taken care of this, otherwise it might be a sunk investment.
#80 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 8:13:46 PM

FUNKY wrote:
Safaricom enters lucrative solar business

http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/9haf0s/-/index.html

Soon you will see a sign reading "unlock your solar lamp at KShs 200". Hope they have taken care of this, otherwise it might be a sunk investment.

Haha! I wouldn't be surprised. It is said that phones which were switched off can be brought back to life.
#NumberOneInMobileTech (even if it is illegal sometimesLaughing out loudly)