Kenyan Youth are just getting rotten by the day
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
tycho wrote:And even if they made such a statement, it doesn't follow that they are atheists. One would say that they aren't Christians, or Muslims, but he'd go only as far as that. For it is conceivable that a particular brand of theism might prescribe that all women or even some women should please, or unite with as many men as possible.
It is possible to be theistic but un-institutional. One can have a personal understanding of God that doesn't follow convention.
Therefore these are inadequate grounds for making the declaration that these young people are atheists.
And again spirituality involves something like a journey, it's all a matter of growth on each day. So let us avoid saying these things lest we join the mob justice crew.
Kunywa soda mahali uko! GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Mukiri wrote:Prostitution by any other name, remains just that! PROSTITUTION!
Rakini twingine ni tusuri! Gai deithya Wacha wa'hustle'  Ati 'rakini twingine ni tusuri'    GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
there s no way those sockets are in Uni, but ingine ni poa sana
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:tycho wrote:And even if they made such a statement, it doesn't follow that they are atheists. One would say that they aren't Christians, or Muslims, but he'd go only as far as that. For it is conceivable that a particular brand of theism might prescribe that all women or even some women should please, or unite with as many men as possible.
It is possible to be theistic but un-institutional. One can have a personal understanding of God that doesn't follow convention.
Therefore these are inadequate grounds for making the declaration that these young people are atheists.
And again spirituality involves something like a journey, it's all a matter of growth on each day. So let us avoid saying these things lest we join the mob justice crew.
Kunywa soda mahali uko!Pewa moja pia!
@tycho, it is common for atheists to say (and do) statements like 'i want to sleep with as many people as possible before i die'. that is not the only statement and is not word for word. and as you have stated, they are not following religious institutions.[/quote]
I am an atheist and have never and will never utter a statement like that in my life. There is no need to disparage atheists just because they don't subscribe to your belief. Live and let live, my friend, stop making up accussations against a subset of people to gain mileage. Let's rise above these false accussations that you are perpetuating against people who don't subscribe to your beliefs....Learn some tolerance of people who are different from you. The reason that we have all these wars and bombings is because of religions...The answer is right there infront of your eyes but you choose to look the other way. Without religion, this world would be some much more peaceful.
Maybe someday you guys will wake up and smell the coffee and stop fighting over non-existent gods....As an atheist, I don't want to sleep with as many people as possible before I die, surely, why would anybody ever level an accusation like that against atheists or anybody else for that matter? That's an incredibly shocking and unfortunate a statement as can be. So maybe you should evaluate your words more carefully and stop disparaging us atheists just because you don't agree with our convictions. This is the same reason why we can never have world peace, because all these religions just want to start unneccessary fights with each other to prove that they are the best. Reckless statements like the one you just said is why muslims and christians will eternally be at war, because all you religious people are too brainwashed to understand that religions are detrimental to manking as we are seeing everyday.
Leave us atheists out of your holy wars crap, we have much better things to do with our time, like helping out humanity live a more progressive life. That should be the main tenet of every human being on earth. We are not that weak minded as to start bombing stuff and stabbing people and causing all kinds of chaos in the name of a god. We know better, you will never see atheists out in the streets causing mayhem and bombing stuff just because somebody said something about a god.....Get a clue people.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2012 Posts: 3,855 Location: Othumo
Too much happening in Kenya today........ no words Thieves
And by the way, wazua admin, I think it's very unfair, almost bodering on discrimination, to ban me from posting on religious threads. It's 2012 and we are still discriminating against each other for having a difference of opinion? I thought this site was for progressive, educated and enlightened people, I guess I was wrong. So admin, here is a word for you that I throw around often and I think you should learn to embrace, TOLERANCE for everybody even if you don't agree with their convictions....
Discrimination of anything on anybody is maybe the worst and most despicable act by a human being towards another human being. People are different and not everybody will beleive in what you believe in....How can you be so obtuse? Oh well, I won't be surprised if I am banned completely from this forum anyway for voicing my opinions, I have been banned from many a place by theists, who are supposed to be godly and loving people and yet they can't tolerate other human beings...How ironic.
tycho, hamburglar, et al, what are your thoughts on this statement from Wikipedia?: "Whilst the terms spirituality and religion both relate to a search for an Absolute or God, and thus have much overlap, there are also characteristic differences in their usage. Religion implies a particular faith tradition that includes acceptance of a metaphysical or supernatural reality, whereas spirituality is not necessarily bound to any particular religious tradition." So, do you think God can exist without/outside of religion? GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
@tycho, kwani which GOD is in that allows prostitution and adultery. huyo bado sijaona. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
essyk wrote:Why do aethists speak and sound exactly the same in all their arguments? you would think it's one speaking through them all.
Same applies to agnostics.
Ann-risty I know ur just an old member masquerading here. Like Minds think alike Essyk, that's why you think that we all speak and sound the same...I can actually make same arguement that all theists sound and speak exactly the same....But look past the semantics and try to see the core substance of what these atheists are trying to say..I doubt you will see any sense in our train of thought though because one can't rationalize religion. Faith and reason are mutually exclusive and that's why there is a permanent impasse as far as theism and atheism is concerned. But to each their own, as long as you are happy, then by all means, keep doing what makes you happy.
Kenyan Youth are just getting rotten by the day