Market
Review
My friend's housegirl has won Ksh500k Tazama Chapaa
Rank: Member Joined: 7/12/2011 Posts: 177 Location: Jersey Island
She threw a party na pesa ngapi-IMHO,Best if she tithed. And what amount was chopped by KRA? If u ask me,..School pap!
Eti tithe?This are proceeds of gambling....
radio wrote:@jaggernaut, how much of this money is remaining after the party and the last past days. Ask your friend to follow @newfarer advice. I understand that she has about 450k left after gifts to her mum (20k), 3 siblings(@5k), her own expenses, the small party etc. Of course it's good to remember ones family after such a win.
@all, Thank you all. Seems there are four ideas that have been put forward regarding how she can use the money:
1) education: there are suggestions she does do a diploma. How much will the course cost? Also take into consideration that she will need to quit her job to study. Assuming it's a 1yr course, she will need rent, transport, food and maintenance etc for the period.
2) plot of land: where can she get land in Nairobi (or outskirts) at 400k?
3)business: what business?
4) stocks: which stocks?
jaggernaut wrote:@all, Thank you all. Seems there are four ideas that have been put forward regarding how she can use the money:
1) education: there are suggestions she does do a diploma. How much will the course cost? Also take into consideration that she will need to quit her job to study. Assuming it's a 1yr course, she will need rent, transport, food and maintenance etc for the period.
2) plot of land: where can she get land in Nairobi (or outskirts) at 400k?
3)business: what business?
4) stocks: which stocks? soma soma soma, msichana, wazuri wazidi kuzaliwa na dunia, nayo yazidi haribika msichana. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/11/2010 Posts: 1,011 Location: nairobi
come i sell to her a mpesa biz and earn kes 10,000 net per month.and also go to school
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/11/2010 Posts: 1,011 Location: nairobi
come i give/sell her a mpesa she earns net of 10,000 remaining money shule
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/4/2010 Posts: 1,668 Location: nairobi
I would advice her to buy some land in naivasha-maai mahiu area for 200k an acre then with the 300k, she builds a mabati/soil block structure then start small scale farming/green house . The proceeds from the farming can then be utilised to educate herself in hospitality[assuming she already has a headstart in her work as a house girl] then she can rival Madam P and others who supply housegirls in nairobi. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
@a4architect Ya i agree among with u this house gal should invest on a land and build shelter first the rest of money she can do a minimal risk venture such as greehouse farming.Otherwise stocks business is not worth nothing nowadays she might loose her money.
If I lay hands on some good money ,farming is a risk I wont undertake.Not for a start.ah ah. A couple in karen had this great chicken biz going on for them.Great contracts they had and all was well till they woke up to find all kukus dead! from a strange disease. They swore never to deal with live animals, ever again.Were they experienced? oh yes they were chicken Gurus and could detect any small defect. How much more crops.I can only venture into farming once I have stabilised cz the risks are too high. Since she has many options let her go for the one that poses less risks. Education! Besides we are just assuming that all conditions will be perfect for her to reap what she plants or build. Weather,Market,Costs of setting up and running the farm,come into play here. It makes me shudder infact. Ha! dont be suprised to see her getting married after all this noise we are making here. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
@essyk..true..education is very crucial in creating wealth. Education does not have to be formal i.e certificate, diploma, degree. Education can be in form of informal hands-on experience in agriculture, hospitality[house girl work], entrepreneuship real estate[buying land in maai hahiu] e.t.c I have several clients who invest in high rise rental buildings in Eastlands-Umoja. These guys have very little formal education-not having completed primary education. The same guys have alot of infromal education on how to invest in real estate. With this informal education, they easily convince banks to finance their projects for millions of KES. One of these guys has over 10 of these high-rise 5 storey flats in Umoja. He tells me he had a childhood full of poverty with many a night spent on an empty stomach. Now he earns over kes 10m per month on rental income alone yet he can barely speak/write in English. If he was to write a book on how to invest in rental real estate, it would change the way formal real estate investing is taught. Another guy without formal education but with tons of informal education is the late Njenga Karume. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
a4architect.com wrote:@essyk..true..education is very crucial in creating wealth. Education does not have to be formal i.e certificate, diploma, degree. Education can be in form of informal hands-on experience in agriculture, hospitality[house girl work], entrepreneuship real estate[buying land in maai hahiu] e.t.c
I have several clients who invest in high rise rental buildings in Eastlands-Umoja. These guys have very little formal education-not having completed primary education. The same guys have alot of infromal education on how to invest in real estate. With this informal education, they easily convince banks to finance their projects for millions of KES.
One of these guys has over 10 of these high-rise 5 storey flats in Umoja. He tells me he had a childhood full of poverty with many a night spent on an empty stomach. Now he earns over kes 10m per month on rental income alone yet he can barely speak/write in English. Now that is truly inspiring. We are taught to view informal education as a not so effective means to earning a good income. It's hammered into us that formal education is the key to success since childhood.Infact informal education is regarded as an outdated means of learning. This 'unlearned'client of yours I can bet has invested properly in his kids formal education because he values it's importance.no?? And I doubt the kids go to wakulima day and boarding in river road. His past was unfortunate and circumstancial (motivator),but he now has the ability to shape the future of his kids by sending them to great schools,because they have a better option to choose from. If for instance his kids are forced to run that estate without education, it will go down the drain because they dont understand what it means to sleep hungry or walk barefoot.They have nothing to motivate them. We cannot therefore replicate some situations due to changing times. You use Karume as an example,great. It's one thing to create wealth and another to maintain it. Karume just like this client of yours was pushed by the hard past. But the estate is the way it is because some employed people help manage it.*I stand to be corrected* In short,this girl can easily set up a biz or farm,but can she manage it? u want to compare the old man's biz savvy mind to a 20 yr old girl who's just landed herself good money? She is also a woman rem.and will face more obstacles in terms of managing and running it informaly.*well I could be wrong* I just know that education has a way of transforming and broadening minds as one grows and interacts with others in a real world. Ok can we suggest that she does what the proverbial hyena did? try both ways? Invest 3/4 in education and bal in biz.That way if she biz burns she will still have education to fall back to.ama? "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
@all, would you rather be poor and educated,or rich and uneducated,all factors held constant.
I agree with @architect, informal education is EDUCATION as well. One of the reasons why Kenya is in the state it is, is this infatuation with formal education and the believe that is the only means to a bright future.
We all need formal education, no doubt about that. But money/wealth is needed, just MORE. When you are rich, you desire formal education,for yourself and more so, for your kids. BUT, if you are poor and uneducated,money is a priority over education. Whatever formal education she'll get, there are thousands and thousands of unemployed Kenyans with the same papers.Don't tell me they are lazy. It's simple, the opportunities are very limited.
Maybe the reason why most wazuans are advising for formal education, is, they are employed in the formal sector. For those of us not employed and in the informal sector,we are in constant contact with people who are doing really well, without formal education.Class 8 drop outs. I got my papers stuck somewhere in my bedroom,but all the years of education can't compare to the immense experience these guys have. They know how to go about just about anything investments. I learn from them and they got assets to show for it. NONE of them bothers to know what i know,they pay people to do that for them.Its i who bothers to know from them.There approach to everything is simple, no elitist views. One more thing, you get rich fast by focusing on the "underdeveloped". She doesn't need to buy land in Nairobi,because the next boom won't come from Nairobi, but from the lands lying about 40kms from the city.
One can ALWAYS learn after getting "rich", but can they ALWAYS get "rich" after studying?
@mkeyd..true..for instance, since i graduated from UoN School of Architecture in 2001, i earn my money mostly by giving the services that i have learnt from experience and personal research/initiative in the construction industry. What i learnt from UoN helps me to achieve legal requirements to practice but not so much to offer value and competitiveness to my clients. Its more of a perfect balance between formal education[Degree] and informal education[research/experience]. Without either, it becomes difficult to operate. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Rank: Member Joined: 11/10/2010 Posts: 281 Location: Nairobi
My proposal would be to buy land near where her parents are, not in Nairobi around 200k an acre buy livestock that can improve her general family's life, like a few goats or cows or chicken @around 100k. Use the rest for 1st year school fees.
The livestock will have some basic produce for use and the produce can be sold to pay for fees. When school is over she can liquidate and move on or just continue.
It's win win, the family is happy, she goes to school and she can liquidate when it's all over.
Quote:would you rather be poor and educated,or rich and uneducated,all factors held constant. Quote:One can ALWAYS learn after getting "rich", but can they ALWAYS get "rich" after studying Eh! You know Maruge never realised his dream? The question is,how long will it take me to get there? I think you are talking as males but this is a female. By 25 she can be through with studies and she has her whole life ahead. But if she hits biz right away,it may take her 20 years to be a karume. I have done bz before including farming but on a small scale and once you start biz,you get too busy to find time for anything else like study cz all you want to do with any extra time is to make more and more money.Tamaa huongezeka. That is why the likes of K. hardly ever go back to study because biz ni tamu sana and engaging. Assuming she becomes rich at 40 or 45 ,that time she will probably be married with 7 kids around and demands.Besides why would she need to study now when her hands are full? A man on the other hand can go back to study even at 60 cz hawanyonyeshi. But about experience? I concur with both of you I learnt how to survive hard from the informal biz not formal. Quote:My proposal would be to buy land near where her parents are, not in Nairobi around 200k an acre buy livestock that can improve her general family's life, like a few goats or cows or chicken @around 100k. Use the rest for 1st year school fees.
Do both educ and biz. 3 pages later she could be having 20k only left at her disposal.
Good luck whatever she chooses.my turn to play "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
she cannot use all of it on education. she can use the other portion left by buying a plot like the ones in ruiru with a clean title deed. Na kwani her parents? they should also be guiding her en she should also get a tip of their advice.
essyk wrote:Quote:would you rather be poor and educated,or rich and uneducated,all factors held constant. Quote:One can ALWAYS learn after getting "rich", but can they ALWAYS get "rich" after studying Eh! You know Maruge never realised his dream? The question is,how long will it take me to get there? I think you are talking as males but this is a female. By 25 she can be through with studies and she has her whole life ahead. But if she hits biz right away,it may take her 20 years to be a karume. I have done bz before including farming but on a small scale and once you start biz,you get too busy to find time for anything else like study cz all you want to do with any extra time is to make more and more money.Tamaa huongezeka. That is why the likes of K. hardly ever go back to study because biz ni tamu sana and engaging.Assuming she becomes rich at 40 or 45 ,that time she will probably be married with 7 kids around and demands.Besides why would she need to study now when her hands are full? A man on the other hand can go back to study even at 60 cz hawanyonyeshi. But about experience? I concur with both of you I learnt how to survive hard from the informal biz not formal. Quote:My proposal would be to buy land near where her parents are, not in Nairobi around 200k an acre buy livestock that can improve her general family's life, like a few goats or cows or chicken @around 100k. Use the rest for 1st year school fees.
Do both educ and biz. 3 pages later she could be having 20k only left at her disposal.
Good luck whatever she chooses.my turn to play @essyk, If she will be engaged and biz will be tamu as you say,must she go to study? Is studying the essence of human life? I thought happiness was/is. You are happier if you are rich and uneducated than educated and poor. In an ideal world/economy, you are much happier educated and rich. Is our Kenya ideal? About Murage, he passed on,my reference was to the living. @architect,It's all true as you put it.
mkeiyd wrote:@essyk, If she will be engaged and biz will be tamu as you say,must she go to study? Ai this is subject.If the biz is very succesful say like what the keroche lady is doing,then it would be wise of her to study to avoid being conned by employees.Is studying the essence of human life? NoI thought happiness was/is. You are happier if you are rich and uneducated than educated and poor. In an ideal world/economy, you are much happier educated and rich. Is our Kenya ideal? There's no ideal place in the world.Every success comes with its own greater challenges and grace to bear.About Murage, he passed on,my reference was to the living. Well I used that in ref to age and timing.Going back to school after you have made it in life may be cut short by death.Soma while you still have the strength and sharp mind "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
mkeiyd wrote:
You are happier if you are rich and uneducated than educated and poor. In an ideal world/economy, you are much happier
Yeah. You end up being more frustrated if you are educated and poor than if you were uneducated and poor. She may end up joining the Tumesoma na tumesota, hawajasoma na ni masonko choir. Does she have biz acumen or will her entry to biz be just another learning opportunity. Does she already have an idea of which business she plans to do? Some have suggested real estate, that she should buy a plot. BTW where in Nairobi metropolis will she get land for that amount(incl transaction costs)? Buying land in her shags for farming isn't bad also assuming her shags is not in Kiambu or Kajiado or some other place with high prices.
Market
Review
My friend's housegirl has won Ksh500k Tazama Chapaa