4 Pages«<234
Overpopulation - the fallacy
#61 Posted : Wednesday, December 31, 2014 1:50:01 PM

kyt wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
kyt wrote:
kiagio mbona huoni tuko na acquifer iko na 250bn m3, untapped? why are you choosing to "deliberately refusing to read and understand...."

I know we have 200billion cubic metres of water resting some almost 330metres below the earths surface waiting to be harnessed...sure it will be...

Like I told you I love numbers because they dont lie...

to start with here is your Lotikipi aquifer that holds your 200billion cu. metres of water:

It would not make any economic sense to sink boreholes, pump out water, treat it and pump it again across the desert to large population centres more than 200km away (when I say large population centre, I mean areas around Kitale)

So hiyo tusahau kabisa for it cannot benefit anybody further than 50km maximum from the aquifer itself. If I am correct, we have less than 2,000,000 people within this vicinity...

kiagio why should we forget about it, oil is drilled onshore with a production cost of 2 dollars, and pumped through pipeline kilometres away, our nairobi water comes from ndakaini 87km away, mombasa water comes from mzima springs 250km away, why does it not make sense?

again the rainwater, for one season, that goes away, if harnessed would, cover the water need for a year

Chief economic value of water cannot be compared to oil presently, may be after another century or two...

You see the cases that you have just mentioned are simple, why? Let us start with Ndakaini dam...Water from this dam flows by gravity to Ng'ethu water treatment works (which is about 30km south of the dam) through an elaborate systems of tunnels. Ndakaini dam is actually roughly 2100m above sea level. Further the treated water is transmitted to the storage tanks in Kabete and Gigiri through some GMS pipes 1.5 metres in diameter by gravity again at a distance of about 20km. The first pumping is now done at the distribution stations (Kabete and Gigiri) and believe me those motor-pumpset are really huge. The motors used in Gigiri pumps are rated 900kW and are connected directly to 11kV power supply line. Note here that that the amount of water gravitated from Ndakaini dam to Gigiri and kabete storage is about 500,000cubic metres per day. Remember here that the distribution is done at the population centre which is about 1500 metres above sea level providing a very big head for fluid gravitation.

Next...Mzima springs is located at a height of about 700 metres above sea level and has a maximum gauged capacity equivalent to 350,000 cubic metres...Mzima springs pipeline runs for about 220km and consists of pre-stressed concrete pipes...The water is gravitated from the source and stored at Mazeras storage tanks which are at altitude of 200m (again a very sweet head available). Note again that the water distribution is done at population centre...

If you look closely at the two unique cases there are a couple of system outlooks which are identical to both...

The trouble with lotikipi, pumping such a huge amount of water to population centres would require a hell of series of booster stations, massive lengths of distribution pipelines huge, desalination plants and other disadvantages which would end up making the commodity really expensive for the consumer...
#62 Posted : Thursday, January 01, 2015 12:36:48 PM

500,000 m3 is 500m litres per day. that equates to 125 litres per day for every nairobian. you didn't talk about rain water. its possible. planning ndio shida. as I said technopolis are good; but basics are key to planning and development.
#63 Posted : Thursday, January 01, 2015 1:39:14 PM

kyt wrote:
500,000 m3 is 500m litres per day. that equates to 125 litres per day for every nairobian. you didn't talk about rain water. its possible. planning ndio shida. as I said technopolis are good; but basics are key to planning and development.

very surprised at your ignorance @kyt...The 500,000cubic metres of water is shared by Nairobi, Kiambu, Machakos and Kajiado...

Kwani the water I am talking about comes from the dust? It comes from rainfall which at the current circumsatnces is not of any interest...
Muriel
#64 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 9:45:37 AM

Interesting.
#65 Posted : Saturday, February 28, 2015 8:04:36 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
kyt wrote:
kiagio mbona huoni tuko na acquifer iko na 250bn m3, untapped? why are you choosing to "deliberately refusing to read and understand...."

I know we have 200billion cubic metres of water resting some almost 330metres below the earths surface waiting to be harnessed...sure it will be...

Like I told you I love numbers because they dont lie...

to start with here is your Lotikipi aquifer that holds your 200billion cu. metres of water:

It would not make any economic sense to sink boreholes, pump out water, treat it and pump it again across the desert to large population centres more than 200km away (when I say large population centre, I mean areas around Kitale)

So hiyo tusahau kabisa for it cannot benefit anybody further than 50km maximum from the aquifer itself. If I am correct, we have less than 2,000,000 people within this vicinity...

NAIROBI/ROME (Thomson Reuters Foundation) - Tests on a vast aquifer found in Kenya's drought-wracked Turkana region show the water is too salty to drink, a government official said on Friday.

The 2013 discovery of underground lakes the size of the U.S. state of Delaware, according to satellite imagery, was hailed as a chance for the arid northern region to finally feed its people.

At the time of the discovery, Kenya's water minister said the "newly found wealth of water opens the door to a more prosperous future for the people of Turkana and the nation as a whole".

But the first test results from Lotikipi, the largest aquifer which is close to Kenya's border with South Sudan, have been disappointing. "The water is not fit for human consumption," said Japheth Mutai, chief executive officer of the government-owned Rift Valley Water Services Board, which is responsible for providing water in the region.

The underground water would have to be desalinated -- an expensive and energy intensive process -- before it could be used for human consumption, livestock or irrigation, Mutai said.
#66 Posted : Sunday, March 01, 2015 9:37:23 AM

Interesting topic, wonder why I had never come across it

Great views wazuansApplause esp kyt, murchr and gizzards

Why is mathukuma missing?
#67 Posted : Sunday, March 01, 2015 5:33:37 PM

Some very interesting article here by a Singaporean. Singapore is 50 this year.

BBC News wrote:
Some of the campaigns were arguably too successful, such as the "Stop at two" campaign, aimed at limiting population growth in the 1960s and 1970s. When it became evident that Singapore's population wasn't being replaced in the 1980s, it was too late. Singapore now has one of the lowest birth rates in Asia, which the government is seeking to offset through immigration. For a population to remain stable each family needs to have 2.1 children - in Singapore the average is 1.3 or below.

Source: BBC