wazua Fri, Jul 25, 2025

4 Pages«<234
SAFARICOM and the BIG announcement
jerry
#61 Posted : Wednesday, April 06, 2011 6:03:25 PM

I will just keep my 2 lines. Safaricom for data [coz fast] & Airtel for voice...

>>~I also have 2 lines n 2 phones. And I use AirTel for data coz it's cheap!(may not be fast enough) and Scon for incoming calls as most of my callers are on safcon.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#62 Posted : Wednesday, April 06, 2011 8:14:55 PM

jerry wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
Can airtel pay rent to pesa mkononi dealers because they are closing shops like hell.and others jumping to mpesa.hakuna doo ni kunoma.

>>what bedevils KenCel, CelTel, Zain, or AirTel remains the same;customer service. In Meru they've no office!! Can't change SIM card to that which I can use phone book for ZAP.
What??? No office in Meru?

@vvs. True. A dealer(can't remember the name, near Coop bank) advised me to try Nyeri!
That is sad!
#63 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2011 9:30:06 AM

The three most important factors in business success are:
1: LOCATION
2: LOCATION
3: LOCATION

When Kencel/Celtel/Zain/Airtel/Whateverelse figure this out, then people will migrate there in droves. Until that day, they can cut prices to 0.05cents[not shillings!] but the gains will only be temporary--- people will move back to SCOM as soon as the offer is over.

Who wants a cheap service that you can't get?
#64 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2011 11:53:53 AM

mukiha wrote:

When Kencel/Celtel/Zain/Airtel/Whateverelse figure this out, then people will migrate there in droves. Until that day, they can cut prices to 0.05cents[not shillings!] but the gains will only be temporary--- people will move back to SCOM as soon as the offer is over.

Not necessarily... Have you heard of Amazon? 100% online so 'location' is almost anywhere...
#65 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2011 3:12:16 PM

mukiha wrote:

Not necessarily... Have you heard of Amazon? 100% online so 'location' is almost anywhere...

@VVS: my point exactly, you have to be everywhere.... where your potential customers are. If they are online, then go there; if they are on the moon, go there as well.

Kencel/Celtel/Zain/Airtel/Whateverelse imagine that they can win the war by slashing prices left, right and centre. But, for example, who wants a cheap money service that has not agents? I walk outside my office and I look to the left where I see four M-PESA signs; and to the right I see two M-PESA signs.

Zap? the nearest agent is at least 500m away! Guess which money transfer service I use [even though I' registered with both]?
#66 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2011 5:43:24 PM

@mukiha - On the money agents I agree! I faced the same problem on a Sunday... I could not find a Airtel agent who was open in CBD on a Sunday afternoon but M-Pesa abounded!

BTW, I keep 2 lines... LOL...
Aguytrying
#67 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 8:59:41 AM

when i look back, there are days when mpesa has literaly saved me. I predominantly use airtel for calls and sms. I gave up looking for zap outlets like 6 months ago. Airtel can not win this war, if they dont equal or better Mpesa, simple as that.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself