wazua Sun, Jul 20, 2025

8 Pages«<23456>»
What do 1-bob Airtel calls mean for Safaricom share price?
#61 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 9:31:26 PM

Meanwhile Safaricom was down again today. chaliwong, without mnunuzi mwenye pesa, there can be no mfanyikazi. That is not a principle of Uindi but a principle of business. Do you want calls to be 8 bob again? Mambo ya supa ongea? Hapana. In fact, we need these Wahindis to take over more Kenyan businesses
#62 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 9:33:40 PM

Meanwhile Safaricom was down again today. chaliwong, without mnunuzi mwenye pesa, there can be no mfanyikazi. That is not a principle of Uindi but a principle of business. Do you want calls to be 8 bob again? Mambo ya supa ongea? Hapana. In fact, we need these Wahindis to take over more Kenyan businesses
#63 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 9:40:43 PM

Yaani fools [yes, I said that] like @chaliwong want us to go back to 8/- calls on-net & 12/- offnet?

Do you have any idea how many hundreds of MILLIONS the safCON execs were paid coz they could rip us off???

Who remembers those STUPID promos 2pm-8pm from safariCON?

I used to pay 50/- to call across networks! When GoK was 100% on Telkom/KPTC, safcon charged 50/- per minute!

Even when safCON could have been kinder to us, they REFUSED. Until 2 weeks the costs of safCON-safCON SMS was 3.50 while the cost is less than 5 cents on their own network!!!

Yaani, it was cheaper to SMS from Airtel to Safaricon than SafCON on-net!!!

BURE KABISA...

I own no safcon shares & I am happy if it falls to the same price as their calls!!!!
#64 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 9:42:51 PM

Another thing: Safaricom keep talking about reduced tax collection for the government. Even if they pay zero taxes, Kenya itaendelea. Si watoto walisoma bado hata after maziwa ya nyayo kumalizwa?
chaliwong
#65 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 9:49:16 PM

@chaliwong - Please suit up...

1) 75% of your post makes little sense! Pathetic grammar & sentence structure...

2) LOL... So you are a bitter safaricom shareholder. Well safaricon is the Bitter Option

3) It is a business. If you can't stand teh heat then get OUT of the kitchen!

4) As a mwananchi I am very HAPPY that Airtel has saved me money. I wish we had more Mhindi businesses to help cut my expenses! Why should I be sad that Airtel will invest/spend $150mn in Kenya?

I sold safaricom immediately the shares started trading in the NSE and have never looked at it again the same way you keep looking at contributors grammer.So I have Zero.
Im also enjoying the bob while it lasts.

And by the way, Are you drunk?Shame on you
#66 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:04:00 PM

chaliwong wrote:

1) 75% of your post makes little sense! Pathetic grammar & sentence structure...

2) LOL... So you are a bitter safaricom shareholder. Well safaricon is the Bitter Option

4) As a mwananchi I am very HAPPY that Airtel has saved me money. I wish we had more Mhindi businesses to help cut my expenses! Why should I be sad that Airtel will invest/spend $150mn in Kenya?

I sold safaricom immediately the shares started trading in the NSE and have never looked at it again the same way you keep looking at contributors grammer.So I have Zero.

So what was your prior post/rant all about? As I said earlier... I couldn't make out 75% of it...
[And no, your buddy @qw didn't buy me those beers]
#67 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:06:51 PM

chaliwong wrote:
[quote=VituVingiSana]Im also enjoying the bob while it lasts.

So what was your prior post/rant all about? As I said earlier... I couldn't make out 75% of it...

Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly Kali!
Ericsson
#68 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:22:55 PM

EABL will take the mantle as number one in terms of market capitalisation in the NSE
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
chaliwong
#69 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:30:40 PM

chaliwong wrote:

The Airtel Dealers give me Biashara ya kuwabebea "mizigo" everyday from monday to friday.
Since the one bob, Turnover is down. Na beba only twice per week.
This week Sijabeba.So I went looking for them, instead of them looking for me as usual.
They told me Nikubaya.

Thats why I had said in my earlier post, wacha Tuone.
chaliwong
#70 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:32:29 PM

chaliwong wrote:

The Airtel Dealers give me Biashara ya kuwabebea "mizigo" everyday from monday to friday.
Since the one bob, Turnover is down. Na beba only twice per week.
This week Sijabeba.So I went looking for them, instead of them looking for me as usual.
They told me Nikubaya.

Thats why I had said in my earlier post, wacha Tuone.
#71 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:35:53 PM

@chaliwong - Initial usage may have dropped for Airtel [airtime sales] but as more folks migrate to Airtel, the sales will increase...

In any business, there are middlemen who need to be cut out to reduce costs for the final consumer... These dealers are middlemen...

There are other ways to buy airtime including using Zap, through banks, etc...
mgeman
#72 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:37:44 PM

I have kept off this safaricom bashing threads which by the way recycle the same same un-informed arguements.But today am going to throw myself into the ring and attract all those epithets! My points.
1. Every kenyan owns safaricom yes for those who don't know G.O.K. big stake in safaricom so if it goes down we are all losers.
2.K.R.A. on behalf of G.O.K. that is the guy that pays the teachers to teach our children, the police and the army that ensure we don't kill each other, is building thika superhighway and all those smooth roads we're all enjoying etc etc. If you open your eyes you will realise that G.O.K. is actually you, yes YOU. But if you choose to think the money in only used to pay mpigs as you call them, suit yourself.
3. Safaricom got itself where it is by providing a good service to most kenyans-the numbers speak for them selves.
They are many more but will let you digest this first.
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
#73 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:13:34 PM

mgeman, Safaricom is not the only taxpayer in Kenya and they should not seek preferential treatment just because they are afraid of a little competition. Have Bharti done anything illegal? Umeskia ARM wakilia because some company is selling cement cheaper than them? Why didn't Safaricom maintain their previous rates if current ones are ''unsustainable''. People are not only interested in what you term 'good service' Just because the govt. owns a significant stake, doesn't make you to have to follow everything they do. Digest hiyo (NB: I have zero Bharti shares and consider yu to offer the best value offer, as of today)
#74 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:16:06 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Another thing: Safaricom keep talking about reduced tax collection for the government. Even if they pay zero taxes, Kenya itaendelea. Si watoto walisoma bado hata after maziwa ya nyayo kumalizwa?

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#75 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:24:27 PM

mgeman wrote:
I have kept off this safaricom bashing threads which by the way recycle the same same un-informed arguements.But today am going to throw myself into the ring and attract all those epithets! My points.
1. Every kenyan owns safaricom yes for those who don't know G.O.K. big stake in safaricom so if it goes down we are all losers.
2.K.R.A. on behalf of G.O.K. that is the guy that pays the teachers to teach our children, the police and the army that ensure we don't kill each other, is building thika superhighway and all those smooth roads we're all enjoying etc etc. If you open your eyes you will realise that G.O.K. is actually you, yes YOU. But if you choose to think the money in only used to pay mpigs as you call them, suit yourself.
3. Safaricom got itself where it is by providing a good service to most kenyans-the numbers speak for them selves.
They are many more but will let you digest this first.

toa matamshi yako duni hapa, kaambie wengine si wanawazua. tokomea kabisa! ABK
mgeman
#76 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:27:30 PM

Yes i agree with it is not the only taxpayer but if we let companies kill each other in the name of competition we would eventually have no economy to talk about. The one shilling tariff is not sustainable-it cost more than 1.76 shillings to route a call from your phone to your recipients phone that is excluding other overheads and profit margin. Bharti is only able to do what it is doing because it is getting money from India. This is illegal per international standards.
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
#77 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:58:43 PM

If I was to use 500ksh on airtime a day on safcon and bharti came and i will use 50sh, then i will invest the 450sh in other ways....hata SJ ....na hiyo taxes will go to other corners of economy. If i dont drink during the day and i end up saving 100ksh from my Naps hiyo pesa nitapeleka kwingine na uchumi itaendelea. Nobody should brainwash us that we will lose on taxes only that wengine waliweka pesa yao kwa safcon na wanangoja ifike 10bob wauze.
#78 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 12:24:48 AM

mgeman wrote:
Bharti is only able to do what it is doing because it is getting money from India. This is illegal per international standards.
LOLest! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly What a load of CRAP... Yaani, SHIT...

Please tell me what 'international standards' do you refer to???

BTW, so what if 40% of safariCON is owned by GoK... My share of safariCON is only 1/40,000,000 of that 40%

40% x 250bn (50bn * 5/- at IPO) = 100bn
100bn / 40mn = 2,500/-

I save more than 2,500/- per month using Airtel [I make lots of calls] compared to the old safaricom rates [Shs8-12/min]

[Please check my assumptions & calculations. I may have erred]
#79 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 12:28:47 AM

Anyone who argues KRA/GOK loses 'tax revenues' coz of 1/- calls can suck.......... a lemon Drool Drool Drool

As argued earlier, you can spend the 2/- saved on a round lemon... which you can suck.... Shame on you

Or save those KShs & help the local farmer... Help him pay higher taxes... Buy your neighbours' kids' LOCALLY manufactured sweets... Take your clande to Watamu or Lamu... Buy your wife/girlfriend/boyfriend a Kisii soapstone figurine...

Use your 'saved' KShs to buy the IDPs food...

BTW, those Sad Sad Sad about low tax collection... Just DONATE it directly to IDPs instead of it being given to Ocampo's 6 by kalonzo & his cronies! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#80 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 9:03:26 AM

Ericsson wrote:
EABL will take the mantle as number one in terms of market capitalisation in the NSE

Yes. We could see a change of guard today. As for the most profitable company in the region, I think banks will eventually surpass it in the next 5 years