wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

37 Pages«<353637
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!
#721 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2019 5:25:49 PM

Conquestador wrote:
bwenyenye wrote:
Could someone kindly enlighten me why the Ministry of Transport has sudden interest in hawkers? Why is it giving instructions on road use in CBD? Where is the Governor in all this?

AS someone says... This is too jumbled up to be clean... I feel this is a cover show for something else... They know for sure it does not make any economic or administrative sense. They know it will fail... But they push it anyway.. Kuna mchezo inaendelea....

At 1.14 therein your answer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQgE2RaocMY

I really hope this is not what they are planning to do. Those bikes became a nuisance such that some cities banned them.

Those shop owners need to sue, when hawkers are out there , they cant sell since these people place stuff on their doors.

Another thing, seems like Gov is not on board with this one his silence is too loud. Why not have a workable hawkers market and hike the parking fees to 1000? or introduce toll cameras on each road entering or getting our of the CBD.
limanika
#722 Posted : Wednesday, February 06, 2019 6:06:35 AM

Conquestador wrote:
bwenyenye wrote:
Could someone kindly enlighten me why the Ministry of Transport has sudden interest in hawkers? Why is it giving instructions on road use in CBD? Where is the Governor in all this?

AS someone says... This is too jumbled up to be clean... I feel this is a cover show for something else... They know for sure it does not make any economic or administrative sense. They know it will fail... But they push it anyway.. Kuna mchezo inaendelea....

At 1.14 therein your answer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQgE2RaocMY

I really hope this is not what they are planning to do. Those bikes became a nuisance such that some cities banned them.

Those shop owners need to sue, when hawkers are out there , they cant sell since these people place stuff on their doors.

Another thing, seems like Gov is not on board with this one his silence is too loud. Why not have a workable hawkers market and hike the parking fees to 1000? or introduce toll cameras on each road entering or getting our of the CBD.

The 'car free day' was to test waters on what can be done to 'create demand' for BRT. That said, ever since parking charges were lowered traffic jam has really worsened. How is this helping anybody??? Why lower parking charge instead of increasing???
#723 Posted : Thursday, March 14, 2019 12:12:40 PM

President Macron says France to build CBD to JKIA commuter rail link by 2021.

https://www.standardmedi...ain-to-be-ready-by-2021

Chinese SGR company also undertaking commuter railway improvement which includes the Sh10 billion rehabilitation of four existing lines (Nairobi Central Station to Ruiru, Nairobi Central Station to Embakasi Village, Nairobi Central Station to Kikuyu, and Nairobi Central Station to Kitengela.) The investment also includes the acquisition of refurbished Diesel Multiple Units (DMU’s) as well as the building of a public transport network from Ruiru to Athi River.

Note: Seems there will be a new direct line from Ruiru to Athi river.

tinker
#724 Posted : Thursday, March 14, 2019 12:57:52 PM

Chinese SGR company also undertaking commuter railway improvement which includes the Sh10 billion rehabilitation of four existing lines (Nairobi Central Station to Ruiru, Nairobi Central Station to Embakasi Village, Nairobi Central Station to Kikuyu, and Nairobi Central Station to Kitengela.) The investment also includes the acquisition of refurbished Diesel Multiple Units (DMU’s) as well as the building of a public transport network from Ruiru to Athi River.

In Wazua, I believe the above information ought to be in 'New thread heading needed: SCANDALS' thread.
We need to raise our bars and start interrogating scandals starting from their inception, skimming, thieving, Kinoti's investigation and finally judiciary theatrics.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
Thitifini
#725 Posted : Thursday, March 14, 2019 5:48:03 PM

tinker wrote:

In Wazua, I believe the above information ought to be in 'New thread heading needed: SCANDALS' thread.
We need to raise our bars and start interrogating scandals starting from their inception, skimming, thieving, Kinoti's investigation and finally judiciary theatrics.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
radiomast
#726 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2019 11:08:12 PM

That 20 hour traffic jam on Nairobi-Nakuru road makes you wish they could revive the Nairobi-Nakuru-Kisumu railway line. I cant imagine being stuck in traffic for 20 hours with hungry children who also need to go to the restroom.
#727 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 6:10:11 AM

Was wondering if it's possible to put up some public toilets along major roads and highways.Mombasa road needs them badly.

If one gets the urge to susu while at Bunyala Roundabout,it gets really messy by the time one is at GM

Someone please tell Sonko.
Queen
#728 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 8:58:47 AM

Was wondering if it's possible to put up some public toilets along major roads and highways.Mombasa road needs them badly.

If one gets the urge to susu while at Bunyala Roundabout,it gets really messy by the time one is at GM

Good suggestion. Ngong road needs them even more.
#729 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 9:53:41 AM

Queen wrote:

You need to know pubs that have clean ladies/gents in your route(s). smile
wal6807
#730 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 10:20:40 AM

Queen wrote:

There are no public restrooms from community onwards to Junction..

I also wonder that road designers do not factor truck stops on any major highways save those on petrol stations/malls. i once witnessed an embarrassing situation at Maguna's in Sagana with limited facilities and a holiday crowd, ladies were queuing to use the gents.
"Children today are tyrants. They contradict their parents, gobble their food, and tyrannize their teachers."
•Socrates (470?-399 BC)
#731 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 10:37:46 AM

Some lady was telling us how she got awfully pressed while getting into town hapo Serena at dusk. The traffic was at a standstill. She just switched off her car, went past the sidewalk and did her thing.

Aibu ni wewe.

So yes, you have a point.

#732 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 11:00:46 AM

All petrol stations are required by law to have restrooms/toilets for use by motorists. So one should just drive to the nearest petrol station and do the necessary. Passengers in matatus, uber etc too can ask the driver to stop at the nearest petrol station.

That said I always have a plastic bottle in the car in case of emergencies.

Also nowadays there are gadgets that a woman can use in the car when stuck in traffic.

https://img.dxcdn.com/pr...timages/sku_423905_1.jpg
#733 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 11:46:48 AM

All petrol stations are required by law to have restrooms/toilets for use by motorists. So one should just drive to the nearest petrol station and do the necessary. Passengers in matatus, uber etc too can ask the driver to stop at the nearest petrol station.

Also nowadays there are gadgets that a woman can use in the car when stuck in traffic.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly na diaper pia ni option
#734 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 4:30:42 PM

Brace for Thika Road traffic nightmare as contractor closes two lanes.

Motorists using the Thika Superhighway will for the next one month face a traffic nightmare after the urban roads authority announced the closure of two lanes to allow for the construction of an overpass.

The overpass is being constructed in the Allsopps area.

https://nairobinews.nati...ractor-closes-two-lanes

#735 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 5:41:58 PM

[quote=hardwood]All petrol stations are required by law to have restrooms/toilets for use by motorists. So one should just drive to the nearest petrol station and do the necessary. Passengers in matatus, uber etc too can ask the driver to stop at the nearest petrol station.

https://img.dxcdn.com/pr...images/sku_423905_1.jpg[/quote]

I need one urgently.Dont forget to include the user manual.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

But surely how does one fix it with passengers in the car?Or my kids?

What about the fa$ts tha accompany a nice pee?
#736 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 5:51:06 PM

Brace for Thika Road traffic nightmare as contractor closes two lanes.

Motorists using the Thika Superhighway will for the next one month face a traffic nightmare after the urban roads authority announced the closure of two lanes to allow for the construction of an overpass.

The overpass is being constructed in the Allsopps area.

https://nairobinews.nati...ractor-closes-two-lanes

The chinese doing a wonderful job on the new flyover....

#737 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2019 6:26:17 PM

Meanwhile the footbridges given to local contractors stalled yrs ago and there is no hope for completion.
#738 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2019 1:27:51 PM