Investor
Stocks
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
Is it just me or does anyone else feel that equity is downplaying this thin sim on purpose? First they launch it without any pre-hype, then they charge what may be a prohibitive cost of 500 to the bigger client base(ordinary mwanainchi) whom they should have wooed at a cost free thin sim to rack up the numbers. That is very unlike their past marketing gimmicks. I think they are still doing a bigger pilot run of the thin sim and do not want to have logistical and technological overloads so early in the day or that go ahead by CAK had some conditions attached to the one year trial license. The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
The optimist wrote:maka wrote:Discount of 100...it will be sold @ 500 then you get 200 bob credit. True. Apparently the THIN SIM is not free. Totally worth it. Think of those who use RTGS or pay rent via #LipaRentNaM-pesa. “The beauty of success is that it doesn’t matter how many times you have failed, you only have to be right once and then everyone can tell you how lucky you are.” - Mark Cuban
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,167 Location: Nairobi
Kastone wrote:The optimist wrote:maka wrote:Discount of 100...it will be sold @ 500 then you get 200 bob credit. True. Apparently the THIN SIM is not free. Totally worth it. Think of those who use RTGS or pay rent via #LipaRentNaM-pesa. Kwani, unlipa rent na RTGS ya KES 1,000,000? For that sort of rent, I would come bearing gifts for you as I come to collect the chapaa! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:Kastone wrote:The optimist wrote:maka wrote:Discount of 100...it will be sold @ 500 then you get 200 bob credit. True. Apparently the THIN SIM is not free. Totally worth it. Think of those who use RTGS or pay rent via #LipaRentNaM-pesa. Kwani, unlipa rent na RTGS ya KES 1,000,000? For that sort of rent, I would come bearing gifts for you as I come to collect the chapaa! @vvs - There is a MINIMUM charge for RTGS even if you are sending 10 bob!!! For most banks it is 400/= and above!! So one transaction covers your sim cost!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Kastone wrote:The optimist wrote:maka wrote:Discount of 100...it will be sold @ 500 then you get 200 bob credit. True. Apparently the THIN SIM is not free. Totally worth it. Think of those who use RTGS or pay rent via #LipaRentNaM-pesa. Kwani, unlipa rent na RTGS ya KES 1,000,000? For that sort of rent, I would come bearing gifts for you as I come to collect the chapaa! @vvs - There is a MINIMUM charge for RTGS even if you are sending 10 bob!!! For most banks it is 400/= and above!! So one transaction covers your sim cost!!! My point wasn't the RTGS cost but the rent...  ... For 400/- one can afford to pay by couriered cheque. Question: Can one use Equitel to send money to you if you have an account at any other bank [not Equity]? What's the cost of sending 90,000/- [the max allowed as I understand it but I may be mistaken] using Equitel to SCBK? What does it show up as on SCBK's end? [EFT, RTGS, etc] Timeframe for the transfer? [2 minutes, 2 hours, etc] Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Wow! http://www.businessdaily.../-/133p3ul/-/index.html
Now where's that Equitel SIM card I had ditched??? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 2/27/2014 Posts: 454 Location: Republic of Enchantment.
I am getting serious with my equitel sim from now on.I will not be queuing to transfer funds and make payments.i have only used it a couple of times since I got it.Thank you Equity Bank. Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
lochaz-index wrote:Is it just me or does anyone else feel that equity is downplaying this thin sim on purpose?
First they launch it without any pre-hype, then they charge what may be a prohibitive cost of 500 to the bigger client base(ordinary mwanainchi) whom they should have wooed at a cost free thin sim to rack up the numbers. That is very unlike their past marketing gimmicks.
I think they are still doing a bigger pilot run of the thin sim and do not want to have logistical and technological overloads so early in the day or that go ahead by CAK had some conditions attached to the one year trial license.
Mhhhh.....Interesting observation Or perhaps they want to avoid an aggressive Safcom pricing counter-attack and steal a quiet march ...
VituVingiSana wrote:MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Kastone wrote:The optimist wrote:maka wrote:Discount of 100...it will be sold @ 500 then you get 200 bob credit. True. Apparently the THIN SIM is not free. Totally worth it. Think of those who use RTGS or pay rent via #LipaRentNaM-pesa. Kwani, unlipa rent na RTGS ya KES 1,000,000? For that sort of rent, I would come bearing gifts for you as I come to collect the chapaa! @vvs - There is a MINIMUM charge for RTGS even if you are sending 10 bob!!! For most banks it is 400/= and above!! So one transaction covers your sim cost!!! My point wasn't the RTGS cost but the rent...  ... For 400/- one can afford to pay by couriered cheque. Question: Can one use Equitel to send money to you if you have an account at any other bank [not Equity]?
What's the cost of sending 90,000/- [the max allowed as I understand it but I may be mistaken] using Equitel to SCBK? What does it show up as on SCBK's end? [EFT, RTGS, etc] Timeframe for the transfer? [2 minutes, 2 hours, etc] As at now not possible. But Equity to Equity is at a click. I pay rent using Equitel. My problem with them is they havent set up paybills at fuel stations, supermarkets, restaurants etc ..and that is where Mpesa clobbers them.
kollabo wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Kastone wrote:The optimist wrote:maka wrote:Discount of 100...it will be sold @ 500 then you get 200 bob credit. True. Apparently the THIN SIM is not free. Totally worth it. Think of those who use RTGS or pay rent via #LipaRentNaM-pesa. Kwani, unlipa rent na RTGS ya KES 1,000,000? For that sort of rent, I would come bearing gifts for you as I come to collect the chapaa! @vvs - There is a MINIMUM charge for RTGS even if you are sending 10 bob!!! For most banks it is 400/= and above!! So one transaction covers your sim cost!!! My point wasn't the RTGS cost but the rent...  ... For 400/- one can afford to pay by couriered cheque. Question: Can one use Equitel to send money to you if you have an account at any other bank [not Equity]?
What's the cost of sending 90,000/- [the max allowed as I understand it but I may be mistaken] using Equitel to SCBK? What does it show up as on SCBK's end? [EFT, RTGS, etc] Timeframe for the transfer? [2 minutes, 2 hours, etc] As at now not possible. But Equity to Equity is at a click. I pay rent using Equitel. My problem with them is they havent set up paybills at fuel stations, supermarkets, restaurants etc ..and that is where Mpesa clobbers them. Relax!!! One step at a time. How long did Safaricom take from the birth of MPesa to Lipa na MPesa level. I am not saying Equity should take the same time period. Just pointing out it is a process. You cannot replicate what someone else did in five years in a week. Unless that someone else is a joker of course!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
kollabo wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Kastone wrote:The optimist wrote:maka wrote:Discount of 100...it will be sold @ 500 then you get 200 bob credit. True. Apparently the THIN SIM is not free. Totally worth it. Think of those who use RTGS or pay rent via #LipaRentNaM-pesa. Kwani, unlipa rent na RTGS ya KES 1,000,000? For that sort of rent, I would come bearing gifts for you as I come to collect the chapaa! @vvs - There is a MINIMUM charge for RTGS even if you are sending 10 bob!!! For most banks it is 400/= and above!! So one transaction covers your sim cost!!! My point wasn't the RTGS cost but the rent...  ... For 400/- one can afford to pay by couriered cheque. Question: Can one use Equitel to send money to you if you have an account at any other bank [not Equity]?
What's the cost of sending 90,000/- [the max allowed as I understand it but I may be mistaken] using Equitel to SCBK? What does it show up as on SCBK's end? [EFT, RTGS, etc] Timeframe for the transfer? [2 minutes, 2 hours, etc] As at now not possible. But Equity to Equity is at a click. I pay rent using Equitel. My problem with them is they havent set up paybills at fuel stations, supermarkets, restaurants etc ..and that is where Mpesa clobbers them. It's possible to transfer funds from your Equity account to another Bank using Equitel, i've actually tried it and it worked kama RTGS......what i'm not sure of is how much they charge.
TAZ wrote:kollabo wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:MaichBlack wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Kastone wrote:The optimist wrote:maka wrote:Discount of 100...it will be sold @ 500 then you get 200 bob credit. True. Apparently the THIN SIM is not free. Totally worth it. Think of those who use RTGS or pay rent via #LipaRentNaM-pesa. Kwani, unlipa rent na RTGS ya KES 1,000,000? For that sort of rent, I would come bearing gifts for you as I come to collect the chapaa! @vvs - There is a MINIMUM charge for RTGS even if you are sending 10 bob!!! For most banks it is 400/= and above!! So one transaction covers your sim cost!!! My point wasn't the RTGS cost but the rent...  ... For 400/- one can afford to pay by couriered cheque. Question: Can one use Equitel to send money to you if you have an account at any other bank [not Equity]?
What's the cost of sending 90,000/- [the max allowed as I understand it but I may be mistaken] using Equitel to SCBK? What does it show up as on SCBK's end? [EFT, RTGS, etc] Timeframe for the transfer? [2 minutes, 2 hours, etc] As at now not possible. But Equity to Equity is at a click. I pay rent using Equitel. My problem with them is they havent set up paybills at fuel stations, supermarkets, restaurants etc ..and that is where Mpesa clobbers them. It's possible to transfer funds from your Equity account to another Bank using Equitel, i've actually tried it and it worked kama RTGS......what i'm not sure of is how much they charge. The charge is graduated but capped at 200 Kes. Todays Business daily has an article on the same They are running on Kenswicth for inter bank transfers meaning they are instant. This is the best product for money transfer.You can transfer to Bank account, to Mpesa,Airtel money and even to any mobile number. So if I have it I can send money to anyone.Personally mostly I send money not receiving all I ask where do you want it,Bank, Mpesa, or Airtel? Africa belongs to Africans.
VituVingiSana wrote:Kastone wrote:The optimist wrote:maka wrote:Discount of 100...it will be sold @ 500 then you get 200 bob credit. True. Apparently the THIN SIM is not free. Totally worth it. Think of those who use RTGS or pay rent via #LipaRentNaM-pesa. Kwani, unlipa rent na RTGS ya KES 1,000,000? For that sort of rent, I would come bearing gifts for you as I come to collect the chapaa! Equity to equity it's free, thus no need to use that lip aren't if you're an a/c holder, that's what I mean. For fuel, why don't people just swipe? “The beauty of success is that it doesn’t matter how many times you have failed, you only have to be right once and then everyone can tell you how lucky you are.” - Mark Cuban
Dah! Someone hasjust lost their job "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,301 Location: kenya
Lakini, this Sikolia Kisaka is complicit. His profile shows he worked for Safaricom in 8 years, maybe he's looking to be reabsorbed. Safaricom's stands, say like at the Airport, are sometimes unmanned. Similar action by James Mwangi would be viewed as being in bad faith.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,651 Location: nairobi
the adverts are high quality.. this thing may work well for EQUITY COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; KQ 484,100 ABP 7.45; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,187 Location: nairobi
It will be interesting to see the progress of this after the vigorous advertisement going on,iam finding it in every media and most websites "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Member Joined: 9/14/2011 Posts: 853 Location: nairobi
what happened to healthcare that Equity was to get into? i have not heard anything since it was mentioned
Investor
Stocks
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy