Investor
Economy
Why is Africa poor in general compared to the West?
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Why is Africa poor;
1. Before coloialism, we did not have a system of governance beyond the village level, contrast this with Asia whose civilization are the oldest in the world or Americas where the europeans settled and transplanted their civilisations
2. We don't know any better, we have been poor all along and we don't know how to harness and amas wealth or the benefits that come with it. Its like Kyuks in central who have seen the benefits of wealth compared to the rest of Kenyans who have no clue
3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world. Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above. This self denigration ndio inamalisa sisi. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Why is Africa poor;
1. Before coloialism, we did not have a system of governance beyond the village level, contrast this with Asia whose civilization are the oldest in the world or Americas where the europeans settled and transplanted their civilisations
2. We don't know any better, we have been poor all along and we don't know how to harness and amas wealth or the benefits that come with it. Its like Kyuks in central who have seen the benefits of wealth compared to the rest of Kenyans who have no clue
3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world. Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above. This self denigration ndio inamalisa sisi. Hata mimi nakusa sangaa If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Wakanyugi wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Why is Africa poor;
3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world. Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above. This self denigration ndio inamalisa sisi. Tell me about an african organised state of the level of Indian, persian, chinese or even mayan states of old. Egypt doesn't count as it was more or less part of a Mediterranean rim that was pretty much the centre of the universe and Songai empire had more to do with Islam influence. Most of Africa was really a dark hole. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Wakanyugi wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Why is Africa poor;
3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world. Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above. This self denigration ndio inamalisa sisi. Tell me about an african organised state of the level of Indian, persian, chinese or even mayan states of old. Egypt doesn't count as it was more or less part of a Mediterranean rim that was pretty much the centre of the universe and Songai empire had more to do with Islam influence. Most of Africa was really a dark hole. Africa once had great civilizations. However, civilizations come and go. Ancient Egypt disintegrated ages ago, and has no continuity to Modern Egypt. The same for Nubia, West African civilizations, Greece, Israel and many others the world over.
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Wakanyugi wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Why is Africa poor;
3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world. Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above. This self denigration ndio inamalisa sisi. Tell me about an african organised state of the level of Indian, persian, chinese or even mayan states of old. Egypt doesn't count as it was more or less part of a Mediterranean rim that was pretty much the centre of the universe and Songai empire had more to do with Islam influence. Most of Africa was really a dark hole. Africa had powerful dynasty's that had wide coverage and well established rulers. Your so poor in history I do not know where to start. Better know that the white by mere fact that they stambled on gunpowder ahead of kaname kingdom, they would not have subdued it. Barely in early 1800 USA was just a tattered state made of worrying tribes led by warying factions. History should be made compasory to all studying in Kenya all the way to masters level at least two units per every study term. Do you know why USA is so called or honours Washington? Nyenyenyenye mingi nazo. How many kingdoms do you existed in Africa. Or you only know British empire. So sad. ,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
I agree with @Obi, but why do we get easily offended when mention of us being poor and backwards is made, one does not even need to go back in history, just look at our current situation.
we lack the smarts to make a better life for ourselves, and what we lack most is basic organization, maybe in future we will learn, but up to now we are very weak, look at kenya we don't even have basic address system for homes, we can't even pave roads to our houses, just laying down pipes to deliver water to peoples homes is a challenge.
its like what matiangi did, showed us the level we are at, and all over sudden we are complaining we want those D's to be coated with Bs and As, the only way to move forward is to accept what we are and where we are otherwise we will keep n telling our kids how great we are, or were and yet we can't get the basics right.
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Why is Africa poor;
This is wrong thinking, African tribes have always had a system of governance. in my considered opinion, the degeneration of Africa began when we accepted and adopted western style of governance such as the country borders that were imposed on us. We are also heavily reliant on western culture at the expense of ours. I was saddened the other day by the President-elect of Ghana plagiarizing US presidents. A trait that is so akin to most of us. We need to promote local based research and innovations such as MPESA. We need to support our universities to churn out solutions that work for us not a far away country. Africa is not really poor, we have lots of resources and opportunities but we are using the wrong measuring scale.... a western measuring scale. Thats why we are poor Do it today! Tomorrow is promise to no-one.
muandiwambeu wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Wakanyugi wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Why is Africa poor;
3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world. Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above. This self denigration ndio inamalisa sisi. Tell me about an african organised state of the level of Indian, persian, chinese or even mayan states of old. Egypt doesn't count as it was more or less part of a Mediterranean rim that was pretty much the centre of the universe and Songai empire had more to do with Islam influence. Most of Africa was really a dark hole. Africa had powerful dynasty's that had wide coverage and well established rulers. Your so poor in history I do not know where to start. Better know that the white by mere fact that they stambled on gunpowder ahead of kaname kingdom, they would not have subdued it. Barely in early 1800 USA was just a tattered state made of worrying tribes led by warying factions. History should be made compasory to all studying in Kenya all the way to masters level at least two units per every study term. Do you know why USA is so called or honours Washington? Nyenyenyenye mingi nazo. How many kingdoms do you existed in Africa. Or you only know British empire. So sad. I am appealing here for perspective; - The Chinese built a 6,000Km wall that's visible from the moon, takes organization - The Indians did the Taj Mahal etc among others - Persians founded modern maths etc. More importantly, these civilizations maintained records, which was passed down to other generations More specifically, sub-saharan Africa which is what I believe we are discussing here had none of such sophistication and certainly lacked scale, many of the kingdoms many are claiming existed would probably be only as big as our current constituencies and atmost counties. The fact that we are broken down into my guess is over 500 tribes should tell you that there was little interaction between africans beyond a small radius say 100Kms "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:muandiwambeu wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Wakanyugi wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Why is Africa poor;
3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world. Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above. This self denigration ndio inamalisa sisi. Tell me about an african organised state of the level of Indian, persian, chinese or even mayan states of old. Egypt doesn't count as it was more or less part of a Mediterranean rim that was pretty much the centre of the universe and Songai empire had more to do with Islam influence. Most of Africa was really a dark hole. Africa had powerful dynasty's that had wide coverage and well established rulers. Your so poor in history I do not know where to start. Better know that the white by mere fact that they stambled on gunpowder ahead of kaname kingdom, they would not have subdued it. Barely in early 1800 USA was just a tattered state made of worrying tribes led by warying factions. History should be made compasory to all studying in Kenya all the way to masters level at least two units per every study term. Do you know why USA is so called or honours Washington? Nyenyenyenye mingi nazo. How many kingdoms do you existed in Africa. Or you only know British empire. So sad. I am appealing here for perspective; - The Chinese built a 6,000Km wall that's visible from the moon, takes organization - The Indians did the Taj Mahal etc among others - Persians founded modern maths etc. More importantly, these civilizations maintained records, which was passed down to other generations More specifically, sub-saharan Africa which is what I believe we are discussing here had none of such sophistication and certainly lacked scale, many of the kingdoms many are claiming existed would probably be only as big as our current constituencies and atmost counties. The fact that we are broken down into my guess is over 500 tribes should tell you that there was little interaction between africans beyond a small radius say 100Kms I really find this ridiculous, what was the world population in 1800? And what off 1500. Out off the best guess estimate, how many tribes do you think are so far non existent? How big was Persian empire, or Babylonian empire, or French under Napoleon bornapate? Where did you get your data from too justify drawn conclusions. ,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Why is Africa poor in general compared to the West? Because agricultural based small scale industries, like the one written about here, are the exception rather than the norm.
Investor
Economy
Why is Africa poor in general compared to the West?