wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

Prince William: Kenya in the news
#21 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 10:02:34 AM

as we talk about all this, let us not forget that princess Elizabeth left this place to go be crowned the queen. so this is not something as big for the country unless if you are shallow in history.
banyamulenge
#22 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 10:16:27 AM

The SK elders will remember that his grannie,the current Queen was on holiday in Kenya at our very own Tree Tops Applause when her father died making her the Queen.

"The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 12:18:30 PM

There are many famous people who take quiet trips to 254, which is a good thing. Bill Gates once reserved WhiteSands all to himself, Naomi Campbell is a regular at Malindi (i hear), Flavio Briattore has been seen there too, Nicolas Cage was at shimo la tewa at some point...so am not too surprised by this development, though am not saying that its not important
#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 12:21:37 PM

Sober wrote:
rasilio wrote:
who is Prince William? The nigerian?

this is the next king and queen, my friend.

He can only be a king,'Kate cannot be a queen; only princess.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 12:28:44 PM

well...good publicity for Kenya.lakini i have to say that these people are already living together so what is the hullabaloo all about?

#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 1:02:36 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
What is the surprise here? Thought the guy lives here. Remember he once told his father that they need to buy a farm here? Buy it for what?

His honeymoon.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 1:56:36 PM

quicksand wrote:
There are many famous people who take quiet trips to 254, which is a good thing. Bill Gates once reserved WhiteSands all to himself, Naomi Campbell is a regular at Malindi (i hear), Flavio Briattore has been seen there too, Nicolas Cage was at shimo la tewa at some point...so am not too surprised by this development, though am not saying that its not important

Kwani alifungwa huko? smile
#28 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 2:28:51 PM

@Quicksand,
Lion in the sand Malindi was once Briatorre's holiday home (16 bedrooms).....and he happens to be Naomi's boyfriend.
Djinn
#29 Posted : Thursday, November 18, 2010 1:59:54 PM

I am amazed at how much Kenyans are talking about this. In fact, surprised.

1 - Britain pillaged and plundered Kenya, used its resources (and many other countries') to become an economic power house. It treated people brutally (http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2005/feb/05/featuresreviews.guardianreview6)

2 - Large tracts of prime land, in thousands of acres, are still occupied by British settlers while "the natives" are landless and frequently clash and slash over land. Some of these settlers run so called ranches or conservancies and shoot poor folk for "poaching" while they themselves were once the big white hunters - hunting for trophies and not for food. This happened at a similar conservancy...while talking about Africa, natives, conservancies, white settlers etc....this is a very good read by Binyavanga Wainaina - http://www.granta.com/Ma...ite-about-Africa/Page-1 - he aptly portrays the true picture of Africa and resonates well with Prince William's statement to the effect that Kenya is like his second home....(insert expletive here!)

3 - Irony of ironies - his ex hosted him and his bride to be. One generation ago, his father also has an ex (Camilla) who ended up current. To make matters worse, the engagement ring belonged to Lady Di (RIP dear princess) and perhaps the apple may not fall too far from the tree this time around.

So, deprived of land, looted and raped, Kenya is all agog about this news. We want to leverage it to market Kenya as a glorious place - but we forget - its not the royals that make Kenya great. Its us. Its all of us.

Lets judge ourselves on our own merit. Let it be about Rudisha, Evans Wandongo (CNN Hero), the Sevens Rugby Team, the never disappointing 1-2-3 steeple chase team, etc...

We do not need anyone lording over us...that was supposed to end on December 12 1963....
Djinn
#30 Posted : Thursday, November 18, 2010 2:07:56 PM

kingfisher wrote:
No comment!!

Comment is Kate = January 1982
While Bill = June 1982.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

...an at 28 he has been dubbed, by some tabloids, as the "hair apparent" owing to his early balding/hair loss... I guess he has something in common with Rooney...