Culture
Kenya Cinema ..curtain finally comes down
My best memories were Fox Drive in in Ruaraka, i was in college on that area and at first we would scale the fence and watch that big screen without the sound, till when one guy managed to get a ka-chinese thing that could tune to their channel. Thats when we realized the good thing of it and fridays we could hire a car with our 'yellow pages' and go for the movies. I still hope nobody has grabbed that prime land Life is an endless adventure
vinii wrote:....some movie theatres like Cameo even had rats !!!! ABC Cinema used to specialize in Kungfu Movies and was extremely popular...
I thought it was at ABC Cinema that had panya za grade as it was next to a garage...damn furry creatures even had the temerity to stand at attention just like you during the national anthem! Riswa! judging from the responses here many people attended the movie but did not even see the movie as browsing and advanced human geography took over.
@Impunity...don't expose someone like that!! the name you mention sounds quite familiar, it may be someone i know (na ni bibi ya mtu saa hii ) but this thread has cracked me up , thanx @guka for reminding me of "yellow pages"... There were also the movies that were brought into the estates with a ka-truck...good memories!
nostoppingthis wrote:@Impunity...don't expose someone like that!! the name you mention sounds quite familiar, it may be someone i know (na ni bibi ya mtu saa hii ) but this thread has cracked me up , thanx @guka for reminding me of "yellow pages"... There were also the movies that were brought into the estates with a ka-truck...good memories! You mean she is now married? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Intelligentsia wrote:
judging from the responses here many people attended the movie but did not even see the movie as browsing and advanced human geography took over. @ Intelligentsia, you have to understand that that such opportunities were few and far apart....comminication was a difficult coz you had to rely on the Red Telkom booth...you simply had to 'maximize' when the opportunity presented itself.... If you are an eagle don't hang around with chickens; chickens don't fly....
Fox Drive In to close at end month, Belle Vue shakuwa Church...
Rank: Member Joined: 3/17/2008 Posts: 567 Location: Nairobi
There was also Reinbow Cinema in Nairobi West.
Used to go for morning show at 9am for 3.50 on Saturdays. It was always the same silly karate moveies ---- you killed my father, i come for revenge....
Intelligentsia wrote:
"judging from the responses here many people attended the movie but did not even see the movie as browsing and advanced human geography took over."
By logging in, Magigi had graduated from human geography to principles of lower human anatomy.
Dandora cinema is now a Deliverance Church. Can we call it a "redeemed browsing hall" ?
@vinii et al, this disappearance of movie halls may explain why people are resorting to browsing at such places as Uhuru Park and other similar ones ones. Am told if u see a flower bed bobbing up and down as such parks, jipatie shughuli, men at work.
@Impunity, kama ni yule mmoja najua, she is gone..hiyo jina haina wengi
@spendthrift - chunga usichapwe na radi kutoka mbiguni kwa uliyo yanena
Intelligentsia wrote:@vinii et al, this disappearance of movie halls may explain why people are resorting to browsing at such places as Uhuru Park and other similar ones ones. Am told if u see a flower bed bobbing up and down as such parks, jipatie shughuli, men at work. ...my take is that today young people don't get excited by this 'browsing' business any more......to them everything is PAP!! - hakuna kupoteza wakati....and if they have to 'browse' they don't look for dark corners, they just do it - go to any club in Westy and see for yourself..... If you are an eagle don't hang around with chickens; chickens don't fly....
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
why would anyone go browsing at uhuru park..or laptops have become that cheap.
nakumatt..i am thinking a mall or something greater considering business potential on thika road.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Who remembers ABC cinema? I went once when I was in primary school. Only showed karate movies and there were rats running all over. Traumatising sh*t and not for free. BBI will solve it :)
Pablo wrote:There was also Reinbow Cinema in Nairobi West. It was always the same silly karate moveies ---- you killed my father, i come for revenge....
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 183 Location: Nairobi
Pablo wrote:There was also Reinbow Cinema in Nairobi West.
Used to go for morning show at 9am for 3.50 on Saturdays. It was always the same silly karate moveies ---- you killed my father, i come for revenge....
Yep, I still relive the nostalgia on Citizen every Friday evening. Classic! So nice that its nasty, so bangin' its busting, So slick that its sick, so dope its disgusting!
I have realised,in Wazua there are also watu wa kitambo..
but encouraged to know even my fathermates were once "browsing"
@msotoville, You still don't believe Wang Yu could access his house through the window,door or the roof,do you?... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
He he he! You guys have cracked me up bigtime. Thank God i never got browsed in any of those places. Kenya Cinema was more of a meeting place than a movie theatre,the ambience and surroundings just didnt fit for a romantic movie date.. Ni vizuri ata wamefunga! Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
leona wrote:Kenya Cinema was more of a meeting place than a movie theatre,the ambience and surroundings just didnt fit for a romantic movie date.. Ni vizuri ata wamefunga! @Leona - You are talking about romantic!? You should know the kind of movies guys were taking these ladies to - Some movies about the Vietnam war sijui the Viet cong, Rambo, Commando etc. @All - Just be honest and tell @leona the kind of movies you were taking the ladies to. Which [remotely] romantic movie did you ever watch? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Culture
Kenya Cinema ..curtain finally comes down