wazua Mon, Aug 25, 2025

19 Pages<12345>»
Mumias results
qw25041985
#41 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 1:05:51 PM

Yeah .@ gg .sasini is no gud. Just sell it or reduce your stake. I bailed out of this sucker looooooong time ago.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#42 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 1:35:19 PM

@qw,
I'll keep my word....NO COMMENT!
Jamani
#43 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 1:40:33 PM

@qw,
I'll keep my word....NO COMMENT!

@Njung'e, these are true signs of an elder... wisdom. For there is wisdom in silence.
Kesh!
#44 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 2:00:32 PM

by the way what makes sugar from the other comesa countries cheaper than our own? expensive power here in kenya?
qw25041985
#45 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 2:10:27 PM

Sasa pia wewe @jamani u think there's goin to b a sell-off. Sawa sawa .
U guyz think that the support level - 12.00 - that has formd over the last 4 months or so can be broken easily and the price stays subdued 4 long .let me break it down to u my brothers and sisters there'll be NO sell-off. More so @ 12 bob support the stock is cheap and bargain hunters will hold the price .
#46 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 3:10:05 PM

the deal wrote:
Hahaha @guru u have aulready sold your MSC on the fantansy market...perhaps you should change your investment philosophy...follow the Contrarian....lets buy DTBK....

@the deal my investment strategy is sound because i never enter uncertain counters too late.... I got into Mumias at 10bob so i'm still making a 30% profit when i sell on monday which is not bad after holding for only 4 months though i had wished for 80% return.... Dow jones is falling hard and trust me that is not good for Mumias
#47 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 5:19:12 PM

Kesh! wrote:
by the way what makes sugar from the other comesa countries cheaper than our own? expensive power here in kenya?
Mumias pays ZERO for power...

It is not free but they burn baggasse for steam production...
#48 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 5:19:13 PM

The government should move fast with the sugar sector divesture
#49 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 6:59:15 PM

Kesh! wrote:

I heard the margin for cogeneration is around 85% which makes it extremely viable
#50 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 7:21:38 PM

Mumias expects cogeneration to contribute 6-8 percent of revenue the coming year
qw25041985
#51 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 10:12:30 PM

@guru. U ar panic sellin msc after panic selling safcom . Gai fafa !!!
#52 Posted : Saturday, August 28, 2010 11:10:14 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
@guru. U ar panic sellin msc after panic selling safcom . Gai fafa !!!

She made almost 100 percent from ''panic selling'' safcom.
Kesh!
#53 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 12:23:39 AM

Kesh! wrote:

I can't believe i asked that question.Laughing out loudly I'm aware of the cogen so i shock myself for that question as well. But thanx for clarifying. So what makes kenyan sugar expensive?
#54 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 12:33:53 AM

Take longer to mature (Mumias looking to solve this with TARDA), expensive transportation costs (poor road network), frequent factory breakdowns (and inefficiency), expensive power (companies other than MSC).
#55 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 12:29:11 PM

@youcan't
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly....Little knowledge is dangerous.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....and Kindly take VVs seriously.All sugar companies produce their own power because this is the only way of getting low pressure steam for evaporation and pan boiling.

On a serious note,what ails sugar industries in Kenya is high input costs,high taxes,poor cane husbandry,lack of diversification,lazy and uninformed farmers and thin farms in "favour" of plantations.
PKoli
#56 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 3:56:00 PM

@youcan't
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly....Little knowledge is dangerous.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....and Kindly take VVs seriously.All sugar companies produce their own power because this is the only way of getting low pressure steam for evaporation and pan boiling.

On a serious note,what ails sugar industries in Kenya is high input costs,high taxes,poor cane husbandry,lack of diversification,lazy and uninformed farmers and thin farms in "favour" of plantations.

True, but it makes ,ore sense to sell the excess to the National grid like MSC has done. Of the reasons you have given, the most important is thin farms in favour of plantations. The small farms are scattered making harvesting extremely expensive. On the other hand, the duration of growth for cane in Western part is too long making it expensive especially to the farmer
#57 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 5:57:56 PM

Njung'e, too much of anything is poisonous
the deal
#58 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 11:40:43 AM

SUKARI IS BITTER TODAY....HAHAHAHAHA....
Horton
#59 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 11:46:11 AM

Qw. Hmmmm 12 bob.....and then some!!
Wa_ithaka
#60 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 11:49:03 AM

Imho the real issue for Mumias apart from the small farms is that the sugar in Western takes 18 months to mature where the one from Sudan takes 9 months.

If Mumias was growing the sugar in Tana River, it could grow the 9month variety.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017