wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

Mobile Wars: Safaricom Reassures Zain over Inter-connect Capacity
#21 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 5:18:37 PM

@Impunity,
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....Sikujua bangi ya Kaptagat forest ni kali hivyoLaughing out loudly ....Pitisha...Laughing out loudly
Katibampya
#22 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 6:19:58 PM

@Impunity-- Ulianza ulevi saa ngapi? umenibamba tu sana. Anyway i do not understand this thing called " number portability' or whatever its called. ati after those guys from netherlands are throu with their work at CCK ,it will be possible to use my 0722 No. lakini nimehamia Zain ama Yu? Ama mimi ndio niko ignorant.
#23 Posted : Friday, August 20, 2010 6:46:15 PM

Sasa @Layman kumbaf!
You've really given me a lot of work to verify these new claims: Commonsense did not support your speaking forever claims, and all media reported the new call rates to be per minute as has been the case before.

But you can't trust the media, so I had to go to CCK. Refer:
CCK Address Network cost study 09Apr10
Interconnection Rates pg 7

PS. the kumbaf! is with a light touch smile
Layman wrote:
Guys, interconnetion fees is not charged per minute. Its charged once to enable the call go thru and and as long as you dont disconnect, you can speak forever.

smith01
#24 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 1:45:06 PM

This war between safaricom and zain is going too far. As I post this, I see a Zain promotional truck with rowdy youth and very loud music on Waiyaki way out of of town....past safaricom HQs then it makes a turn back to town and drives off the main highway into the slip road leading to the safcom gates...drives slowly while it gets to the main gate and the music gets louder....Huu ni Ungwana kweli?
Shame on you
smith01
#25 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 2:32:27 PM

The song playing is "BendOver"
smith01
#26 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 2:39:56 PM

#27 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 2:53:42 PM

>> is the noise pollution law still operational?......tell them to take care not to rattle a snake
#28 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 3:43:32 PM

@smith01 agreed, Telkom Wars getting dirty indeed... I overtook the truck on Waiyaki Way. And I see the video is already on YouTube http://www.youtube.com/w...Zo&feature=youtu.be

I can share another one, Text of Email between Rene Meza and Michael Joseph on the night of 18-August - looked authentic.

On 18 Aug 2010, at 21:53, "Rene Meza" wrote:
Dear Michael;
I hope this email finds you well, it’s been a while.

Not sure if you’re aware of the fact that we started to experience congestion in our route to Safaricom and have escalated to your team, who came back to us mentioning the fact that they need to go through an internal approval process, which is perfectly understandable. I’d appreciate if you could intervene in our capacity increase request as soon as possible.

Furthermore, I understand we have an overdue payment for interconnect charges with Safaricom which we plan to pay 100% tomorrow. Thanks for your understanding and look forward to a positive response.

Kind regards,

Joseph then responded:
To: Rene Meza
Cc: Clare Ruto ; John Barorot
Sent: Wed Aug 18 22:00:14 2010
Subject: Re: Congestion Zain-Safaricom Route
Rene

I will check tomorrow. Did not know about this. Should not be sn issue

Regards
Michael Joseph
CEO Safaricom

Sent from my iPhone

To which Rene responded:
Date: 18 August 2010 22:04:49 GMT+03:00
To: "Michael Joseph"
Cc: "Clare Ruto" , "John Barorot"
Subject: Re: Congestion Zain-Safaricom Route

Thanks Michael, really appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Leaked email exchange and aftermath continued...

#29 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 3:52:34 PM

smith01 wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ........i guess when Table heard of the plan to play "BendOver",he must have laughed hard and shouted,"Lock in those lyrics"...Laughing out loudly

@Muganda,
This words are SCARY;
The mood is bullish at Parkside Towers.

"This is just the first card we've dealt," a senior manager at Zain said. "We have four more cards to play. We are just waiting for the reaction from the market."

Djinn
#30 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 4:22:44 PM

this was taken outside scom house...Zain have lowered the bar considerably....

http://www.youtube.com/w...Zo&feature=youtu.be

I see many posts on the Zain vs SCOM battle - yet no one has broached one topic: If SCOM retaliates with 2.90 per minute, can their already congested network hack it or collapse?