Investor
Stocks
What's the Worst mistake and/Best decision you have made in the NSE todate?
The people who bought at 53, even if they were to consider the dividends alone, must be smilling. This is a super stock.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/17/2010 Posts: 71 Location: Kenya
Then the mother of all my mistakes came in 2008. After the PEV I salvaged my modest holding in the market and went into the matatu industry hoping for quick money. I hoped to reinvest the returns in the market regularly - my thinking then was 50K a month - how wrong I was. My net earnings were about 30% of the 50K. I reliased my crew was putting on weight both literaly and financialy. I quit matatu business having a cool 1.2M in sunk costs as I could not sell the van. I am now wiser & only do business that I have control over & pay salaries rather than guys paying themselves and then giving me their pocket change. When we wake up in the morning, we have two simple choices. Go back to sleep and dream, or wake up and chase those dreams. The choice is yours! .
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
Buying paka at 10/= now stuck with more than 60% loss.
Best decision...yet to come.
@Winston,
That what happens when one is in a speculative market. Please sell at a loss and move on. You could buy some stock that will give you dividends.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
@Pkoli - Thanks. Have been mulling on selling and moving on but decided to wait for this year's result and see how it goes
Buying CMC at 22 What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
buying EACBL at 77 post split, it was my 1st stock dont think i`ll ever recover from that. i still hold them for sentimental value lol
Rank: Member Joined: 7/13/2010 Posts: 160 Location: rift Valley-Naks
kyt wrote:indeed none like kengen walala. True to that.I gather people made fortunes partly cuz the ATS was not there.Many dealers made cash out of that loop hole. ''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
Best decision: Bying KQ @ 17 and selling @ 80 6months later back in 2005. Worst decision: trying to repeat the KQ magic, I bought KQ in 2007 @ 72, it fell to 20, but I never increased the volumes. I still have it to this day. Luckily the volume was jusk 1K. Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/17/2010 Posts: 142 Location: Twiha
tkzee wrote:2012 wrote:My first buy Mumias @55 after asking 'the broker' and she told me "naona watu wakinunua Mumias hiyo ndiyo inashika sana saa hii" I haven't decided whether that was my biggest mistake or my best lesson. @2012,that was a pick up line and a half.hata mimi i bought Msc IPO with ma little 10k from campus only to sell later @ 12.50 and start a fresh. @tkzee, Got Mumias IPO when i started campo and exited @64 when i finished. That was my 'tarmacking' chapaa.
First time; soon after high school got 15k bonus at work, me goes to Suntra opens a nominee account n says, i want to buy shares, "Which ones?" "I don't know", I said "what do you recommend?" Stanchart, they says to me. Me says, ok duc, Stanchart it is. Only thing I knew about investing then was that it was the coolest thing to do after reading The Life and Times of Sir James Goldsmith. Worst; Buying sizable Olympia at 14.60 after listening to VVS n Tusker Baridi, lol!
Best; huge chunk of KenGen IPO @11.90 out @34 n great dividends in less than 2yrs.
Regret; not buying huge chunks of safcom @2.50 or Mumias @3.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
[quote=slykat] Worst; Buying sizable Olympia at 14.60 after listening to VVS n Tusker Baridi, lol! BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Member Joined: 2/1/2007 Posts: 112 Location: Nairobi
I got into NSE during the kengen's ipo and exited @ Ksh 32 then went into paka Ipo and exited @ ksh 17. I moved on to Stanbic Ug and exited @ Ksh 4.2. My worst mistake was getting into access in 2008 @ ksh 35 and exiting @ Ksh 21 shouldering a @25% loss but i got into equity bank @ Ksh 16 with the proceeds and currently i've recovered the loss. I'm now cautious and thorough before getting into any counter. It's amazing what you can achieve when you get rid of fear.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,136 Location: Nairobi
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
Worst mistake:buying MSC last year October at 6.90 and then sell a month later at 6.10...well 2 month later it was trading at 12.50 and at Stockmaster made a fortune...buying Kenya Re at 13 bob only to sell at 12 bob....
Best decision:buying CFC @ 43 bob in April...well 2 month later i was up 60+%...
Rank: Member Joined: 9/26/2006 Posts: 410 Location: CENTRAL PROVINCE
My first ever share purchase was ARM at Ksh 16. Quickly sold at Ksh 32.Sweet at the time;bitter considering the current market price.
KenGen @ IPO,sold on day 2 of trading at Ksh 40. That was a sweet one.
Participated in the Uchumi rights(Bought rights at about Ksh 0.15 and sold them at Ksh 0.50). Made a tidy sum.
Worst Decision:Not liquidating my uchumi shares even when the books cried for a quick exit. I was ''married'' to this share after having made so much getting in and out of the counter.
Happy hunting.
@2012 Hehehehe, weeee wacha kucheka...lol, Matu, KCB n EACB have lost me 40k, 30k n 25k respectively...that's no small money for me! My only consolation is that VVS possibly lost much more at Matu's (Lol) iiiiiiiiii.. .scheisse
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,136 Location: Nairobi
slykat wrote:@2012 Hehehehe, weeee wacha kucheka...lol, Matu, KCB n EACB have lost me 40k, 30k n 25k respectively...that's no small money for me! My only consolation is that VVS possibly lost much more at Matu's (Lol) iiiiiiiiii.. .scheisse Jameni... kwani??? U keep on rubbing salt into my wounds? Anyway, when is the bloody AGM? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
VituVingiSana wrote:slykat wrote:@2012 Hehehehe, weeee wacha kucheka...lol, Matu, KCB n EACB have lost me 40k, 30k n 25k respectively...that's no small money for me! My only consolation is that VVS possibly lost much more at Matu's (Lol) iiiiiiiiii.. .scheisse Jameni... kwani??? U keep on rubbing salt into my wounds? Anyway, when is the bloody AGM? @VVS i think you would bring the house down on the directors if you attended an olympia AGM Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
On a 8yr outlook do we have an ARM in todays market,a stock than will be five times the current value?.
Investor
Stocks
What's the Worst mistake and/Best decision you have made in the NSE todate?